In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 20 View Image Gallery
  • Bod Gwynedd - North Wales - 1118884 - photo 1

Bod Gwynedd

(Ref. 1118884)

Penmachno, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (4)
  • back (3)
  • clean (3)
  • property (3)
  • out (3)
  • outside (3)

5 Customer Reviews

  • "The property could do with some TLC."

    .. the windows are not secure.. and it is a concern to leave valuables whilst out. The back door is not secure with lock and key.. the shop is very busy and customers are parked outside window and front door which is very noisy.. there is no parking available with this cottage as stated... the church kindly allowed us to park.. we went home two days early as it was an unpleasant experience.. we were disappointed.

    We are sorry that you were disappointed Heidi. As mentioned in our response to previous feedback, there is no parking belonging to the property but plentiful parking is available within a very short distance. The village does benefit from a well-stocked and active village shop, which we have always considered a bonus. I am sorry that you were disturbed by customers. We are looking into whether we might be allowed to restrict parking outside the house, but it is the public highway. The windows are original period features in a 19th century house and the village is very friendly and safe. The back door is very securely bolted. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Heidi1.3Sep 2023

  • "I have debated about whether or not to leave feedback for this property as it will be negative and that is why I emailed the property manager / owner directly but did not receive a response despite Sykes Cottages stating that they would also ask them to respond to my email."

    Upon arrival at the property I was met with a couple of weeks worth of rubbish outside. It may be that it hadn't been put out and had missed a refuse collection but the bin was overflowing and there were several black bags along with overflowing recycling boxes. It was a warm day when I arrived and the smell was awful. There were also a lot of wasps and when speaking with a local resident after parking up they told me this had been an issue for a while. The house is a lovely old property and there is plenty of room. However, as a previous reviewer noted several months ago certain areas could do with a thorough clean and sort out, the kitchen being the main one. I did note that the owner had responded to that review to say that the comments had been noted and action would be taken but this has not happened. I would agree with a previous reviewer who noted that the bed was extremely comfortable. Parking in the village is very limited and therefore I had to park in the designated spot for the property but this involved parking under a tree and next to what I assumed to be a wasps nest. I couldn't open the kitchen window as wasps were constantly flying in and not only was my car covered in tree sap each morning (which is no ones fault) the fact that this attracted so many wasps and insects that getting myself and my dog in and out of the car was becoming an issue. The property description does state that there is no outside space (despite including a picture of it in the description) yet you have to access this space to collect the key. The area is overgrown and generally in need of a tidy up. The back gate does not close properly and as the back door was only secured by a single bolt and not locked with a key, I did feel slightly insecure being a lone female. I ended my trip early as each morning my car was covered in wasps and insects and having paid to have it cleaned two days in a row and having nowhere else to park in the village, I went home. I could have put up with the property needing a bit of attention inside if I hadn't experienced the issues outside as well but the whole point of the trip was to relax and unwind.

    Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a detailed review, unfortunately we were not aware of any correspondence from you prior to your published comments. We are very sorry that you were not happy with the cottage and unable to enjoy your holiday. Our understanding is that there was a wasps nest in the tree of a neighbouring property, which has now been removed. This coincided with a change of refuse collection arrangements which has also now been resolved. We are pleased that you liked the house. It is old and characterful, and we are visited regularly by spiders but we have lovely cleaners who work hard to prepare the property for our guests and I am sorry that you were not satisfied. We will raise your comments with them. Since the review that you mention, the kitchen cupboards have been completely updated with new crockery and cutlery, but the kitchen is well-stocked with everything that you might need for a self-catering holiday and so at times they may become untidy. If you have any specific comments about what could be improved, please let us know. As regards parking; there is no designated parking space belonging to the property. There is a chapel car park 30m away which can be used for a small donation, and a free public car park at a distance of 200m from the property. It sounds as though you were using the church entrance which is usually available but not under our control. As you rightly point out, there is a small outdoor courtyard, which is a lovely spot for a quiet drink and some peace and tranquility. We are sorry that you found it overgrown. We will mention this, and the issues with the garden door to the management company as we have not had a problem with this previously. Once again, we are truly sorry that you were disappointed and do hope that you have better luck next time. Best wishes, Karen & Tim Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma2.2Sep 2023

  • "A perfect base for a weekend of fun in the hills."

    The house was clean, cosy and well equipped. We will definitely return in future!

    Glad you had a lovely weekend Ross, we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ross5.0Jul 2023

  • "An ideal base for exploring the area and good location right next to the village shop which proved very handy for us."

    We felt the house overall was good for the three us however a more deeper clean would have made the stay better. Namely there was lots of cobwebs and dust more so then we would have expected with an older property. Beds however was very comfy and we all slept well. The kitchen would be good if a good sort out of the cupboards took place. The oven also needs cleaning. However we were able to cook meals as all crockery and cooking equipment was great. A lovely welcome basket was a lovely added extra and made us feel really welcome at the start of our break. We would have loved to enjoy the outside space more especially with the lovely weather we had however we felt it wasn't a very welcoming and relaxing place to chill at the end of a busy day. Ideally a good sort out is all it needs and a cut back of the trees etc. Thank you for a great stay we would return to explore the area more in the near future.

    Thank you for your very honest feedback, Andrew, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would like to come back. We are so sorry that you were disappointed in some areas and will do our best to address the issues you raise. Many thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew3.4Jun 2023

  • "A lovely house in a beautiful, friendly village."

    The house had everything needed. The countryside around is stunning. A great place to use as a base for a motorcycling trip around North Wales. Would have no problem returning and doing it again.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback Owen, we are so glad you enjoyed the beautiful scenery of North Wales and would be delighted to welcome you back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Owen5.0Jun 2023

Show more Hide all


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x family room with double and bunk bed, 1 x double
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Electric storage heaters
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer
  • TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: There is no garden space
  • Note: Number of steps on the landing

The property

Set in the heart of the little village of Penmancho, opposite a pub and shop, sits this quaint little abode, Bod Gwynedd.

A character abode for a family who loves the outdoors, Bod Gwynedd is set amidst a range of walking and cycling trails scaling through the beautiful Snowdonia National Park.

Kick off your walking boots and settle down in the lounge, complete with a set of plush seating and a woodburning stove, encouraging snug nights with a good book in hand.

Follow round into the kitchen, equipped with all the essentials for a short break, whilst the utility room has a washing machine and tumble dryer, so you can easily pop your muddy clothes on a spin.

Climb the stairs to reach the bedrooms, offering a family room with double and bunk bed, along with a standard double, each neutrally furnished.

In the morning, freshen up in the shower room, before heading to the shop opposite and grabbing the ingredients for a tasty breakfast.

Those outdoor enthusiasts will be spoilt for choice; choose to embark on a bike along Afon Llugwy to Swallow Falls Waterfall, or climb up to Cerigiau Gleison, before circling back to the town of Betws-y-Coed, where you’ll be welcomed by a range of superb eateries, from Y Stablau to Llugwy River Restaurant.

For a day of adventure, visit Blaenau Ffestiniog for Zip World Llechwedd set inside an impressive rock quarry, and the Victorian-era Sygun Copper Mine.

Alternatively, head towards the coast and spend some time at Porthmadog or Portmeirion, or why not venture to the scenic Isle of Anglesey for a day.

Bod Gwynedd is perfect for a getaway in any season.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Betws-y-Coed 4 miles.

The small, peaceful village of Penmachno is situated in the beautiful Machno Valley, just 4 miles from the popular town of Betws-y-Coed. Surrounded by woodland, magnificent mountains and flowing rivers, the whole area is a haven for walkers, birdwatchers, mountain bikers and climbers, whilst Betws-y-Coed itself offers a good range of shops, pubs and cafes. Here the River Conwy meets its three tributaries, creating a host of cascading waterfalls, river pools and ancient bridges throughout the surrounding countryside, the most famous of which is the magnificent waterfall at Swallow Falls, situated where the River Llugwy meets with a spectacular chasm, creating a sight not to be missed! The beautiful Conwy Falls are also well worth a visit and are situated in the Machno Valley. With all of Snowdonia to explore and North Wales' Heritage Coastlines also within easy reach, this beautiful location has plenty to offer at any time of year.

View more holiday cottages in Penmachno

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas