In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 25 View Image Gallery
  • Primrose Cottage - Mid Wales - 1103468 - photo 1
close

Primrose Cottage

(Ref. 1103468)

Crossgates, Mid Wales & Cardigan Bay Show on map

3.9

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • clean (6)
  • cottage (6)
  • good (6)
  • well (5)
  • only (5)
  • one (5)

14 Customer Reviews

  • "Very pleased with the accommodation my only concern was with the shower room next to the kitchen that in its self was not the issue at all."

    What l found to be a concern was the shower control was extremely difficult to turn on and l realised why when after using the shower l thought l had turned it off sufficiently but found it needed a lot more force to close it (and I do not exaggerate when I say that) or there was a constant and quite a considerable leakage from the shower head, some one with a little less physical strength in there hands would find it both difficult to open and close. Aside from that an excellent stay and lovely setting will use and recommend this highly.

    Thank you for the 5 stars I will get someone to look at the shower We do have two bathrooms per cottage and therefore two showers We hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0May 2024

  • "The very compact property was clean, well equipped and maintained internally but it lacked natural light."

    Unfortunately the outside area was tiny and delapidated. The high wooden fences and close proximity of other properties blocked out any view. I would recommend it as a base for a couple who didn’t want to chill out at their holiday home.

    Reviewed by Dianne3.8Apr 2024

  • "Compact and some aspects were a little basic but it made for a good base for exploring further afield."

    An issue with heating was resolved promptly by the owners, which we appreciated.

    Thank you for the feedback The cottage has one double bedroom, one single bedroom, 2 bathrooms , 1 living room with bed statue, and kitchen. The kitchen has a stable door which is outside is an enclosed decked patio The cottage is not advertised as a large cottage and is best suited for couples or small families. We are dog friendly and advise 1-2 dogs Therefore to say the property is compact is a little miss leasing as it’s a cottage and the photos show the size of the cottage. I’m sure for the price of the cottage and location Sykes cottages may have alternative sized cottages which would suit two adults requiring separate rooms ( of which the cottage had). Central heating I can only apologies for the drop in pressure of a brand new bolier and when we were advised we were round to add pressure and fix. We have had no further problems since Thank you for the feedback We hope you find a larger cottage next time you visit mid wales Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charlotte3.1Mar 2024

  • "Don't worry about this cottage being on a holiday home park, it is quite private and the park very quiet."

    The directions however should be changed. They say turn left into "Lodge Park," there is no Lodge Park (there is a Lodge House but the sign is easy to miss). It is clearly signed as "Rhos Holiday Home Park." We were in the right place but could see no signage for "Lodge Park" so thought we had got it wrong. It also says turn left in front of the wrought iron gates but if they are open you cannot see them so they should not be used as a reference point.

    Thank you for the feedback We have updated the direction and we hope to see you again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robin5.0Aug 2023

  • "House and surrounding areas full of flies Very strong smell of dogs"

    The cottage is in the country side and so you will have wildlife . We often stay at the cottage ourselves and we do rent the cottage out to dog owners. The cottage is given a deep clean in between each visit and pride ourselves with the standard each cottage is rented out each week. We do hope you find an alternate cottage next year which meets your expectations of a country break with no wildlife! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jackie3.4Jun 2023

  • "Super stay at primrose cottage."

    Beautiful setting. Cottage was cosy, clean and very well equipped. The welcome packs were just so cute. Even one for the furry friends. Will definitely return :)

    Thank you for your response, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0May 2023

  • "Great place to stay."

    ..little tricky to find as sykes directions star left at park lodges ? Should be the holiday park or the big white chef

    Thank you we are pleased you enjoyed your stay We have invested a lot in the two properties and great to have positive feedback The directions and photos are waiting on Sykes cottages to update They have been notified to make it easier for directions and also to show the new upgraded cottage photos Thank you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Apr 2023

  • "Cottage was lovely and clean."

    There was a lovely welcome pack for the dogs as well as us humans, which was a very nice touch although the milk was out of date by a month, the biscuits were delicious though. The directions given weren't very good and we did get a bit lost as they told us to turn by the lodge, it is actually Rhos Holiday Home Park. Inside the cottage like I said previously was very clean, although a stain on the bedroom carpet. The downside was there is no view but we did know this when booking (it is in such a pretty area it was a shame not to see it whilst having a coffee outside). The cottage could do with an armchair in the sitting room as my elderly mother found the sofa too low and it could only really sit 2 people comfortably. The toilet could also be a bit higher and with a seat that fitted and didn't move every time you sat down. Shower was great. The single bedroom could do with a lamp and a TV, children like to watch TV when they go to bed or read in bed. There were plenty of leaflets (most places too far away though as one was in Essex) and information pack also useful with plenty of takeaway and nearby shop. Lovely cottage to use as a base for a long weekend, as we found a week a bit too long.

    Thank you for the feedback New sofa, new configuration of cottages since you last stated Television in the single room The cottage is small and a sofa bed is provided with bedding if additional space is required. The cottage is set in mid wales in beautiful countryside We do not advertise a view for the cottage as we do not have a view But there are plenty to observe as you leave the cottage and if you are on holiday. I’m sure you would like to get out of the cottage and explore the local area As it’s beautiful Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol4.1Aug 2022

  • "Excellent value for money and a good base to explore different parts of Wales, if you don't mind driving."

    The welcoming pack is a nice touch. We Would book this again when we revisit Wales in the future.

    Thank you for the lovely feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Aug 2022

  • "Toilet seat not fitting properly."

    Setee and toilet isTo low if disabled person using it. When we arrived there were flies everywhere. The living room curtain was broken and came off the runners. The main bug bear was the fact that there was no door in the main bedroom and anyone in the single room had to pass through your room to get to the room or toilet. A sliding door or concertina door would possibly help. Single room lampshade is broken. A day of good diy repairs from owners to rectify minor problems would make this cottage more of a pleasant place to stay.

    Thank you for your feedback and we will be investigating why the lamp was broken either during your stay or prior. However as part of a hand over of cottages all properties are inspected and signed off as clean and all facilities checked. Regarding the setee, this was bought at the end of July 2022 and has only been used by yourselves on your stay. It is a brand new sofa and sofa bed to provide options for guests for a double room in addition to the rooms provided in the advert. the advert states a single and double room and is priced accordingly, but we do have the option of a double bed from the sofa if requested prior to arrival (so we can provide additional bedding) The cottage is advertised not as a disabled accessible holiday let, so we are unable to comment on your comment regarding "if a disabled person using it". However the cottage is all ground floor and fitted with standard bathroom and kitchen and is suitable for those visitors who do not wish to climb stairs. however we have never advertised as being accessible for persons with a disability and we apologies if you were advised by Sykes Cottages that this was as it is not We have made several improvements to the cottages and we continue to improve the cottages . thank you for your feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin2.8Aug 2022

  • "We have just enjoyed a week at the cottage, we found the cottage nice, with a well equipped kitchen, in a good location to explore, with all owners on the site very friendly, a few things that could be improved."

    The cottage is looking a little tired and would benefit from a refresh, although we don’t want to clean while we are away, providing a brush and dustpan would be handy, especially when you have a dog, in addition an iron and ironing board, just to take those creases out. The information book is handy but would benefit with a little more what to do in the area would be good.

    Thank You Brain So glad you enjoyed your stay of the cottages south of the shropshire hills and north of brecon beacons The cottages were refurbished with new bathrooms prior to ourselves purchasing them in April 2022.prior to opening the cottages up they were fully checked for amenities and additional facilities added which are essential for a week away In June 2022 we revisited the cottages based on feedback from yourself and another customer and these were repainted We do not provide ironing boards or iron, but this will be considered in the future Dust brush and pan have been added to the cottages , but cleaning sponges and cleaning solutions are provided under the sink. Regarding information for the area we have updated the welcome pack, but in addition added maps of the area, leaflets can be found in the draw of the living room cabinet for "things to do". However due to the pandemic we were reluctant initially to provide detailed information of the amazing things to do in this beautiful place- mid wales In our welcome pack initially we did not add too much information of times of opening etc Due to the uncertainty back 6 months ago of the restrictions which would be put in place. However thankfully we have progressed and we will update the pack to recommend more reliable opening times of activities to support our holiday makers and there friend s with paws There is loads to do and the welsh tourist board and the local leaflets provided give all contact details of things to do and times thank you for the feedback ellie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet3.4Jun 2022

  • "Booked for seven nights, stayed three nights due to ; Very uncomfortable- hard bed, wife slept on sofa I slept in spare room, Spare room Sheets were dirty, green stains."

    Water pressure in shower a trickle, Toilet seat loose and ready to fall off. -Wrong size toilet seat. Very low toilet designed for children. I'm 6.4 ' Pictures show sunny and bright property, its cold and very basic. Sofa is NOT comfortable and needs replacing. Lacks comfortable seating, chairs are solid wood and hard. Fly's and strong smell of incense and mouldy smelling. When we arrived our neighbour took one look at the neighbouring property and left, we only stayed as driven 6 hours from Cornwall..

    Reviewed by Marc1.9Jun 2022

  • "The picture s made it look bigger than it was sette un comfortable cups dirty ..."

    The picture s made it look bigger than it was sette un comfortable cups dirty toilet was in a badplace to sit on back patio was dirty had to clean it are self not worth the money only good thing was a roof over your head

    Reviewed by Ian1.9May 2022

  • "The property was very clean and nice with a welcome pack and one for the dog as well would recommend this place, only problem was finding the place primrose cottage it should be park house b +b to the cottage may help someone next time would love to go there again nice and friendly people on site."

    Thank you for your feedback We have left further detailed instructions for the directions with Sykes cottages We hope to see you again Thank you for the feedback Ellie & Karl Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.7May 2022

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Single-storey
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x single, and one sofa bed for further guests in the sitting room (potential for 5 guests in total)
  • 1 family bathroom
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer
  • TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • Private enclosed garden and decking with furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.2 miles, pub 1.9 miles
  • Note: The WiFi is free for one device
  • Note: Bedrooms may not be a suitable size for a cot
  • Note: Check-in from 4pm, check-out by 10am

The property

A delightful, terraced cottage tucked away on a small lodge park on the edge of the village of Crossgates, surrounded by beautiful rolling mid-Wales countryside.

This lovely cottage is an ideal base for couples or a small family looking to make the most of exploring the surrounding area, local pubs and restaurants and a myriad of days out.

In this welcoming cottage, set over one floor, there are two separate bedrooms (one double and one single) sharing an en-suite shower room.

Enter in through the newly appointed door through to the inviting sitting room which has a wall-mounted TV and WiFi.

The sitting room benefits from a double bed settee, the extra linen is stored in the master bedroom. The fully equipped kitchen with electric oven, hob and fridge/freezer is a wonderful space to whip up delicious meals.

Enter in through the newly appointed door through to the inviting sitting room which has a wall-mounted TV and WiFi.

The sitting room benefits from a double bed settee, the extra linen is stored in the master bedroom. The fully equipped kitchen with electric oven, hob and fridge/freezer is a wonderful space to whip up delicious meals.

A stable style door leads to the enclosed sundeck. A second shower room leads off the sitting room. This attractive cottage is also just a short drive away from the pretty spa town of Llandrindod Wells, a perfect location to enjoy the spacious park and lakes, an area that is known as a perfect base for walking, golf and cycling, with its annual cycling festival.

You are also ideally placed to explore the diverse local landscape with nearby stretches of common land, the undulating Cambrian Mountains with the majestic Elan Valley being just 12 miles away.

Close by is the pretty market town of Rhayader, where you can watch the fabulous red kites being fed and their aerobatic displays.

A little further away is Builth Wells, home of the Royal Welsh Showground and its busy calendar of annual events.

Slightly further afield, the Shropshire Hills AONB open up at the popular market town of Knighton, offering beautiful walks along Offa’s Dyke or Glyndwr’s Way.

Or visit the famous town of books, Hay-on-Wye.

Why not take a day out to travel to majestic National Trusts’ Powis Castle which a scenic drive north?

A perfectly formed compact cottage close to an historic market town and providing a superb base to enjoy the diverse countryside and quaint local towns and villages.

Note: This property can be booked with Ref. 1103466 (Honeysuckle Cottage), together sleeping up to 10 guests.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

CROSSGATES

Llandrindod Wells 3 miles.

The scattered village of Crossgates sits amid wonderful wooded hills in Mid Wales, and has a general store and petrol station. Wonderful walking is on offer practically from the village itself, with trails and paths meandering their way through woodland and along rivers, or for more challenging terrain, simply drive the short distance to the nearby Cambrian Mountains or the spectacular Brecon Beacons. Visit Llandrindod Wells, Rhayader or Builth Wells to find a variety of shops, museums, craft centres, pubs, tea rooms and restaurants. Visit the Red Kite feeding station at Rhayader, which offers a fantastic opportunity to see these beautiful birds at close range, take a trip to the peaceful Elan Valley Lakes or test your nerve at the Phil Price Rally School. A perfect base for the whole family.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas