In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked George Cottage in the last 24 hours

1 of 20 View Image Gallery
  • George Cottage - Shropshire - 918070 - photo 1
close

George Cottage

(Ref. 918070)

Clun near Bishop's Castle, Shropshire Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (47)
  • lovely (28)
  • comfortable (18)
  • well (18)
  • location (17)
  • stay (15)

57 Customer Reviews

  • "A true gem."

    George Cottage was a real home from home and the owners should be very proud of all the care,thought and hard work that has evidently been put into making it a fabulous place to stay at. The location is ideal with everything anyone would need within a short walk from the cottage. A 10/10 and 5* property.

    Thank you for your amazing feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Apr 2024

  • "Excellent cottage."

    Very well equipped with everything you need for a lovely holiday. Comfortable and felt like home. Lots of lovely walks in the area as well. Would recommend.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Apr 2024

  • "Amazing cottage, everything you need there."

    Beautiful rural walks with great pubs too!

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kat5.0Apr 2024

  • "A beautiful cottage in a superb location, even better than expected."

    George Cottage had everything you needed and wanted, and the kitchen was so well equipped. The lounge was lovely and the log burner made it really cosy. The owners provide lots of helpful information and all those little 'extras'. The walks were amazing and the village pubs were welcoming and great for food. Everyone was so friendly. Our family had a really lovely time - thank you.

    Thank you for your lovely comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karin5.0Mar 2024

  • "A lovely clean cosy warm cottage which was beautifully decorated for Christmas."

    There was everything needed for a stay and we all said we would return. The countryside is stunning and we had some long walks. We couldn’t fault the property or its location. A very big thank you to the owners.

    Reviewed by Katrien5.0Dec 2023

  • "Loved it. Great location, wonderful little village/hamlet."

    2 good pubs serving nice food. Good communication with owners.

    Thank you for your comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Dec 2023

  • "Plenty of logs for the log burner which was very much appreciated."

    The cottage was comfortable and clean and had everything we needed. A most enjoyable stay in a lovely friendly town. Would definitely recommend George cottage

    Reviewed by Julie3.8Nov 2023

  • "Cosy and comfortable cottage, well equipped with everything you could need."

    Lots of beautiful character and period features! Nice outside space, parking was very close by and handy. Its a lovely part of the world

    Reviewed by Teresa4.4Oct 2023

  • "A lovely, comfortable, country cottage."

    Had everything we needed. Although it was August, it was unseasonably cold and on some evenings, we lit the stove, which added to the charm. Clun is a nice, small town with a shop and a couple of pubs. Good beer in both! And all within easy walking distance of George Cottage. We enjoyed.

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in a good location within Clun."

    The private parking was appreciated.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Jul 2023

  • "Unfortunately as soon as we walked in the door we could smell a strange, slightly spicy, stale food smell, this smell remained in the downstairs of the house for most off the week, despite use of air fresheners and having doors and windows open."

    The fridge also wiffed a bit. The cooker hood was thick with grease and some of the oven pans hadn't been cleaned properly, I appreciate the latter may be due in part due to previous holiday makers, but it made us feel that we needed to wash everything up before we used it. On the plus side, the courtyard garden was a lovely spot to sit the beds were comfy and the kitchen was well equipped.

    I was really sorry to read your review on George Cottage, as the owner I feel that I need to address your comments as you’ve decided to publish and not send privately to me. Firstly I’m sorry you experienced this smell walking in, I have never had any feed back like this before. We have plug in air fresheners in numerous places around the cottage which I replaced during my stay there the previous week to you arriving. We don’t eat spicy food so I’m bewildered why this was the case. We had a beautiful week and all windows and doors were open everyday ? As part of the cleaning process we use fabreeze on all soft furnishing, shake and vac on the mats and as I did the change over I can assure you that this happened. I also leave air freshener and fabreeze under the sink in case guests do cook things that could leave a long lasting smell. The fridge is brand new and has anti odour technology built in and also has a little red tomato anti odour device left in the door, I cleaned the fridge so I’ve no answer on that one. Along with the comment on the pans as I was here and we put everything in the dishwasher, we even leave dishwasher tabs for guests to use to encourage pots, pans, crockery, glasses and cutlery when used being washed there to try to eradicate hand washing, so again I have no answer and can’t believe you had to wash everything! I would like to thank you, as you must have cleaned the top of the cooker hood as I checked it out as soon as you posted your review and it was not greasy at all. I had spoken to the cleaner and she hadn’t done it so thank you. We will endeavour to make sure this never happens again for another guest. When ever we have contact with our guests we always ask them to contact us if they have any problems, issues or queries in order to give us the chance to rectify any problems. We never heard from you during your stay instead you waited till you left and wrote this review. I would like to thank you for giving us some positive comments on the plus side. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cath3.1Jun 2023

  • "The cottage was amazing, the only down size was i have severe mobility issues ..."

    The cottage was amazing, the only down size was i have severe mobility issues and i found the steep hill was hard to manage it was location the problem not the cottage

    Thanks for you kind comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Jun 2023

  • "Fantastic cottage."

    Luxury and extremely good location for exploring. 100 stars for this property.

    Thanks for you lovely comments, we really appreciate them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Penny5.0May 2023

  • "We had a very relaxing holiday at George cottage, our 2nd stay and hopefully not our last."

    Clean and everything is provided a real home from home. The weather was brilliant and relaxing in the garden listening to the birds and watching Wilson in the paddock was lovely. Good food at the White horse in Clun, coffee or lunch at the Castle Hotel in Bishops Castle excellent. Handy for so many places, Ludlow,Much Wenlock,Bewdley,Leominster just to name a few and not forgetting Clun itself which is a gem.

    Thanks for you lovely comments, we really appreciate them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne4.7May 2023

  • "Hello you have a great space and I'd be happy to book again in the future"

    Thanks for you lovely comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dwight5.0Apr 2023

  • "A great holiday cottage situated in a fabulous location."

    Would recommend and would return again .

    Thank you for your kind comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda3.8Mar 2023

  • "Our 2nd stay."

    Clean, comfortable and very well appointed cottage in a lovely area.

    Thanks for you lovely comments, we really appreciate them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2023

  • "A beautiful cottage in a peaceful location- comfortable & clean, home from home."

    Thank you for your lovely comment. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Oct 2022

  • "There were no detailed instructions for the use of the dishwasher and microwave, making their use very difficult."

    Plenty of large beer and wine glasses but only a few smaller water glasses. The towels smelt musty, and there were insufficient logs for the log burner to last the week. Telling us to buy extra was unreasonable. However the beds were very comfortable and we liked the rugs for the dogs.

    Please find my response to your comments as follows, there is a green folder under the coffee table in the living room that contains all of the appliance instructions, this is clearly labeled ‘Appliance Instructions’. Also the cottage handbook has a page named ‘Appliances’ which outlines the best programmes to use for the dishwasher and washing machine. I’m not sure why you didn’t see either of those ! With regards to the glasses we always have at least 6 of each type of glasses including water ? With spares in the cupboard by the cooker. With regards to the logs, point 8 of Sykes George Cottage Summary clearly states “fuel, power and starter pack for stove incl. in rent”. Therefore I find your comment ’insufficient logs for the burner to last the week. Telling us to buy extra was unreasonable’ very rude! Again I’m not sure why you didn’t see that either ? As to musty towels I can only apologise. However, during our conversation prior to you going in I said any problems please contact us immediately so that we could have had the opportunity to rectify the issue and if you did so we would have gotten them replaced immediately. If this was the case I would have personally contacted the owner to get them changed and not waited till I got home after a week to write a complaint. Once again I apologise for this and will mention it to the cleaner. Thank you for your other comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barbara3.1Sep 2022

  • "Had lovely stay in cottage which is very nice."

    Only downside was the bathrooms could do with deep clean around pipes behind sinks and shower ledges did not spoil our holiday is a lovely cottage

    Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry that you have been disappointed with the cleaning in the bathrooms. In the guest book in the cottage you wrote “A lovely cottage very well equipped. Really cosy and welcoming. Lovely walks and friendly locals. Beautiful village, Thank you x” This has left me quite despondent as you had all my contact numbers and emails to inform me of your feelings and thoughts, you could have even left us a message in the book. But instead you have sent it to be published on our page so that future potential guest get to read it. Once again thank you for your comment and I can assure you that you have had an unfortunate stay as the cleaning team is impeccable as you can see against our scores. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynn4.7Aug 2022

  • "This was our second stay at George cottage, it is a beautiful place and always so sad to leave."

    The cottage is such a lovely space, all you could need and wish for. The cottage is so welcoming, clean and so comfortable. It is a place I would love to return time andd again.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cottage - a most enjoyable stay."

    Very convenient for exploring the surrounding area.

    Reviewed by Kate4.4May 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage very handy location to walk into Clun."

    Nice extras coffee pods, flowers, toiletries & lovely garden & patio set.

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Apr 2022

  • "Fantastic cottage, great location."

    Reviewed by Jamie5.0Mar 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage In Shropshire, all the facilities you need for a relaxing break and exploring the surrounding area."

    Lovely enclosed garden to enjoy in the sunshine in a very peaceful setting. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Mar 2022

  • "Lovely traditional cottage, clean comy well equiped had everything you need."

    Fantastic wood burner and comfortable sofas, did nt want to leave. Handy for local shops and cafes and a five minute walk to castle grounds.

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Jan 2022

  • "George Cottage is set in the small town of Clun."

    The cottage has numerous walk maps, a 'library' of books and is very well equipped. Outside, is a patio/shrubbed garden. Plenty of seating. Clun is located in the middle of beautiful country side, most of which is reasonably hilly. The Shropshire Way can be accessed by Clun Castle. The walk is undulating through beautiful scenery. Would we revisit? Most certainly. Lorraine and David, owners of the cottage were in touch to make sure everything was O.K.

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2021

  • "Very comfortable cottage and great walking countryside ."

    Clun a very friendly interesteing town.

    Reviewed by Debra5.0Oct 2021

  • "Such a brilliant holiday in a perfect cottage."

    Everything we needed was there and more. Harry my little dog loved it. Cannot wait to go again.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Sep 2021

  • "Clun is a lovely destination and we will continue to visit this area."

    The cottage is well situated for exploration in Shropshire.

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Sep 2021

  • "Lovely cottage in a stunning quiet area."

    The cottage had everything we wanted. Very comfortable. Beautiful walks nearby. Lovely food at the local pub.

    Reviewed by Lynne4.1May 2021

  • "How can you beat perfection - beautiful, well appointed cottage - can thoroughly recommend"

    Reviewed by Jessie5.0Apr 2021

  • "A very good centre for exploring the area, especially walking."

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Aug 2020

  • "Peaceful location, woodburner stove, comfortable beds, well furnished, friendly village with good facilities"

    Reviewed by Ruth5.0Jul 2020

  • "We were a little cold on a couple of the evenings."

    We did light the fire but when we came in from walking mid afternoon we felt the cottage was cold and the heating didn't come on as it was said to

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Jul 2020

  • "Loved the warm, cosy cottage in an excellent position in a lovely friendly town with good food."

    Owners very helpful and had obviously put a lot of love and thought into making the cottage welcoming and well equipped.

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Jan 2020

  • "Very comfortable and generously equipped cottage."

    We enjoyed our week in Clun despite the wet weather. Useful Spar shop for basics, 2 pubs and various cafes, gift shops etc. Garage very helpful and fixed car that broke down on the way to Clun, so that we could get home again!

    Reviewed by Guy5.0Nov 2019

  • "A cosy, comfortable cottage well placed to be an excellent ‘base camp’ for walking in the Clun area."

    Reviewed by Maggie4.7Jun 2019

  • "This cottage was in a brilliant location with everything you need."

    Comfy beds log fire and lovely pubs just round the corner.A very friendly town with its own castle. Must say we got a delivery from tesco and cooked and played games in the evening. Even the dogs loved it. Would highly recommend this cottage. Barry, Marie, Terry, Gel and the two dogs Charlie and Lola x

    Reviewed by Barry5.0Apr 2019

  • "Lovely cottage."

    V clean and tastefully decorated. 5-minute walk into Clun. Kitchen v well equipped. Lounge v cosy with effective woodburner. Bedrooms small but cosy with great views of hills. Nice garden for barbies plus good view. V close to great walks. Loads of maps and tourist brochures (don't miss Follies and Land of Lost Content). Owners friendly and v helpful. 2 good pubs in Clun but Sun is better value for food. Also well-stocked Spar. No butchers. We 2 couples and 2 dogs loved it.

    Reviewed by Naomi5.0Mar 2019

  • "We had a lovely week's holiday in George Cottage."

    We are 3 adults. It was warm and comfortable albeit cottage size. The high lights were the lovely cottage kitchen and the wood burner that made the living room super cosy. The weather was wild. Clun is ideal if you are wanting a walking holiday.

    Reviewed by Wanda4.1Mar 2019

  • "Beautiful old cottage in the perfect location."

    We were looking for a quite place so we could unwind without the hustle and bustle of the outside world and that's exactly what we got. We shut ourselves in with the roaring log burner only venturing out to explore the church, castle, pubs and local shops. The scenery is amazing and the area is perfect for walkers but we extremely lazy and spent most of our time unwinding in this cosy cottage. As the description says, the stairs are a bit steep so would be a little tricky if you have any mobility issues and the upstairs bathroom is a little cramped but there is also a bathroom downstairs with plenty of room. Overall George cottage is a lovely place to stay with all the charm and character of a very old cottage.

    Reviewed by Kerry5.0Nov 2018

  • "George Cottage is set in a very peaceful location, with beautiful views to the front."

    Clun is very quiet but the local people are all really friendly, and directed us to nearby walks for the dog. The surrounding countryside is lovely, with many footpaths (though not all suitable for off-lead dog walking due to livestock), and the local shop is really handy. The cottage itself has lots of character, though the bedrooms and upstairs bathroom are rather tight for space. The details warned about the steep stairs, but the upstairs hallway floor is also not very flat! This aspect, plus the step into the shower and steps in the garden means it was slightly awkward for someone not entirely secure on their feet. However, the kitchen was well-equipped, the beds were comfortable and the dog treats much appreciated!

    Reviewed by Judy3.4Oct 2018

  • "As feedback to improve - No water in morning immersion needs to come on earlier and would benefit a deep clean to clear some cobwebs from ceilings,etc."

    A bit mean on towels we were only 2 in 5 bed received no discount but only 2 towels provided. But generally pleased with accommodation. Owner Response: Thank you for your feedback and comments and to clarify your points: The immersion heater is set to come on 3 times per day, 7am then 3pm and then 9pm to ensure that there is always a tank of hot water. With regards to the deep clean to clear some cobwebs I have raised this with my cleaner and asked her to be more vigilant in future. But by way of an explanation and not an excuse the cottage was built in 1658 and constructed with old material and has wooden beams throughout and we have come to realise that the cobwebs appear on a regular basis. Each guest is provided with one set of towels a bath sheet and hand towel. During our pre-arrival discussion you informed us that there was only going to be 2 guests staying so we provided 2 sets. You made no mention of requiring earlier hot water or extra towels. Also at no time during your stay did you contact either us or Kat to ask for any changes to be made to the cottage set up or that you needed extra towels. With regards to a discount because there was only 2 people that is not Sykes policy you book and pay for the cottage not the number of people staying. Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope to see you again at George Cottage.

    Reviewed by Keith4.4Jun 2018

  • "Although towels are provided there were only one towel per person provided for a weeks stay"

    Reviewed by Carmel4.1May 2018

  • "Very comfy and warm cottage."

    Facilities were excellent.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Apr 2018

  • "The weather was beyond anyone’s control and had a detrimental effect to our views."

    Normal conditions would hav enabled us to enjoy more of this beautiful county.

    Reviewed by Rodney5.0Mar 2018

  • "Clun is a lovely town."

    The Castle, tea rooms and White horse pub were all positives. We are in the pub three times. Everyone was friendly and helpful wherever you went in the town. A most enjoyable break albeit it for less time than booked due to unforeseen circumstances.

    Reviewed by Wendy4.4Feb 2018

  • "The cottage was very well equiped, with far more 'extra's than the normal cottage rental."

    Unfortunately the hot water supply failled and was unable to be fixed for our stay, BUT it didn't interfere too much with our stay as other facilities were available (eg electic showers / dishwasher etc). Lorraine ( and David) the owners were easy to contact and provided as much help as possible in this matter.

    Reviewed by Jeff5.0Jan 2018

  • "The cottage was extremely comfortable and the hosts had gone out of their way to make it look very seasonal and a pleasure to stay in."

    We felt very much that we were in a home and not a rental. All the facilities within the town were as described and there was a plethora of information about all the local towns and activities available within the cottage itself. A really relaxing break and definitely on the list for a return.

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Dec 2017

  • "Very well appointed cottage in a lovely area."

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Sep 2017

  • "The cottage was exceptionally well equipped, warm and clean."

    The location was just outside the village, but within walking distance of amenities. Attentive and helpful owners. Unreserved recommendations. Shropshire Hills a magical place.

    Reviewed by John5.0Apr 2017

  • "This is our second visit to George Cottage and we found that the owners have obviously improved what was a previously good cottage."

    Clun is a superb place to stay, especially if you like hill walking through lovely countryside. It's also a good place just to relax and visit the various attractions found within a reasonable radius. We will definitely go again.

    Reviewed by Joseph5.0Mar 2017

  • "Lovely well equipped & comfortable cottage."

    Fantastic woodland walks straight from the door.

    Reviewed by Jules5.0Mar 2017

  • ""

    Reviewed by C4.4Oct 2016

  • "As we were going to a family wedding we needed somewhere central to our venue that's why Clun was chosen and the cottage was the bonus."

    To sleep 5 and offering so many extras we could not praise it high enough . It offered us as a family somewhere special to get together ( something we're not able to do as often as we would like ) Staying there gave us the extended stay after a wonderful wedding a holiday to remember .We would love to stay again many thanks again .

    Reviewed by Edmena5.0Oct 2016

  • "The cottage was beautiful, extremely well equipped with lots of thoughtful touches above and beyond expectations."

    Would highly recommend this beautiful cottage and location and would love to go back. A real home from home experience.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Aug 2016

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove.
  • Central heating and woodburner stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, Smart TV with Freeview and Netflix, radio, payphone, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Please note, EV car charging is not permitted at this property
  • Lockable bike storage
  • Enclosed garden with patio, furniture and BBQ
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 mins walk
  • Note: There are steep cottage stairs
  • Note: Mobile signal can be limited
  • Note: There are no wardrobes but there are chests of drawers and hangers provided in bedrooms
  • Note: No infants or babes-in-arms
  • Note: 4pm check in
  • Please note that due to the age and character of the property, with steep stairs and outside paving of different levels, this property may not suit guests with limited mobility.

The property

A traditional end-terrace cottage, part of which dates back to the 1650s, ideally located on the outskirts of the ancient town of Clun, over the road from St. George’s Church, in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

The owner's personal touches are evident throughout the cottage, which combines the comforts of modern day living with many original features, including wall and ceiling beams and a stone fireplace.

The main entrance hall provides space for bike, boot and outdoor equipment storage.

Enter the handmade wooden kitchen, which is very well equipped including a Tassimo coffee machine, and dining area, ideal for relaxing with friends over a lazy Sunday lunch.

The sitting room next door boasts reclining leather sofas and an original fireplace housing a Clearview woodburning stove, perfect for cosy evenings.

The three first floor bedrooms have original wall beams and lovely views across the surrounding fields to the woodland beyond.

Outside is an enclosed garden with a patio area, perfect for enjoying the peace and tranquillity of the countryside whilst dining alfresco or relaxing with a good book.

The pretty town of Clun has many amenities, including two good pubs, a family butcher and a village store, as well as offering many lovely walks, with the Jack Mytton Way and Shropshire Way running through the village and the Offa's Dyke Path also close by.

A wonderful cottage for a memorable holiday at any time of year.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

CLUN

Bishop's Castle 6 miles; Ludlow 18 miles.

A.E. Houseman's poem, A Shropshire Lad, defined Clun as 'the quietest place under the sun', and with its dramatic ruin of a Norman castle, Saxon church, the bustling river which flows under the 14th century pack horse bridge, and a country inn, Clun is a rural gem situated in the South Shropshire Hills. It lies on the Shropshire Way in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty close to the border of Wales, an area known as The Marches. This unspoilt part of Britain has an abundance of wildlife and beautiful unhindered walking and cycling routes winding their way through the countryside with the Clun and Kerry Forests, Offa's Dyke, and Kerry Ridgeway all close by. There are a wide range of festivals and shows on offer in the surrounding area throughout the year, including The Green Man festival in May. From Clun, you can also enjoy exploring the historic towns of Bishop's Castle, Presteigne, Ludlow, Shrewsbury, and Hereford, a must for visitors.

View more holiday cottages in Clun

Note: No infants or babes-in-arms.
Please note, EV car charging is not permitted at this property.
Please note that due to the age and character of the property, with steep stairs and outside paving of different levels, this property may not suit guests with limited mobility.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas