Secure your Spring 2022 holiday today for just £50

Available on selected breaks taking place between 1st April - 31st May 2022

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Wales 6 minutes ago

10 people have recently viewed this property

Oriel Cottage

Conwy, North Wales & Snowdonia (Ref. 1010439)

4.4

Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/Sky TV Sky TV
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

21 Customer Reviews

  • "We have been staying in this cottage for a number of years, we have stayed twice since the cottage has had new owners, the first time the standards weren’t up to what we were use too, but we gave it the benefit of doubt and we have just stayed again, the place was dirty, bed sheets were stained and I’m not 100% sure they had actually been washed !"

    !! The microwave looked like it had never been cleaned, light switches etc were dirty. It’s such a shame as we absolutely loved staying in this cottage. There was NO cleaning products left in the cottage so I had to go out and buy some so we could clean the place. When we first arrived we were early so had to wait to get in and during this time we saw 4 different people go in and out of the cottage plus there would have been the people who had vacated the cottage that morning, not good during covid times …. And yes not surprisingly my partner managed to get covid during our stay !!

    Hi Mrs Stapleton. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are sorry to hear that the cleanliness of Oriel cottage was not up to your standards and we will be investigating this. We take cleanliness very seriously and would never put our guests at any risk. I can assure you that the bed sheets are professionally cleaned after each stay. I spoke with you partner a few days before your arrival, as I explained to him then we had arranged for a gas service engineer. The four people who you would have seen would have been our cleaning team and two engineers fully masked in order to complete the necessary work before your stay. I do hope your partner is feeling much better now and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Oriel Cottage again. Nick and Jo Property Owner

    Reviewed by CharraineNov 2021

  • "Second time my elderly parents have stayed at Oriel Cottage, they really enjoyed there break, the cottage is very clean and comfortable, plus ideally located for all the local amenities."

    Would recommend.

    Reviewed by RachelOct 2021

  • "The location is great, out of the door & on the main Street, cottage had all you needed, but there is a but!"

    Under the kitchen units there's a strong smell of damp, & as previous holiday occupants have said, parking is tricky, & unusual not have a blind of some sort at the bathroom window!

    Reviewed by GeoffreyOct 2021

  • "Could not recommend the cottage for four adults."

    The second bedroom was very small and the bed was across the room wall to wall. It would mean climbing over each other to get in and out of bed. I think it would be fine for a couple and a single person, or a couple and two young children. The location is great and the cottage is nicely furnished and well equipped. Parking was O.K. for us out of season but locals told us it is a nightmare in the summer. In fact we were blocked in by trade dustbins and had to move them to get the car out, very heavy.

    Reviewed by MaureenSep 2021

  • "Central location easily accessible to everything."

    Comfy, warm cottage, great facilities and dog friendly. Only downside is the parking but otherwise fabulous

    Reviewed by DeniseAug 2021

  • "Beautiful Cottage in the heart of Conwy , everything you need for a lovely stay !"

    We enjoyed the log fire in the evenings and the cute little back area outside when the sun was shining ! Not the first time we have stayed and won’t be the last , even better than the photos on website. When we arrived there were fresh flowers on the table and a little treat to eat in the kitchen . Very pleased with everything, Mark , Debbie and Nicky x

    Reviewed by MarkJul 2021

  • "The cottage and the location are fantastic, right in the centre of the historic and picturesque town of Conwy."

    2 things are worth mentioning, following our stay that we weren't previously aware of, before staying. Firstly, parking. The street outside the cottage is a parking area but is very narrow and only allows for two or three vehicles. There is competition for the spaces and if you are lucky enough to get a space, manoeuvring is tricky as you are negotiating a steep hill. Secondly, there is a pub closeby with frontage on High Street just round the corner from the Cottage. The garden serving the pub is just over the wall at the back of the cottage. If you are sitting out in the yard at the back of the cottage, it can get quite noisy with loud voices. This can go on late into the night until the pub closes. As you can imagine the voices and the language can be quite raucous. Other than these, minor, issues, the accommodation catered for the 3 adults in our party very comfortably.

    Reviewed by HughJul 2021

  • "Oriel Cottage was lovely to stay in!"

    The property was very clean and well looked after. It is in a great location and the owners were very helpful in providing information packages with things for my dog and I to do! Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by NikitaJul 2021

  • "Parking is very difficult as a house is being renovated and the builders block off the road"

    Reviewed by AlanMay 2021

  • "Cottage well equipped and spotlessly clean."

    Information provided by owners was comprehensive and very useful. Would recommend.

    Reviewed by DerekSep 2020

  • "Just a lovely, clean cottage right in the heart of the town."

    Thanks for a great holiday for us and the dogs.

    Reviewed by PeterSep 2020

  • "Oriel Cottage is in such a great position in a quiet st, so relaxing then you walk to the end of the street and you are in midst of Conwy."

    Very comfortable, well equipped, Nicely furnished and decorated plus two bedrooms gives everyone space. Lovely that Jo left us welsh cakes and milk. Outside space great for evening drink. Conwy so chilled, loved it so much will be back next year.

    Reviewed by BeverleyAug 2020

  • "Such a lovely cottage with excellent facilities."

    Everything we needed and more too. Nice little yard area with morning sunshine, although our little old dog struggled a bit on the pebbles. Comfy king size bed and fabulous shower. Constant hot water. Great location for walking to the Quay, park and marine walks. Excellent butchers on the corner and a great selection of eateries and pubs/bars. Conwy is beautiful and having been before our 2nd visit was not a disappointment. Another great cottage booked through Sykes.

    Reviewed by GeorginaAug 2020

  • "Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely holiday home it was perfect for us , location was amazing ."

    Reviewed by JayneJul 2020

  • "We can't wait to return."

    Shame about the virus. Had to lock down for 4 days but could not do half the things we had planned. So glad the cottage was as nice as it was

    Reviewed by DavidMar 2020

  • "We both loved the house."

    Took minutes to warm up when heating put on. Comfy beds too. Very close to all you need in the town. I would really recommend Watsons Bistro to eat out. Their food is so gorgeously yummy. We eat there at every visit Conwy.

    Reviewed by ElaineSep 2019

  • "Could not have been more central for all amenities."

    Reviewed by SteveSep 2019

  • "Oriel Cottage is a lovely place to stay !"

    Everything you need has been thought of , even logs for the fire ! I was hoping it would be as pretty as the photos , it exceeded my expectations, the whole holiday was so relaxed because of this . Perfect position as well , walk out of the door and lots of shops and cafes right there , good bus service 4 minutes walk to Llandudno or Betws-y-coed. I would love to go back for another week.

    Reviewed by DeborahSep 2019

  • "Found a bit of trouble operating TV in lounge, and couldn't work out how to switch on heating."

    Some noise from pubs on High Street, especially on Fridays and Saturdays.

    Reviewed by GrahamAug 2019

  • "Oriel Cottage is set in a fantastic location in the centre of Conwy Town."

    It is clean, comfortable, cosy & has excellent facilities.

    Reviewed by ClaireJul 2019

  • "A lovely cottage in a great location, right in the centre of Conwy."

    The cottage had everything we needed and was a really nice place to spend a week. Only thing to note is that I thought from the description that there was accessible access round the back, which isn't true...the steps were slightly less steep but it was a narrow, slightly overgrown alleyway and we couldn't get the gate open over the gravel. We have a baby so just had to carry the pram in and out the steps at the front- it was fine with 2 of us but just not what I was expecting! The location is amazing, just off the high street, which has a Spar, lots of lovely pubs and cafes as well as some takeaways. Conwy is tiny but has lots to do for its size and is well connected to other places (we came on the train and found the trains and buses in the area excellent).

    Reviewed by LornaJun 2019

Show more

The property

This welcoming and cosy semi-detached cottage is located on a quiet lane adjacent to Plas Mawr, the 16th century Elizabethan townhouse, just inside the town walls of the World Heritage Site of Conwy on the North Wales coast.

Perfectly situated for visiting the delights of the Snowdonia National Park and the surrounding North Wales coast and countryside, the cottage is an ideal base for couples or friends.

This delightful cottage has been refurbished to a good standard and tastefully decorated throughout, providing you with comfortable holiday accommodation.

Upon entering this lovely cottage, you'll find a cosy sitting room with a charming bay window and dining area, extending to a feature fireplace and a warming multi-fuel stove, a welcoming addition especially on those chillier evenings.

There is comfy seating for all, where you can sit and relax in front of the TV or snuggle down with a good book.

The kitchen is well-appointed with access through a decorative glass panelled door onto a pretty enclosed courtyard with table and chairs, a perfect spot for savouring the fresh coastal air whilst enjoying a drink.

There are two comfortable bedrooms upstairs and a family bathroom, benefitting from a bath and a separate shower.

Conwy is well-served by numerous artisan shops, friendly pubs, wine bars, quality restaurants and takeaways.

The beautiful harbour and castle are within walking distance from the cottage, and there are scenic cycle paths to explore nearby.

Venture further afield into the Snowdonia National Park, a haven for outdoor enthusiasts.

The Llyn Peninsula and the wonderful Isle of Anglesey are within easy reach and host a variety of watersports.

Whether it's a relaxing break or an adventure that you are seeking, Oriel cottage provides the perfect base for everyone, all year round.

Note: This property is 1 min walk from Ref 951683, together they sleep 9.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms with TV: 2 x double
  • Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast bar (seats 2)
  • Sitting room with dining area (seats 4) and multi-fuel stove
  • Gas central heating with multi-fuel stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, coffee machine, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 3 x TV/DVDs with basic freeview, iPod dock, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair on request
  • Roadside parking on a first come, first served basis plus additional parking in pay and display car parks available nearby
  • Enclosed gravelled courtyard with furniture
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shops and pubs 1 min walk
  • Note: The cottage is accessed up four steps from the lane, there is a side access leading to the rear of the property for easier access

View on map

About the location

CONWY

Llandudno 5 miles; Betws-y-Coed 16 miles.

Conwy, a World Heritage Site, is without doubt world famous for its historical and architectural heritage, yet at the heart of the town lies a hub of bustling activity. Alongside its ancient festivals and fairs, musical recitals, galleries and historical attractions, there is an array of specialist shops, restaurants and hotels. Built for King Edward I between 1283 and 1287, Master James of St George's design, Conwy Castle remains one of the most outstanding achievements of medieval military architecture. The distinctive, elongated shape, with its two barbicans, eight massive towers and a great bow-shaped hall was perhaps determined by the narrow rocky outcrop on which the castle stands. The town is proud of its historic traditions and celebrates its past by retaining many of these in its annual festivals, events and fairs, including the Honey fair, Seed fair and Gwledd Conwy Feast in October, along with other musical events throughout the year. Conwy is the perfect base for exploring the dramatic Snowdonia National Park, walking unspoilt sandy beaches, or taking in the wonderful scenery on your doorstep. Also within reach are the Llechwedd Slate Caverns, which has the longest zip wire in Europe, and Surf Snowdonia is just six miles away.

View more holiday cottages in Conwy

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it