In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 25 View Image Gallery
  • 7 Castle Terrace - North Wales - 1053868 - photo 1

7 Castle Terrace

(Ref. 1053868)

Dolwyddelan, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (16)
  • location (13)
  • comfortable (13)
  • great (12)
  • lovely (11)
  • bed (11)

29 Customer Reviews

  • "Nice clean cottage, lovely garden and very comfy beds."

    Parking for 1 car good. Kitchen well stocked with decent sized mugs and glasses which we don't often find. Would give higher rating but for the bathroom which is tired, lots of hot water but cold tap seized. Good location for exploring Snowdonia.

    Reviewed by Angeline4.1Jun 2024

  • "Super comfy beds , well equipped kitchen it had everything we needed , great location, beautiful walks from the property and 10mins from the train station with regular inexpensive trains to Betws-y-Coed and Llandudno."

    Would love to return in the summer to make use of the beautiful garden. Would definitely recommend

    Reviewed by Jacqueline4.4Mar 2024

  • "The property was lovely and clean, very comfortable and had everything we needed for a lovely weeks stay."

    We did have problems sorting the TV when we first arrived, as we couldn't get freesat to work, eventually sorted it but more by luck than anything else. We also couldn't get the heating to boost when the timer had finished, so it did go a little chilly in the evening but the lovely blankets were enough to keep us warm until bedtime. Overall we had a lovely week and would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Judie4.7Mar 2024

  • "Great property in excellent location."

    Well maintained and appointed. Helpful Skyes staff as always, a great cottage.

    Reviewed by Gabriel5.0Mar 2024

  • "Nice and warm property, but some real effort needs to be invested in the bathrooms and especially the gardens front and back."

    We were able to fit two SUVs into the parking spaces, at a push. It was obvious the gardens hadn’t been tended to in a long time. The steps to fhe garden were very slippery when wet and meant you had to be incredibly cautious when going down them. The village is lovely and the nearby walks are stunning. A beautiful part of the national park.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that aspects didn’t meet your expectations. However, it is difficult for us to rectify anything when you haven’t elaborated on any issues that you actually had, other than to tell us we need to invest some real effort which is not very helpful. The garden is an established cottage garden which is purposefully not cut back short but is also left to grow a little longer during the winter months as it’s not really used. Unfortunately the steps in the garden will get slippery when wet. The bathrooms are both very clean and are well maintained but are of a tradition style which we understand might not be to everyone’s taste if they prefer more contemporary, however this is not in keeping with the property and the area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan3.4Oct 2023

  • "Overall a pleasant stay but not without some issues."

    The owner was contacted and tried to resolve these issues but was unable to do so during our stay.

    Thank you for your feedback however it is unfair to not elaborate. The issues you are referring to were that the kitchen taps had failed and were not turning off properly so therefore needed to be replaced. This happened 2 days before the end of your stay and we were made aware at around 10pm. We managed to make arrangements for the plumber to come and replace the taps the day before you were leaving only to be told it wasn’t convenient for yourselves just as he was due to arrive. We therefore agreed that we would wait until the next day to complete the works once you had left which you said would be more convenient. The other issue you are referring to is that a couple of bulbs were out in the kitchen. We thank you for informing us about these issues so we can rectify them for our future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Iain2.8Sep 2023

  • "The cottage was very comfortable and in a delightful location - we had some fantastic days out, including a walk straight from the house."

    We'd wanted castles and walks and we got plenty of both. We only used the two double bedrooms in the end, as one of our party couldn't make the trip. The lower bedroom was quite cold, but very spacious. The upper double bedroom was lovely. We were grateful for a previous reviewer suggesting it was best to back into the parking space. Definitely the way to go.

    Reviewed by Steff4.7Aug 2023

  • "Would have liked to have been able to access a vacuum cleaner as we had a hairy dog with us."

    Would have liked to have been able to hoover during our stay and before we left the property. Other than this, can't fault it. Thank you for a lovely stay with great amenities in a lovely friendly village location. Hope to visit again.

    Reviewed by Nicola4.7Aug 2023

  • "Great cottage with all facilities we needed."

    Reviewed by Martin4.1Jun 2023

  • "This cottage is highly decorated and tastefully done the beds were really comfortable and the owners was a pleasure to talk to over a small matter we had whilst staying there."

    There is a beautiful walk which we went on in the village and the views were exceptional. Whilst staying at the cottage we visited several different locations and enjoyed everyone of them with our two dogs absolutely loved it here and we would definitely go back and revisit other places whilst being comfortable and cozy at this location .

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Mar 2023

  • "The house was really beautifully decorated and well equipped."

    The beds were very comfortable. It was a good location for our holiday. Our main issue was the heating. Upon arrival the house was freezing and we had to wait for the set times of the heating to come on so needed to go get firewood to light the fire for warmth. On the Saturday morning the heating didn’t come on so we had to contact the house manager who did quickly tell us how to get the boiler going again but meant the house again was very cold. On arriving home from a walk where we got cold and wet - the house was cold as the set heating hadn’t come on. If you are paying for a weekend away too don’t want to have set times for heating or at least need a clear override button. Our children are up early and were cold. The shower in the basement bathroom was too hot and couldn’t be used. So whilst it was such a lovely house I’d be reluctant to return due to the heating issues.

    Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for the inconvenience with the heating. Unfortunately there was a recurring fault on the boiler which is why it felt cold at times during your stay as the boiler hadn’t switched on with the timer as normal, however this has now been traced and fully rectified. In regards to the timings themselves, the boiler is on the majority of the time and only goes off at night and for a couple of hours during the day when most people are out. I am sure you can appreciate with the current cost of living crisis that this is necessary to help us keep the price of your holiday as reasonable as we can. We are sorry to hear that you also had issues with the shower in the basement, however as this wasn’t mentioned during your stay, even though we spoke on a couple of occasions to address the heating, it obviously makes it very difficult for us to rectify things for you if we are not aware of it. Thanks again for you feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tina4.4Mar 2023

  • "This is a luxurious cottage in a quaint little village."

    It has everything you need for a very comfy stay. We had an issue with the boiler so had to text the management company. They were brilliant and got the issue sorted quickly for us. Another plus point. We would definitely like to go back. Ot is 30 mins drive from Mount Snowden and a similar drive to Zip World. The Spar shop nearby is super expensive so if you have the option, stop in at the supermarket in Llangollen, an hour to the East, and stock up.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Feb 2023

  • "We have just come back from a lovely stay at this cottage."

    Would highly recommened it. The description of the cottage is very accurate, it was clean and tidy and very comfortable. Perfectly situated for hiking and visiting all of Snowdonia. Walks available from the doorstep. The village is small and not much in the Spar shop, but Bewys-y-Coed only a 10 minuite drive away. There was a lovely restaurant in the village , just a 5 minute walk from the cottage called Ellens Castle and a lovely Pizza place in Betwys-y-coed which we used twice for takeaways. The only minor thing I would mention is the parking. In the photo, the space looks very big but in fact its very tight for 2 cars, and you have to reverse in or it could end up being quite dangerous, if you tried to reverse out on your own. But that aside I would definitley use this cottage again.

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Sep 2022

  • "Property is very cosy and all needs covered ,situated ideally for surrounding areas to access easily ."

    Beds we’re very comfortable

    Reviewed by Linda4.1Sep 2022

  • "We loved our stay."

    Thank you so much for hosting.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Aug 2022

  • "The interior of the house was fine, good facilities, clean and bedrooms were comfortable."

    No problems. The big contrast is the exterior of the property. The front and rear gardens are badly in need of some TLC. The rear garden is very overgrown, the steps to garden desperately need painting, the patio area is full of weeds and the adjacent summerhouse was very dirty and not at all inviting! A few hours concerted effort in the garden areas would improve the overall experience at 7 Castle Terrace.

    Thank you for your feedback and we can only apologise for the untidiness of the outside areas during your stay. Unfortunately we have been let down by our gardeners and were unaware of this at the time. Arrangements have now been put in place to address this and the work is completed. Had we been made aware of it at some point during your stay, we would have rectified this for you immediately. Thanks again, we appreciate your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin3.4Jun 2022

  • "Accommodation absolutely superb being comfortable and cosy with everything one needs."

    Location very scenic and convenient with close access to the Spar and hotel. The hotel is a good night out and is recommended for it's food and friendly atmosphere. This cottage is ideally situated for easy access to the the beautiful beaches and places of interest all within in a short drive. This cottage definitely comes highly recommended and we hope to be back again.

    Reviewed by Debby5.0Mar 2022

  • "Cottage was fantastic could have just needed a toilet upstairs with bedrooms"

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Mar 2022

  • "Property is in a great location with access to a pub, hotel and local shop."

    Property was clean, well equipped and beautifully decorated. The beds are so comfy and have luxurious duvets albeit they were a bit hot for me. We had an issue with the central heating - it was 4:30 on NYE and I called Sykes and fortunately someone answered and said they would call the owner. Within 10 mins, I had a call from the owner who tried to help. It was only then I recalled we had a very brief power cut the night before so he talked me through resetting the boiler. He was so helpful and I was grateful for his prompt response as we had a baby with us. On leaving the property, one of our party also left a charger behind and on contacting the owner, he very kindly agreed to send it on. I would recommend this property and would stay again.

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Dec 2021

  • "Stayed at the cottage with my wife and daughter and had a great stay."

    A small issue at the cottage was sorted immediately by the owner Dan and great communication. The cottage well exceeded the adverts pictures and it's a lovely ,spacious, well equipped,comfortable and well thought out living space.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Oct 2021

  • "Lovely cottage and perfect location."

    Down stairs room smelt damp and was unable to get rid of smell but everything was super clean.

    Thank you so much for leaving your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that there was a damp smell during your stay. Had we been made aware of this at the time, we would have rectified this for you immediately. We will be attending the property to resolve this as soon as possible for future bookings. Thank you again for your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare3.8Sep 2021

  • "Cosy well equipped house in a beautiful village."

    An issue early on with the shower and heating was quickly and efficiently dealt with by the owner.

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Aug 2021

  • "Really nice clean high quality place just lovely"

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Jun 2021

  • "Everything about the cottage and our stay was great, very comfortable and ..."

    Everything about the cottage and our stay was great, very comfortable and fantastic location for exploring Snowdonia - would definitely recommend

    Reviewed by Jayne5.0Jun 2021

  • "Fully equipped, fantastic cottage in a great location."

    Great views, nice walks from your front door. Will definitely return.

    Reviewed by Ryan3.8May 2021

  • "Had a problem with the TV but the Owners agent and the owner were soon on site and an engineered called replace damaged part all okay."

    An excellent response and the gift delivered to us from the owner to apologise for the inconvenience was greatly appreciated. Will us this cottage again on our next visit. Great facilities and very high spec of fixtures and furniture.

    Reviewed by John5.0May 2021

  • "An amazing cottage in a superb location."

    We stayed here for a week and had a brilliant time. The cottage had everything we needed and more; it was clean, fresh and comfortable and also had a great outdoor garden space to enjoy the sun. The location was excellent and had a shop within a 2-minute walk, a castle with fantastic views only a 15 minute walk away, a local train station plus a pub and restaurant all within a 5 minute walk away. There were also plenty of good walking trails around. It was also ideal for short car journeys to Betws Y Coed, Conwy and Portmeirion. I would highly recommend this cottage and hope to come back again at some point

    Reviewed by Philip5.0May 2021

  • "The cottage is ideally situated and has stunning views all around."

    It was immaculate throughout and very well equipped. A lovely welcome pack was left with milk, bread, scones and crisps. The owners have obviously taken time and planning and great expense to make the cottage as comfortable as can be, and have made a beautiful job of it. I would definitely recommend this cottage and would 100% return.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0May 2021

  • "Everything was great."

    No hassle, very straightforward booking, clear instructions on what to expect and property exactly as described. Spotlessley clean, welcoming, down to milk and scones and very comfortable. Just what we needed. Will book again soon.

    Reviewed by Damon5.0May 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x lower-ground-floor king-size with en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x super king-size (zip/link, can be a twin on request), 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with multi-fuel stove
  • Gas central heating with mutli-fuel stove
  • Electric range cooker with electric hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Smart TV, Netflix, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for two cars
  • Enclosed rear garden with lawned area and a patio featuring outdoor seating
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Dogs must be kept on the ground floor at all times and off the furniture
  • Note: Guests travelling with children must provide their own travel cot and high chair
  • Note: Open-tread staircase leads down to the garden, please take caution
  • Note: Please supervise dogs outside due to the low wall in the garden onto a public walk way down the side of the property
  • Note: Slate steps outside down to basement bedroom can get slippery in the wet so be careful
  • Note: Check in 4pm, check out 11am.

The property

Nestled in the beautiful and verdant Lledr Valley in the picturesque village of Dolwyddelan, 7 Castle Terrace is an arresting stone dwelling offering the ultimate escape to Wales for family and friends alike.

Encompassed by the magnificent mountain range of Snowdonia National Park, this homely abode is perfectly suited to a group of walkers and outdoor enthusiasts.

Leave your muddy wellies by the door as you step inside this charming home-away-from-home and retreat to the warm and inviting ambiance of the living/dining room, a wonderful space to relax and unwind as you snuggle up in front of the gorgeous multi-fuel stove and enjoy a warm cup of tea whilst watching your favourite shows on the Smart TV.

A few steps away a pretty dining room can be found joining the space, appointed with beautiful country-style furnishings that complement the characterful beams that line the ceilings.

Continue through to the quaint farmhouse kitchen, home to a sea of appliances and utensils helping you to prepare many hearty home-cooked meals throughout your stay.

Take the winding staircase down to the lower ground floor and be greeted by a spacious master bedroom hosting a fabulous king-size bed and en-suite shower room, with access to the tranquil rear garden.

Completing the bedrooms is a chic super king-size, which can be made a twin on request, and a light and airy twin, both resting on the first floor.

On the ground floor, you’ll find the sophisticated bathroom where you can indulge in a long relaxing soak in the tub or freshen up with a quick rinse under the shower.

When ready to explore your spectacular surroundings, be sure to start with an exhilarating hike to the 13th century fortress of Dolwyddelan Castle, or venture along the river to Ffos Anoddun and uncover the enchanting Fairy Glen and Fairy Falls.

See Rhaeadr Y Graig Lwyd and the National Trust owned Ysbyty Ifan, or spend the day in the neighbouring town of Blaenau Ffestiniog for a tour of the ancient quarry of Llechwedd and the popular attraction of Zip World Slate Caverns.

Hike Erik Scott and the National Trust owned Aberglaslyn, or climb to the peaks of Y Garn and Snowdonia where you will be rewarded with incredible 360 views.

Discover Surf Snowdonia with its wave surf lagoon, Zip World Caverns with one of the longest zip wires in Europe and Bounce Below, a trampoline park set in an underground cavern.

You can visit National Trust Bodnant Garden, Conwy Castle or take a trip on the steam railway.

Lose yourself on an afternoon at Conwy Valley Maze, or hop in the car and head for Y Felinheli for a trip to GreenWood Family Park.

Enjoy a fun-filled day out at Piggery Pottery, or meet friendly wildlife at the Welsh Mountain Zoo.

Wander the luscious landscapes of Tomen y Mur or see the ancient remains of Tomen y Mur.

With so much adventure right on your doorstep, be sure to book a stay at 7 Castle Terrace.

View on map

About the location


Betws-y-Coed 6 miles.

Situated in the beautiful Lledr Valley at the foot of Moel Siabod in the Snowdonia National Park, just 6 miles from the popular tourist centre of Betws-y-Coed, the pretty village of Dolwyddelan is an ideal location from which to explore the whole of this spectacular mountain region. The village has a church dating to around 1500, whilst on the outskirts of the village is the 13th century Dolwyddelan Castle, which boasts magnificent views from its battlements. There are numerous walks in the mountains and the Gwydyr Forest and the railway line along the valley makes it possible to combine a walk one way with a return by train. The Afon Lledr is noted for sea trout and salmon fishing, and visiting golfers are welcome at the 9-hole course at Betws-y-Coed. Dolwyddelan village has a late-opening general store and two pubs serving bar meals, whilst within 8 miles, Betws-y-Coed, Blaenau Ffestiniog and Llanrwst offer a wide range of amenities.

View more holiday cottages in Dolwyddelan

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute