In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

12 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 14 View Image Gallery
  • Ty Gwyn - North Wales - 919557 - photo 1

Ty Gwyn

(Ref. 919557)

Llangwm near Bala, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 10 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 5 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • hot (20)
  • hot tub (19)
  • all (19)
  • tub (18)
  • our (17)
  • great (17)

52 Customer Reviews

  • "A beautiful property in a stunning location we had a lovely time, The rooms where very comfortable house very spacious, there was 9 women and we moved around freely."

    definitely would return but I would bring a car next time.

    Reviewed by Tracey4.4May 2024

  • "Fabulous property for a family gathering."

    All the bedrooms are spacious and it was great to have four bedrooms and four bathrooms. The farmhouse kitchen was very well equipped with lots of thought having been given to adequate and suitable crockery and glasses for outside and inside use. Its in a beautiful scenic location and although on the A5, it was safe for the children and peaceful for us all to enjoy. Mrs Roberts, the owner was more than accommodating and helpful. We have already recommended it to friends and would certainly return.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0May 2024

  • "The owner, Elliw, went above and beyond for us and made our stay very special."

    I highly recommend and will 100 % be returning myself.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Apr 2024

  • "I booked the cottage for my 60th birthday with 8 of my friends, the facilities were perfect , couldn't want for anything."

    .We had great weather too which helped having a fabulous hot tub..Location only 9 miles from Bala so we ordered a mini bus for a meal there..All in all the weekend couldn't of been better, we had a walk into the beautiful countryside there as the views are amazing. A bday I'll remember.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Apr 2024

  • "Amazing stay over new year, plenty of room for 8 adults and 3 kids, really cosy house with excellent view and great walks near by."

    The house has everything you need, lots of space for dining and relaxing. The owner Elliw is very responsive and helpful. I stay away every new year, this is easily the best holiday home we have stayed in so far and we will 100% stay again.

    Reviewed by Daniel5.0Dec 2023

  • "Fantastic time away with our family, it was for my wife's 40th, couldn't have asked for a better location and house."

    We had a great time, everything we needed and more, house was extremely clean and well looked after, hot tub with the amazing views was superb, great place. We will 100% use this holiday home again.

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Dec 2023

  • "Beautiful house."

    Perfectly clean with great facilities. We were made to feel very welcome here and the owners were easily contactable and very accommodating.. We really enjoyed our stay and are already planning our return.

    Reviewed by Sara5.0Nov 2023

  • "Absolutely exceptional holiday home with everything we needed and more for our 7 night stay."

    More than the home and facilities though is the beautiful location; wonderful panoramic views of the surrounding area - especially from the hot tub! Best of all worlds with plenty to see and do within a short drive or perfect peace taking in the views and wildlife. Best holiday ever according grandson- can't argue with that.

    Reviewed by Shaun5.0Aug 2023

  • "We were a party of five adults and three aged 10 to 17 with three cars for which there was ample parking."

    Good information before arrival including directions and access to the house. It is well set back from the A5 and therefore quiet and safe. We had our own patch of lawn for some games (frisbee, ball and goal provided) plus the hot tub which some of us used. Handy to have a rotary line and the BBQ plus the shed to store the seat cushions. Lovely views of territory we are very familiar with. Kitchen has table easily seating 8. Not sure how 10 would get on. A few items not in evidence such as sugar bowl, milk jug, pizza wheel. Plenty of cutlerly and plates. A small set of folding steps would be handy as top shelf of all cupboards well above my reach - hence not seeing the much wanted cafetiere until day of depature! Good sized fridge and the bottle cooler was a nice touch with welcome wine. The welcome booklet needs a refresh to provide some hints on use of hob - we figured it - and that the switches to the washing machine are in the adjoining cupboard. It should mention where the fire blanket is (cupboard to right of sink). We all felt towels should be provided. We needed ones for the down stairs loo, the kitchen, the hot tub and regular bathroom use which is a very large amount of 28+ to be transporting with the rest of one's luggage. Toilet paper plentiful and good quality. Bathrooms all very impressive and modern with good water flow. Beds considered comfortable by most. Bedrooms offered generous storage with chests and wardrobes but no seats or full length mirrors. No hair dryer that we could find. Upstairs oppressively hot and windows open only to a fixed point. Once open window insets need a very big clean - an area clearly overlooked. Bedding of good quality and very fresh and clean. No basic body wash for showers but liquid soap provided for hand washing. Generous hall way offered places for coats and shoes - we changed into slippers for upstairs but clearly others don't as stair carpet showing signs of much use which is a shame. We watered hanging baskets and dead headed the blooms. Lounge offers some jigsaws, leaflets and games with three large sofas but we felt a nest of tables would be so handy then everyone can reach their drink without all trying to get at the one small table. Main lounge TV worked very well but bedroom ones constantly buffered so strain on sat. too great. Owner very responsive when asked to sort lightbulb replacements. We were puzzled by need to not use hot tub on our final evening - the handover day seems logical for any such cut off point. Other cottages on same site look lovely and no party intrudes on another. I've booked with Sykes numerous times and spent many £s more this time so probably consequently highly aware of any failings - we had a generally good time and offer up these observations over fine tuning to be constructive not overly negative.

    Reviewed by Shirley3.8Aug 2023

  • "Absolutely gorgeous house, well equipped, spacious and very comfortable."

    We had a lovely, relaxing holiday - just what we wanted. Would definitely recommend it.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jul 2023

  • "Just come back from a girly weekend here for my 40th birthday."

    Such a gorgeous cottage with amazing views, so clean and warm lots of space for the 10 of us, it had everything we needed and more. Would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Sara5.0Apr 2023

  • "We couldn't fault Ty Gwyn."

    It was a beautiful cottage in a gorgeous setting. There was plenty of space for the 10 of us and perfect for our family holiday. There was plenty of parking, the bedrooms warm and comfortable and the living spaces were modern and well equipped. Having a hot tub was a bonus and the owner was very friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Mar 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay."

    The cottage was a brilliant size for all of us, lovely and clean. Views from every window were amazing, so so beautiful. It's well positioned, so much to do in the local area but also great if you decide to stay in for the day. We have decided to rebook we loved it that much!

    Reviewed by Lorna5.0Mar 2023

  • "Great weekend at Ty Gwyn."

    Stayed here a few times over the years and never been disappointed. And I am sure we will be back!

    Reviewed by Jennie5.0Feb 2023

  • "Lovely property for us to share with our friends , perfect location for zipworld."

    The property had everything we needed.

    Reviewed by Tina5.0Jan 2023

  • "Brilliant place to stay."

    Every room having an en-suit is brilliant for a joint stay. Would recommend for group gatherings. Effortless to check in and out. 5 stars.

    Reviewed by Aidan5.0Sep 2022

  • "When the entire group of 7 people had to spend their own money on 3 bottles of air freshner and 3 bottles of Febreeze because every single bedroom STINKS really bad - that's never a good sign."

    All the carpets and furniture had a horrible smell, especially when you opened the wardrobes. There were disgusting smelling pillows inside which we had to take out and leave in the downstairs laundry room. We had the windows open for the entire week, all day long, and the smell never went away. The showers were leaking and it even leaked into the living room. We reported a problem with the cooker fan. The dishwasher wasn't working properly either. I also had to chase the owner for key collection information myself since they didn't send it, which should've been a red flag. I would not recommend this place. The only positive thing it has going for it is the outside views.

    Thank you for your feedback I clean the property myself with the help of cleaners and we are unaware of any smell at the property I apologise that the cooker hood wasn't working, it needed a new fuse which we replaced and it is a shame when we called to do this, that you didn't mention the smell at the time My property manager has checked and resealed the showers after you left them all and re sealed them on the Friday after they left which worked out better really as they couldn't use them until the next day otherwise The property is in the countryside so there may be flies during certain periods but I do leave fly spray and the sticky bands for guest to use if needed Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julya1.9Sep 2022

  • "This property is huge and very well appointed."

    There was nothing we needed that hadn't been provided. The hot tub was very clean and enjoyed by all. It would be perfect if towels were provided for everything bar the hot tub as they take up a huge part of the packing. The only downside was the smell which we assumed was from septic tank and a massive fly problem. We hung fly papers and captured dozens every day. On a more positive note we couldn't have asked for a better owner. We suffered huge delays due to traffic accidents and the owner kindly met the grocery delivery guy we had booked and took our order in and packed it away. First class service.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Aug 2022

  • "This property ticked all the box’s for us and our friends."

    It had everything we were looking for. The stunning location made us so relaxed and sitting in the hot tub overlooking the hills was breathtaking. The house was spot on and met all our needs. Being located on the A5 was perfect as everything was accessible.

    Reviewed by Sheena5.0Jul 2022

  • "The cottage was beautiful and so clean and tidy."

    Grounds of the property were also lovely and clean. We had a lovely stay and couldn't believe how much there is to do in the local areas.

    Reviewed by Dawn5.0Apr 2022

  • "Fantastic week’s stay at both Ty Gwyn and Briws."

    Beautiful accommodation and location, and the weather was fantastic. Hot tubs were a superb addition and these were well maintained, but done so discreetly. Owners were welcoming and extremely accommodating. Great location and look forward to returning.

    Reviewed by Samuel5.0Apr 2022

  • "We had a lovely family holiday at Ty Gwyn, staying for a week."

    The house was lovely and spacious, and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook most nights. Our only issue was that the hot tub was out of bounds from 12 noon on the last day (we were fully aware of this, as listed in the booking). However, the owners arrived at 11:30am to start the cleaning. With check in being quite late in the day, and check out very early on the final day, it felt like we were cutting our holiday short not being able to use the hot tub. On top of this, and without warning, someone came and started mowing the grass which took at least a couple of hours. This meant we couldn’t use the garden at all. So it very much felt like a day where all that mattered were the people checking in the next day, and not us enjoying the last full day of our holiday. Because of all this, a Friday - Friday holiday felt more like a Saturday - Thursday. I understand the need to clean hot tubs for the next people, but when check in isn’t until after 4, we felt like this could be done the morning of checkout. Or at the very least after a time in the evening not the morning. Put a bit of a dampener on the end of an otherwise pleasant holiday

    Reviewed by Emma4.7Apr 2022

  • "Definitely recommend this property and the owner who lovely to deal with."

    Reviewed by Rhian5.0Jan 2022

  • "It’s our third time here all the family absolutely love it great location with ..."

    It’s our third time here all the family absolutely love it great location with fantastic views the cottage is spotless clean perfect for little getaway to Wales

    Reviewed by Dean5.0Jan 2022

  • "Ty Gwyn is a beautiful cottage in a stunning location in the Welsh countryside."

    The cottage is well equipped and spacious and the garden and hot tub are amazing. The owners are helpful and came every day to maintain the hot tub. The cottage is in a perfect location for exploring Snowdonia and the surrounding areas. We would definitely love to return to Ty Gwyn!

    Reviewed by John4.7Aug 2021

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the property actually exceeded our expectations."

    Every need had been catered for.

    Reviewed by Clare4.1Jul 2021

  • "From start to finish our holiday was amazing."

    The standard of accommodation was truly fabulous. The scenery was outstanding and the service excellent. The cottage is a wonderful property and I would recommend staying there to everyone.

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Jul 2021

  • "Thank you for fitting us in lastminute."

    This break away was exactly what we needed. Very relaxing and met all expectations. We will be back as soon as you have space for us! Thanks jess

    Reviewed by Jessica5.0Apr 2021

  • "This was a last minute booking due to Covid 19 restrictions changing and it was a great relief that we were able to found something after a very stressful day of being told by Sykes we had to cancel our first holiday."

    We have all had an amazing break in this beautiful cottage and feel relaxed as we all travelled home we would go back as the owner was very helpful during our stay.

    Reviewed by Jane4.1Sep 2020

  • "We had a lovely time at Ty Gwyn - the rooms were all comfortable, and the kitchen and living room area could accommodate all of the group comfortably."

    The hot tub and the view was amazing. We would really recommend staying here for a group trip away. Driveable distance from Snowdon and Bala lake.

    Reviewed by Katherine5.0Sep 2020

  • "An amazing old converted farm house."

    Loads of room for 10 people, although you can't fit 10 people in the hot tub at once. Massive kitchen and table for 10 people. En suite for every bedroom. Great views, with plenty to do within the surrounding areas. The owner is a lovely person to deal with. Highly recommended and will hopefully be returning some time in the future. Thanks for a lovely week away.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Jul 2020

  • "The cottage was absolutely stunning and so warm in the November cold with heated flooring!"

    Everyone was so happy and we had such a lovely weekend we didn’t want to leave! Couldn’t have been more pleased with everything!

    Reviewed by Amy5.0Nov 2019

  • "The cottage has been finished to a high standard, the furniture and fittings are first class, the location is fabulous, the garden and hot tub are fantastic."

    Reviewed by Alan4.7Aug 2019

  • "We missed the call to tell us about the code for the key."

    This was not terribly satisfactory as we had to call into the office twice to request a call from the owner to ascertain the code. I believe it was a recorded message and my husband, who is hard of hearing, didn't get the message the first time! Apart from that the whole holiday worked out very well. Lovely property and nicely situate. Three girls aged 15, 14 and 12 thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub!! As did some of us adults when we had the chance ! Accomodation, cutlery, china and glassware in plentiful supply for the number the house catered for unlike some we have stayed at where we have struggled to find sufficient for the number of persons accommodated for. Lovely holiday and thank you to all concerned. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Jul 2019

  • "We stayed here back in april and there was building works going on which we were ..."

    We stayed here back in april and there was building works going on which we were never informed about so be booked again for june thinking we could give it another go and enjoy it but still building works going on some starting there diggers at 6am in a morning which was frustrating when we have young children as the really loud noise woke them all so didn't really end up being a relaxing holiday i do feel we should of been informed again and given the opourtunity to spend money elsewhere if we were informed we would defiantly not of chosen this property again and feel its really poor from yourselves not to inform us on booking the holiday especially for the money we paid

    Reviewed by Lee3.4Jul 2019

  • "Ty Gwyn is a very beautiful cottage in a gorgeous setting."

    It was the perfect get away for a group of friends. You can tell there had been great thought and care taken when the cottage had been renovated. Everything was of a very good quality, from the towels to all the kitchen utensils and the gas fired BBQ. The hot tub was very well maintained, and I really enjoy a soak just after we had arrived with a chilled glass of wine. There was a couple of bottles waiting for us in the fridge up on our arrival. This was a lovely touch and really added to the start of our weekend away. I just wish we had been able to stay longer! There’s already been talk of another visit and I wouldn’t hesitate to book again.

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Jun 2019

  • "Beautiful house, provided all the comforts needed after a busy day."

    Would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Hayley5.0May 2019

  • "Felt comfortable as soon as entered cottage easy instructions to locate keys."

    It is really spacious and clean perfect position. Owner called daily to do hot tub ( she came early so never disturbed) lovely lady

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Apr 2019

  • "Great place to stay, very friendly."

    Reviewed by Sinead5.0Feb 2019

  • "The owners were very good and always ready to help"

    Reviewed by Lorraine5.0Dec 2018

  • "We booked this holiday house because it had a hot tub- it wasn't working correctly and we only used it Friday night!"

    !! We reported it to the owner who basically said she was aware of it and was very sorry but it needed a new part and company couldn't get out to look at it until after our stay!! It was tepid and the owner was apologetic but despite us sharing our disappointment she basically said its just one of those things- sorry but not good enough!! Eventually she offered 10% off any future booking- won t be returning sadly as want 're assurance that a hot tub will be working next year so will prob look at hoseasons!! It's a shame as house was nice.

    Reviewed by Sarah2.8Sep 2018

  • "Loved this cottage."

    So much to do around (by driving of course) and great for my kids. The hot tib was amazing and cleaned every day. Not once did any of the kids that went with us say they were bored. Such a peaceful place to be and great to relax and unwind. Even came home with no washing which is a brucy bonus. Booked to go back next year we all enjoyed it that much

    Reviewed by Lian5.0Aug 2018

  • "I visited here with my friends for my 30th birthday."

    The place is beautiful and quite isolated so was the perfect setting. Really recommend going there with a group.

    Reviewed by Kelly5.0Jun 2018

  • "Stunning property, excellent customer service from Sykes cottages."

    Reviewed by Emily5.0May 2018

  • "Fantastic location"

    Reviewed by Megan4.7May 2018

  • "Ty Gwyn is amazing."

    A beautiful cottage with everything you need. Will definitely be going back and would highly recommend to others.

    Reviewed by Stacy5.0Mar 2018

  • "Great location and friendly owner"

    Reviewed by Darren5.0Feb 2018

  • "The owner of the property contacted me during our stay asking whether someone could come and value the property whilst we were there and that they would need to come in to the property."

    I felt this spoilt the holiday as I felt under pressure as the owner had said they couldn’t do Friday (the ste we were leaving). I expressed I wasn’t happy with this. The owner re arranged a date.

    Reviewed by Merrie4.2Dec 2017

  • "Had a lovely time at the house it had everything we needed."

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Jan 2017

  • "Beautiful cottage with loads of space for a large party."

    The cottage has been finished off to a very high standard and was a home from home. Great location for views.

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0Dec 2016

  • "Such a lovely place."

    Didn't want to ever leave. Will definitely be going back next year. Recommend to anyone. Lovely place with the hot tub being a bonus.

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Nov 2016

  • "Had a fantastic family holiday, the location and property were excellent."

    Couldn't keep everyone out of the hot tub, I would definitely recommend staying here a good time was had by all!!

    Reviewed by Melanie5.0Sep 2016

Show more Hide all


  • Four bedrooms: 1 x super king-size double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 2 x king-size double (one with en-suite shower, basin and WC), 1 x family room with 2 singles and 1 king size bed with en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburner.
  • Biomass eco central heating with ground floor underfloor heating and woodburner
  • Electric double oven and hob, microwave, fridges, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburner inc. in rent
  • Honesty box for additional wood
  • Bed linen inc. in rent
  • Cot, highchair and stairgate on request
  • Off road parking for 4 cars
  • Lawn and patio with private hot tub, furniture and Charcoal BBQ
  • Please note: guests must provide their own charcoal
  • Shared picnic bench area by stream
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2.5 miles
  • Café 8 mins walk
  • Note: Unfenced stream across drive, children to be supervised
  • Note: This property has a refundable good housekeeping bond of £250.00, which will be pre-authorised on your payment card at the time of booking, for bookings from 9th January 2020 onward
  • Please Note: To allow for additional cleaning measures, the hot tubs will be out of use from 12.30pm on the last full day of your stay
  • Towels are not provided at this property, please bring your own thank you

The property

A wonderful, stylish, detached stone farmhouse with lawns and enjoying superb views across open countryside towards Cerrgydrudion.

The largest of the three holiday cottages, Ty Gwyn offers tastefully furnished accommodation throughout.

Guests enter into a spacious hallway which opens into a large sitting room with oak beams, and a welcoming woodburner to relax in front of on those cooler evenings.

In the summer, open the French doors to let the warm breeze in and enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the location.

The kitchen is modern and well equipped with a large dining table where you can relax and enjoy some sumptuous home-cooked food or enjoy alfresco dining on the patio before stepping into the luxury private hot tub to soak away the day’s activities.

When it is time to retire to bed, you will find four stylish bedrooms, three of them with en-suite facilities, including a family room which is ideal for the children to make their own with four single beds and an en-suite bathroom.

A perfect holiday cottage for groups or large families to enjoy again and again.

Note: This property can be booked with Refs. 905257, 933447 905258 and 963354 together they sleep 35

Ty Gwyn Cottages

Llangwm 2 miles. Five superb detached holiday cottages enjoying an enviable position within North Wales, resting between the lakeside town of Bala and charming Betws-y-Coed. All five properties have been carefully redeveloped and all retain stylish character features and using local produce where possible. Together sleeping up to 35 people, Ty Gwyn Cottages are ideal for those in pursuit of bringing together large groups of outdoor enthusiast, families, friends and those alike to explore this wonderful part of the country or simply to celebrate a special occasion. Located in beautiful rolling countryside and opposite a mountain stream with picnic area, just two miles from the hamlet of Llangwm between Llangollen and Betws-y-Coed, these delightful cottages are located on the Hiraethog Trail which opens up onto the unspoilt Hiraethog moors and gives access to Llyn Brenig and Alwen Reservoir on a picturesque circular walk. Close by you will find Rhug Organic Farm and restaurant, The Glassblobbery glass works, and the GYG Karting circuit just outside Cerrigydrudion. Both Bala and Betws-y-Coed are just a scenic drive away, opening up the Snowdonia Mountain Range and the superb activities and watersports on offer in the area. Hire a canoe on Lake Bala, or enjoy Tree Top Adventure in Betws-y-Coed, whilst for a truly unique experience try Bounce Below in Blaenau Ffestiniog and the amazing Zip World to get a different perspective on the mountain scenery. A superb destination all year round to enjoy with loved ones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Bala 9 miles; Betws-y-Coed 16 miles.

The tranquil village of Llangwm is perfectly situated between the lakeside town of Bala and charming Betws-y-Coed, renowned as the gateway to Snowdonia National Park. Boasting Lakes Brenig and Alwen within a few miles, this peaceful village offers superb walking, cycling and wildlife watching opportunities amidst the surrounding countryside. The nearby village of Cerrigydrudion offers a family-run entertainment centre including cinema screen and coffee shop. The popular resorts of Betws-y-Coed and Bala are both within easy driving distance offering a range of interesting shops, inns and restaurants and a host of outdoor activities, including rafting and climbing to name just two. A wonderful holiday location offering something for all the family.

PLEASE NOTE - Towels are not provided at this property, please bring your own. Thank you

PLEASE NOTE - the charging of electric vehicles is not permitted at this property.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas