Don’t miss our Summer Sale

Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) 22 minutes ago

14 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 18 View Larger Image
  • The Nook - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1022953 - photo 1
close

The Nook

Staithes, North York Moors & Coast (Ref. 1022953)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Open fire
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

21 Customer Reviews

  • "It’s not the Ritz but we didn’t expect that."

    A quaint little fishing cottage over 5 floors so mobility is important. We were more than comfortable and really enjoyed our stay Many thanks to the owners who are very understanding and helpful Would hesitate in recommending it

    Reviewed by IvanJul 2022

  • "Ideally located in a quiet courtyard next to the shops,cafes, pubs and harbour, the Nook is everything you would expect from a Fisherman’s Cottage in a quaint village like Staithes."

    Spread over 5 floors ( so you need to be pretty mobile), with the top floor having fantastic views of the harbour. There is no TV in the ground floor living area which we found ideal as you could just sit relax whilst others wanted to watch TV play games in the upstairs room. Very well equipped, with comfy beds, it was a great place to stay for our short break.

    Reviewed by LauraJun 2022

  • "What a lovely quirky cottage, we loved it…."

    Comfortable and charming with amazing views from the living room at the top of the house… you could sit for hours and watch the sea… the house definitely has its interesting bits… the stairs to the kitchen were steep but the kitchen is beautifully appointed and the whole house was spotlessly clean. We loved Staithes, a really fascinating and friendly village which is well worth a good explore and also has some good shops, cafes and pubs. The surrounding area is also lovely, we will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by CarolynJun 2022

  • "We were very unhappy with the cottage."

    We should have guessed that it was not going to be good as there was loads of leaves and debris around the entrance. The sofa was dirty so luckily we had taken dog throws so they didn't leave hairs etc on the furniture but in the end they were used so that we could sit on something clean. The sofas upstairs were not as bad as that but we still covered them with throws. The access to the kitchen was nearly impossible as you had to go down backwards and you had to drink any drink in the kitchen as it was difficult taking any drinks or food up the kitchen steps. The first floor landing carpet was heavily stained. Overall we were extremely disappointed with the cottage. Not sure if people think that if you have well trained dogs that you are only worthy of 4th grade accomodation. We will not be returning.

    Reviewed by PhilipApr 2022

  • "Excellent property, just as described."

    Brilliant location and stunning views from the top floor.

    Reviewed by AndrewApr 2022

  • "Stayed in 3 different properties in Staithes over the years, they all have their individual characters and this one didn't disappoint."

    Have come home for a rest from the stairs ha ha, great view(s) from the top floor once you get your breath back ;-) Didn't use the kitchen except for kettle as the Cod & Lobster caters for GF and doesn't disappoint in portion size, quality and speed. Hope the fire is fixed ok and look forward to visiting again

    Reviewed by DavidMar 2022

  • "This was a fabulous cottage with top end fixtures and fittings, very comfortable."

    The owner even made contact with us to check we were OK in the storm! Will definitely be booking again.

    Reviewed by ChrisNov 2021

  • "Good location, need to have good mobility for staithes and the Nook as lots of stairs."

    Cleanliness could have been better, lots of dust. Beds and towels all clean

    Many thanks for your feedback and we will certainly do a double check for any dusty corners. Thank you for acknowledging the beds and towels were clean. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndrewSep 2021

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at The Nook."

    The views from the top floor snug are stunning, lovely to watch the tide going out whilst having a morning coffee and breakfast! It's a quirky place to stay, and not for anyone with mobility issues, which is what you would expect in an old fisherman's cottage, and we loved it. There are a couple of minor details that need addressing, such as the downstairs curtain has hooks missing, and we couldn't find the charger for the cordless hoover, but there was a plug in hoover. Apart from that, The Nook had everything that we needed - plenty of hot water for showers too. Staithes is absolutely beautiful - if you don't mind walking up a hill to leave the village (which we don't). There's lovely coastal walks with amazing views. It's also a very dog friendly place,.

    Reviewed by SallySep 2021

  • "Fantastic location, spotlessly clean, comfy beds and well stocked with everything you could possibly need."

    Amazing view from the top floor. Highly recommend. Great communication from Sykes too. Thanks for a great stay !.

    Reviewed by JeremyJul 2021

  • "We’ve just spent a wonderful week in Staithes, beautiful village, fantastic food in the cod and lobster, the royal George and the captain cook."

    The Nook was a perfect place for us to stay cute and quirky, fantastic location, spotlessly clean and the room at the top is fabulous with amazing views. Thank you we will definitely be visiting again real soon.

    Reviewed by MaxineJul 2021

  • "Holiday would have been better if we were able to purchase a weeks parking in top bank car park instead of having to go up the hill every morning to put another ticket on."

    The cottage lovely ,clean and quirky. put off a little with the stairs down into the cellar kitchen. A small fridge in the upstairs sitting room for milk and snacks to save going down all the stairs to kitchen and back would be ideal.

    Reviewed by GloriaJun 2021

  • "We had problems accessing the property as the key was stuck in the key safe."

    This was quickly rectified by a member of the cleaning staff who was very helpful with advice on where to park to offload. This information was not made clear in the cottage information. We then had a problem of no hot water. As there is no phone signal in the village this necessitated a trip up the hill at 7.30 the next morning. It turned out there was a water heating switch located behind a curtain in the living room. There is no way we would have found this. More information in the cottage booklet regarding this and other issues such as which bins to use and general information about the locality would have been welcome.

    Many thanks for your feedback. We have now replaced the key safe and fitted a new front door lock. We do include necessary info in the property info pack, including advice on the location of the water heating switch. We will put some info in there regarding the bins, thank you for this suggestion. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MikeJun 2021

  • "Perfect location, beautiful sea view."

    We, and our four legged friends were really sad to leave, but we'll be back!

    Reviewed by MartinJun 2021

  • "The cottage was well situated in Staithes."

    Although being quirky with 5 floors and a lovely sea view room from the top room. For us the space didn't work at all, especially having to go down the kitchen stairs backwards. The cottage needs an overhaul as I think was rather dirty. Curtains were hanging off in the lounge. There was a mop and bucket in the lounge...it's the first thing you see when you open the door! The worse things for us was the heating or lack of it. We arrived after a 6 hour journey to find the heating worked off the wood burner. That was fine but there wasn't anything for us to put on it to get it going sadly. Even though we were told in the information that there would be a starter pack presumably of kindling and logs? We had to go out the next day to stick up. The only other alternative were 2 fan heaters and an oil filled radiator to heat 4 floors??? The first heater we plugged in then tripped the electrics. This meant a call to the owners and after calling us back we were able to locate the fuse box and trip the electrics back in. It's not ideal after a long journey and who wants to sit in a coat to keep warm. Sad to say this is our first holiday cottage experience and our last.

    Many thanks for your feedback and apologies for the issue you had during your stay. A logburner starter pack should indeed be included and you were of course refunded for the cost of this purchase. We are sorry that the mop and bucket was left in the lounge after cleaning the property and this shouldn't happen again. We have now also installed extra heating and the property has wall mounted electric heaters in the ground floor lounge and both bedrooms. The TV lounge also has a radiator and log effect operational electric fire and the ground floor lounge has a woodburner. The property was deep cleaned just after your stay due to your comments and the curtains were to be checked/remedied. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EdwardMay 2021

  • "Nice location, loads of walks, good local pub, local Butchers, also you can get local fish,lobster and"

    Reviewed by TerryApr 2021

  • "Great location and views"

    Reviewed by AdrianAug 2020

  • "Wasn’t expecting such a fantastic location"

    Reviewed by MartinAug 2020

  • "Lovely holiday."

    Nice cottage. well equipped. lots of nice touches re furnishings /pictures etc. Location fabulous-but not for the faint hearted as steep climb up to th etop---but if you know staithes not a problem. Only one difficulty and that was being unable to get response from owner when we phoned about slow draining toilet...which got worse and we had to use facilities at the pub. This was difficult in that we could not get a mobile signal unless we trecked each time to the top of the hill---so we are sorry to have the left the loo in a semi blocked state. Be assured that we did not put anything other than paper down the toilet. We wondered whether perhaps the drains were blocked somewhat because of all the rain. It was nice that when we arrived we found milk and T bags we also left bread milk veg etc, behind for next visitors. Despite this difficulty we would still stay there again and would recommend to friends.

    Apologies for the issues you had during your stay which have now been resolved. We are glad you enjoyed the welcome items. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PatriciaFeb 2020

  • "The location was absolutely idilic."

    Sea views literally on the door step. Very quiet location. The cottage was quirky but filled with all the amenities that's required. The lounge area was traditionally set but had a contemporary feel. Wooden floors and a quality log burner. Brilliantly equipped modern kitchen and likewise bathroom with a powerful shower. The whole cottage was a excitable experience full of surprises, it just kept on giving.

    Reviewed by PaulFeb 2020

  • "This is a very nice house in an excellent location."

    The lounge on the fifth floor has a stunning outlook across the harbour and is a lovely place to spend an hour not reading a book and watching the view instead.

    Reviewed by MarkJan 2020

Show more

Summary

  • Over five floors
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x second-floor bunk
  • Second-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Lower-ground-floor kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Third-floor sitting room
  • Electric heating and woodburning stove
  • Wall mounted electric heaters in ground floor lounge and both bedrooms
  • The TV lounge also has a radiator and log effect operational electric fire and the ground floor lounge has a woodburner
  • Microwave, oven, hob, washing machine, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Public carpark nearby (£6 for 24 hours)
  • Two well behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking allowed
  • Pub within walking distance, shop within 2 miles
  • Note: Boat-style staircase, care to be taken
  • Note: This property is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues or children under twelve

The property

Boasting captivating views of the coast of North Yorkshire in the old harbour area of Staithes is this quirky, former fisherman’s cottage, The Nook.

This idyllic hideaway is positioned for families to explore the moorland of the North York Moors National Park, as well as the nearby seaside resorts of Whitby and Scarborough.

Situated over five floors, this property boasts character with boat-style steps taking you to each floor where you will be greeted by charming decor.

On the lower ground floor there is a kitchen, where the contemporary units complement the quality appliances left for you and your loved ones to rustle up delicious meals that can be enjoyed at the dining table.

You’ll enjoy spending time in the snug on the ground-floor, especially on a winter’s evening when the extra warmth from the woodburning stove with keep you toasty warm as you snuggle up on the plush seating.

An additional sitting room awaits on the third-floor, affording you stunning views of your surroundings to admire.

As the evening draws to a close, choose one of the two lovely bedrooms, comprising of a double bedroom and a second-floor bunk bedroom, offering the ideal set up for a family of four.

If you can tear yourself away from this idyllic retreat head to the centre of Staithes where a selection of pubs awaits you, as well as the Captain Cook and Staithes Heritage Centre, and the Staithes Studios Gallery to be discovered.

Head slightly further afield to the seaside town of Whitby, where a superb selection of amenities can be found, as well as attractions including the famous 199 steps up to the ruins of the abbey and the stunning Blue Flag beach where you will find opportunities for watersports.

Alternatively, explore the moorland of the North York Moors National Park or head along the Cleveland Way to experience the superb coastal views.

The Nook is a wonderful hideaway for a traditional coastal break to Yorkshire.

View on map

About the location

STAITHES

Whitby 10 miles.

The charming and sleepy seaside village of Staithes, with its cobbled streets and back alleys, is something of an artist’s dream. Its pretty houses and cottages are clustered around the old harbour and surrounded by high craggy cliffs on three sides, with a sheltered sandy beach set amongst the rocky coastline. The village can claim connections with Captain Cook who was apprenticed to a draper near the harbour. Nowadays, Staithes is a must for anyone visiting the Yorkshire Coast and has a good selection of pubs, shops and tea rooms. Staithes is still home to an RNLI lifeboat station and a small fleet of cobles (fishing boats) landing fish, crab and lobster, with boat trips for birdwatching, fishing and even whale watching available. It’s also the location of the popular BBC children’s TV series, Old Jack’s Boat. Staithes has a strong attraction for artists, with an annual Art and Heritage Festival, galleries and artists studios with art courses and workshops regularly on offer. There’s a free Illusion Trail, which guides visitors around the network of ginnels (alleyways), with trail guides available locally. The best views of the town can be enjoyed from the Cleveland Way which runs down the cliff to the sea’s edge. Altogether a superb base for exploring the Yorkshire Coast, visiting the larger resorts of Whitby or Scarborough and enjoying the moorland villages of the North York Moors National Park.

View more holiday cottages in Staithes

Note: This property is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues or children under twelve.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas