In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 75 View Image Gallery
  • Beckhythe Cottage - Norfolk - 1044252 - photo 1
close

Beckhythe Cottage

(Ref. 1044252)

Overstrand, Norfolk Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 14 Guests

  • 7 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (23)
  • well (22)
  • our (22)
  • house (21)
  • stay (18)
  • beach (18)

44 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a fabulous stay, the accommodation was perfect for our family gathering."

    Very comfortable, relaxed feel about the place. Beds comfortable, and lovely fresh linen bedding. Bathrooms all excellent (hopefully the plug in the top floor bathroom sink will be fixed - just a very minor problem) Very well equipped kitchen, we really couldn't fault it. Just a general observation, as with all photographs, a wide angled lens does distort the size, therefore please be aware that it would be difficult to comfortably fit 5 cars on the drive, however, there was plenty of roadside parking and the road is very quiet. We would definitely recommend Sunday lunch at The Sea Marge Hotel opposite. All in all a fabulous property and we would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Wendy4.4May 2024

  • "What a fabulous and comfy house!"

    We had such a lovely weekend. The house was perfect except for one thing. If you are very tall (my sons are 6ft 2 and 6ft 4 ) you can either try to sleep in a bed into which you can't really fit because of the footboards (particularly when sleeping with a partner) or a room in which you bang your head due to the sloping ceilings. The landing on the second floor, where the beds have no footboards, and the bathroom up there are particularly bad for head bumping. Perhaps you could move the beds with no footboards into the rooms with high ceilings and avoid all the head bumping and swearing :) Otherwise totally great. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Apr 2024

  • "Our third stay at Beckhythe Cottage."

    It has such a lovely calm feel and lends itself so well to family holiday gatherings. It is very well maintained and has everything we needed to cook and cater for our group. Things to consider to enhance the experience: Although tea and coffee were in the welcome hamper (thank you), some treats for example nice biscuits and/or a bottle of Prosecco would give it that special touch. We had to buy some awning type material to block the opening to the drive to stop / deter the dog from getting out. Suggest consider a means to do the same for visitors to the cottage as lots of us have a dog. Overall though, a lovely week.

    Reviewed by Pippa5.0Mar 2024

  • "It was the perfect spacious house to share with our family in celebration of our Golden Wedding Anniversary."

    There were lovely touches to the rooms to give them the character of the Arts and Crafts era. Also, as it was near to Christmas it was lovely to be welcomed by a beautiful lit Christmas tree in the living room plus all the other decorations spread about the house. The bedrooms were very comfortable with excellent bathrooms. The kitchen was very well equipped along with the utility room with washing machine and tumble drier. We would thoroughly recommend the property for a family get together holiday

    Reviewed by Dave5.0Nov 2023

  • "Beautiful property in a lovely village."

    To attract families with young children and families that would like to bring their dogs I would recommend securing the front side access. Kind regards Paul

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Sep 2023

  • "It was a lovely house and suited our needs well ."

    . we are a large group of friends with dogs and location perfect .. it would be much better if the property had a gate at the front as we couldn’t let dogs out in garden safely .. at one point one of our dogs did wander near road .. I would suggest a gate also with young children staying there .. the old locks on bathroom doors were very unreliable and often stuck !! We would have appreciated hand towels in toilets and tea towels too Kitchen very well equipped with large pans etc as we always do our own catering .. Easy access to beach and we all loved the beach and cliff top cafes and super walks ..

    Reviewed by Catherine3.1Sep 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Beckhythe Cottage."

    It’s a lovely house, very spacious and full of character, felt like we were staying in a 1930s film set, but with all the amenities of today. It’s well equipped and has everything that you can think of, also spotlessly clean. The village of Overstrand is a great location, we would recommend a stay at Beckthye Cottage

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely place with a great location to visit the surrounding area."

    Short walk to beach and coastal walks.

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely period property close the beach in a quiet village."

    It was ideal for our large extended family group. The garden is beautiful too but it isn't enclosed. Plenty of parking for four cars. Kitchen is well equipped but short on a few utensils like spatulas and wooden spoons.

    Reviewed by Isabel5.0Jul 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay."

    Just right for our large family stay with three families and five children. Everything was there that we needed, with lots of space, and high spec. Garden good for playing and relaxing. Lovely beach within walking distance. Just one thing. It would have helped with packing if we had been told that beach towels were provided. Thank you,Valerie

    Reviewed by Valerie4.7Jul 2023

  • "We were a family of 4 couples and 2 small children."

    This was nice as each couple had their own bathroom. The living rooms were ideal and we used the dining room every evening. Seeing deer in the garden was very special. Easy parking for 4 cars. If we had to be picky the gardens we're open at one side so had to watch the dogs and the curtains were light in the mornings, we did however use the many throws to darken the rooms so got around this. Thankyou for a memorable stay and an extremely well stocked home from home. We loved the area for things to do and a short walk from the beach. The Churchill family x

    Reviewed by Louise4.7Jun 2023

  • "We had a wonderful week, it was a perfect house in a perfect location for us."

    Very comfortable, we loved the dining room and the kitchen that had everything we needed, lots of space, the summer room was also very well used. Our dogs were very happy to be there, the beach is so close, we had them down there every morning for a bracing walk. We were also very lucky with the weather which was the cherry on the cake. Thank you for having us.

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0May 2023

  • "There were cleaning issues with big cobwebs in the dining room and kitchen."

    Two of our party complained about the mattresses on the single beds. There is a piece of guttering lying in the garden which does not give a good impression. There is no point in putting reed scenters in every room when seven of them were empty. The leather settees were very uncomfortable and need replacing. Whilst the old fashioned bathroom locks on the doors are in keeping there should be some indication as to which way to turn the handle. Two ladies had difficulty getting out!! There were no hooks in the upstairs bathroom to hang a towel or clothes. Lovely house but needs T.L.C.

    Reviewed by David2.8Apr 2023

  • "A good property well liked by all of our party."

    I was very happy with the quick response to a reported problem, even though I reported it as non-urgent.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Mar 2023

  • "We loved our weekend break at Beckhythe Cottage."

    We were a family group of 12, aged between 26 and 85 and found the accommodation to be perfect for our needs. The kitchen was very well equipped, two good rooms to gather in as well as the large dining room. A short stroll to the beach, shop and White Horse pub where we had an excellent Sunday lunch. We all agreed we would happily return.

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Mar 2023

  • "We were a family of 8 adults and 5 children celebrating our daughters 40th birthday and we stayed for 3 nights at the end of January."

    The house was absolutely perfect for us, with big rooms downstairs, huge amounts of crockery, cutlery and glasses, plenty of fridge space and a big garden for football practice! We used the 2 log fires and they were an added bonus. The bedrooms and bathrooms are beautiful, with lovely white bedding and towels. Fans are there if you need them in the summer and for us the heating worked very well. There are so many things for the children : plastic plates, bowls, cups and cutlery, highchair, cot, and a selection of games. Our grandchildren loved playing hide and seek as the house is so big! It’s only 10 mins to walk to the beach, and a 2 min stroll to a great pub. Sadly the hotel across the road was closed for the winter as that’s another place to eat and drink, but we came prepared with plenty of provisions and the cooking facilities at the house are great. So all in all, we all loved our stay and would love to return in 2 years for our next daughter’s 40th celebrations!

    Reviewed by Jayne5.0Jan 2023

  • "We were a family party who, for reasons of work patterns, are very rarely able to get together all at once."

    This was a special time for us and the owners certainly came up trumps. As soon as we walked into the property we felt at home (thank you for the decorations) and there wasn't anything that we needed which was not catered for. The booking of the property to the end of our stay was faultless so thank you Sykes Cottages and John and Abby.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Dec 2022

  • "As a large group of friends who holiday together each year, we found the house spacious and well equiped."

    It was also nice to have the large garden. Some of us had not been to Norfolk before and we were well placed to explore the area and look forward to coming back in the future.

    Reviewed by Jayne4.7Sep 2022

  • "This is a lovely property in a great spot."

    The decor is very stylish and the house was very clean, beds comfy and there was loads of kitchen equipment and tableware. Couple of very small comments - a gate would have kept the dog safer, a few more dishwasher tablets, tea towels and toilet rolls would have been helpful. But overall fantastic Thanks!

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Sep 2022

  • "We had a really lovely time."

    The house is beautiful and in a perfect location to the beach. The only thing that lets it down is that the property really needs a gate at the entrance. Because it is open to the main road it is not safe for dogs or small children to be let out into the garden unattended which was a real problem.

    Reviewed by Rosie4.4Aug 2022

  • "A wonderful property with a great position in overstrand, garden needs a bit of loving care but ideal for a family holiday."

    Facilities where excellent and didn’t want for anything, would always come back when holidaying in Norfolk. Thanks for a great holiday.

    Reviewed by Keith4.4Aug 2022

  • "Lovely house plenty of space suitable for all ages."

    Owner very contactable regarding any queries. House not too fussy so able to relax. Late check in and early check out will hopefully be reduced to allow for an easier check in and out. Overstrand beach is wonderful, plenty of sand. The walk up and down the concrete slopes gave us a good work out.

    Reviewed by Helen3.8Aug 2022

  • "Beds were not separated as requested."

    White goods could do with updating, eg dishwasher would only clean properly on 75 degrees, fridge had loose door shelf. Fridge and freezer not large enough for the amount of people staying. Garden is not enclosed, therefore not suitable for dogs or children. This should be highlighted on the listing. Hedges need trimming to avoid scratching cars upon entrance/exit. Top floor not suitable for tall people. WiFi not reliable. We couldn't find the main hub (assume it was locked away) so could not attempt a restart, which would likely have fixed the issue. I would suggest a pizza cutter for the kitchen

    "Many thanks for providing feedback on your stay at our property. We apologise that the beds were not made up as requested, as soon as we had been made aware we had rectified the error the same day. We do pride ourselves on our kitchen facilities and we are sorry that they did not live up to your expectations. There are two under counter fridges which should provide ample room for the maximum occupancy, it's not an issue that has been raised previously. We do not advertise the garden as enclosed, we would expect that children and pets are not left unsupervised. The top floor are attic rooms so the ceilings are slanted as shown in the images. We have never had reports of an issue with the WiFi, however our package guarantees that we receive the best service possible, if you had made us aware we would of been happy to investigate. We did have 3 pizza cutters in the property, thank you for highlighting this we will certainly check." Property Owner

    Reviewed by John3.4Jul 2022

  • "We loved our stay but it would have been better if the garden was secured as it stated as a dog friendly cottage."

    The cold water tap in kitchen was difficult to use and the shower above the bath on the 1st floor only had cold water. Apart from the few discrepancys, we had a great family holiday in a good location.

    Thank you for letting us know about the problems with the tap and the shower. They have now been replaced. Abbie and John Property Owner

    Reviewed by Judy4.1Jun 2022

  • "Wonderful house for our family get together."

    We were blessed with the weather and everyone enjoyed their stay.

    Reviewed by Trudi5.0May 2022

  • "Beautiful well equipped holiday home."

    Large garden was ideal for the children and dog. Would have benefited from a gate as the garden would have been fully enclosed. Short walk to a quiet sandy beach and small play park. We didn’t want to leave ..

    Reviewed by Susan5.0May 2022

  • "The house was lovely and was very comfortable and felt homely."

    It was very well equipped. The garden was also great and ideal for children and dogs. The main problem was having to leave at 9am which was very rushed for 13 people and a toddler to be up and out.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Apr 2022

  • "We had a great weekend here celebrating my 60th birthday with 8 girly friends."

    The house was just perfect.everything was well appointed and the kitchen was so well equipped and sunroof was lovely to have breakfast in. I couldn't recommend this place more...brilliant thankyou The only downside was the late arrival and early leaving times, when you are there for only 2 nights it cuts the weekend very short

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Mar 2022

  • "The property was actually far better than the description and photographs showed."

    Three households stayed to celebrate my mums 70th and it was perfect. The house had everything we needed and more. Perfect location for the beach and lovely walk to Cromer along the beach. Unfortunately we booked to eat a meal at the pub just down the road The White Horse and it was awful, terrible service , terrible food and because we had complained we also had the chefs trying to intimidate us . On the complete flip side we had breakfast at the cliff top cafe down by the sea and it was absolutely gorgeous food, highly helpful staff and if you like dogs you will love this place. We was recommended by staff to visit Horsey Bay to see the seals on way home and that was a really great end to a fantastic weekend.

    Reviewed by Erika5.0Mar 2022

  • "We loved the house and it was very well equipped and all had a lovely time."

    Only fault was a half used roll up cigarette left on a living room table from previous people and our mattress protector was dirty in one corner looked like chocolate but only saw it when I stripped the bed. Would be nice to get in a bit earlier in the day as had small children to feed and get to bed so was a bit of a rush and checkout at 10 instead of 9 a bit of a rush getting out for 9. Would book again and recommend to people. Thank You.

    Reviewed by Sally4.7Nov 2021

  • "Was a little disappointed not to be able to get in until 5."

    20pm due to cleaners being on site, once inside we took our shoes off in the little porch only to discover the mopped floors were still wet, however once we got organised and got our slippers on everything was fine. It was a very well equipped cottage with everything you could possibly need for your stay and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

    Reviewed by Cheryl5.0Oct 2021

  • "The property was in a perfect location, very clean and very spacious, everyone ..."

    The property was in a perfect location, very clean and very spacious, everyone enjoyed there stay, There was a bathroom on the third floor and 2 bathrooms and a separate toilet on the second floor which there was only one shower which didn't work well but there was a bathroom on the ground floor which had a walking shower which we used, the pillows were very old, had no life left in them, There was an overgrown hedge going into the drive which you could not see whether you were at the right property, it's straight across from the hotel, There was no gate or fence to separate the garden to the entrance into the property,

    We are really pleased that everyone in your party enjoyed their stay at Beckhythe Cottage. Thank you for letting us know about the pillows and they have now all been replaced with new ones. We will also update our user guide to ensure the user instructions for the showers are clearer. We really appreciate the feedback. Abbie and John Property Owner

    Reviewed by Beverley4.1Oct 2021

  • "Beckhythe cottage was the centre of our holiday, everyone enjoyed relaxing in this very lovely place with all needs catered for."

    We had a wonderful week with our family around us, the children and the dogs really loved being able to walk down to the beach. Definitely consider a return visit in the future.

    Reviewed by Marilyn5.0Oct 2021

  • "This was a family gathering for my 60th birthday."

    The house was brilliant for the occasion, spacious and well kitted out with all that we needed to either stay in or go out. There is ample space to 'get away' for quiet time, as well as lovely living areas to be together. We really hope to return next year. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Pippa5.0Sep 2021

  • "It was a special 80th birthday celebration all my guests were knocked over by the rooms and cleanliness I would love to stay there again."

    Reviewed by Barbara5.0Sep 2021

  • "Beckhythe Cottage is perfect for a large group."

    The decor is beautiful and in total harmony with the age of the house. Everything needed is there for the comfort of guests. The location is quiet but close to the beach. The owner of the property visited to check all was satisfactory as did a representative of the cleaning company , this thoughtfulness exceeded our expectations. Highly recommend this beautiful property we consider it good value .

    Reviewed by Verna5.0Aug 2021

  • "Beckhythe Cottage was the perfect house for 4 families to get together after 18 months of lockdown."

    The kitchen had everything, and plenty of it, we particularly enjoyed the breakfast room off the kitchen which was perfect for feeding the kids. The lounge was really comfortable with plenty of seating and the dining room was a great place for evening meals. The bedrooms are all big and the beds really comfortable. The garden is big with plenty of room for lawn games. The owners and Sykes were both very responsive when we needed to speak to them. Overstrand is a beautiful location. The beach is perfect. Thank you so much for a perfect week from 8 adults and 7 kids (7 years old to 8 months)

    Reviewed by Hayley5.0Aug 2021

  • "The House is beautiful very comfortable and easily caters for the large group."

    Weather wasnt good so the house provided space to do lots of things. Amazing place.

    Reviewed by June5.0Jun 2021

  • "Very good and well appointed cottage."

    Good location convenient for beach walks, surrounding area and access to Cromer.

    Reviewed by Alistair5.0Jun 2021

  • "We had the most wonderful stay."

    The cottage is huge, clean, well equipped and exceedingly comfortable. A fabulous half term escape after a busy, very unusual eight weeks in school. Thank you very much. Family Timbers.

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Oct 2020

  • "We stayed at Beckhythe Cottage for a week."

    The house is great, very clean and spacious. In a very quiet area set back from the road but also only a couple of hundred meters away from the local shop and pub, the cottage is ideally placed. The garden is very well kept and we made a lot of use of it. Unfortunately the neighbours were in the process of renovating and the fence panels weren't in, making the garden less private. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking to return again in future.

    Reviewed by Oliver4.7Sep 2020

  • "We had a lovely stay at Beckhythe Cottage which was spacious and comfortable."

    It was a great location for enjoying the north Norfolk coastline and local beaches. The cottage was perfect for our family and the hosts were attentive to our needs, we would most definitely return again.

    Reviewed by Hannah4.1Sep 2020

  • "Everything about Beckhythe Cottage is glorious."

    Its setting, gardens, facilities, decor and finish. The owners have provided all you need and more to have a fantastic stay in fascinating Overstrand. Thank you we all loved Beckhythe and will be back.

    Reviewed by Adam5.0Jul 2020

  • "What a wonderful cottage this is."

    Home from home with everything you could possibly need. Great position for the short walk to a lovely sandy beach. Nice local pub and great cliff top walks. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend

    Reviewed by Donna5.0Jul 2020

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Seven bedrooms: 1 x second-floor king-size, 1 x second-floor super king-size (zip/link, can be twin on request) 1 x king-size double, 1 x super king-size (zip/link, can be twin on request) 3 x double
  • 1 x first-floor bathroom with claw-foot bath with shower attachment, basin and W/C
  • Second first-floor bathroom with bath with shower attachment, walk-in waterfall shower, basin and separate WC
  • 1x 2nd floor bathroom with walk in waterfall shower, large bath, basin and WC
  • Ground-floor shower room with basin and WC
  • Ground floor cloakroom with basin and W/C
  • Kitchen, Utility
  • Dining room with open fire
  • Sitting room with open fire
  • Sun room.
  • Gas central heating with 2 x open fires
  • Electric oven and gas hob, 2 x fridge, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, Freezer, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • 2 travel cots, a highchair and stair-gate available
  • Off-road parking for 5 cars plus unlimited roadside parking
  • Lawned garden with patio and furniture
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles, beach 0.6 miles
  • Please note: This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £400
  • Note: Property is unable to accept bookings starting on a Sunday
  • Charcoal BBQ, please bring your own charcoal

The property

This stunning, early 20th century, three-storey property rests in the village of Overstrand in North Norfolk and is close to a host of amenities, as well as being less than half a mile from a sandy beach.

Beckhythe Cottage is a unique, characterful, arts & crafts-style property, built in 1903 and lovingly renovated to compliment its arts & crafts style, this property is ideal for a large group of family or friends wanting to enjoy a coastal getaway in Norfolk.

Beckhythe Cottage boasts many original features, whilst undergoing a fantastic renovation to bring it up to date, which you will discover as you enter the property into a large hallway, which leads to the kitchen, which is fitted with two under counter fridges, an oven and hob and a dishwasher to take care of the washing up.

Enjoy meals in the grand dining room, with seating for 14, a large bay window overlooking the garden and an open fire to add a cosy, homely feel to group meals, or in the sun room, which has a breakfast area, should you want to grab a quick snack.

The sitting room has a choice of cosy furniture to relax onto whilst enjoying flicking through channels on the TV or enjoying the warmth of the open fire, while the bay windows open onto the garden, allowing in a cool breeze on a warm day.

There is a utility room with a washing machine and tumble dryer, should you need it, as well as a boot room area, a pantry with an iron board and other useful appliances, a cloakroom and a ground-floor shower room.

Upstairs, you will find five spacious and bright bedrooms, most of which have stunning feature fireplaces, consisting of one king-size double, one super king double (with zip/link) and 3 doubles, catering to a variety of groups, served by two family bathrooms with shower over bath and an additional first-floor cloakroom, upstairs in the attic are two further bedrooms, one king-size double and one super-king double (which has zip/link feature and can be made into a twin), there is a sea view from one of the attic bedrooms and the attic landing and the second floor bathroom has a separate bath and shower.

Outside is off-road parking for 5 cars, as well as additional roadside parking if you need it, with a spacious garden with a lawn and patio area with furniture, ideal for enjoying an alfresco lunch or a morning coffee in the sunshine.

Overstrand village is a short walk away, with a pub/restaurant, hotel/restaurant, cafe and convenience store within easy reach, as is Overstrand’s scenic sandy beach which is part of Norfolk’s unique Deep History Coast.

Take the Cromer Lighthouse circular walk, encompassing the Overstrand Cliffs area of outstanding natural beauty and the lighthouse as well as providing breath-taking views of the Norfolk coastline along the way, the coastal town of Cromer is less than three miles away, with its sandy beach lined by colourful beach huts, along with a pier & theatre pavilion, featuring live cabaret and comedy.

Visit Cromer Museum, RNLI Henry Blogg Museum, the Royal Cromer Golf Club and enjoy a family day out at Amazona Zoo, admiring more than 200 animals from South America, the National Trust's Felbrigg Hall mansion with woodland and lake is close by, as is the town of Sheringham, with its beach hut-lined beach, scenic boating lake, Beeston Regis Priory landmark and Beeston Bump, a 63m clifftop hill, overlooking the sea.

Explore the Norfolk Coast AONB on foot or bicycle and discover many scenic trails with a fantastic coastal backdrop and plenty of opportunities to discover a wealth of wildlife.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £400.

View on map

About the location

OVERSTRAND

Cromer 2.6 miles, Sheringham 6.9 miles, Holt 12.5 miles

The small coastal village of Overstrand is located on the north Norfolk coast, just over two miles east of Cromer. It has a public, sandy beach, with a rolling green hill backdrop, as well as a café, convenience store, pub & restaurant and a selection of shops. Visit the Overstrand Cliffs nature reserve and geological Site of Special Scientific Interest, located close to Cromer Lighthouse and golf club, while Cromer itself is a short distance away, offering a beach lined with colourful beach huts, as well as its Pier & Pavilion Theatre, the RNLI Henry Blogg Museum, Amazona Zoo, with 200 unique South American animals and Cromer Museum, housed within a Victorian fisherman's cottage. Explore the Norfolk Coast AONB and enjoy the many scenic walking trails and diverse wildlife. There's a wealth of opportunity for exploring your stunning coastal and countryside surroundings from this lovely village.

Please note: This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £400. This includes any damages to the garden.

Note: Property is unable to accept bookings starting on a Sunday.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas