Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

17 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 72 View Image Gallery
  • The Manor House - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1000748 - photo 1


Annexe1st FloorGround FloorFloorplan





The Manor House

(Ref. 1000748)

Scarborough, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 17 Guests

  • 8 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (30)
  • garden (19)
  • clean (17)
  • our (17)
  • great (17)
  • bed (16)

42 Customer Reviews

  • "Booked for my husband’s 50th Birthday surprise weekend."

    There was 15 people in our party and plenty of room for everyone. House was clean and tidy, would definitely recommend.

    Thank you so much for leaving a wonderful 100/100 review. It's lovely to hear that guests have had a great time when staying at our properties. The Manor House really is a special property and we have guests returning time and time again. It sound like you were able to make some lovely family memories on such a special occasion. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathryn5.0May 2024

  • "Booking process was simple and straightforward, communication was good."

    We were looking for a large comfortable venue for a 17 person multigenerational, extended family get together, for a week, in an interesting location. The Manor House, and Scarborough, fitted the bill extremely well. Highlights were - sufficient off road parking, plenty of space, comfortable bedrooms, adequate bathrooms, spacious dining room, and the hot tub. Inevitably, there's always room for improvement, so we would offer the following, in a positive spirit. On late Friday arrival we noticed the microwave plate was missing, as was a fridge shelf. An inconvenience as we were largely self catering. By that time 'out of hours' support was 'emergencies only', and as also a Bank Holiday weekend, a response didn't arrive until Tuesday. The issues should have been discovered, and resolved, before we arrived. In our view Support should be proactive on the arrival day, including into the evening. We later reported the hot tub area lights as inoperative. The maintenance guy came round and plugged them in . Unfortunately this kept blowing the Laundry Room circuits, so we unplugged them again. I think this had been a long term issue. The downstairs toilet/bathroom door didn't have a lock. I bought a bolt from B&Q, and fitted it. The main lounge TV wouldn't hold a freeview tuning cycle. Reception kept degrading. Steps down into the garden from the hot tub area were loose and unsafe. Garden though was impressive, we wish we'd had better weather to enjoy it more. Kitchen could do with more baking trays/pans/utensils to cater for a 'full house'. Crockery that matched would more in keeping with the house style. Cutlery needs a major upgrade, for the full Manor House fine dining experience. None of the above was a major issue, so we would recommend The Manor House, and it's environs. It's a great part of the UK to visit.

    Reviewed by Jane4.1May 2024

  • "Absolutely fantastic base to explore Scarborough from the house has everything ..."

    Absolutely fantastic base to explore Scarborough from the house has everything you need the weather was great which made it even better really good communication from the owner as well would 100% recommend staying here with a group of friends or family

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review! I'm so pleased you all had a good time at The Manor House. It certainly is the ideal location being close to the beach and town which boasts all of Scarborough's local amenities. We'd love to welcome you back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mick5.0May 2024

  • "1 family member reported mould in their room, there was a very disappointing lack of consumables (toilet paper, waste/bin bags."

    cleaning equipment , dishwasher tablets, toilet cleaner or floor cleaner). Given the cost of the property, we all thought it was very disappointing that there was no welcome pack further, the kitchen equipment is very basic and not geared up to preparing, cooking and serving 18 people.

    Thanks you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's really important to us as it gives us opportunity to continue to improve and making the guests experience all the more enjoyable. I'm sorry to hear there was mould in one of the rooms and will ask the team to locate and it can simply be attended to. We leave enough cleaning products, bin bags, dishwasher tablets and 2 toilet rolls in each bathroom to last a day or two so if you have forgot to bring them with you, you don't have to rush out and buy them. This property is based on a self-catering basis and other than the ones we leave complimentary, guest usually bring there own as what would be expected when booking a self catering property. I hope this didn't spoil your stay too much. Best Wishes Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul3.4Mar 2024

  • "We had an excellent stay for my 40th birthday."

    17 ladies. Rooms were comfortable, lovely and clean and very spacious. Communal areas were spacious and well resourced with everything we needed. We had a slight problem with the upstairs shower but 2 others to use alternatively. Excellent location, walking distance to the coast and around a 30 minute walk into Scarborough town centre. Really happy with our stay, would highly recommend.

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm delighted that you all had an excellent stay ...especially celebrating such a special birthday too! It's good to hear that you had everything you needed and we do really try to make our properties feel home-from-home. Sorry to hear you arrived when there was an issue with 1 of the showers, it's actually been replaced with a new one now. Location of The Manor House is perfect and often guests park up on day if arrival and don't need to use the car again until they leave. We'd love to welcome you back! Best Wishes Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cat4.7Mar 2024

  • "This property is spacious and very clean."

    The bedroom with walkin bathroom is just a few steps outside from the back door and is a lovely addition to the main house. On the photo it does not show a tv but it does have a large one on the wall. Another double bedroom is on the ground floor within the house. There is a ideal open area next to both seating rooms which we used for the children to play. House is safe for young 1s, we had 2 just under 3year olds and could close doors to stairs and kitchen still allowing them to play and be seen. There are logs already there for the log burner. The kitchen has everything you need for cooking with a utility attached having a large fridge freezer in, this is the back way out. Bathroom down stairs has a shower with in the bath. With the 3 bathrooms no1 was waiting to use 1 and there was 16 of us. All beds are cumfy, very clean with bedding and towels. A couple of bedrooms do not have a tv in. The washer and dryer is up stairs which we found was the perfect area. Into the 1st 2bedroom of the stairs, the floor entrance has a very small raise so just be mindful as we tripped untill used to it haha With the size of this property noise from different rooms were hardly heard making it easy for people to go to bed or just relax in peace. We would definitely return to this prpperty.

    Reviewed by Michelle4.4Nov 2023

  • "We had a great week for an extended family holiday in the Manor House."

    The property was lovely and perfect for our needs.

    Thank you so much for leaving a wonderful 100/100 review. It's lovely to hear that guests have had a great time when staying at our properties. The Manor House really is a special property and we have guests returning time and time again. We pride ourselves in making your holiday feel like 'home-from-home' and work hard to make sure our guests have everything they need. Kindest Regards Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kiri5.0Oct 2023

  • "We managed to book this last minute following a cancellation from another property 24 hours before we were due to go and this house was an amazing replacement - we don’t have a bad word to say!"

    The rooms and high ceilings are stunning, well presented and warm, the whole house is clean from top to bottom, there are plenty of bedrooms with lots of storage and the beds are extra comfy. It is great for socialising and making memories as a big family. The hot tub is a great added bonus!! When the door handle fell off in our hand when trying to open up in the morning, a quick call to the caretaker meant this was fixed within the hour - brilliant service. We couldn’t recommend this place enough! Thank you :)

    Thank you so much for the 100/100 review! I'm delighted that The Manor House was an amazing replacement for your last minute booking and you weren't disappointed. The Manor House certainly is the perfect place to socialise, whether it's spending time in the beautiful gardens or in one of the lounges there is plenty of room for multi-generational families to spend time together. The hot tub is always a big hit! I'm pleased that the handle was fixed quickly, the maintenance team are very good. Kindest Regards Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Oct 2023

  • "Absolutely lovely stay here."

    Big house in a lovely part of Scarborough, can walk into the town along the gorgeous coastline. We were a party of 6 families, and the house had plenty of space for us all. Facilities great, very clean & loads of crockery/cutlery. Hot tub was a lovely addition. Communication with agent was easy & informative. We loved our break & wished we stayed another night. Would recommend.

    Thank you so much for leaving such an amazing review! The Manor House really is an incredible property. It's great being able to park your car upon arrival and not need to use it again during your stay. We aim to make our properties feel 'home from home' so pay particular attention to the facilities to ensure you have all you need and yes... the hot tub certainly is a hit with guests. Kindest Regards Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Oct 2023

  • "Amazing ! We will be back!"

    Wow.... thank you so much for the 100/100 review!.. I'm so pleased you had a great time and we would be thrilled to have to back. The Manor House is certainly special. Kindest Regards Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Sep 2023

  • "This House and location was perfect."

    Plenty of room for me and my group of friends. We would definitely return with our children. The garden is amazing, lots to explore. Can't fault it so clean. Will definitely return.

    Thank you so much for the great review! The Manor House really is something else within easy walking distance to all Scarborough has to offer. Whether it's a fun filled day spent on the our beautiful sandy beaches, a peddle boat ride at Peasholm park or a day enjoying the many shops and cafes and bars in the town centre, I can't thing of anywhere better to retreat to than The Manor. The gardens are wonderful and a lovely place to sit and relax whilst the children have there choice of lawns to have fun and play. I'm so pleased you had a great time. Kindest Regards Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sian5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely comfortable, well equipped house, superb comfy beds."

    Had issues in 2 of the bathrooms which I reported so will hopefully be sorted for the next guests, didn’t detract from our stay. Like a lot of old places could do with some rooms re painting. Ideally if the 2 large rooms had en-suites it would help with the waits for showers, only 2 inside house at present as 1 bathroom only has a bath which older guests can’t use. Loved the hot tub. Overall 3 generations had a lovely, relaxing, comfortable few days celebrating our golden wedding. anniversary

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Aug 2023

  • "Great property, even better than described!"


    Wow.... that is quite a review! Thank you so much.... The Manor House really is something else . Not only is the property outstanding but it's also in the perfect location within walking distance to Scarborough's beautiful South Bay sandy beach and over the Valley Bridge to town. Thanks you for taking the time to leave us a 100/100 review, Kindest Regards Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Seynab5.0Aug 2023

  • "We are a group of friends who stayed at the Manor House for a long weekend."

    The house is fabulous - spacious, well equipped, lovely comfortable beds, great hot tub and beautiful gardens. The only thing I wish I'd known before we went was that there are no hairdryers so take your own! Would highly recommend this property and Julie from Sykes Cottages was really helpful beforehand, great communication.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review. The Manor House really is a stunning property and the perfect location to enjoy Scarborough's beaches and all local amenities on the doorstep. I think you raise a good point about hairdryers and I will make sure I mention it in the guest manual which is sent out well before you visit. Thanks again....Kindest Regards Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charlotte4.7Jul 2023

  • "We had a really great holiday at The Manor House, every where was clean and tidy on arrival, spare keys and other stuff was readily available to make the stay as easy and comfortable as possible."

    The location is ideal for being able get out and explore other areas roundabout.The garden was a pleasure to relax in and well maintained.Overall it was a thoroughly worthwhile holiday destination.

    Thanks so much for the amazing 100/100 review. We are delighted that you had such a good time and we'd love to see you again. Best Wishes Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dennis5.0Jun 2023

  • "We could not get the keypad at the front door open, so we went in via the side door as we had the code."

    It would benefit from new garden benches on the patio to seat the at least 12 and separate ones for garden, we would have like to sit outside but not enough seats. It would benefit from another shower fitted in the bathroom upstairs, probably remove the bathroom and fit a shower cubicle as you have a bath downstairs. We loved the house and had a brilliant weekend. I would definitely recommend to family or friends.

    Hi Fiona, thanks so much for your review. The Manor House is in the best location close to all local amenities and I'm so pleased you all had a brilliant time. We have actually got new and more garden furniture on order with our supplier which will be delivered soon but I do appreciate your comment so thank you. The Manor is the perfect place to sit in the beautiful gardens after a day sight seeing or a day spent on Scarborough's amazing sandy beeches which are only a short distance away. Once again thank you Fiona. Kindest Regards Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Fiona4.7May 2023

  • "Perfect for family time"

    Thank you so much for the positive review... we really do appreciate it! The Manor House is an outstanding property with a great garden and is ideally located for the beach and also the town centre. We hope to see you again and thank you for your custom Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Feb 2023

  • "This large home was perfect for our family stay over Christmas."

    Large bedrooms, comfortable living areas and well stocked, large kitchen (ideal for our party of 13 with many big meals over Christmas). The hot tub was a nice addition and sizeable, as was the garden space. Well located for mini trips into Scarborough itself or lovely trips up the coast such as Robin Hoods bay. Communication from Samantha was faultless, very helpful and responsive and easy check in / check out. Strongly recommend for a lovely family or large group holiday and would happily book again.

    Hi Joshua. Thankyou so much for your comments. Lovely to hear enjoyed your family stay over christmas! The manor is a very large property with a very large garden which is ideal for in the summer or if you have dogs! Hope you return again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joshua5.0Dec 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at manor house and cant wait to return in 2023."

    Perfect for the kids and adults alike, spent hours in the hot tub on the Saturday, just what I needed to unwind.

    Thankyou for your feedback it is really appreciated! The manor is perfect for all ages, everyone loves the hot tub! I look forward to you returning in 2023. Thankyou for your custom Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Dec 2022

  • "The location was brilliant with all the amenities nearby and easy to drive to."

    The property itself was very clean and spacious. The garden and outdoor spacing was amazing for all the children to play with. They loved it! The people and hospitality was amazing. The beach was only 2 minute walk and the surroundings was amazing. Me and my family throughly enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to get back! Samantha was very helpful and very nice when I spoke to her! All in all an amazing property and amazing location.

    Thankyou for your feedback! The Manor House is a fantastic location with a great garden I am so glad the children loved it! I will look forward to you returning soon. Thankyou for your custom it is appreciated! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kamal5.0Aug 2022

  • "The house is beautiful and spacious with really big rooms with plenty of space for all the family."

    The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could want. The supply of towels in the bed was really lovely. We had a couple of issues and the response was very quick. The only downside is the house needs decorating and marks on the walls tackled. The garden needs attention too but it is beautiful. Overall a lovely house.

    Thankyou for your feedback! I will certainly take a look at the decorating to see where we can further improve. The garden is beautiful and spacious and we have recently changed gardener so I am positive it will only look more beautiful! It really is a lovely house! Thankyou for your custom it is appreciated! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda4.4Jul 2022

  • "On arrival at the property we liked the look of the property as was the picture, your description and photo of the entrance said that we would be able to sit in this area with a wood burning fire but was no where to sit."

    The large bedroom was not described as in another building with no facilities (nightmare}. Non of the downstairs windows, and bathroom windows would open which made the bathrooms a hazard due to wet tiles on the floor, the bins hadn't been emptied (disgusting). The children found a wasps nest in the garden (another nightmare and hazard ) After a few days of telling the children not to wee on the floor we realised the downstairs toilet was leaking

    Thankyou for your feedback. I am glad we resolved the windows opening for you as soon as you reported it, also the wasp nest removed and the bins emptied the same day. I was unaware of the toilet leak but can now confirm this has been fixed. The large bedroom is getting a bathroom fitted I can confirm work has begun. I hope this means you will book again soon. Thankyou for your custom it is appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Yvonne2.8Jul 2022

  • "Booked for my mums 50th as a family weekend away and we had the most amazing time in the beautiful Manor House!"

    Super clean and could not fault the house and the contact with owners at all. We took 2 dogs and was lovely to have such a big area for them to roam free in the garden knowing they were safe. Made beautiful memories in this place and would recommend to anyone.

    Thankyou for your feedback. Lovely to hear what an amazing time you had at The Manor House! It really is great for dogs too!!! I hope you book again soon to make more beautiful memories! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bethanie5.0Jun 2022

  • "Great for family holidays but NOT great for dogs in the garden as it backs into the main road and has gaps in the hedges, we had to go round the garden with one dog on lead just for him to go to the toilet."

    The accommodation was spotless so no faults there but just needs another toilet for the amount of rooms they have. Would recommend but with no dogs.

    Thankyou for your feedback it is appreciated. The garden has a low wire surrounding the full garden, but also has a enclosed smaller garden where you could leave your dogs outside if you wanted to. We are also waiting on an extra bathroom been fitted at the moment! so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you book again really soon! Thank you for your custom it is appreciated Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha3.8May 2022

  • "I can’t tell you how perfect this house was for us!"

    We had 16 of us celebrating my parents 60th and it was just perfect!! Tidy, clean,plenty of space for us all, perfect location! We had a lovely weekend! Thank you

    Thankyou so much for your feedback. Its so lovely to hear what an amazing time guests have had. I hope you come back to stay again soon and make some more special memories together! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cheryl5.0May 2022

  • "The Manor House is a fabulous venue for a family get together."

    There is so much space you never feel overwhelmed. We booked this for a special family occasion where several couples with children could come together and relax without any significant complications. The parking space outside is great for such a party. The house was welcoming, clean and robust, the owners where very friendly and the communication was very good. Deepdale is up at the top of Scarborough so we walked into the town but some chose a taxi or bus back. We had two very lovely take away meals that were delivered with no problem. All in all a fabulous time, lots of space, good sized rooms with a relaxed atmosphere, we will be returning and recommending!

    The Manor House is a very beautiful spacious house and perfect for a family get together! So pleased you will be returning and recommending! Book again soon!!! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gail5.0Apr 2022

  • "One of the upstairs toilets wouldn't flush & the downstairs one was hard to flush."

    There's obviously a slow leaking toilet in the downstairs bathroom. Non of the windows open so the bathrooms are very hot & steamy. The radiators didn't work in at least one of the upstairs bedrooms so some rooms were warm & others cold. There were bulbs missing /out on some light fittings. It doesn't clearly explain in the description that one of the rooms is a annexe with no washing /toilet facility making it unsuitable for many people. The children went into the garden to play football & there are piles of dog poo all over the grass. We don't have a dog. In general the house is very run down & is in need of some tlc. We had a great holiday but I probably wouldn't stay there again.

    Thankyou for your feedback. Thankyou for making me aware of these issues. The radiators have now been bled and the toilet leak fixed. All bulbs have now been replaced and are working. I have put together a functionality checklist for changeovers to prevent any of these happening again . Regarding the annex washing/toilet facilities this is in process. Please don't let these things put you off staying again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie3.1Mar 2022

  • "Beautiful large house within walking distance of the seafront."

    We stayed at The Manor House for a long weekend to celebrate my dads 60th birthday and it was absolutely perfect for us all. It's great for all ages, as well as having a large garden for dogs, and plenty of space for everyone. The house was clean and well presented, but we really felt like we could make ourselves at home there.

    Thankyou for your feedback. The Manor House is very beautiful. I am glad you felt at home there. It really is perfect for all ages with the large garden and hot tub. I look forward to you staying again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hannah5.0Feb 2022

  • "Lovely clean house in a great location within walking distance of the South Bay."

    Very comfy beds in all the rooms. Lovely living space, great sized dining room to fit 11 of us, and an amazing hot tub. Would highly recommend

    Thankyou for your feedback. The Manor House location is fantastic, close to the town centre and close to the South Bay. It really is lovely to all sit around a table together. Thankyou for recommending . I hope you book again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Feb 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at the manor house."

    Great accommodation, great location. Was really impressed at how well equipped the house was and how there was everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. Communication before we arrived was great too. Will defo be looking to stay again.

    Thankyou for your feed back. The Manor House really is beautiful with a great location. Communication with my guests is extremely important to me. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you staying again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Feb 2022

  • "Lovely house and well worth the money."

    Only negative comment would be the fencing around the garden, which needs repairs/ replacement panels so that it is pet friendly. Our party had a fab time and would definitely stay at the Manor House again

    The House really is lovely. Im really glad you had a fab time. I will get the fence fixed thankyou for making me aware. I hope you stay again soon. Thankyou for your feedback it is appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephanie4.7Jan 2022

  • "Huge very comfortable house just as described, perfect for a big group."

    Thank you for your feedback.The Manor House is a beautiful house ideal for a big group. Look forward to you staying again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Nov 2021

  • "The accommodation was beautiful and totally catered for our needs, beautiful gardens surrounding the property."

    It was a surprise for my sisters hen do and she was totally blown away.

    Reviewed by Robyn5.0Oct 2021

  • "Making the booking and dealing with Sykes to postpone due to Covid was straightforward."

    Property was beautiful and extremely clean. Attractive gardens. Managers of property excellent to deal with. Easy to contact and always returned calls. A few niggles - included windows that couldn't be opened, annexe without ensuite ( being addressed but will take time) and lack of coffee maker/cafetieres of any sort.

    Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. We have now added two cafetieres to the property for any future visits, and the windows are currently waiting planning permission approval. The Manor House really is a beautiful property and I hope you will choose to stay here again soon. Thank you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare4.1Sep 2021

  • "Our family holiday at (the big house) what we called it was amazing, so big ,spacious, clean, fantastic gardens, a real treat to stay there, location was great & plenty of parking for our 5 cars."

    However.....on arrival we found the hot tub was broken with a big crack in it, we where told the previous guest's the week before us had broken it and I should have recieved contact from the owners on our arrival to let us know this, the person who prepared the hot tub for our stay was very helpful & advised us on what to do so we could still enjoy it, although we did have to refill it ourselves every day and having pools of water all over the patio was really not ideal. The annex was beautiful but no ensuite.... the size of this room is plenty big enough to put one in, considering it is not attached to the house I really can't understand why there was no ensuite??? And none of the window's opened to let in fresh air, I have noticed these small issues already have been raised by previous guest's but nothing's been done to rectify these problems, having a hot tub on holiday is a special treat but not when we had to sort it ourselves, surely that's not right!! Apart from that my family had a fantastic time and really enjoyed staying at this beautiful house, I would definitely highly recommend staying there, and would like to return in the future but I feel the price we paid for the week with the hot tub broke did spoil thing's a little. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday as a big family get together and to bring the family pets was a bonus.

    Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. The Manor House really is an amazing property and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are working on plans to add an en suite to the annex. I am currently waiting on planning permission approvals regarding the windows. I'm so pleased you had a fantastic time and really hope you will stay at The Manor again, where you will find the hot tub in full working order. Thank you for recommending us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia4.1Aug 2021

  • "Although overall we enjoyed our week, there were quite a few shortcomings in the property."

    It was a lovely building and a generous size, but in some areas under equipped. Kitchen equipment was sparse compared to most places we have stayed, with no butter dish, sugar bowl or serving dishes. Also pans and trays were restricted in number and very battered making them difficult to clean. No extra blankets were supplied for cold nights etc. Numerous cupboard door knobs were loose or broken, ditto light bulbs. Several outside lights were also not working and the wet tub had a leak. We contacted the manager about this and were told to top it up with a hosepipe, which worked. However my major disappointment was with the annex bedroom. It was a large modern bedroom but with one huge drawback - no ensuite facilities. Being a large party we needed to use all the bedrooms and it was no fun standing in the pouring rain at 2.30am keying in a number on a keypad to get into the main house in order to use the toilet. I could not find anywhere this was mentioned in the house details. When you pay £4000 for a week you do expect an indoor toilet for everyone. I feel the owner should be made aware of these issues.

    Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. I am so pleased you enjoyed your week at The Manor. I can assure you the Kitchen has now been topped up with everything you mentioned including more pans, and we are waiting on planning permission regarding an ensuite in the annex. I hope as you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here you will come to The Manor House again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane2.5Aug 2021

  • "We were very comfortable in the Manor House."

    It would have been much better if the windows in the bedroom could have been opened - we were lucky the weather was not too hot, but it the sun had been shining would have been unbearable. The bedroom in the garage not having a loo / wash basin facility was also a bit of a problem. Would have been nicer to have some comfortable outside seating. Having said that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the house very comfortable in a very good location in Scarborough. Communication with Skyes cottages was very good and also having Alex, the property manager at the end of the phone exceptionally helpful with great advice on restaurants and places to go. Thank you

    Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. It is lovely to hear you were comfortable at The Manor. We are currently waiting on planning permission regarding an ensuite in the annex. Alex said he had spoke to you regarding restaurants and places to go I hope you found lots of places. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you book again in the future. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanna3.4Aug 2021

  • "It was the perfect house for meeting up with family and not feeling on top of each other."

    The garden was perfect for a game of cricket or a kick about.

    Reviewed by Laura4.4Aug 2020

  • "There was plenty of space for the extended family of three generations."

    The hot tub was a real winner! Plenty of choice of bedrooms, reception rooms and room to sit or play games in the garden. The house was spotlessly clean and there was more than enough kitchen equipment for us to use. Location was great - just far enough from the town centre to be quiet but accessible to reach lots of places of interest.

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Jul 2020

  • "Annex not good without facilities large enough to have an ensuite."

    Down stairs bedroom bed too large for room other than that it met our requirements.

    Reviewed by Mike3.8Jul 2020

  • "Give the fact that the house is for potentially 17 people , we found the toilet facilities very limited."

    Only 2 showers for the whole household is not enough. Also after a couple of showers, we ran out of hot water. The owners should consider installing a second water tank to eradicate future issues. Kitchen facilities were fantastic. Location perfect as it was within a 20 minute walk to the town centre.

    Reviewed by Sarah3.4Dec 2019

  • "The only suggestion to you would be you do need extra showers for the amount of people it sleeps."

    Two showers is just not enough. The Amex outside could easily do with en-suite facilities. Other than that everything in the house is all you need. We as a group had a wonderful time.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Nov 2019

Show more Hide all


  • Eight bedrooms
  • Ground floor: 1 x king-size, 1 x ground floor super-king-size in the annexe with en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • 1st floor: 2 x super king-size, one of these rooms has a fixed wooded freestanding cot, 2 x king-size, 1 x family room with 1 super-king and 1 single, 1 x twin room
  • Bathroom with bath, basin and WC
  • Shower room with a walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • First-floor utility
  • Dining room to seat 17 people
  • 2 x sitting rooms
  • Entrance hallway with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating throughout the property plus woodburning stove
  • Range cooker with gas hob and electric oven, dishwasher, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, selection of games and DVDs, Smart TV, 3 x TVs and WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Please bring your own towels for hot tub use
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • 2 x Travel cot and highchair available
  • Off-road parking for up to 6 cars
  • Large mature gardens with lawn area, enclosed lawn area for pets and patio area with hot tub with furniture throughout the different garden areas
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Pub within 1 mile, shop within 0.8 miles
  • Note: No stag, hen, or similar parties
  • Note: Due to the residential location of the property the hot tub is unavailable after 10pm

The property

Resting within striking distance of the popular resort town of Scarborough is this grand Edwardian property, The Manor House is the perfect choice for your next long-awaited family gathering.

This spacious accommodation is well-equipped for a large group gathering on the wonderful North Yorkshire coast, where you will find a magnitude of attractions and activities to suit a family of all ages and tastes.

The interior of the property cleverly combines period tradition with contemporary styling, with the sash windows and high ceilings complementing the carefully selected furnishings.

Choose to unwind of an evening within the large living room where you can relax amidst your loved ones on the inviting sofas and you can tune into the TV, or venture into the smaller living room to enjoy an hour’s peace and quiet from the excitement of the group.

Enjoy the warmth of the roaring embers from the woodburning stove on those chillier evenings.

Beyond is the elegantly styled kitchen, where you and your loved ones can gather to create your own delicious evening meals with the use of the impressive Range cooker before settling down at the kitchen’s dining table for those more casual moments.

The dining room can be prepared for those special celebrations and family meals where all 17 guests can be seated together.

As the evening draws to a close, there are eight well-presented bedrooms to choose from, all situated across the two floors to ensure a sleeping arrangement to suit all requirements.

The first floor hosts two super king-size bedrooms, one of these rooms has a fixed freestanding wooden cot, two king-size bedrooms, a twin room and a family room consisting of a super king bed & single bed.

There’s also a bathroom and walk-in shower room plus a utility.

On the ground floor is a double bedroom which is serviced by a family bathroom, whilst the external annexe-style dwelling house is a super-king-size bedroom, boasting a refreshing interior with wall-mounted TV and ample storage and space to house all your personal belongings.

The property is surrounded by beautiful, landscaped gardens with a variety of different seating areas.

You will find an elevated patio area, where you can enjoy a spot of alfresco dining before embracing complete relaxation on your holiday by making the most of the warming hot tub, whilst your canine companions make the most of the enclosed lawn garden area.

If you can tear yourself away from this property, venture into the centre of Scarborough, where you will find a superb selection of amenities, as well as attractions including the golden stretch of sandy beach guaranteeing plenty of memorable family days out.

For those feeling active, you can walk along the Cleveland Way or cycle to the historic town of Whitby to enjoy the spectacular coastal location.

The Manor House is a wonderful property to bring your family and friends together to this coastal location.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £500.

View on map

About the location


Pickering 17 miles; Whitby 20 miles; York 40 miles.

Popular since Victorian times, the vibrant seaside town of Scarborough retains many of its original fine buildings, parks and gardens, as well as its historic castle which overlooks the town. North Bay and South Bay provide two superb stretches of beautiful, golden sandy beaches, popular with families and small children. There are a number of child friendly activities and many excellent visitor attractions for grown-ups too, including the Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough Spa and Scarborough Open Air Theatre for live music. Scarborough is a great location for outdoor activities, with golf courses, lovely coastal walks along the Cleveland Way, stunning cycle routes such as the old railway to Whitby, beautiful sailing and championship quality surfing. Add to this all the usual seaside entertainment and bustling promenades located close to the beach and Scarborough is the destination with something for everyone. Ideally situated for touring the coastline and the moors, Scarborough is an ideal base for a fun-filled break.

View more holiday cottages in Scarborough

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas