Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) 0 minutes ago

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 20 View Image Gallery
  • Roecliffe - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1072244 - photo 1
close

Roecliffe

(Ref. 1072244)

Boroughbridge, Vale of York & Yorkshire Wolds Show on map

4.3

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (8)
  • bed (6)
  • lovely (6)
  • well (5)
  • only (5)
  • town (5)

12 Customer Reviews

  • "Great cottage and excellent location."

    The village was lovely and there were lots of places to visit nearby.

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Aug 2023

  • "The cottage was clean and comfortable and well situated for the town and adjacent places."

    parking on the road outside was easy. However, there was no house information at all, I had to ring and speak to coastal cottages to get the Wi Fi password. We were unable to open the back door with any of the keys provided , so could not empty the bins, but which also constituted a fire hazard , since the only access was the front door.

    Reviewed by Kathryn Janet4.4Apr 2023

  • "Unable to have heating on timed, so cold in morning and when back evening."

    Mattress in loft room uncomfortable, springs felt, also quilt thin for time of year, a throw on bed would work, No frying pan only wok which had nonstick coming off. Front garden states you can enjoy your coffee in the morning, no garden furniture so that is misleading, messy with lots of unattractive pots, all of the front was dirty, could be better with a hand rail for safety. Very strong perfume container in lounge, makes you think it is covering up smells, I can’t breath in these as gives headache, if you have asthma it would be a problem. Brilliant location near town and quiet.

    Thank you for your feedback its greatly appreciated, however I would like to clarify some of the things you have commented upon. 1. There is a fully programmable blue tooth Central Heating control in the living Room. 2. We have inspected the pans and can see normal wear and tear but the non stick is in good working order. We take your point about a frying pan so we will be equipping the property with an air frier for future guests. 3. Garden furniture is there just inside the the entrance vestibule, we are not sure why you did not find it. It just needed lifting through the front door and takes moments to open. 4. The garden fence was blown over in the really bad weather we had recently and we are making a new one as fast as we can sorry we could not erect one in time but we reacted as soon as we could. The fence normally holds the planters. As for the planters we will be filling these with spring flowers as soon as the frost has subsided. 5 After you removed the Hotel Collection Velvety Rose diffuser you don't mention any smells then coming through so on this occasion the velvety rose aroma was just that . We see you removed it to another part of the house and that's fine. We certainly have never experienced any unusual smells! 5. We are continually upgrading and making improvements and take onboard your comments about throws etc and will continue the upgrading. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elaine3.1Apr 2023

  • "People with motobilty issue should take note of the stairs to the first floor especilly if needing the toilet often."

    As already noted the rear yard could do with a bit of improvement if only on a visual basis. No bread bin of biscult container. Beige carpets! From my point of view the nearness of the local shops and pubs was a big plus. RGL

    Reviewed by Robert4.1Sep 2022

  • "Access to the cottage was difficult if not dangerous via stone steps with no handrail."

    The first bedroom was on the first floor the second on the second floor via steep stairs. If this had been highlighted we would have chosen somewhere else. The rear of property was a bit of an eyesore.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the steps were not for you, it is a quirky property and not for everyone. We have taken on board your other comments which will be addressed in due course. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Edwin3.1Aug 2022

  • "A really lovely, well equipped cottage."

    The location is perfect to explore the area. Walking distance to the centre of the lovely small town of Boroughbridge. We would definitely stay here again.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Apr 2022

  • "This is a lovely mid-terrace cottage in the small town of Boroughbridge, with ..."

    This is a lovely mid-terrace cottage in the small town of Boroughbridge, with great access to the East side of the Yorkshire Dales, the North York Moors and also the cities of Ripon and York

    Reviewed by Andy4.7Feb 2022

  • "Really comfortable place to stay."

    Plenty of kitchen equipment, nice location only 2 mins walk from town centre. Cleaned every week during our 4 week stay - Nice.

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Dec 2021

  • "Beds are now very confortable, thanks for changing it in the master's."

    Very flexible and accomodating host, very helpful. A dishwasher would be a big plus for those who stay for more than a weekend. Otherwise, perfect for a small family.

    Reviewed by Borbala4.7Sep 2021

  • "We found Roecliffe cottage to be very clean and centrally situated for all the places we wished to visit such as Knaresborough, Ripon and York."

    Although the cottage is situated next to quite a busy road inside you could hear very little road noise. Boroughbridge village, a few minutes away, is very pleasant and has several bakers, coffee shops and butchers etc. It was however disappointing that the owners didn’t provide an information book promoting both Boroughbridge and wider Yorkshire! We arrived tired and hungry and shopped at a small Spar not realising there is a very large Morrisons just a few minutes away. Also, several neighbours (who were all very pleasant) appear to have different views on the dedicated parking for the cottage. We did park on the main road in the end but it felt safer to park in spaces behind the cottage and obviously more convenient to take cases and shopping in etc. We never did find the answer to the parking question! It would also have been useful to know about recycling. We did however find an excellent small tourist information office in Boroughbridge a few days before we left. They were very helpful regarding local walks and places of interest. In the cottage the kitchen was well equipped, but it would have been nice to have a toaster rather than having to use the electric grill. Positives though were the washing machine and separate dryer. If we had one major complaint about the cottage it would be the poor-quality mattress in the main bedroom. This has been mentioned in previous reviews, the mattress is clearly not fit for purpose in a cottage of this standard and price!!! All in all then a pleasant place to stay and once the mattress is sorted Roecliffe cottage will become a lovely holiday home.

    Reviewed by Steve3.8Jul 2021

  • "Lovely comfortable cottage."

    Agree with another review that the mattress on the king sized bed has seen better days. Also, a blind on the velux window in the double bedroom would be beneficial to block out the early morning light. Kitchen was well equipped. Loved the tunes from the washing machine!!

    Reviewed by Lesley4.7Jul 2021

  • "The cottage had both pluses and minuses."

    From the kerbside it looks very pretty with a well stocked garden and small patio. The lounge is pleasant and the kitchen is well stocked. Some instructions for the microwave would have been useful as we could work out how to use it, being unlike any other that we’d come across. Except for the oven and freezer, everywhere was spotlessly clean apart from a few stains on the living room carpet and main bedroom. Upstairs was lovely - a great bathroom and nicely decorated bedrooms. Bedding and towels appeared to be brand new. The main problem we had was with the mattress on the king sized bed. It was very uncomfortable due to the springs which could be felt on the surface and ‘pinged’ every time one of us moved! My husband’s back suffered each morning as a result. The only other complaint was that the description implied that the courtyard to the rear of the property would be a pleasant place to sit. However it was merely a dull empty yard with a shed and wheelie bins. There also appeared to be a numbered parking space to the rear which was not mentioned. Having said that, we had no problems parking on the road. The cottage is very well located , about a 5 min walk from Boroughbridge’s pretty centre. There are also three pubs close by. We enjoyed our break and the area but would not choose that particular house again.

    Thank you for your feedback, as a new property we welcome any comments you have. We will take on board your feedback and look into changing the mattress. The back courtyard is shared, The front area is private and the best place for sitting outside. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the location. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pamela3.8Jul 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Yorkshire Coastal Cottages collection.
Over 120 carefully selected properties in Yorkshire

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x second-floor double
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility area
  • Sitting room with gas fire
  • Gas central heating with gas fire
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • On-street parking
  • Front private courtyard Shared courtyard
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Accepts 2 small dogs
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub 0.1 mile

The property

Resting in the small town of Boroughbridge is Roecliffe, a charming mid-terrace cottage offering four guests a lovely spot to call home when exploring North Yorkshire.

Set over three floors and benefiting from a fronat private outdoor area and a shared courtyard at the rear, Roecliffe makes an excellent touring base for visiting York, Ripon and Harrogate.

Be welcomed into the entrance hallway before entering into the attractive sitting room, where a gas fire adds extra warmth in the winter months, and two pink sofas provide somewhere to relax while you enjoy watching TV after a big day.

Make your way into the kitchen/diner when you're feeling peckish to rustle up a feast in the fitted kitchen, with further appliances in the adjoining utility area, including a washer/dryer.

Head upstairs to find the first bedroom, boasting a king-size bed with plenty of storage for your things, with a bathroom on this floor too, hosting a bath with an overhead shower.

Climb another set of stairs to the attic room beneath sloping ceilings, where a double bed sits below Velux windows.

Sip your morning coffee in the shared courtyard to start your day before you set off on your first adventures.

The cathedral city of York rests less than 20 miles away and is bursting with things to see and do; take a tour of the beautiful York Minster before a stroll around the York City Walls and a trip to Clifford's Tower and the York Castle Museum, or travel further back in time at JORVIK Viking Centre where a Viking village has been replicated including the sights, sounds and smells!

Yorkshire Museum is home to five galleries showcasing archaeological treasures, with beautiful museum gardens home to Roman ruins, whilst The York Dungeon, Shambles, and York's Chocolate Story are all well worth visiting too.

Head to the spa town of Harrogate for a delightful afternoon tea at the famous Bettys Café Tea Rooms, before exploring the scenic Valley Gardens and The Stray, Mercer Art Gallery and Royal Pump Room Museum.

Newby Hall & Gardens is a great day out for families with thanks to the kids' adventure playground here, part of the 25-acre grounds of this Georgian house with a café and shop too.

Walkers can delight in hiking through the Howardian Hills AONB and the Nidderdale AONB, with lots of lakes and rivers nearby for some excellent fishing, and of course lots of cycling opportunities along the scenic country lanes.

Make memories to last with your loved ones at Roecliffe.

View on map

About the location

BOROUGHBRIDGE

Aldborough 1.4 miles; Ripon 6 miles; Harrogate 11.4 miles; York 16 miles;

Boroughbridge is a small town and civil parish in the Harrogate district of North Yorkshire, England. Historically part of the West Riding of Yorkshire, it is situated approximately 16 miles north-west from the county town of York. The town has a great collection of cafes, restaurants and cosy pubs. There is easy access onto the canal and beautiful walks along the River Ure with many boats and the opportunity to do some fishing. Staveley Nature Reserve is nearby where the superb wetland habitat offers regular sightings of birds, otters and several species of orchid. The village of Aldborough is within easy walking distance where you will find many Roman remains. The annual Aldborough and Boroughbridge Show is a fabulous day out for all the family and the Northern Aldborough Festival is one of the most prestigious classical music events in the country. Boroughbridge is a fantastic base for Knaresborough, Harrogate, Ripon and York.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas