Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 20 View Image Gallery
  • Morlais - North Wales - 1065066 - photo 1


(Ref. 1065066)

Criccieth, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (6)
  • bed (6)
  • bedroom (5)
  • kitchen (5)
  • location (5)
  • all (4)

10 Customer Reviews

  • "Please take note of previous feed back lovely location but:- We travelled for 6 hours on Saturday to arrive to a cold and unwelcoming Cottage."

    On entering the property it is very apparent that it is in need of a very deep clean the carpets throughout are heavy soiled and threadbare. The sofa in the front room was cream but is heavy strained as were the cushions. The landing upstairs is very damp and the wall paper is peeling off as is the back bedroom. On entering the dining area the smell is unbelievable as is the kitchen. It became apparent there is a rodent problem within the fabric of the dining area under the floor and in the chimney area. As there was a constant scratching and gnawing. We stayed overnight as we were due to visit relatives in Lancashire and then to return to the cottage - we did not returned but returned home. All I can say is I am very disappointed with Sykes - I thought they held a good portfolio of property and have never experienced such a horrible disgusting place.

    Reviewed by Jacqueline1.3Dec 2023

  • "Lovely quirky traditional style cottage with original features ."

    Crockery in the kitchen cupboards were plentiful with the bonus of a slow cooker and a toaster. Lovely to have a washing machine to hand after spending the day on the beach. Would have been lovely to have had a 3 drawer freezer but the fridge did have a small ice box . This was mentioned in the cottages description. The cords on the sash window in the front bedroom were broken upon arrival leaving the window half open which was a little inconvenient due to the rain we had on Saturday night but the problem was reported and rectified within 48 hours. Rooms were nice and clean . Storage heaters kept us warm when needed as I'm on blood thinners and feel the cold . The cottage has a lovely relaxing atmosphere with fantastic views from the garden. I and my family loved every moment of our stay and miss the cottage so much. We will definitely return next year but we stay for 2 weeks as a week wasn't long enough . I treated my parents to this holiday as it was the first one they have had in 10years. It was so nice to have made some special and everlasting memories with my parents at Morlais. Thank you so much . Some of the previous comments that were made about this cottage were unjustified .

    Reviewed by Sara4.7Sep 2023

  • "I honestly wish that I could rate this property higher."

    The pictures give a good idea what a nice place it could be if reality lived up to them (and a few other things were fixed). It is an old building so you expect to make compromises on standards and facilities, no issue with that. But some things are not simply related to age... The good: Location - a stone's throw from Criccieth Castle with easy access to the beach and various restaurants/pubs nearby. Size - well suited for 4 persons, 6 might be a bit tight. Fresh linens & towels - so new, the towels hadn't even been washed before and some still had the plastic straps from their price tags. View - amazing view from patio onto the bay The bad: Heating - in spite of following the provided instructions, it simply didn't work. Furniture - old, but mostly serviceable (dining table a bit wobbly), sofa pretty worn out Beds - two rooms are okay, but in the street-facing room the mattress is so worn out and soft that it's even too soft for older children TV & Co. - need to search for the wifi router to find access code, TV small, large collection of DVDs, but no DVD player Washing option - great washing machine, but only a single line outside and no rack or anything else to hang wet laundry on The ugly: Hygiene - dusty/mouldy smell in living room, we found 2-3 woodlice every day in different places (bedrooms, corridor, kitchen cupboards) only superficial cleanliness (cobwebs in the ceiling, in bookshelves, etc.), dirty dishes in the cupboard, carpets that probably haven't been shampooed in ages, ... Maintenance - Light in the kitchen fixed with Scotch tape, water dripping from the dining room ceiling if it gets onto the bathroom floor, wallpapers in some places coming off the wall, ... Normally the good points of Morlais would make the bad points annoying, but acceptable. After all, it's an old building in a good location and the rent is solid value for money. However, what irked us are the hygiene and maintenance issues which simply feel light the place is being knowingly neglected. If a tiny trickle of water on the side of the bath tub already causes dripping from the ceiling below, the answer shouldn't be signs advocating proper placing of the shower screen in both bathroom and dining room. It should be someone fixing it. If an old lamp is broken, the answer shouldn't be Scotch tape but a replacement. If dirty dishes are commented on by a reviewer in July, you shouldn't still find the same issue a couple of weeks later. That simply feels like lack of attention or care... So, unfortunately quite a harsh review for a place that has a lot more potential (as some neighbouring properties demonstrate).

    Reviewed by Jan-hendrik1.9Aug 2023

  • "We had a lovely week."

    The location of the property is superb and I loved the sea views.

    Reviewed by Helen3.8Aug 2023

  • "Kitchen floor was sticky and dirty,we had to wash it."

    The dish drainer was dirty/rusty. The bath waste was full of matted hair so that the water wouldn't drain away and had to be cleaned. Both bathroom and toilet had cobwebs. Window in twin bedroom wouldn't open. Skylight on the landing had cobwebs and mould.Visitor instructions were very limited re the heating which, I discovered, was turned off at the mains and we couldn't find any instructions re the electric cooker. Patio area needed weeding and cleaning. Some steps downstairs were painted black and difficult to manage for my wife who has sight and mobility problems, also steps on the landing proved tricky. These should be highlighted in the property description. All other holiday letting agents we have used in the past would not allow their properties to be in such poor condition. The property was shabby with chipped paintwork and threadbare carpets and was, therefore , very poor value for money.

    The house is cleaned after every visit and we have a regular gardener. However I see several areas are missed and now have spoken to both cleaner and garder about this. Heating turned off must be by previous customer. The steps are fine with new hand rails both sides. The property is fine and in good condition. Weve done much to it and are continuing to address minor issues. I appreciate your comments and hope you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clive1.9Jul 2023

  • "Beautiful location but that's it."

    The property looks very sad and sorry for itself with dirty glasses in the cupboard, wallpaper hanging away from most of the walls, kitchen light held together by tape. None of the electric heaters worked. The house was generally dirty used half eaten dog treats under the sofa. We were very disappointed but made the most of our holiday. The list of problems is too long to list honestly. It look like this house is just used as a money spinner. I would definitely not recommend or stay here ever again.

    The propery looks fine with small ongoing issues being addressed. Dirty glasses, cutlery put away wouldn't be picked up by cleaners but we've now asked them to check this and other issues you made. I don't want this again. The wallpaper as you described is complete untrue as is heaters not working? they all work fine. The light was a simple temporary fix now dealt with. I must say you comment "money spinner" completely untrue, and not welcomed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan1.9Jul 2023

  • "Wow , what an amazing property , warm, cosy and everything you need for a holiday."

    We didn't realise how close it was to the castle , so sitting outside at night with the castle all lit up , listening to the waves crashing was fantastic. Waking up to fabulous views of the sea from our bedroom. Comfortable beds and the place was spotless , the owners have obviously loved and cared for Morlais . Local fish and chip shop on your doorstep and Dillons restaurant down on the beach is fabulous for a treat . Only a short drive to Port Merion , port maroc, unfortunately no time for snowdon so next time when we certainly will return.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Apr 2023

  • "Prime location lovely old fashioned cottage beautiful views."

    The only negative was a baking tray which had seen better days. Would definitely come back for a week as we only stayed a couple of days.

    Reviewed by Debbie4.7Aug 2022

  • "The view from the house is stunning and I totally realise that is what we have paid for."

    However there was no light on the main stairs and my husband fell down them. Thankfully he wasn't badly hurt. Could have been a very different story. We looked to put a light in ourselves but the actual fixing was broken. The curtain in the dining room was ripped, not a little one but a major tear, looked as if it had been like it for years. The patio was a terrible state weeds up to a foot high, in the end my mother - in-law could not bear it any longer and cleared some. The garden set was dirty and had to be washed down before use. I understand birds etc, etc, but this was more than one weeks dirt. The TV didn't work the owners did ask if we wanted them to change it during the week but we declined as we didn't feel it was an essential but other people may do. The house is in a wonderful, wonderful position. I would definitely return to the area but not Morlais, which is a real shame as just a little care and attention to the house, would make it a far more pleasurable experience ie; safe lighting, tidy patio, working TV, not a lot just very simple safe adjustments. Kind regards the Harris Family

    Thank you for your comments, sorry it's taken as long to respond. I wasn't aware of most of these at the time. The curtain has been replaced along with new furniture and much work done in the garden [patio] along with a gardener service we have now. The t.v. was working before you came and was sorted out the following week, I know we contacted you at the time. One of the two landing lights one was due to be replaced, but electrician postponed just before you came. I'm sorry you fell trying to replace the bulb and glad you were alright. We didn't expect anyone to try to replace the bulb however I do understand and probably would of done the same. Regards other guests this was a mix up prior to being with Sykes who we've been with for 10 months so now all bookings go through them. In spite of these issues Im glad you enjoyed the views and location and if you'd like to stay again do get in touch as your most welcome. Best Regards Stephen Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul2.5Jun 2022

  • "It is described as a home and it felt like the owner might turn the front door key at any time."

    Personal letters and ornaments and photos were around. It was fairly clean but I guess tired. The real beauty of this house is the glorious view from the patio, which I weeded while I was there. I think it just needs a bit of love. The weather was kind, and allowed us to spend more time outside enjoying the view. Plus points were the proximity to the local shops, beach, and the castle.

    Reviewed by Gillian2.8Jun 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, coffee machine
  • Smart TV, DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking
  • Patio garden with furniture
  • Outdoor brazier for cooking
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub 0.1 miles, beach 0.1 miles

The property

Morlais is a traditional, terraced cottage based in the popular picturesque village of Criccieth, Gwynedd.

Based just 50 yards from the beach and enjoying panoramic views of the bay, this is a lovely escape for families looking to experience the beautiful rolling countryside of the Llyn Peninsula.

Upon arrival you can find parking on the roadside before unloading your baggage into your new home from home.

Spend your down time in the lounge, relaxing upon the sofa as you browse the Smart TV for a favourite film, or set the dining table for a big family feast.

The kitchen offers all you could need for a short break, including an electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge and even a washing machine, so you can easily pop your muddy clothes on a spin.

A patio door leads out to the garden, affording stunning bay views with Criccieth Castle in sight, this is a lovely space to sit back and enjoy the moment.

The bedrooms at Morlais include two doubles and a twin, served by a bathroom with bath and shower over so you can decide how best to prepare for the day.

Given the central location, there are a number of amenities and attractions in walking distance; dine in a traditional Welsh pub, grab takeaway fish and chips before sitting at a bench overlooking the bay, or climb the great hill to get a better view of the romantic Criccieth Castle.

Those looking to get their steps in can explore the scenic Rout 8, an exciting long-distance route crossing over rugged and beautiful Welsh terrain, while there is also the picturesque Wales Coastal Path for some magnificent coastal scenes.

If you’re willing to travel further afield, there’s even the Eryri (Snowdonia) National Park to explore, home to rugged terrain which is perfect for hiking and mountain biking.

Book Morlais and experience this beautiful Welsh region.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Porthmadog 5 miles; Portmeirion 8 miles; Abersoch 15 miles.

Often described as the 'Pearl of Wales on the shores of Snowdonia’, this delightful seaside town is situated just 5 miles from Porthmadog. The town’s 13th-century castle perches majestically on a rocky outcrop, dominating the skyline and offering superb views of Tremadog Bay and the Snowdonia mountains. Watersports enthusiasts will be delighted by the two beaches, whilst walkers and bikers are spoilt for choice by the proximity of the beautiful Snowdonia National Park. Stroll along the beaches, watch porpoises playing in the surf, or relax in the various pubs, restaurants and tea rooms, sampling the famous Cadwalader’s ice cream. Further afield, attractions such as Portmeirion’s wonderful Italianate gardens, the Ffestiniog railway in Porthmadog, Harlech Castle, Caernarfon Castle and the beautiful beaches and renowned golf courses of the Llyn Peninsula are all within an easy drive.

View more holiday cottages in Criccieth

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas