In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Clynnog House in the last 24 hours

1 of 59 View Image Gallery
  • Clynnog House - Anglesey - 1064147 - photo 1

Clynnog House

(Ref. 1064147)

Dwyran near Newborough, Anglesey Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 12 Guests

  • 6 Bedrooms

  • 5 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (13)
  • bed (11)
  • kitchen (11)
  • lovely (10)
  • our (9)
  • only (9)

18 Customer Reviews

  • "Clynnog House, in my opinion, is a first class holiday retreat."

    We’re a family of 6 adults, 2 two year old toddlers and a dog. The original house and attached barn conversion was perfect, with each of the three sub families, afforded their own space within the sprawling complex. The centrally located kitchen, with it’s bifold doors along both sides, is very well equipped with everything you need to conjure up a feast, fit for a king. Alternatively, there’s ample fridge/freezer capacity to take meals ready to go. Bathrooms are plentiful and again suit the privacy needs of a multi family, family gathering. Continuing the theme outside, the two outdoor areas (accessed via the kitchen bifold doors) consist of a smallish enclosed gated courtyard, leading to ample parking for 3/4 vehicles and the large main, well tended gardens, with exceptional views out across the open countryside and beyond, to the to the Welsh Mountains. Location wise, Clynnog House is just a mile or so from the outstanding Newborough National Nature Reserve. A fabulous forest, which breaks out onto what has to be one of the finest beaches in the country. I guess nowhere on Anglesey is more than 45 mins away and you’re back on the mainland within 20 mins. My only complaint; How do you work the TV in the back lounge? Not that we go on holiday to watch the TV but with England vs Spain playing out Euro final the week of our visit, our lack of knowledge resulted in a frantic 10 mins trying to fire it up before aborting our efforts and watching in the other lounge. Which, for such an event, was too close to where one of the toddlers was trying to sleep.

    Reviewed by Alison4.4Jul 2024

  • "The house and surrounds were splendid."

    The kitchen was a gem, and the spacious feel throughout was lovely. Beds seemed a size too small, the TVs were not user-friendly, quite a few lights were faulty and drawer storage was at a premium. Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay but we all agreed that it felt like intruding into a private house, rather than experiencing a purpose -designed holiday home.

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback - we really appreciate it. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the house and surrounds and that you had an enjoyable stay. The beds are all as per the sizes on the property listing. We have recently changed the mattresses and bedding and so measured them all. One of the TVs has a fire stick in to ensure guests can access all channels, we will leave instructions for this in future to make it easier to use. This is a holiday house and has been for many years. We have tried to make it as comfortable as possible for people staying, with a well stocked kitchen, family games cupboard etc. We don't leave any personal items in the house. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.1Mar 2024

  • "What a fantastic property !"

    ! We had an amazing weekend & will definitely be returning .

    Lovely to hear that you had a nice time and enjoyed the house. We look forward to welcoming you back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Mar 2024

  • "A beautiful property a wonderful stay."

    We would recommend an extra fridge for size of property. Also more than one towel per person would be good. However we found dirty underwear in one of the wardrobes and two children’s tops in a drawer (different bedroom). Dirty marks on bedding in two rooms. A child’s nappy in a bedroom. There were also several pieces of crockery chipped plus crumbs in kitchen drawers. The above are cleaning issues

    Many thanks for your review, We are so pleased that you thought the property beautiful and that you had a wonderful stay there. It is always positive to receive feedback so that we can try to address matters and look at improving our futures guests holiday experience. We were disappointed to read that there were some cleanliness issues during your stay and we will be raising these with our housekeeping team. If the issues had been raised during your stay we could have rectified them for you. We were surprised to hear that you experienced dirty marks on the bedding as the bedding is all new. Did you happen to take any photos? We will be looking at the chipped crockery with a view to replacing where necessary. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay but can only apologise if the matters raised took the edge off your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Norrie4.4Nov 2023

  • "Our family of 11 (6 adults and 5 children aged 15 to 2) had a lovely holiday at Clynnog House."

    Lots of space for everyone and a large garden to enjoy with fantastic views. This is a beautiful part of Anglesey especially Newborough beach and forest. We had a problem with the toaster blowing a fuse but this was rectified the same day with a new toaster being delivered. It would be useful if someone spent some time organising the kitchen cupboards leaving a cupboard empty for food storage. The bedding needs an upgrade, sheets and duvet covers were below standard for this type of property. Not all beds have mattress covers still. It was impossible to turn off the underfloor heating in the lounge. These small criticisms are meant to be helpful and would not deter us from rebooking Clynnog House as we all had a fabulous family holiday.

    Thanks for your feedback - it is indeed really helpful. We are glad you had a nice time. We are replacing all bedding and will inspect mattresses. The thermostat broke in the living room, hence the underfloor heating issue, this has also been fixed. Thanks again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vivien4.7Aug 2023

  • "Just returned from a lovely stay at Clynnog House, family of 9, all ages… house is very spacious and worked well for the family, gardens and surrounding area is beautiful, lots of tips for restaurants and places to visit in the house book… Only reason I didn’t give a 5 star review was for the cleanliness, rather Duffy and cobwebby and the bedding, on stripping the beds at end of holiday, tired and stained… which for the rental charged for our week I wouldn’t expect!"

    We also had builders overlooking the garden during our stay

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you had a nice stay. I’m sorry to hear there were cobwebs however. We are in the process of changing the bedding so that will be rectified. Thanks again for taking the time to feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark3.4Aug 2023

  • "It is a lovely house in a large garden with amazing views."

    But our holiday was badly affected by the noise (drilling, banging), intrusion (workmen on scaffolding overlooking the garden) and dust from building work next to the property. We were very disappointed to receive no prior warning of this work, no apology from Sykes (or the owner) during or after our visit and no offer of compensation. The house is very well equipped and the large kitchen dining area is great for a large family. The bi-fold doors are really useful when the weather allows. The bedrooms are a good size as were the showers and bathrooms. Whilst the house appeared to be clean on arrival that was superficial in places. One of the downstairs showers had dog hair in it and under the bed. In addition, the shower didn’t drain very well and as a consequence was smelly. In other rooms the skirting boards and window sills were dusty. There is a private parking area outside the house but if you have more than three cars it gets a bit cramped as the entrance is quite tight. This was our first visit to this area and we really enjoyed the scenery, beaches and local attractions. However our enjoyment of the property was not so positive as were expecting idyllic and quiet surroundings. This was misleading and as a result our use and enjoyment of the garden was severely restricted.

    We are really sorry to hear you were affected by the building work taking place at the property next door. We don't have any control over the work being done, but as soon as we were made aware of the issue we contacted the owner to ensure you weren't affected for the rest of your stay. As we didn't hear back from you, we had hoped this solved the issue. We also sent some champagne and flowers round by way of an apology, we hope you received these. The building work will be complete in the next few weeks. The drainage issue in the downstairs bathroom has also been resolved, thanks for bringing this to our attention. On the pictures you sent us, we noticed you had a black Labrador with you. Does the dog malt? We will ensure the feedback regarding the dog hair is given to the cleaners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony2.8Aug 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our holiday and the house amazing and was very well equipped and fitted us perfectly (3 generations), we loved the beautiful garden and will be booking again!"

    That being said we only gave a 4 star due to the overall cleanliness of the house and make detail comments as this is an expensive property and we would have expected a higher standard. (The kitchen floor had not been swept, it was clear no furniture has been moved when cleaning as we found ++dust and objects under beds/sofas, used tights between bed and bedside cabinet, used towel left hanging up, bathrooms ++cobwebs and a broken glass jar and flute left in the cupboard etc) Also, it would have been nice if there were mattresses protectors on the beds too as although the beds were very comfy the sheets on them were very thin. When we arrived the hot water had been turned off and the travel cot hadn’t been left out as requested, but when contacted, the caretaker was swift to reply and sorted things out for us very quickly. It was also slightly odd to have family photos all around the house and for personal belongings left around - as this is not an air bnb (slippers/socks and the dresser was a mess of half broken games etc).

    Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. I am really sorry the cleanliness of the house wasn't the usual standard. We will look into this and make sure it doesn't happen again. There should also be a mattress protector on every bed so we have flagged this with the cleaning team. We do have some pictures in the house, but no personal belongings, so that's very strange. The games in the dresser have been left for guests to enjoy, unfortunately from time to time these games do get broken and pieces are lost. Twice yearly we review and replace as necessary. We hope that despite experiencing some issues, you still enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hannah4.7Jul 2023

  • "Lovely property."

    Immaculately clean on arrival. Can't fault it.

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Apr 2023

  • "What a beautiful house!"

    Our extended family stayed with children as young as 3 and grandparents in their 70s and the house was suited to all. The range of upstairs and downstairs bedrooms and walk-in showers was an added bonus. The amount of living space meant that we could all be together when we wanted and apart when we didn't! The garden and views are amazing and you can always find a seat in the sun to admire them. The kitchen was well stocked with plenty of cooking essentials and food storage areas. It was big enough to cook, accommodate and entertain us all at the same time. We had a fabulous time here and would highly recommend it to others.

    Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased you had a nice stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bruce5.0Mar 2023

  • "This was our second time at Clynnog house and the house was equally impressive this time."

    There were only a few issues which caused any problem and these are said in a positive way to aid the owners. We were a party of 12 in 6 cars; last time we could park in the back car park as well as the house’s yard. The yard is too small to safely and conveniently park 6 cars coming and going at separate times. If the oven is on and the kettle and/or toast used, it blows the trip. Finally the largest upstairs room’s towel rail and radiator need bleeding as the didn’t work and we’re noisy. We turned them off at night.

    Thanks so much for your feedback and we are so pleased you had a nice second stay. The upstairs radiator has been sorted and is now fully working. If you come again with 6 cars please do let us know and we will see what we can do to ensure you’re fully accommodated! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin4.7Mar 2023

  • "Fantastic accommodation - would be an ideal inside outside location in the ..."

    Fantastic accommodation - would be an ideal inside outside location in the summertime Only downside was the steps down into lounge very dark and slippy

    Reviewed by Louise3.8Oct 2022

  • "An absolutely lovely cottage to stay in, very comfortable beds and sofas."

    Huge kitchen table where we could all sit together and enjoy meals together. Children had great fun playing hide and seek in the beautiful gardens. The courtyard was great for the dogs but couldn’t let them off lead in the main garden as not secure. Close to the beach and lovely forest walks. Would highly recommend and would love to revisit again in the future.

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Aug 2022

  • "Lovely house and surrounding area."

    Prompt action when things needed rectifying, eg Tv wasn’t working when we arrived, and caretaker arrived that day to sort it. Large rooms and plenty of areas to rest in. Lovely garden and views of Snowdonia.

    Reviewed by Jill4.4May 2022

  • "It was only on day 2 of our stay when we had no hot water we checked and the boiler had been turned off."

    We found the instructions as to how it should be set and turned it back on solving the problem.The house was otherwise fantastic , well equipped and had stunning views over Snowdonia. The Christmas trees and welcome gifts were a lovely touch. We would highly recommend staying at Clynnog House and will definitely return.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Dec 2021

  • "We had an amazing time here, the size and design of the house is perfect for large family gatherings."

    The large dining table ideal for large dinner parties. The 2 decorated Christmas trees was a really nice touch, also the bottle of wine and cakes left for us. Only negative feedback would be the roll top Bath in upstairs bedroom, very low water pressure, would have taken about 2 hours to fill bath. I gave up after half hour. The 2 bedrooms to the rear of the property had a shared bathroom but the door hasn't got a lock on. We had 2 mishaps where someone walked in on someone having a shower and someone on the toilet. There is a lock on the door from the kitchen that leads to this part of the house but this isn't ideal to use because it cuts off the lounge area and other bedroom. Apart from this I would have no hesitation in recommending this property.

    Reviewed by Timothy4.7Dec 2021

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our 7 day stay at Clynnog House."

    We loved the layout of the house, especially the kitchen and the snug. It was very welcoming and matched the description and photos. The children loved running around and exploring the house. And was lovely to be greeted by rabbits in the garden each morning. I did find it initially difficult to find the key box on the day of arrival, as it was partially hidden from view by the downpipe from the gutter, but a quick call to the caretaker set me straight. One of the few negatives was the amount of flies, bluebottles, and other flying insects that greeted us in the house. And the kitchen island was crawling with ants. We managed to get rid of them, but meant that we weren't able to keep the doors or windows open, otherwise we would've been inundated again. Also the kettle was extremely dirty inside, so we had to go out and purchase our own kettle. But otherwise the house was fantastic, and all the bed rooms were lovely and exactly as described. Though one of the double bedrooms had too small a mattress for the bed frame. Note that only a single roll of toilet paper is supplied for each bathroom/on-suite, so remember to bring your own. We did thoroughly enjoy our stay here, and wouldn't hesitate to come back. We were pleasantly surprised that the house had full fibre broadband 300Mbps. There was a smart tv in the living room with your YouTube, Netflix, Disney+, Prime Video Apps available (you'll need your own accounts of course). But the TV in the snug wasn't a Smart TV. It is a very nice and lovely house. And I recommend with out hesitation.

    Reviewed by Sai Ming4.4Jul 2021

  • "Absolutely brilliant property, plenty of room, spacious bedrooms, very comfortable beds, great bathrooms and showers, plenty of hot water, efficient heating, fantastically light kitchen/diner area, lovely outdoor space and garden, and the view is spectacular!"

    The house had a few added extras for luxury - wine/beer cooler cabinet, plate warmer cabinet, a knife sharpener (this is first for me and rental properties always have blunt knives), dishwasher tablets, and thank you for the chocolates and champagne waiting for us in the fridge. Just a couple of things that would have been useful - a garlic press, a wooden spatula for the frying pan, some chairs that could have been taken onto the lawn to sit in the sun looking at the view, and some extra toilet rolls! I cannot believe that a property of this calibre only provides one roll per bathroom! Also I would get rid of that large bush in the middle of the lawn so that the view can be appreciated from the paved area. These are minor issues, we had the best week ever.

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Apr 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 700 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Six bedrooms and five bathrooms: 1 x ground-floor double with a roll-top bath and an en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x King with en-suite roll-top bath, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x King with en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x ground-floor double, 1 x twin with en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x ground-floor twin
  • Large open plan kitchen with a dining table for 10 with a very sociable corner sofa
  • Utility with washing machine and tumbledryer
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Large sitting room with 3 sofas and with a log burning fireplace
  • Snug with a large corner sofa and TV
  • Very large beautiful gardens facing Snowdonia.
  • Amenities: 1 Electric double oven, 1 Electric single oven, gas hob, microwave
  • Large fridge/freezer
  • Large wine fridge
  • Washing machine, tumble dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • 2 x TVs, DVD player
  • Super fast Wi-Fi - 600-700 speed
  • Gas central heating
  • Underfloor heating
  • Highchair and travel cot available on request
  • Stair gates available
  • Log burning fireplace
  • Linen and Towels included
  • Enclosed courtyard with seating for 8 and an enclosed garden with lawn
  • 1 Kettler BBQ
  • Two dogs welcome
  • Local shop 0.7 miles, pub 0.7 miles
  • Stunning Newborough beach is a 5 minute drive or 45 minute walk
  • Ample off-road parking for 4 cars max Ample off-road parking for 4 cars max. EV charging point (free of charge)
  • Sorry, absolutely no parties are permitted.

The property

Clynnog House is an utterly sublime Georgian holiday house spanning over 4000 square foot with a private 0.8 acre stunning garden overlooking Snowdonia.

If you want to get family or friends together for a holiday in North Wales!

This Georgian country house is delightful to look at from the outside as it is within; each room has been carefully designed to give it a sense of luxuriousness, space and calm, offering the ideal holiday house for a fun-filled escape on Anglesey.

Enter the spacious open-plan kitchen/diner, which boasts a fridge/freezer, two electric ovens, a gas hob, dishwasher, wine cooler, and all the other essentials for making tasty meals.

Admire the stylish lighting, which hangs over the dining table, creating a sense of regal ambience whilst enjoying a sociable supper in the evening, set in front of large doors, which opens out into the grounds.

Resting behind is a convenient utility room, equipped with a washing machine and tumble dryer, perfect for longer stays and large groups.

Spend a restful evening in one of the two sitting areas, a large open sitting room where you can huddle around the fireplace during a family film night, whilst a quieter space for reading, chatting or games rests behind.

There is also a snug room, ideal for grandparents or teenagers wanting a little bit of space for themselves, boasting inviting sofas set around a TV.

The ground floor comprises an exquisite double bedroom, which houses a roll top bath in front of a sash window, where you can have a relaxing soak and take in the views across lush green fields to the mountains of Eryri (Snowdonia), as well as an en-suite shower - there’s also a twin, a further double, and a shower room on this floor.

The rest of the bedrooms are found upstairs, all decorated in lavish themes and with en-suite facilities, you’ll find two Kings and a twin here, providing accommodation for a variety of party make-ups.

From the kitchen, huge bi-folding doors open fully into a courtyard on one side with its sweet water feature, kettler barbecue and garden furniture whilst the other side is a landscaped garden boasts an utterly delightful view to look out on as it’s designed to have colour all year round, here you can throw the doors open whilst having a family meal at the table and let the fresh air in on warm, summer nights.

Clynnog House is nestled in the countryside on Anglesey, just a five-minute drive from Newborough Forest and in walking distance of a village shop and pub in the centre of Newborough.

Find cycle trails, challenging walks and hopefully a red squirrel or two throughout the nearby countryside, winding forest and over to the beautiful, long, sandy beach below, Llanddwyn Bay, a gorgeous spot to enjoy a romantic stroll on the sandy shores before admiring the fascinating Newborough Warren sand dune system.

There are plenty of activities, attractions, walks, cycle routes, beaches and places to eat and drink right on your doorstep, including the Anglesey Sea Zoo, Foel Farm Park, Plas Newydd, and GreenWood Family Park, whilst the Menai Strait, Bangor city centre, and Holy Island are just a short drive away.

Further afield is the Eryri (Snowdonia) National Park, should you wish to explore one of the pretty villages, hike in the mountains, or try your luck at thrilling outdoor activities such as canoeing, climbing, high ropes and so much more!

The choice of a relaxing getaway or fun-filled break is yours at Clynnog House. Stunning Newborough beach and forest is a 5 minute drive and most great tourist spots in Anglesey or North Wales are a relatively short drive away.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £500.

View on map

About the location


Bangor 9 miles.

The small village of Newborough (Welsh spelling: Niwbwrch) lies on the edge of forests and dunes at the south west corner of Anglesey. Close by is Llanddwyn Bay, renowned as one of the finest beaches in Britain, ideal for swimming, canoeing, beachcombing and birdwatching or just relaxing! Behind the beach, the 1500 acre sand dune system of Newborough Warren is home to skylarks, meadow pipits and oyster catchers as well as toads and lizards and is protected as a National Nature Reserve. The Tan y Foel horse riding centre is within 3 miles of the village centre and Anglesey Sea Zoo, Foel Farm and the Anglesey Sea Salt are only a short drive away and make a fun day out for the whole family. Nearby Aberffraw is the home of the Anglesey racing track and will offer an exciting day.

View more holiday cottages in Newborough

Note : Please note NO Sunday changeovers.
Note: Under no circumstances will parties be allowed at this property

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute