Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Wales 5 minutes ago

1 of 23 View Larger Image
  • Swn Y Gwynt - North Wales - 1009018 - photo 1
close

4 people have recently viewed this property

Swn Y Gwynt

Criccieth, North Wales & Snowdonia (Ref. 1009018)

4.0

(13 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

27 Customer Reviews

  • "I have to say that this is the best holiday cottage/ house we've had ever."

    Fantastic position overlooking Criccieth bay and able to see Harlech Castle from the verandah. It had all the amenities. Cleanliness and thoughtfully arranged furniture. Sleeping accommodation was excellent too. The weather was fabulous. Mark

    Reviewed by MarkJun 2022

  • "The property is it the best position in Criccieth and the views are breathtaking…."

    all around! Certainly did not want to leave at the end of our week… of course we had the added advantage of glorious weather. The house itself is tired in places.. but very homely, welcoming and comfortable. The grounds are very hilly for elderly or infirm but you have the lovely balcony to use instead! We enjoyed it so much we have booked to return this summer!

    Reviewed by JanApr 2022

  • "The house has a fabulous view of the northern part of Cardigan Bay, with views down the coast to Harlech and beyond and of course to nearby Criccieth, including the Castle."

    I also loved the views to the north and east, over the farmland dotted with sheep and their new-born lambs. There are several places in and around the house where you can admire the views. We found a walk starting at the bottom of the hill near the house, which was well signposted and which took us up some fields, with stunning views over the Porthmadog estuary and Cardigan Bay, with standing stones and 'burnt mounds' to add even more interest. Inside, the house is comfortable and spacious, with all mod cons. The house more than lived up to expectations and we had a memorable holiday. Thank you. Thanks also to Sykes for answering a couple of queries beforehand so promptly.

    Reviewed by AnnApr 2022

  • "The garden is not fully secure for dogs or children as there is an open driveway."

    Reviewed by IanSep 2021

  • "The cottage was dated but comfy and after a day or two very relaxing."

    Only one light bulb was working in the bathroom, only one of the wall lights above the fireplace worked properly one of the bulbs in the bedside lamp in the second double room wasn't working, the cottage smelled badly of tobacco smoke, none of the automatic air freshners worked....the view and gardens are amazing though, and the kitchen is packed with everything you need...although the hob is massively annoying!!!

    Reviewed by ChrisAug 2021

  • "Not dog friendly at all had to keep my dog on the lead at all times the balcony was covered in bird Pooh"

    Reviewed by DianaJul 2021

  • "Cottage is not child freindly grass not cut so kids could not use garden bathroom not the best shower to small."

    bath that people dont use tb big needs removing. bedrooms downstairs big problem with noise veiw exelent but over priced tv never worked was sorted out after few days thanks to emma the area is lovely all around beach not to good for todlers would not use cottage again or stop in cricceith bad choice on my behalf disapointed with sykes could not move holliday or cancel without losing all my money at worst you lose deposit so i learned a leeson never pay in full ten months early which i find is disgeceful that you cant have money back minus deposit sure its breaking law its the same old story in this country wen they have had your money they dont give adam

    Reviewed by KevinAug 2020

  • "The cottage is on the quiet outskirts of Criccieth village in an elevated position giving a fantastic view of the bay!"

    The property is within a few minutes walk of the beach however there is a steep hill to contend with and I would recommend the use of a vehicle if not physically fit.

    Reviewed by GaryJul 2020

  • "Just returned from a lovely stay in Swm Y Gwynt."

    Stunning views overlooking the sea, the house occupies a wonderful position. Everything is provided for a comfortable and relaxing holiday and we loved Criccieth and the local area. The house was beautifully presented. It would be even better to be able to access the conservatory without having to go outdoors, particularly as we did have some rain, but that didn’t spoil our stay. We hope to return.

    Reviewed by ElaineOct 2019

  • "Beautiful views, lovely holiday home, could be improved by updating the bathroom."

    Reviewed by SimonSep 2019

  • "Superb house and stunning views - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and had a very happy family holiday."

    The house’s Visitor handbook needs updating - it’s not professional looking and the instructions for using the hob are very confusing. Kitchen needs better / more useful utensils (e.g for turning eggs) The towels are far too small for adults - barely covered the men! Bath sheets would be preferable. Criccieth is picturesque but not prosperous. Aside from Dylan’s and the chip shop we did not find anywhere else nice to eat meals. Local restaurant recommendations in the visitor guide would have been most welcome.

    Reviewed by CatherineAug 2019

  • "On arrival we were greeted with a broken handle on the fridge which we had to communicate with the caretaker only to find out she was already aware that it was broken!"

    ! A note explaining that this was a recent issue but noted would have been nice!!! We were also greeted with a dishwasher full of dishes!!! They had been washed however we had to empty and put away all the dishes!! We also found the house to be tired and in need of modernisation! The glossy pictures show what looks to be a modern home however we found the complete opposite!!! We were generally disappointed with the quality of accommodation and the cleanliness was also questionable as we left it cleaner than we found it..!!!! The one bonus was the location and fantastic view however we wouldn’t choose to stay here again!

    Thank you for your comments. We value all feedback as the comfort of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Swn Y Gwynt. The fridge handle was replaced during your stay and the dishes in the dishwasher was a genuine oversight and for this we do apologise. We have received excellent feedback from our last three guests for comfort and cleanliness and we were disappointed you did not feel the same, but please be assured that all your comments have been taken on board. Property Owner

    Reviewed by StephenAug 2019

  • "The house and views are outstanding"

    Reviewed by PaulineJun 2019

  • "Excellent cottage."

    Views to die for. Everything you need,is there. Very clean. Location,location!! Would recommend.

    Michael FarrowOct 2018

  • "A fantastic house in an amazing spot overlooking a picturebook seaside town and a beach within walking distance."

    Having the house in an estate location makes it really feel like a home from home. Couldn't have asked much more. The heating in the house is a bit tricky due to its layout and location of the thermostat meaning the living spaces can overheat easily at this time of year.

    Paul ThackerOct 2018

  • "Excellent location, splendid upside down house with views to die for."

    No issues with the upstairs. Downstairs there are 3 good sized rooms and a nice bathroom. However, there is a very strong musty / damp smell in 2 of the bedrooms.

    Kevin SkeltonOct 2018

  • "This is a well located cottage close to the town and beach, and we loved the bedrooms being downstairs and living space upstairs so as to get the best views."

    It was clean when we arrived, although as previous reviewers have said there is a slight damp smell downstairs (we just opened windows) and we did notify the (very friendly) caretaker and agent about the broken railing on the balcony so it should now get fixed. The kitchen and bathroom are dated but functional (kids loved jacuzzi when enough water in it) but the views make up for it-it’s an amazing view over the bay. And that makes up for a lot-we’d come back here despite the niggles above-this is a house which grows on you...

    Aug 2018

  • "Cottage was dated and not very clean at all."

    Bedrooms smelt damp and wallpaper peeling away in one room. Garden overgrown so much so that brambles scratches car.

    Anna PictonJul 2018

  • "We loved it so much we wanted to move in."

    Everything was there that we could wish for, and more. The only negatives were , one the raining on the sun deck needed welding by the landing window, the mattresses in the twin room were lumpy and the last this was that the oven temperature was inconsistent an the indicator light that shows oven is up to temperature would not go out above 170 degrees C. We managed because we brought our own temperature probe to ensure food fully cooked.

    M TaylorJul 2018

  • "Oh God..."

    .surely heaven on earth.....my son said"best holiday cottage ever "....the views! the bath! the lovely comfy beds!....ithe enormous garden! A fantastic place to stay, so clean and bright and airy, with a lovely welcoming feel.

    S FaircloughMay 2018

  • "We had a number if issues with the property."

    We had too contact the housekeeper on two occasions. The first time the boiler was not switched on we were not made aware of a secret thermostat. The second time the pressure dropped and the boiler switched off completely. Also the water is switched on constant and is boiling hot. It sounds like this problem is on going as other clients have also had the same problems. The kitchen was not made ready for our arrival, the worktops had not been cleaned, the dishwasher front was also dirty. We appreciate that this is a large property to turn around, but clients deserve a certain level of cleanliness . Whilst the housekeeper is a lovely lady, she did say she has five other properties too clean. These and other issues stopped us from enjoying our stay, unfortunately we will not be returning to Swn Y Gwynt. On a positive note the views are fantastic from the property.

    Elizabeth O'donnellMay 2018

  • "Our cottage was lovely and cosy with the most amazing views"

    Peter LeneghanApr 2018

  • "We loved the views across Cardigan Bay and the fields behind."

    The conservatory is a great place to warch the birds and relax. The children loved playing in the garden and spotting lambs in the fields. We would love to return.

    Apr 2018

  • "This cottage is placed in a wonderful setting with an easy walk down to the beach although hilly."

    It is roomy and very well equipped. The views from the conservatory are amazing . However on entry the house smelt it had a strange odour which was not welcoming at all. The vacuum cleaner was also in need of some attention a good clean . As we used it there was an offensive smell coming from it and in the utility room . All in all these things rectified would probably irradiate the smells. The bathroom shower cubicle had a large crack in the glass and the wooden ceiling in the cubicle was mouldy and the cubicle leaks leaving the floor slippery . The jacuzzi bath didn't work. Housekeeping should also pay attention to cobwebs in several areas around the house and stains on the settee. The double beds were comfortable but the singles are horrendous as the metal frames are so loose they wobble when using them and squeak terribly with every move you make. The star value we have rated is heavily swayed by the views and situation of the house and size .

    Oct 2017

  • "Lovely property in a fabulous location, spotlessly clean and very well equipped."

    But was let down on little things. No kindling or matches for the fire, no spare toilet rolls, no kitchen surface cleaning sprays, no bird food as advertised, no spare bin liners, no pump action anti-bacterial soap at any of the sinks, no small shower gels etc. Just let down on simple basics for a property marketed in the price range it is, these small additions would have made all the difference.

    Sep 2017

  • "Lovely family home, perfect for exploring around the Llyn peninsula."

    David JamesAug 2017

  • "Lovely views and great location as well as a holiday home that caters for all!"

    Gary ElsleyAug 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 400 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x twin
  • family bathroom with jacuzzi bath, shower with grab rails and seat for the less mibile, loo, bidet and basin
  • Open plan sitting and dining area with open fire.
  • Bed linen and towels provided, Central Heating, Open fire, Woodburning stove, Flatscreen TV, DVD player, Dishwasher, Washing machine, Garden furniture, Balcony Furniture, BBQ area (Please provide own disposable BBQ), Off road parking
  • 2 well behaved dogs welcome
  • Shops and pub 0.5 miles
  • Note: Not recommended for young children.

The property

Swn y Gwynt is all about the setting and the stunning views across Cardigan Bay with the backdrop of mountains and Harlech castle.

This lovely holiday cottage is owned by a Dutch family who have refurbished it to a high standard whilst retaining its original charm.

It is an 'upside down' house, making the most of...

View on map

About the location

CRICCIETH

Porthmadog 5 miles; Portmeirion 8 miles; Abersoch 15 miles.

Often described as the 'Pearl of Wales on the shores of Snowdonia’, this delightful seaside town is situated just 5 miles from Porthmadog. The town’s 13th century castle perches majestically on a rocky outcrop, dominating the skyline and offering superb views of Tremadog Bay and the Snowdonia mountains. Watersports enthusiasts will be delighted by the two beaches, whilst walkers and bikers are spoilt for choice by the proximity of the beautiful Snowdonia National Park. Stroll along the beaches, watch porpoises playing in the surf, or relax in the various pubs, restaurants and tea rooms, sampling the famous Cadwalader’s ice cream. Further afield, attractions such as Portmeirion’s wonderful Italianate gardens, the Ffestiniog railway in Porthmadog, Harlech Castle, Caernarfon Castle and the beautiful beaches and renowned golf courses of the Llyn Peninsula are all within an easy drive.

View more holiday cottages in Criccieth

Region Information

Note: The gardens are on different levels in parts and there is a balcony with railings on the first floor from the sitting room so may not be ideal for the very young or elderly and care must be taken. The drive is fairly steep and narrow when reversing.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it