Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

29 Castle Bakery

Criccieth, North Wales & Snowdonia (Ref. 1061141)



Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

11 Customer Reviews

  • "Very nice cottage Good position for all amenities Back garden was a bit small"

    Reviewed by PaulApr 2022

  • "Why am i sending a feed back to skykescottages when i booked with menai."

    Firstly i would like to appologise that we left three items in the fridge.i had checked every where and it was only when we got half way home my brother said had i checked the fridge and i thought he had. we arrived in criccieth at about 11.30 and it would of been nice to check in earlier as my 84 year old father was quite tired after the journey,rather than 4pm.The only things we could criticise was the floors in the lounge/kitchen and seperate toilet had not been mopped There were cobwebs hanging from one of the beams(i realise they can appear over night)and a bit of dust here and there. Out side in the yard which was lovely here was a small piece of dried up dog pooh(which i removed).I have still given a big smiley face as these were very tiny details,but to some one else they may complain,and cause a fuss.All in all we had a fabulous time and the facilities were fantastic especialy the little extras provided this was a lovely touch.My small dog also enjoyed himself and settled straight away.I have being coming to criccieth since i was a little baby and i consider it to be like a second home.Thank you for your time.

    Reviewed by SusanMar 2022

  • "We’ve stayed here many times before and we love this property!"

    Our only comments would be that the bed and bedding in the room at the back of the property is nowhere near as comfortable as it used to be! We used to sleep brilliantly and this time the mattress and pillows seemed far less supportive. Similarly the new, cubic sofa arrangement in the front living area doesn’t work as well as the three settees used to...... this may be due to Covid, it’s not comfy to sit on and if there are 4 of you it’s a bit tricky or have a conversation. These are minor comments, we LOVE staying at Castle Bakery X

    Many thanks for your feedback. We have put a brand new bed and mattress in the back bedroom. And we will re-think the seating in the living room. Property Owner

    Reviewed by VanessaOct 2021

  • "The flat was spotless and well equipped"

    Reviewed by JaneSep 2021

  • "Whilst we enjoyed our stay at the old bakery we were disappointed about the noise from the tennentsnin the rental property upstairs."

    They were not particularly noisy, more the fact we could here every footstep they made. This was made worse by the kitchen being above the downstairs rear bedroom meaning we were woken every morning by footsteps upstairs. We got used to the noise in the end but it made the first few days a little in enjoyable. That aside the location was great, te cottage had good facilities and parking wasn’t a problem either.

    Reviewed by AndrewAug 2021

  • "The only draw back to 29 castle street was that you can hear everything that happens above you."

    We were woken every morning at 6-30am with the holiday makers children above us jumping off furniture and running from one end of the building to the other we could here all the screaming and the parents talking. I know it’s an old building but I do wonder if there is anything that could be done to soundproof upstairs.

    Reviewed by LisaAug 2021

  • "The flat is very spacious and well equipped and the location is amazing."

    I particularly liked that there was a decent amount of soap, loo roll, washing up stuff etc provided. A few gripes though which could be easily fixed..bath towels are provided but no hand towels; the kitchen is so we'll equipped that there's actually no space to store any food or anything that doesn't go in the fridge; the flat was clean until you started opening cupboards and then it was a bit haphazard; and the noise from the flat above is pretty horrendous. Luckily we have a small child so lie ins aren't really an option. Overall it's a great flat and with a few tweaks it could be perfect.

    Reviewed by JaneJul 2021

  • "Lovely quirky cottage in a fabulous location, bathrooms & beds very clean, however 2 of the sofas definitely past their best & very uncomfortable & was disappointed with the kitchen cleanliness, had to wash all pots, cutlery & glasses before using as they were extremely dirty, not something you should have to do on arrival, disappointing."

    Reviewed by AngelaJul 2021

  • "We loved our stay in Criccieth and the accommodation was really good - spacious, modern & clean."

    My only concern was the noise coming from above the rear bedroom. The footsteps of the people staying above were very loud and often woke us up. Other than that - perfect! Thank you.

    Reviewed by JaniceJun 2021

  • "We’ve stayed here at the bakery for the last 9 years and 2 years before that in the upstairs apartment so we are seasoned visitors that love the location the apartment etc."

    It’s became a true family holiday each year for us . The bakery however is now showing signs of wear and tear . The couches are the same as they have been the whole time we have gone (apart from the middle sofa bed) I know they eve been re-covered but they are uncomfortable with no real support anymore. Note , the listing also states DVD player in the lounge - there isn’t. This is incorrect There is one in the front bedroom but it doesn’t work so that was disappointing. Whilst it’s not a biggy , when it’s raining and you have no where to go and you bring entertainment for that purpose and then can’t play a dvd it is a tad frustrating as we wanted to play a film for our children. I would like to see the new owners maybe replace a few things to bring it back up to the standard we were used to. Also, having travelled with Sykes to other cottages I have always received a lovely welcome pack which is a mixture of eggs/condiments/wine etc . This was the first time I booked the bakery with Sykes but there was nothing. I understand each one is different but this could be a nice touch But as a destination location It’s perfect!

    Thank you for your response. We are glad you enjoyed the location. We had only recently taken over the flat, and have now put a brand new bed and mattress, and a brand new sofa. We have corrected the description about the DVD in the lounge, sorry about that; there is one in the bedroom, we have checked it works and have written clear instructions in the handbook. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CharlotteJun 2021

  • "We love this cottage we have stayed previously ."

    But previously we booked direct with the owner who I believe has now sold it on. We have never booked through yourselves before , we have booked cottages all over the UK previously with different agencies and owners and this is the first time we didn’t receive a lovely welcome pack ? Even basic essentials would of been nice , coffee tea milk sachets etc but there was nothing . This cottage is cute and cosy and in a lovely location we love the cottage , but I can’t believe how tired it’s now looking for the price your asking , it needs now to reflect the price ! The couches all looking tired one of them quite stained , mildew in the shower cubicle and runner , lots of splashes on the wood shiplap next to the toilet , plaster showing above the window in the living area and bedroom , wardrobes could do with doors , looks untidy with clothes and shoes with no doors on , one of the bedrooms has lovely french doors leading to a Teeny outside space which is a lovely touch , but your just looking out onto bins , a drainpipe and a concrete floor where the paint has come off could be made to look much prettier with some I ain’t and a few touches , even with this feed back we would love to revisit hopefully next time it will match the Cost of he stay , or unfortunately we will have to try elsewhere..Kind Regards .

    Thank you for your feedback – as we have only just taken over the property from the previous owner we are only just starting to refresh the property. We are aware that you have stayed before and, apart from renovating the outside furniture, we have not had the opportunity to alter anything yet so the property is much the same as when you stayed there last September. We will obviously be acting on your suggestions and thank you for them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by WendyApr 2021

Show more

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 400 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king size, 1 x super king which is a Zip n Link and can be made in to twins
  • 1 x cloakroom with loo, wash basin and heated towel rail
  • 1 x bathroom with large shower and drencher head, loo, wash hand basin and heated towel rail
  • Kitchen with dishwasher, separate integrated fridge and freezer, electric hob and fan-assisted oven, and a microwave
  • Open plan sitting and dining room with wall-hung flat screen smart TV
  • Feathers in bedding.
  • Dishwasher, separate integrated fridge and freezer, electric hob and fan-assisted oven, and a microwave
  • Wall-hung flat screen smart TV
  • Wifi
  • 2 dogs welcome
  • Courtyard
  • Two minute walk to amenities
  • Note: Parking is on road.

The property

29 Castle Bakery was, of course, a bakery in it’s former life, but now it’s a fabulous ground floor holiday apartment.

Decorated in a bright and cheerful seaside style, you’ll definitely know you’re right by the beach during your holiday in Criccieth! You will be greeted at 29 Castle Bakery with an entrance porch boasting a fabulous stained glass design.

The leads to the open-plan sitting and dining room with kitchen area has white-washed laminate floor.

There are two sofas which provide plenty of comfortable seating room around the wall-hung smart TV.

There is also a wooden bench if you’d like some extra seating.

The dining area, which is just next to the kitchen, has a dining table and chairs to seat up to four people.

The kitchen has a dishwasher, separate integrated fridge and freezer, electric hob and fan-assisted oven, as well as a microwave.

It’s perfectly well-equipped for a self-catering family holiday! You will also find two good-sized bedrooms.

One has a king size bed and French doors which open onto the enclosed courtyard.

The second bedroom has 1 super king bed which is a Zip n Link and can be made in to twin beds. The modern and sumptuous bathrooms include a cloakroom with loo, wash basin and heated towel rail.

There is also a 'Jack and Jill' bathroom with large shower and drencher head, loo, wash hand basin and heated towel rail.

Outside you’ll find an enclosed courtyard with a table and chairs. There is also on-road parking on a first come first served basis close to the house. 29 Castle Bakery is a brilliant holiday cottage just opposite Criccieth's medieval castle which makes for a great family morning out - the views from the top are gorgeous on a warm, sunny summer's day.

What’s more, it's less than a minute's stroll to the beach and you can stop off in Cadwalader's ice cream shop on your way!

There’s also a brilliant fish and chip shop close by, but be warned, the queues get long during the summer!

Also a short walk away is the High Street, where you will find sweet locally-owned shops and restaurants. Note: This property can be booked with Ref: 1061145 to sleep a maximum of 8 people

Note: 1st dog goes free, 2nd dog is £20
Note: En-suite toilet is a saniflo loo
Note: 1 x King bed. 1 x super king bed which is a Zip n Link and can be made in to twins
Note: Feathers in bedding, guests to request alternatives if required.
Note: No Christmas tree or decorations provided
Note: As this is an old property noise from upstairs can occasionally be heard

View on map

About the location


Porthmadog 5 miles; Portmeirion 8 miles; Abersoch 15 miles.

Often described as the 'Pearl of Wales on the shores of Snowdonia’, this delightful seaside town is situated just 5 miles from Porthmadog. The town’s 13th century castle perches majestically on a rocky outcrop, dominating the skyline and offering superb views of Tremadog Bay and the Snowdonia mountains. Watersports enthusiasts will be delighted by the two beaches, whilst walkers and bikers are spoilt for choice by the proximity of the beautiful Snowdonia National Park. Stroll along the beaches, watch porpoises playing in the surf, or relax in the various pubs, restaurants and tea rooms, sampling the famous Cadwalader’s ice cream. Further afield, attractions such as Portmeirion’s wonderful Italianate gardens, the Ffestiniog railway in Porthmadog, Harlech Castle, Caernarfon Castle and the beautiful beaches and renowned golf courses of the Llyn Peninsula are all within an easy drive.

View more holiday cottages in Criccieth

Region Information

Note: 1st dog goes free, 2nd dog is £20
Note: En-suite toilet is a saniflo loo
Note: 1 x King bed. 1 x super king bed which is a Zip n Link and can be made in to twins
Note: Feathers in bedding, guests to request alternatives if required.
Note: No Christmas tree or decorations provided
Note: As this is an old property noise from upstairs can occasionally be heard

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it