In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Wenallt - North Wales - 1105558 - photo 1


(Ref. 1105558)

Nantlle, Near Mount Snowdon, North Wales and Snowdonia, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (7)
  • lovely (6)
  • our (6)
  • out (6)
  • bed (6)
  • beautiful (5)

11 Customer Reviews

  • "This beautiful cottage was fantastic, superb location with stunning views and spotlessly clean!"

    It was plenty big enough for 4 adults, 2 children and 2 dogs. We had a cold spell whilst there but the cottage was lovely and warm, the beds were comfy and the kitchen was well equipped. The outbuilding was perfect to dry off the dogs or hang wet clothes and the view from the bench out the back was just gorgeous! You won’t be disappointed if you book a stay here, we’ll definitely be back! Thank you Kim and Ben.

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Mar 2024

  • "This was our second stay and we loved it."

    The cottage has everything you could want both inside and out. The views at the back are amazing. There are lots of beautiful walks and it's extremely peaceful. Kim was an amazing host. Extremely responsive and organised fresh bedding, pot towel etc to be brought when we decided to stay an extra week. We had a great time ❤️

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Feb 2024

  • "Hi. We 4 friends had excellent 3ngt weekend, perfect for our 10ml walk to Moel Hebog, Moel Ogof & Moel Lefn on Sat then Sun 7ml easy lowland walk around all the slate quarries/mines."

    The cottage was very Welcoming, Quaint, Old and filled with lots of Character including Slate Chimney Alcoves and exposed Beams. It had everything we required, plenty of space to move around and accommodate, good facilities and lovely hot shower in the only bathroom in the cottage. Just a few pointers that I would recommend to the owners that would, for us, have made the whole experience that much more elevated and give a Big Plus for us to give 5*.They are mostly little things that make a big difference from "yeah, does what it says on the tin" to "I'm impressed". 1) Duvets & Pillows on beds quite thin, would suggest thicker warmer togged duvets, if not, then to provide extra blankets, which there were none, we resorted to having the heating on all night. 2) No blackout curtains in bedrooms. A little brightness from street lights penetrating the cream curtains in twin room and when dawn breaks, the rooms become fairly light, we used our snoods over our eyes to shut out the lightness. 3) Microwave is old, the push button to open/close the door keeps sticking so we were fiddling with it to get the button to pop out to allow door to close. 4) No lock on bathroom door to stop others entering at impromptu moments. 5) Both doors in-out of hall into lounge don't close so heat is being lost. 6) No paper or matches provided so that we could use the kindle & wood that was provided by the open fire place. 7) The on wall electric heaters very old, very difficult to turn the boost dials on all of them, they're worn and took long time for heat to distribute around the rooms so I would anticipate not being very efficient. One consolation were the 2 modern mobile heaters that were excellent and helped a lot.

    Reviewed by Paul4.4Feb 2024

  • "Brilliant little place, we were a party of 4adults, 1 child and a dog."

    Perfectly comfortable and not on top of each other. Would recommend and will probably book again. Kitchen was great had most things you needed, was missing a whisk but we are a family who cooks so may not be an issue for others, loved it had a caffitere and teapot (small things) the views were phenomenal especially when doing the washing up. The washing machine was an asset but drainage for machine pooling by shed door (don't know if owner is aware), I moved the washing line to be more functional as it was in the apple tree/bushes. Didn't use the open fire as weather was quite mild in the day (gutted to be honest). Walks around the area great, rhyd ddu path to yr wyddfa just a short drive away. If you have little one there is a small park down the road too. Would recommend to take a hand towel for the bathroom as whilst we took our towels (as advised) did miss a hand towel (just preference) so bought one in Tesco (porthmadog) On the bed in the attic I would of preferred a slightly bigger quilt just seemed a small double, especially when you have a quilt hogger and a small child diving in too. Anyone using the velux blinds push in to release the blind to put it up in the morning, just a tip as it has been years since I used one. Little heater in twin room great as it did get little chilly for our little one in the evening as place has storage heaters. TV was great as the use of a radio too. Recycling great and instructions given for bin days. Nothing the host would be able to do but we did have issues with a few flies in the dining room /living room but just bought fly spray. Parking on the road outside had no issues and we were a group with two cars. Would recommend a stay here!

    Thank you Lisa for your kind and thoughtful feedback. So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. It will be a pleasure to have you back. Thanks for the pointers - will take a look at the washing machine as didn’t realise this. Perhaps it’s the autumn leaves and just needs clearing from a drain cover. Will also provide a whisk!! Thanks again, warmest wishes x Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa4.7Oct 2023

  • "We had such a lovely stay!"

    The property has bags of character and good quality furniture/deco and had everything you would need for a lovely stay. The view from the double room downstairs is just stunning! I normally jump out of bed in the morning but I had to tear myself away! Every morning was spent outside with a cup of tea, listening to the birds and just taking in the lake and its beautiful surroundings We had such a nice time here! Thank you.

    Thank you Nicola for your kind feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Would be a pleasure to have you back. All the best x Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely house for 2 adults 4 children and 2 dogs, plenty big enough with well equipped kitchen."

    Very isolated location with beautiful walks on the doorstep, coop 10mins up the road.

    Thank you Heather and family for your kind review. It’s been a pleasure to have you stay at Wenallt. So pleased you had a great time. Best wishes x Property Owner

    Reviewed by Heather5.0Aug 2023

  • "Location stunning, property decorated to a high standard Two suggestions for improvement 1."

    Proper directions for accessing the lake for wild swimming (path is 100 yards down the road) 2. Given that it sleeps six, there is enough space under the stairs downstairs to put in a second loo. That would make it perfect

    Reviewed by Khushroo4.7Jun 2023

  • "Title: Extremely Disappointing Holiday Rental Experience Rating: ★☆☆☆☆ I recently had the unfortunate experience of renting a house for my holiday, and I must say that it was an absolute disaster."

    From the moment we arrived, it became clear that this place was far from the advertised idyllic vacation spot. The property was riddled with numerous issues, including spider webs and overall uncleanliness that made our stay extremely unpleasant. One of the first things that struck us upon entering the house was the sight of spider webs in almost every corner. It seemed as though the property had not been cleaned in ages. The lack of basic hygiene left us feeling uncomfortable and unwelcome. We tried our best to overlook this initial setback, but as we explored further, we discovered a host of additional problems. The overall condition of the house was nothing short of disappointing. The floors were dirty and covered in dust, and it was evident that they hadn't been properly swept or mopped in a long time. The bathroom was particularly grimy, with mold growing in the corners. It was clear that no effort had been made to ensure the house was adequately cleaned and maintained for guests. Apart from the lack of cleanliness, the property itself was in disrepair. The garden was overgrown, with weeds sprouting up everywhere, giving the impression that it hadn't been maintained for quite some time. The outdoor seating area was dirty and unkempt, making it impossible to enjoy any time spent outside.

    What a disheartening review. We usually get great reviews from guests which can be seen in other reviews here on Sykes as well as in our guest book. We take such pride and care in making sure our cottage is immaculate for guests, from the cleaning standards, regular deep cleans, garden maintenance, to the facilities, home comforts and entertainment that the cottage affords. We’re sorry to read your review and that you didn’t raise any of these issues with us during your stay. You hadn’t been very respectful of our property while you were in it; the cottage was left a mess, and we had to ask Sykes to get in touch with you to recover the cost of stolen bedding. After which, we haven’t been very surprised that you didn’t leave a respectful review here either. We hope you enjoy and respect your next holiday location and the same thing doesn't happen to another owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sipan1.3Jun 2023

  • "A lovely cottage which has everything you need for a comfortable stay."

    We didn't bring towels as this wasn't made clear on the listing, but after contacting the owners by email, they apologised and agreed to order us towels from Amazon which were delivered the next day (Easter Sunday) and they have promised to update the listing. So we were very grateful for that! We have notified them that only 2 rings on the cooker were working, and they said they will get it repaired. We enjoyed our week in this spacious, comfortable cottage - particularly grateful for the open fire, as the weather turned very cold and wet - we even had snow. This stopped us getting out and about as much as we'd hoped, and it was a little cold at night (more blankets would be good!) but in general we had a lovely week in the beautiful surroundings of Snowdonia. Great location only 10-15 minutes from Rhyd Ddu and Beddgelert, with a Co-op not far away in Pengroes, which was handy.

    Reviewed by Lydia4.7Apr 2023

  • "This house has the most wonderful views and was very clean and well appointed."

    A perfect location for exploring the mountains, Caernarfon and beyond. It was so peaceful sitting outside the back watching the newborn lambs. Only a few minor niggles which may bother future guests. The microwave button sticks in when opening the door, so needs to be wiggled out so the door can close. The washing machine is extremely temperamental to switch it on, I think due to a faulty wire in the plug. If you like two pillows, take a few of your own.

    Reviewed by Kat4.4Mar 2023

  • "Lovely cosy cottage in a stunning area."

    The cottage was well maintained and spotlessly clean. Our only slight criticism was that when we arrived there wasn't any toilet roll at all or any washing up liquid. As we arrived quite late on this was a little inconvenient as we had to find a shop to buy some. Leaving just one roll or stating that it was needed would have been helpful but aside from this we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thankyou

    Hi Joanne, Thank you for your kind feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry that there wasn't any washing up liquid when you arrived, or toilet roll. These are items are usually provided so it's strange that there wasn't any for you, which we sincerely apologise for. But we have taken this on board and ensured that these items are available each time. Thank you again and hope you might visit again in the future. All the best. x Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanne4.4Feb 2023

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x second-floor double, 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin, and WC
  • External cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • External utility
  • Living/dining room with open fire
  • Useful desk space for any home working
  • Electric storage heaters
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine
  • Smart TV, Sky TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available
  • Roadside parking on a first come, first serve basis
  • Bike storage and bike wash hose
  • Enclosed front garden with lawn, enclosed rear courtyard with furniture
  • Sorry no smoking
  • 2 Well-behaved dogs welcome at £20 per pet
  • Shop 2.3 miles, pub 3.5 miles
  • Note: There are steps to the exterior
  • Note: The double attic bedroom accessed through the twin
  • Note: Guests can access the property from the rear to store bikes
  • Note: There is some restricted headroom in the second-floor bedroom
  • Please note: You are required to bring your own bath towels
  • Please note: This property only accepts Friday and Monday changeovers.

The property

Penygroes 3.4 miles.

Overlooking the stunning landscape of Nantlle lake and nestled very close to the Snowdon, is Wenallt, a traditional quarrymans cottage.

Resting within Snowdonia National Park, enveloped by rural walking trails, this mountain retreat benefits from an open fire, an enclosed rear garden, and flexible sleeping arrangements, the property welcomes six guests, ideal for a family getaway.

Park up on the roadside before entering the inviting living/dining room, complete with Chesterfield leather seating, a Smart TV including Sky TV, a grand six-seater table, and an open fire, offering the perfect place to unwind.

Head into the compact kitchen, where you can watch over the lake and the mountains whilst doing the washing up, before venturing outdoors to the external utility, found beyond the private courtyard, set up for alfresco dining.

As the sun sets, climb the stairs to the double and twin bedrooms, or head further to the second floor to enjoy stunning views across the surrounding countryside, by resting your head in the double bedroom.

The entire property is serviced by a sleek shower room and an external cloakroom for added convenience.

There is also a useful multifunctional hallway where you can hang your jackets and store shoes, climbing ropes or even a pushchair.

Come morning, head into the local area for a bite to eat or to stock up on the essentials before immersing yourself into a host of countryside activities, from hikes up to Snowdon summit, and strolls through Beddgelert Forest, to a thrill-seeking day out at Zip World Penrhyn Quarry or the chance to brush up on your local knowledge at Gelert's Grave.

Travelling towards Llanberis, tour Dolbadarn Castle, overlooking the stunning waters of Llyn Padarn, aboard Llanberis Lake Railway for a 5-mile journey across the county or plan a trip to the National Slate Museum into your itinerary, showcasing years of Welsh heritage.

Porthmadog is a short drive away, where you can browse a plethora of shops and tea rooms, while the fantastic black rock sands are also close by and offer access right onto the beach in your car.

Alternatively, head to Caernarfon, perfect for strolling across the pier, visiting one of three sandy shores within the area, or enjoying a guided tour around Caernarfon Castle and its grand structure.

Enjoy your time in North Wales at Wenallt.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Llanberis 8 miles; Caernarfon 6.5 miles.

The lovely quiet village of Penygroes is situated around six miles from the historic castle town of Caernarfon, bordering the Snowdonia National Park with beautiful scenic walks and mountain views easily accessible. A good selection of shops, cafes and pubs are available in the village and the wider local area is full of restaurants and activities such as golfing, swimming, tennis, surfing and horse riding to name but a few. Plas Dinas Country House is also nearby, which is home to some great history as well as The Gun Room restaurant. The beaches on Anglesey and the Llyn Peninsula can be reached in about half an hour, while the beach at Dinas Dinlle is just a 10-minute drive away. Nearby, Caernarfon is home to Caernarfon Castle, which is well worth a visit, with further shops and cafes available, as well as steam train trips. Portmeirion is also a short distance away, featured in the TV series ‘The Prisoner’. Just 8 miles away is the Welsh Heritage centre which has a licensed cafe at Nant Nwrtheyrn with magnificent sea views from it's decked dining area. Beddgelert is a very attractive village, surrounded by the beautiful Snowdonia National Park, with a fabulous arts and craft shop, and several pubs. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas