- Hot tub
- Off road parking
- Ground floor bedroom
- Open fire
- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Washing machine
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
30 Customer Reviews
"The property overall was nice however it wasn’t the cleanest, we had to scrub the kettle due to the lime scale on the inside."
There was no hot water or heating and we couldn’t get hold of anyone to sort it out, we had to find the boiler ourselves which was outside so didn’t have any heating or hot water until the second evening of our stay. The shower in the main bedroom couldn’t be used as it was either boiling hot or freezing cold. The hot tub couldn’t be filled for the day we got there due to weather conditions which is understandable however the following day the weather was a lot better and no one came round to set up the hot tub for us so we had to do so ourselves. Had to go and buy loo roll as there was only 3 rolls for a house catering 10 people
"The overall stay was fabulous."
The property is amazing and in a beautiful location. People on other reviews are moaning about cobwebs and flies - you are in the countryside so that is expected. We did not have any issues with that. The hot tub and sauna were amazing with plenty of towels available. Plenty of kitchen utensils which was great to see. Def recommend this stay
"Fantastic weekend away and exactly what we were hoping for."
The house was clean, spacious and well equipped to cater for 10 adults. The beds were comfy, the hot tub was clean, the Welsh cakes were in date and the lighting in the garden was perfect to stargaze from the hot tub when the sun went down. For a weekend away with great company, this house is perfect for a relaxing break.
"Absolutely appalling We had long awaited a family holiday and were looking forward to a holiday with 3 generations of our family and our first with our baby."
We were a party of 6 adults and 1 baby. This property was disappointing to say the least. It is obvious that it is in a state of disrepair and does not warrant the price it charges. People should be made aware of the problems with the property before booking so that they can make an informed choice. Had I been aware of the issues below and the state of the property I would not have booked. There were numerous things that went wrong during our stay. 1. A leak from the en suite shower into the kitchen which dripped through the ceiling. This was due to a problem with the sealant in the shower we were told. The owner came to reapply the sealant but we did not use this en suite for the remainder of the holiday as it was so small it was not fit for purpose anyway and we feared it would just leak again looking at the state of the rest of the property. 2. The downstairs wet room is poorly designed leading to water pooling and running into the hallway after a short shower. 3. Damp is widespread throughout the house in particular the downstairs area and kitchen. Plaster is peeling and it is quite significant. Hence the multiple dehumidifiers the owners have left dotted around. When I raised the issue the owner said they were aware and a contractor said it would take a couple of days to fix but they were booked back to back during the summer and didn’t want to cancel anyone’s holiday. This is a good example of where things have gone wrong. Rather than let people come on their long awaited holidays with their family or friends and stay unbeknownst to them during booking in significant damp, they should have either told them beforehand and been honest about the issue or had it fixed as soon as they were alerted to the issue, particularly as this is a health issue. 4. The owner turned up unannounced one day as we came back from a day out to find her car leaving. She reported she had come to “check the hot tub”. It would have been nice if she had given us the courtesy of a message to let us know she was planning on dropping by. We have family holidays at least twice a year and have been doing so for years, never on a holiday have we had to see the owner so many times. 5. There was water dripping though the fireplace in the dining room. 6. The oven does not work properly. 7. The Welsh cakes which were left in the welcome pack tasted odd at first bite so we stopped eating straight away. We checked the date and they were 3 months out of date. 8. There was debris in the hot tub when we arrived. 9. The beds in general were all uncomfortable, I would recommend changing mattresses or at the very least considering mattress toppers. 10. The lights outside did not work properly and as such it made it difficult to be out there when it was dark. The response from Sykes was appalling. I was told that my contract was with the owner and not them, I emailed pictures as advised and was told someone would call me back. They didn’t. As a family we chose to make lemonade with the lemons we were given on this holiday and tried not to spoil the fact that we had all come together to celebrate my baby’s first birthday. I would recommend the owner starts to address the multiple significant issues in the house as soon as possible and does not take any bookings until a time this has been done. I also recommend Sykes starts to show a duty of care to customers and holds owners accountable for standards of their properties that are advertised on their website. I think it is absolutely appalling that the owners and Sykes charge customers the amounts they do to come to such a poor property, both should be ashamed.
"Nice house, had a few maintenance issues when we first arrived."
The owner was very helpful and fixed the main issues straight away, I'm sure they will continue to fix the rest so that the house will be great. There are a few wasps nests that do need to be sorted too.
Very spacious and clean. Garden great for relaxing in at night looking at the stars. The views in the morning and evening will leave you breathless. Loads of red kite in the area and at night barn owls. The kitchen is large with plenty of seats and bar stools. The lounge is very large and great for relaxing in at night. I did notice a lot of people put silly comments about flies in the kitchen, just IGNORE this u are in the countryside on farm land so obviously there will be flies, we just bought some fly papers, sorted. The owners are lovely nothing was too much trouble. The gas BBQ, hot tub and sauna made for a lovely touch too. If you want a relaxing hoilday with specular views this is the place. Our only regret was not booking 2 weeks. Have already booked for next year. 5 stars
"We had a lovely time at Upper Caerfaelog."
The house was clean and had some welcoming touches - fresh eggs, bread and Welsh Cakes. Lis was very helpful and provided a detailed welcome/information pack full of recommendations. She offered prompt responses to any questions/requests and took the effort to ask about the group and make appropriate recommendations. The property is ideal for groups/ families and has lots of space. The garden was a favourite spot with the hot tub and sauna. Gas BBQ was a plus as we had good weather. Thanks Lis for a lovely week away. 5 stars.
"When we arrived, there were lots of flies in the kitchen and nearby areas."
We opened the windows and doors hoping that some of them would fly out. We also searched the house to see if there was anything that may have attracted them but found nothing. Two hours later there were still a lot of flies flying around the kitchen to the point where we were unable to properly unpack and prepare food. My mum mentioned that a fly flew out of one of the cupboards when she opened it. We attempted to shoo some flies outside and to swat at others. Between us, over a few hours, we killed about 40 flies. We then noticed the fly spray and an electric fly zapper in the corner which suggested that this was a known problem. We sprayed the house and turned the zapper on. The zapper wasn't attracting any flies so we turned it off. Before going to sleep, we sprayed the kitchen again. The following morning there were fewer flies in the kitchen and we had hoped that that was the end of the debacle. But over time we saw more and more flies. It became apparent that if and when a fly flew in (which happens in summer), they stuck around for a long time because so much of the kitchen was grimy and sticky. The large kitchen beam had not been properly cleaned and a lot of flies landed and hovered there making them hard to see because of the dark wood. The front of the kitchen cupboards, the underside of the extractor and the rear shelving unit were also grimy and sticky. I scrubbed the front of the kitchen cupboards and rear shelf units and had to throw away the sponge because it was so grimy when I was done. I couldn't reach the beam and decided not to spend my holiday cleaning the extractor. The cleaning had a positive effect and we observed fewer flies landing in the kitchen. The dining room also had a problem. Everyone remarked that the table was sticky even after I had thoroughly cleaned it. All of this had a very negative effect on our holiday. We had to be on 'fly watch' in order to prepare or eat food. We couldn't so much as step away from a piece of toast without having someone else guard it. I believe much of this could be avoided with thorough and regular cleaning. Besides this, the house had clearly suffered some water damage such affected the kitchen walls. It needed repair and was not in a cosmetic state fit for rental. The ground floor bedroom had a shelf by the TV which was so low down and close to the bed that my near 70 year old mother accidentally hit her head on it. We resorted to covering it with a towel to avoid further accidents. The ensuite bedroom had the smallest bathroom that I have ever seen. The shower cubicle was so small that the average person could not bend over inside to reach their feet. The sink was similarly small. The sink was so narrow and close to the wall that you couldn't bend your head to spit the toothpaste out into the sink. It also wasn't possible to wash both hands at the same time. The walls had not been cleaned, eg. The wall by the fridge was filthy. The lower bedroom curtain was stained and hanging partly off the rail. The towels were clean but stained which is off-putting. There appeared to be a wasps nest just under the roof by the side and to the front of the house. There was a visibly dirty wooden spoon in the cutlery drawer and no can opener provided. There were two low doorframes upstairs, one of which led to a bedroom. The average man would have to duck to avoid hitting his head. One of the two ovens didn't work and the one which did was incredibly slow. It took around 45 mins to cook some oven chips. There were some good points. The location was good. Remote but not too far from the town or supermarket. It had beautiful views and outside space to take a stroll. The garden was well maintained. We didn't use the sauna or hot tub but they appeared to be in good working order. The dining room was light and airy and big enough to accommodate everyone. The internet connection was generally good considering the location but there was no signal in the ground floor bedroom. The utility room was well equipped. Having chairs in the kitchen made it into a lounge area for conversation which was nice. The parking was convenient and secure. The fridge was large and had enough space to pack away a large shop. Overall I wasn't happy with the house despite having seen such glowing reviews. I was disappointed to have brought others there for their holidays. Much, if not all of these issues can be rectified and the house could be a lovely rental if it is given some attention.
"Lovely spacious property set in beautiful surroundings."
Ideal for 3 generations of our family to relax together. Hot tub and sauna an added bonus.
"Had the most amazing stay!"
Would definitely return! The views were amazing the place is amazing and really Comfy. The outside area is amazing for gatherings and the kitchen and other areas are really well equipped! Thank you
"There are no words that justify just how beautiful this cottage and its scenery is!"
It’s quite secluded but that is exactly what we were looking for, having come from a city. The cottage was absolutely perfect, very spacious and comfortable. Hot tub was clean and instructions left of how to use as well as sauna. We will definitely be booking this delightful cottage again!
"Really enjoyed our stay will defo be going back."
"We really enjoyed our stay."
Lovely scenic location and the cottage was very spacious and homely. Great facilities, down to every little detail. Everything well thought out. Highly recommended, would definitely come back again
"The quiet beautiful location."
"Loved our short break away to celebrate my mums 60th couldn’t have been better."
"Fair play, this cottage was exactly what we wanted when we were looking for a place to stay."
There were 7 boys celebrating a 30th birthday, we wanted a place that was not in a built up area and we could just relax, and drink, without worrying about the noise or anyone else. The cottage it's self is spacious, plenty of showering facilities and extremely clean. We were welcomed with eggs, jam and welsh cakes - nice one. The garden area is brilliant, just enough room to play football, rugby etc. The sauna and hot tub are the icing on the cake. Only criticisms would be that there was only one trash bag left for us and no recycling bags. Also, when we attempted to use the BBQ, there was no gas. However, we made no attempt to contact the owners about this, as it was not the end of the world, but i'm sure they would have sorted it for us. We loved staying there and would definitely book it again - if we were welcomed back :) Many thanks.
"Perfect property for the perfect get away."
All guests thoroughly enjoyed and couldn’t stop saying how amazing the property and facilities were. Can’t wait to rebook and go again
"Only issue was there was a number of light bulbs out in the cottage - only one working out of 5 in the dining room and a number out in the kitchen and living room."
Cottage is very remote with only sheep for company - perfect for a party weekend if you plan on staying in the cottage but not much around within walking distance if you fancy a change of scenery. We knew this from the listing and it suited us fine. The property would would benefit from a patio heater in garden for those that don't fancy the hot tub - otherwise the facilities are perfect. - everything you could need for a weekend away with friends/family.
"This was a wonderfully warm, cosy and comfortable house."
It was very clean, the downstairs rooms were spacious and perfect for socialising. The sofas and beds were very comfortable. We would have liked hand towels and soap/handwash in all the bathrooms though the extra hot tub towels were a good idea. Also in the kitchen, would have liked more washing up liquid and tea towels (only had one). We woke up to having no water on Sunday morning but a call to the owners (who were very friendly and apologetic) had them round within minutes with bottles, and the supply was restored within 2-3hours. We thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub and sauna, and the outside TV was brilliant- perfect for watching the rugby whilst relaxing in the tub! A fantastic, peaceful location with beautiful views.
"Everything was perfect, our holiday was 6 girls just looking for a relaxing week away and that is exactly what we got!"
The house was comfortable with everything we needed the views were incredible and you could hear a pin drop at night when you were in the garden. Couldn’t have asked for more, definetly be coming back again thank you
"We had a lovely stay."
The house was really spacious and had everything we needed. Some nice touches to welcome us too! The owners answered any questions immediately which was great- The house was on a lovely farm so need to worry about neighbours. Can't complain in any way!
"A lovely cottage in a remote location ensuring a very relaxing break."
The hot tub & sauna was enjoyed by all.
"We had a wonderful week here in August."
the owners showed us their chicken farm and went out of their way to make us happy. the cottage was extremely well equipped if anything was missing they delivered it very quickly. we loved the cows being so close. I loved getting into the hot tub and relaxing after a hard days cycling or walking. if I could I would go back every year. amazing cottage and lovely owners thank you
"It was a lovely house and we had a wonderful week."
"A beautiful, spacious, cottage."
It felt like home as soon as you walked through the door. The house was very Christmassy which made the stay even more special. Everything is to a very high standard and very well equipped. The kitchen was a treat to cook in and look out at the landscape. The hot tub and sauna with the TV was pure luxury. Great size for 9 of us. The owners were fantastic, on hand if there were any queries, went out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, we couldn't have asked for more.
"Just arrived home from our 5 day stay."
It was absolutely perfect, perfect remote location not too far from a town for supplies. Sitting in the hot tub looking at the views was just heaven. WiFi isn’t great and zero signal on o2 so be prepared for a relaxing switched off time. Rooms are all clean and very comfy, main sitting room is really comfy and the dining room is really cozy with a fire in it. Already trying to decide when we can go back again!
"We really enjoyed our stay and the owner was very quick to respond to any questions we had."
A lovely cottage - we hope to visit again soon! Thank you
"While the internet was down during our stay, it's completely understandable that these things happen and it did not effect our stay at this wonderful location!"
Fully recommended for a relaxing getaway
"Owner was very attentive and easy to contact when we needed to!"
Great location and very private, made plenty of use of the hot tub and sauna between the group of 10 of us! Many thanks Lis for our enjoyable weekend x
"Fabulous place for family get together very child friendly and safe, lovely peacefull location , beautiful farmhouse with everything you need for a fantastic holiday with indoor activities catered for with games etc."
and the tv , barbeque, hot tub and sauna in the lovely garden were perfect , thanks to Bowen family for warm and friendly welcome , would definitely book again.
- Six bedrooms: 1 x king-size double with TV and en-suite shower, basin and WC, 2 x double with TV, 1 x ground floor double with TV, 1 x single with TV, 1 x single
- Bathroom with P-shaped bath, shower over, basin and WC
- Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
- Kitchen with breakfast bar (seats 6) and woodburner
- Dining room (seats 10) with woodburner
- Sitting room with electric fire.
- Oil central heating with woodburners and electric fire
- Range cooker with double electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, 7 x TVs (one external) with FreeSat, WiFi
- Fuel, power and starter pack for stoves inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Travel cot and highchair
- Off road parking for 6 cars
- Secure bike storage
- Enclosed front and side lawned garden with patio, hot tub, sauna, furniture and external TV
- Sorry, no pets and no smoking
- Shop 5 miles, pub 1 mile
- Note: This property has a private water supply
- Note: The property is accessed down a 350 yard farm track
- Note: There is no access to any of the farm buildings and the farm yard is not used for any regular work therefore is usually very quiet
Llanbister 1 mile.
This stunning detached farmhouse is situated on the owner’s working farm, yet completely enclosed and private, and is set amongst beautiful countryside near the quiet village of Llanbister.
This is a superb farmhouse offering quality holiday cottage accommodation for a large group of family or friends to enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings.
The warm and welcoming accommodation includes six delightful bedrooms, including a ground floor double and a master with en-suite facilities.
Decorated to a high standard throughout, with modern and bright accommodation, the well-equipped kitchen has a warming woodburner, and a breakfast bar that can seat three guests, ideal for keeping the designated chef company!
A spacious separate dining room, also benefiting from a woodburner is a great place to socialise with friends and loved ones whist enjoying a delicious home-cooked meal, before retiring to the sitting room which offers enough comfy seating for all guests.
Outside, not only can you savour the delightful views but there is also a hot tub and sauna to really ensure you have the most relaxing holiday possible.
A patio with garden furniture also benefits from a large wall-mounted TV, the prefect space for dining alfresco and socialising during those warmer months.
The peaceful village of Abbeycwmhir, in the lovely Radnorshire Hills is just five miles away and is home to the Cistercian Abbey founded in 1176 and also boasts a friendly village pub.
The area is perfect for walkers and cyclists alike with the Glyndwr’s Way national trail and Cycle Route 25 being easily reached, both offering beautiful scenery along the way.
Short drives away are the Cambrian Mountains and the Brecon Beacons, which provide even more of a walking challenge.
Enjoy a ride on the Brecon Mountain Railway through breathtaking scenery, the beautiful lakes of the Elan Valley or the Red Kite Feeding Station at Rhayader.
Upper Caerfaelog provides all the ingredients for a truly memorable holiday and will have you wanting to return time and time again.
About the location
Llandrindod Wells 10 miles.
Llanbister is a tiny Welsh village which nestles in the scenic Powys countryside and is ideally located between the market towns of Llandrindod Wells and Newtown, as well as being just a short distance from the English counties of Herefordshire and Shropshire. Surrounded by beautiful countryside, this area is perfect for excellent walking, cycling and birdwatching with the Radnorshire Hills and Forest and the Glyndwr’s Way national walking trail both in easy reach. The pretty village of Abbeycwmhir is 5 miles away and is home to the Cistercian Abbey founded in 1176 and the Happy Union Inn, an old fashioned ale house. Enjoy day trips to the nearby Cambrian Mountains or the spectacular Brecon Beacons. Visit Llandrindod Wells, Rhayader or Builth Wells to find a variety of shops, museums, craft centres, pubs, tea rooms and restaurants. Visit the Red Kite Feeding Station at Rhayader, which offers a fantastic opportunity to see these beautiful birds at close range, take a trip to the peaceful Elan Valley Lakes, the Gilfach Nature Reserve or test your nerve at the Phil Price Rally School or the Underhill Farm Horse Riding School. A perfect base for a family holiday or a romantic break in a truly tranquil location.
This property offers the following short breaks:
- Last minute