In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
  • Sayonara - (Ref. 968276)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.


1 of 14 Artboard Created with Sketch. View Larger Image
  • Sayonara - Norfolk - 968276 - photo 1


Salhouse near Wroxham, Norfolk (Ref. 968276)

Book with confidence

Request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund if there’s a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland (T&Cs apply).


Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 3

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map


  • Garden / Patio
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

8 Customer Reviews

  • "On entering the property there was a musty smell."

    The stairs up to the rooms were dark and narrow. The sofa was very uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time and the TV is too high on the wall . Basic kitchen equipment such as a grater, frying pan would of been good.The kitchen area was badly designed.We did not feel at all comfortable and did not feel we could relax totaly. The whole place needs a good clean and refurbishment. Never have we been anywhere with a great list of rules. This place is very overpriced for what it is, it was so bad we left a day early.I have no idea who writes the description for the advert on the website but it was totally wrong.

    Thank you for letting us know about the musty smell. We have investigated this and have been unable to find any smell, but we are ensuring we freshen all rooms with spray prior to guest's checking in. We are sorry you found the sofa uncomfortable, and we are lowering the height of the tv. It's a shame you didn't highlight your issues at the time, as we would have been able to help, for instance we could have shown you where the frying pan is kept, and provided a grater. The property is being refurbished for the 2020 season, and we appreciate your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HeatherOct 2019

  • "The accommodation was dated and generally in need of a very deep clean e."

    G. I had to scrub very badly stained teaspoons before use and other crockery items. The sofa was impossibly uncomfortable to sit on so much so the floor was preferable. The TV was fitted so high on the wall and at such an angle to the sofa that if I watched it for a couple of hours it resulted in an achey neck and back. We have booked this type of holiday let twice a year for many years and this is the worst accommodation we have experienced, so much so that we left a day early.

    We apologise that the teaspoons were not scrubbed and cleaned to our usual standards. We have listened to feedback about the sofa and we are lowering the position of the tv to make viewing more comfortable. The apartment is undergoing refurbishment and a deep clean for the coming season, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DeborahSep 2019

  • "Booked this holiday for myself, son and granddaughter; the property was perfectly acceptable for three people occupying however the sofa bed was not particularly comfortable to sleep on and we resorted to a camp bed."

    There was some confusion with the booking as to the age of my granddaughter, the owner was expecting a child under two but quickly rectified this by providing extra bedding. Although not a problem for us, I would not recommend this for toddlers due to the stairs, which did not have a stair gate. Listing implied there was use of a fully enclosed garden, the front garden was available to sit in and was fairly private being enclosed on three sides. It was not totally enclosed and was close to a road so again not suitable for small children to play in. The property is situated in a beautiful location close to the Broads and and it's many delights. We enjoyed our stay.

    Please accept my apology for any confusion. The sofa bed is of modern design but I accept it may not suit everyone's taste. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the layout of the garden, I will try and have it better described. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KarenAug 2019

  • "The accommodation was a semidetached bungalow with an upstairs conversion."

    It was shabby, grubby and uncomfortable. The bathroom was very small with a tiny corner sink above which was a rack on which one bumped ones head as it was so close to the sink. The settee was extremely uncomfortable so it was impossible to watch the TV. The pottery and cutlery were a mish mash of uncoordinated items.The sheet and quilt cover were really creased not ironed at all. There was nowhere to sit outside and to exit the property one had to brush past the owners two vehicles to get to our car on the roadside. As one entered there was a musty smell in keeping with the general uncleanliness of the property. All in all a disappointing experience definitely not worth the price we paid.

    The accommodation is the entire upper floor, stairs and part of the hall of a normal semi detached four bedroom chalet bungalow of which there are many in the UK. The size of the shower room and positioning of the toiletries rack is normal for this style of accommodation, I’ve stayed in similar myself. The sofa bed is of modern design about three years old though I accept it may not be to everybody’s taste. With regard to the cutlery and crockery they are from standard design patterns though past guests may have added one or two items over the last year or so but this helps to make the place homely. There is an outside patio set with three seats in a sheltered private corner in the front garden. It was unfortunate that week I was in possession of an extra vehicle but this was shortly afterwards disposed of and there is now a clear walkway to the entrance. The accommodation is thoroughly serviced before the arrival of every guest and treated with spray fragrance in every room. The accommodation has been refurbished for the coming season. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoyceAug 2019

  • "The accommodation was in a really good position for sightseeing and activities,literally 5 mins to Salhouse Broad where you could go on nature walks,hire a canoe,cycle or just watch the wildlife."

    Two local pubs,I can recommend the Fur & Feather just past Salhouse broad which has its own brewery where you can go on tour or just relax in the beer garden and sample their own ales.The food was very enjoyable too. Wroxham itself is only 3 miles away and is a very lively bustling town with lots of shops and eating places.There are lots of boats to hire for exploring the broads and we went on a guided boat trip for 1.5hrs which was lovely. The property itself was very clean and comfortable.The owner Graham was very helpful and there were lots of information leaflets and games supplied if required.The most welcoming part on arrival was to find a jug of fresh cold milk,chocolate biscuits and bananas,which was a really nice surprise.There was also a very good supply of tea,coffee,sugar, several condiments and even washing up liquid. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

    Reviewed by BrendaJun 2019

  • "Well maintained property, easy to find, a welcome biscuit and banana, jug of milk in fridge and tea,coffee, sugar."

    Owner very helpful and friendly. Would use again

    Reviewed by JeanMay 2019

  • "Great location."

    Friendly and helpful owner. Had a great week.

    Reviewed by SteveSep 2018

  • "It was a good central place for exploring the surrounding area, the owner was nice and helpful, pub was further away than expected, other than that a enjoyable stay."

    Reviewed by PatrickJun 2018

Show more


  • All first floor
  • One double bedroom (zip/link can be twin on request)
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with sofa bed.
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, shared use of owner's washing machine by arrangement, TV with Freeview, radio, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking in layby to front of the property
  • Enclosed lawned garden
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking

The property

Wroxham 2.7 miles.

A well-presented apartment resting on a quiet village road on the outskirts of Norwich and close to Wroxham.

This is a charming getaway for couples or individuals wanting to escape from their busy lifestyle.

The front porch leads into a small hallway where you can store your belongings on arrival before taking the stairs up to the apartment.

A double bedroom is pretty and inviting, home to a large wardrobe and a chest of drawers, as well as a small chair, so you can sit back and feel right at home.

To the other side, a living room hosts a sofa bed for extra guests, and a dining table is tucked into the corner, ideal for enjoying a cup of tea and breakfast in the morning hours.

There are plenty of accessories dotted around the room and you can rest with a good book or listen to the radio, amongst it all.

Close by, a compact kitchen is beautifully finished with white features and makes a cosy place to prepare those evening meals.

Then, tying the layout together, a spacious shower room hosts a large shower cubicle, and a contemporary style basin.

Salhouse Broad is a twenty minute walk away where you can explore woodland paths, abundant wildlife or even hire a canoe.

This great location means you can incorporate city life with a country twist, for the best of both worlds.

A bus route runs past hourly, and Wroxham is home to a railway station with trains regularly running to Norwich or the coast.

Norwich boasts some of the finest buildings in Britain, with two cathedrals, a Norman castle and several large houses to make your stay that much more memorable.

View on map

About the location


Norwich 7 miles; North Walsham 10 miles; Aylsham 11 miles.

Wroxham is commonly known as the “Capital of the Broads” and is the main centre for boating on the Broads. It is home to a wide range of shops, bars and restaurants as well as numerous boating emporia. Wroxham is home to a railway station with trains regularly running to Norwich or the coast, or you can spend a day on the Bure Valley Railway, a narrow gauge steam and diesel service running between the market town of Aylsham and Wroxham. The local area offers a wide choice of places to visit from craft barns and beautiful gardens to National Trust properties and Redwings Horse Sanctuary. Just four miles away is Sprowston Manor Hotel and Country Club with a golf club and spa. A short drive from Wroxham will bring you to the popular city of Norwich which boasts some of the finest buildings in Britain, with two cathedrals, a Norman castle and several large houses. Norwich also offers art galleries, museums, theatres and cinemas, as well as beautiful parks and gardens. Visit its stylish pubs, cafés and restaurants and enjoy its excellent shopping facilities. With Norfolk’s beautiful and varied coastline within easy reach, this is a lovely location for discovering Norfolk.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it