Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • Hen Aelwyd Yr Urd - North Wales - 1131390 - photo 1

Hen Aelwyd Yr Urd

(Ref. 1131390)

Llan Ffestiniog, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi


2 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a great time and we were really pleased with our stay."

    Everything that we needed was on hand. It was quiet and peaceful all week. The bed was really comfortable. The area was perfect for the walking that we wanted to do. The locals were friendly and we had a great meal at the pub. The issue that we had with the key was sorted very quickly and caused us no unnecessary anxiety. I would say that the ‘courtyard’ garden wasn’t really ideal for us with the dog, but having the green space across the road was great but it did mean having to go out every time rather than just being able to throw open a back door. It worked out though.

    Reviewed by Natasha4.1May 2024

  • "First stay at Hen Aelwyd yr urd And it be the last time will never stay again unfortunately we arrived it hadn’t been cleaned and we had to contact Sykes as I didn’t have the owners contact details which normally I do before we check into a property of a holiday let Sykes said we had to give them 24 hours to sort it out they tried the owner and couldn’t get hold of them or the cleaning company they said we doing everything they could for us I felt like going home it really ruined our holiday as always go to north wales Sykes said to book some where else to stay so we did one way to the other cottage we booked the cleaning company phoned me saying they on way to clean the property now and be done with in the hour I think the owner pays a bare minimum and one hour clean I’m I high standard lodge cleaner and no way a holiday let can be cleaned within one hour we lost first night there we arrived back in the morning it had been cleaned we had to a the whole day cleaning ourselves wash the bedding as black hairs all over it if it hadn’t had a washed dryer I would have gone home it was disgusting blood stains over the mattress and no protecter or pillow protectors which are badly stained we always take our own pillows when we go away ."

    Thick in dust everywhere and the ornaments was . Can’t open the bedroom window the handle is broken it’s a fire hazard . Smelt of dog and someone been smoking in the there . It’s very tired and needs deep cleaning and some painting and tlc it’s very small no where in the kitchen to store our food . Good wifi. Bins full out the back and mouldy food in a bin outside in the back garden no clean instructions who and what dates and where the rubbish goes out . Dirty microwave and oven . The tv doesn’t work no tv aerial only can watch dvd’s . Black floors as cleaned the floors up and the wipes covered in black . Wood lice over the kitchen worktops and ants and wood lice over the floors .sykes did phone me up the next day I said I wanted a refund they said it’s up to the owner I asked them to ask the owner to phone me he did and he got Sykes to give me some money back which I have received. It totally ruined our holiday and couldn’t wait to get home didn’t dare unpack everything as the draws inside dirty and dusty. The throws on the sofa covered in stains .No blind in the kitchen window so neighbours behind could see inside when it’s dark and parking is either on the main road or if you lucky to get a spare in the car park . Sykes are normally good . This time it was total let down disappointment and disaster .

    Thank you for taking the time to review our property Ms Leach I am sorry you felt this way about your stay. We are currently reviewing every point raised. I agree the property was not cleaned when you arrived and there was a miscommunication which lead to this. Due to this inconvenience we offered you a partial refund. After our lengthy discussion about some of the above issues I thought this matter was resolved, especially as you requested to book the property again directly through me. Our property management company clean to a high standard but I think on this occasion they got off to a false start due to the miscommunication. We pay for a full clean, there is no duration given, it is until the clean meets the standard we expect. With regards to the issue you have highlighted. Please let me confirm what has been done. - a new mattress and pillow protectors have been ordered and will be replaced. These were not stained or damaged on our last visit 6 weeks ago. - there were no woodlice or ants at the property and we have not seen any evidence to suggest otherwise. - The TV is only advertised to be used with DVDs, we are however going to invest in a new smart TV. - the parking is advertised as on road parking - the oven and microwave have been checked and are not dirty. No photographs were provided to support this claim. - the throws have been checked and there are no stains evident. No photographs were provided to support this claim. These are also washed regularly. - the window was not broken on the previous visit. This has now been rectified. Once again we apologise for the inconvenience. After our discussion I thought the matter was resolved. Especially given your enquiry to stay again. I requested you contact me if you had any further issues and did not receive any further communication, so was shocked to receive this review. We want everyone to enjoy their stays. This property and venture is new to us and we are still learning. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jessie2.2May 2024

Show more Hide all


  • One double bedroom
  • Bathroom with bath and shower over, basin, and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with multi-fuel stove
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washer/dryer
  • TV, combi DVD/CD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs.Logs for the fire are available at the local shop
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking available 50 yards from property (can park outside cottage to unload only)
  • Small rear gravelled area with bistro table and chairs
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome (please bring own dog beds & towels)
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.2 miles
  • Note: Rear gravelled area is enclosed but not completely secure
  • Note: Property is opposite a small, quiet local authority storage yard, which is well-kept with views extending towards the Moelwyn Mountains
  • Note: Shower is over a bath, however due to hot water tank capacity showers are only advisable
  • Note: Adults only, no children allowed (inc. infants)
  • Note: Check-in from 4pm and check-out by 10am

The property

Hen Aelwyd Yr Urd is a charming and romantic holiday cottage near Snowdonia National Park located in the heart of Blaenau Ffestiniog, Gwynedd.

This pet-friendly retreat features a woodburning stove, an open-plan layout perfect for couples looking to unwind and enjoy a peaceful getaway in this scenic corner of Wales.

As you step inside Hen Aelwyd Yr Urd, you will find a charming double bedroom, perfect for catching your rest after a day of exploring the nearby Snowdonia National Park.

The bathroom boasts an opulent bath with a shower over, basin, and WC, providing a relaxing space to unwind and refresh.

The open-plan living space features a well-equipped kitchen where you can prepare delicious meals, a dining area to enjoy them together, and a plush sitting area with a traditional woodburning stove, creating a warm and inviting ambiance throughout.

Explore the stunning surroundings of Hen Aelwyd Yr Urd, where you can discover the mesmerizing Cwmorthin Waterfall, experience the thrilling Zip World Llechwedd and explore the fascinating Llechwedd Slate Caverns.

Take a leisurely stroll to the picturesque Stwlan dam, visit the historic ruins of Tomen y Mur and Dolwyddelan Castle, or embark on a challenging hike up Glyder Fawr for breathtaking views.

For nature lovers, the Ceunant Llennyrch National Nature Reserve offers a peaceful sanctuary within the beautiful Snowdonia National Park.

With so much to see and do, your stay at Hen Aelwyd Yr Urd promises to be an unforgettable retreat in the heart of Gwynedd.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Blaenau Ffestiniog 4 miles; Porthmadog 9 miles; Betws-y-Coed 15 miles.

The old slate quarrying village of Llan Ffestiniog quietly rests close to the impressive Manod and Moelwyn Mountains, near the centre of Snowdonia National Park. Nearby Blaenau Ffestiniog, once the world's capital of slate quarrying and in the 19th century known as the 'City of Slate', offers a range of shops and pubs, whilst the surrounding area boasts a variety of things to see and do. Take a tour around Llechwedd Slate Cavern, enjoy a ride on the famous Ffestiniog Railway or simply take some time to admire the stunning mountainous views available from all aspects. With excellent walking, mountain biking and cycling, wonderful sandy beaches, great fishing, a wealth of delightful towns and villages scattered throughout the area, Zip World, Bounce Below and the beautiful Vale of Ffestiniog and Cynfal Waterfalls to the west, this lovely location has something for everyone, at any time of year!

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas