Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th September '22. Available on breaks arriving 1st January - 30th April '23.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outSave up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 38 View Larger Image
  • Old Station Farm - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 15823 - photo 1

Old Station Farm

Amotherby, Malton, North York Moors & Coast (Ref. 15823)


Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 15

  • Bedrooms 6

  • Bathrooms 4

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Four poster bed
  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

16 Customer Reviews

  • "This house house was lovely & clean and had everything you need as a family self catering."

    Large gated driveway that can hold a lot of vehicles. The only improvement I can think of are that a stair gate to prevent dogs going upstairs (they are not allowed) would have been handy & the property would benefit from the installation of a downstairs toilet for more elderly guests!

    Reviewed by KarenAug 2021

  • "A beautiful cottage."

    Everything we needed and beyond our expectations. Comfortable, clean and very well equipped. Outside space toddler and dog friendly. Great Cantonese restaurant/pub 3 minutes walking distance down the road ! Will definitely be recommending to friends !

    Reviewed by GailJun 2021

  • "Beautiful house."

    Everything you need and more. Host leaves goodies which is a really nice touch. This is our second visit here and I cannot recommend highly enough

    Reviewed by BernadetteJun 2021

  • "House listed as a house that sleeps 15 people across 6 bedrooms."

    Half the house downstairs is closed off via a locked door. Our 4 guets who stayed for 8 nights (had to book the Thursday as an Extra £200 as Sykes/owners not set parameters online. No downstairs toilet for a 15 person house is unusual, what is completely unacceptable is there is no shared or family bathroom. 2 bedrooms have no bathroom or toilet room. Where are we supposed to urinate when staying in those rooms? Full refund request pls. Can't wait to get back home. Not expecting a reply, presume covid19 will be to blame as usual, however hopeful as ever. Many thanks, Tristan

    Thank you for your feedback regarding Old Station Farm. We are sorry that you felt that half the house downstairs was closed off, the only areas that have been locked away is a sitting room and the back kitchen which are being used for storage. This has never been available for guests to use in the 8 years the property has been let, which is why it's not included in the description. The family bathroom is at the top of the stairs, if you had issues finding this we would have been able to help if you had contacted us during your stay. Once again, we appreciate you leaving your feedback, however, we would preferred you to contact us at the time so we can resolve these issues for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TristanOct 2020

  • "Very friendy housekeepers with prompt and helpful responses."

    This ensured the stay at the house went smoothly and without any worries. Only one incident occurred during the week regarding a plumbing issue and Heather and Kevin couldn't have been more supportive and quick to deal with the issue. Everything else is as accurately shown on the website and the location really is a great base for so many local attractions.

    Reviewed by AlanAug 2020

  • "A warm welcome on arrival with a small hamper."

    Beds were very comfortable and the kitchen had plenty of pots, pan's and plates to make our breakfasts. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by MarkMar 2020

  • "Not having a downstairs toilet a big disadvantage and not v good for the elderly - I was unable to turn the shower on or off in the walk in shower - again not very good for the elderly with or without poor wrist strength - helps to know in advance It was well equipped and comfortable."

    Another oven or a double would have been helpful for so many people. Scrampston Gardens far superior to Castle Howard which are poor and expensive. The area is lovely and so many places to see - enjoyed our stay despite the difficulties

    Many thanks for your feedback. The property does not advertise a downstairs toilet and we have had no previous complaints regarding the shower but we will have it checked on the next changeover. The property has a double oven which guests fine more than adequate and there is an Aga which is switched off in July and August as it is too hot at that time of year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoanJul 2019

  • "We had a great time at old station farm, the house was lovely very clean ,owner was very helpful, the aga was great for cooking,."

    Easy for going to places,we would all go again.

    Reviewed by MarilynApr 2019

  • "Great place for a family get together."

    Aga kept the place warm and great for cooking breakfast on. Don’t think there was anything we needed that we couldn’t find. Would have preferred cubicle showers to roll top baths but can’t think of anything else that would have improved the stay. Smithy Arms great place for food and drink.

    Reviewed by RobertApr 2019

  • "We booked Old Station Farm for my partner's 60th birthday celebration."

    It was ideal for our party of a dozen. The cottage is very well-equipped, particularly the kitchen. It is spacious and comfortable, with the dining room an especially good social space. The Aga was excellent for cooking breakfasts for the whole party and keeping everything warm in one of the ovens so we could all eat together. There was always enough crockery, cutlery and glasses for everyone, and the dishwasher is very efficient. The location is excellent, with Malton and Pickering very close by, and York and Scarborough not much further away. Castle Howard is just minutes away, but we didn't have time to go there on this occasion. I've been before, though, and would recommend it if you have a day to spend taking in the lovely grounds, and inside the house if you must - I'm not much of a one for looking at other people's old furnishings and china and preferred the outdoor part. The house is a beautiful building, though, and it's obvious why it has featured in TV productions. The local Cantonese restaurant is just a very short walk away and its food is excellent, providing eat-in or takeaway facilities. We placed our large order a few hours ahead because it was such a big order and it was ready right on time. The staff were lovely. For parties who don't want to have to cook, there are plenty of other nice-looking eating places just a short drive away. On our visit, the weather was very wet and windy, which meant we couldn't take advantage of the lovely garden and outdoor seating, though I suppose we could have done had we put on the weatherproof clothes we'd all brought. Perhaps we've just got soft now that we're older :-) Next time, though. We felt at home immediately in the cottage and would thoroughly recommend it, even for people younger than we are. It was a thoroughly successful stay.

    Reviewed by KarenMar 2019

  • "We were a large family group (14) celebrating my 50th birthday."

    The house was fabulous. 6 beautiful, large bedrooms all very comfortable. The whole house was tasteful and very well equipped. Large communal areas for us all to sit together inside and out. Beautiful garden. Space for all 6 of our cars with room left over. Close to Malton and Flamingo Land (we visited both). Owner was a call/text away and very helpful. Complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits on our arrival and a big box of chocolates. Would highly recommend. And if you have little ones it is big, closed in and safe for them to run around and let off steam outside. Plenty of grass and bushes and trees for them to play and run around. Fantastic house for playing hide and seek. It is a holiday I will remember for a long time and the house. Absolutely gorgeous.

    Reviewed by DeborahMay 2018

  • "Suggest mentioning in the description that all toilets and bedrooms are upstairs."

    Could prove a problem for those with mobility issues. Otherwise an excellent property in a great location.

    Reviewed by AndrewMar 2018

  • "A brilliant location, we need to return, there is so much to do!"

    The house exceeded expectations, good quality fixtures, fittings and equipment. Perfect for a large group but would also return with a smaller group. The owner was very helpful and friendly. Our housekeeping deposit was returned immediately with no fuss or chasing. Thankyou

    Reviewed by LyndaOct 2017

  • "Very welcoming and the facilities are excellent."

    Cosy and comfortable, home from home. We all had a wonderful weekend.

    Reviewed by AnnaNov 2016

  • "We all enjoyed the holiday, most of the house was what we wanted although it needs a downstairs loo."

    We were from the area so we knew what it had to offer. All in all it was a great holiday and we will do it again, maybe in the Peak district. Thank you.

    Reviewed by RichardAug 2016

  • "The property was idea for a family get together covering a group aged between 70 & 9 months."

    It is well located for visiting the coast or the North Yorkshire moors, with lots to do. York is close by & can be reached by train from Malton to save taking the car.

    Reviewed by JohnJul 2016

Show more


  • Six bedrooms: 1 x four poster king-size double with single sofa bed and en-suite roll-top bath, basin and WC, 1 x four poster king-size double, 1 x four poster double with single day bed and en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x super king-size double with single day bed and en-suite bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC, 2 x twin (one zip/link, can be king-size double on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Fitted kitchen with utility room
  • Dining room with open fire and comfy seating
  • Sitting room (seats 11) with open fire.
  • Oil central heating with open fires in dining room and sitting room
  • Electric cooker, AGA (in winter months)and an additional double oven, microwave, large fridge/freezer with ice dispenser, washing machine, dishwasher, 2 x TVs with Freeview, DVD, CD/radio, WiFi, iPod dock, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter packs for open fires inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Ample off road parking
  • Lockable bike storage
  • Lawned gardens and small orchard with furniture and BBQ
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2.8 mile, pub 0.9 mile
  • Note: Check in time 5pm
  • Note: If you wish to book the 20th, 21st, and 22nd December 2019, please get in touch with the office
  • Note: No fireworks at the property due to close proximity of horses

The property

Malton 3 miles.

A magnificent, limestone, Georgian property, set in lovely grounds in the small village of Amotherby, three miles from the pretty market town of Malton.

Occupying the major part of this stunning Malton holiday cottage, it is the perfect place for family groups and friends to stay and enjoy time together in luxurious surroundings.

You step inside this beautiful holiday cottage near Malton, to a wealth of period features, with high ornate ceilings, original fireplaces, window shutters and sash windows.

Each room has been tastefully decorated and styled and exquisitely furnished with antiques, providing first-class accommodation.

The elegant dining room provides a lovely sociable room to sit and chat around the table in front of the roaring open fire, whilst offering additional comfy seating and TV, giving plenty of room to spread out.

The well-equipped kitchen of this Malton holiday cottage boasts an electric cooker and an AGA in the winter months, with a small breakfast room.

The fabulous, spacious main sitting room overlooks the garden and with its open fire and sumptuous seating, is ideal to sit and relax in after a busy day exploring the area.

Upstairs in this Malton holiday cottage, are six charming individual bedrooms, three with four poster beds and three with en-suites.

Outside this immaculate Malton holiday cottage, the gardens wrap around the property, with lawns and an orchard, perfect for alfresco dining or to enjoy a glass of wine!

A three minute stroll brings you to the local pub which serves good ales and Cantonese food, whilst the bustling town of Malton offers an excellent array of restaurants, tempting tea rooms and a weekly market.

The stately home and gardens of Castle Howard (from Brideshead Revisited) are just four miles from this Malton holiday cottage and well worth visiting, whilst the beautiful surrounding countryside is ideal for walkers and cyclists.

Well placed for exploring the historic city of York and the popular seaside resorts of Scarborough, Filey and Whitby, this Malton holiday cottage suits all the family.

Note: This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


York 18 miles; Scarborough 24 miles.

The market town of Malton has been the historic centre of Ryedale since Roman times, and has many interesting buildings including the old Corn Exchange and Assembly Rooms. A weekly general market is still held in the town, as well as livestock and farmers’ markets. The Yorkshire Moors are to the north, and the Yorkshire Wolds are to the south, making it excellent countryside for walkers and cyclists. The impressive coastline is just 24 miles away, whilst the historic city of York is an 18 mile journey. A perfect base for touring the attractions of North Yorkshire.

Note: If you wish to book the 20th, 21st, and 22nd December 2019, please get in touch with the office as these can be booked offline.
Note: No fireworks at the property due to close proximity of horses

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter