Don’t miss our Summer Sale

Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 customer booked 6 Manor Park in the last 24 hours

1 of 18 View Larger Image
  • 6 Manor Park - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 997439 - photo 1

6 Manor Park

Strensall near York, Vale of York & Yorkshire Wolds (Ref. 997439)



Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

29 Customer Reviews

  • "6 Manor Park was situated in a Lovley area."

    Nice and quiet but close enough to everything we were visiting. The fishing was an added bonus. On arrival there was wine and chocolates (very much appreciated) it was clean and smelled beautiful. The accuracy of the listing was knocked one off as it seemed to be diffrent sofas ect than in pictures. However had lots of things for both adults and kids to do, monopoly, crosswords and a selection of dvds. The facilities within were amazing, everything you could need in a kitchen utensils ect. The only reason we have given 4 stars instead of 5 was just the bed mattresses., this could just be a personal preference but they were extremely hard for us all. Overall we have a lovely stay, packed full of fun and coming back to a Lovley retreat every night. We would and have recommended it already. We would certainly come back. Allan and Sarah were very approachable over the phone, replied very quickly when I was getting confirmation on something before we arrived and if we needed anything to let them know. The children loved it (8&13). Thankyou from us all.

    Thank you for your wonderful feed back , Sarah & I love to hear the great feedback from our guests. We like to try to rectify the needs of all our guests also. We have changed the beds a few times but like you say some like a firm mattress and some like soft, it’s hard to make the right choice for everybody. We are thrilled that you had a lovely time and have recommended us, this means a lot to us and we can’t wait for you to visit us again and will obviously do everything we can to make your revisit a great one. Regards to you all Allan & Sarah 6 Manor Park Property Owner

    Reviewed by MichaelAug 2022

  • "I will leave the feedback to my child but just to echo what she will say which is that we loved the property and it’s situation for venturing into York and the surrounding area."

    It was a very comfortable and pleasant stay. From daughter: We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 6 Manor Park and will hopefully go there again. The beds were extremely cosy and as soon as we walked in we experienced a really nice smell. It was very peaceful and I loved watching the ducks swim by the lodge.

    As a family we know how important it is to keep everyone happy and give them lots to do during there stay. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we are thrilled that you will return. We would personally like to thank the little one for the lovely picture, it makes us feel like we have made your stay very special and that’s what it’s all about for us. Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Kind Regards Allan & Sarah 6 Manor Park , York x Property Owner

    Reviewed by BodeunJul 2022

  • "Absolutely love this property it was our 2nd stay here and will defo be going back again."

    The only thing I’d say it was missing is a shower. Would and have recommended this place.

    We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at 6 Manor Park and we will always strive to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you for your wonderful comments and as always will try to accommodate ideas for the future, can’t wait to have you back in YORK . Kind Regards Allan & Sarah - 6 Manor Park , YORK Property Owner

    Reviewed by HarrietJun 2022

  • "Very disappointed."

    In fact we came home on the Tuesday. Sorry to have to make this complaint but it was uncomfortable and not fit for purpose. We have had wonderful cottages from Sykes and another one in August but this which presented it self in the pictures as beautiful did not live up to expectation. There was no blinds or curtains on the front door or the kitchen window. All windows had blinds that let light through at 4.30 am every day. No curtains at all except the one on the patio door which kept falling down. We couldn’t even watch the tv in the evening as it kept cracking and going off. The living room couch was dirty and uncomfortable. One of the beds was like sleeping on a bed of rock. We where not due home until Saturday. A great disappointment all round. The freezer was so thick with ice it made the capacity half of what we could have stored inside. There was no welcome basket which we always have had. In total quite an expensive rip off. The best thing about this holiday was the view. One very cheated family

    Reviewed by RoyMay 2022

  • "The cottage/cabin was in a lovely spot overlooking the lake with a decking area to sit out on."

    The property was well equipped and very clean. Good location for visiting York. The only issue we had was with the hand held shower as we are both elderly and a non slip mat in the bath would have been helpful. This is only a minor issue though and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at 6 MANOR PARK, and hope you will visit us again soon. We appreciate your input on how to improve our guests stays with us and will certainly look at what changes we need to make it comfortable for our guests. Thanks again Allan & Sarah Property Owner

    Reviewed by JuneApr 2022

  • "Fantastic lodge very clean, excellent facilities including easy to use Wi-Fi, smart tvs in all rooms, beautiful view of the lake, very peaceful and perfect location to lots of local amenities."

    Property owners were very helpful when we made a last minute request and left treats for adults and children. Would highly recommend!

    Very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in YORK & we look forward to have you visit us in the future. Regards Allan & Sarah 6 Manor Park Lodge Property Owner

    Reviewed by JenniferApr 2022

  • "The place was in a perfect location as we were visiting family near by!"

    The place was lovely and clean, couldnt really fault anything apart from at night when we was in bed you can hear loud noises that are either to do with the pipes or boiler system and a loud drip noise that went on all night which did keep us awake for the first night this is the only fault with the place.

    Reviewed by LauraFeb 2022

  • "A quiet location with lovely views of the lake."

    The lodge was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. It would benefit from having a fitted shower in the bathroom - my elderly mother was unable to use the bath. Otherwise we had everything we needed for a relaxing weekend with our dogs.

    Reviewed by TessaOct 2021

  • "Lovely property but short of utensils, wine glasses etc."

    Reviewed by GavinSep 2021

  • "Pleasant stay at this lodge, clean, cosy, with all the facilities we needed - would have been nice to have a fan as it was particularly warm but we took our own so we were on."

    Beds were a bit on the soft side. At night when everyone is in bed if you walk around the floors were quite creaky so it was a little noisy. I’m being picky but for the price these small issues could easily be resolved (carpets/firm bed toppers). I would probably stay again.

    Reviewed by AmandaAug 2021

  • "This property is awful,the online pictures are obviously when the property was renovated which must of been a long time ago."

    We were looking forward to our holiday but only managed to stay in this horrendous lodge for 3 nights when we supposed to be there for a week. There are stains on the walls,mould in the bathroom,old furniture which I wouldn’t even let my dog sleep on. The oven is disgusting and unusable and the whole place smells musty.The bathroom has mould stains,dirty tiles. The bedrooms are awful with both beds more or less unusable due to old mattresses. I feel sorry for anyone who has booked this lodge as they will be disappointed. This is very negative but truthful feedback as the setting is beautiful and the view from the terrace overlooking the lake is stunning. Sykes however have been very supportive and we managed a small amount of refund back.

    Reviewed by NickyJul 2021

  • "Lovely relaxing stay with a beautiful outlook from the cabin - just what we were looking for :)"

    Reviewed by NicolaJul 2021

  • "Fabulous cabin!"

    Very clean and tidy. Could do with a walk in shower and being provided more info about where you can walk with dogs. Fabulous takeaway Chinese food and the local pub was very hospitable.

    Reviewed by JillApr 2021

  • "Just enjoyed a lovely week in the sun fishing, the cabin was really clean and ..."

    Just enjoyed a lovely week in the sun fishing, the cabin was really clean and comfortable, the fishing lake is beautiful and peaceful highly recommend a visit if you enjoy fishing and relaxing,

    Reviewed by JennyApr 2021

  • "Thank you for a perfect holliday."

    We got exactly what we needed.comffort.suclusion.a perfect environment to chill out.lovely walks.coming back to a warm comfy cabin on the bank of lovely lake. Thank you.

    Reviewed by KeithOct 2020

  • "This cottage is in an attractive location, spacious, well equipped and could not be faulted in terms of cleanliness but had one major drawback - the two settees are without doubt the most uncomfortable we've ever had the misfortune to use."

    The weather was not great so we spent more time in the cottage than we would have liked and those settees were so bad we resorted to watching TV in the bedrooms, even during the day! Such a shame as almost everything else was fine, though we'd suggest the lodge welcome page is updated. The Sykes advice in finding the the lodge keys between the dustbins is out of date too. The security key safebox is alongside the front door.

    Reviewed by LindaOct 2020

  • "The lodge was a lovely little retreat for a getaway, beautifully peaceful and i didn't need anything in addition to what was already there, in respect of home comforts, towels, kitchen equipment etc."

    My only gripe so to speak is that while the lodge was dog friendly and the village was beautiful to walk the dog to the village as a family of four just did not feel safe, there is no public footpath and the cars on the road to walk down were going by so fast that we gave up and drove, which meant one of us was unable to enjoy an extra glass or 2 in the lovely pub. There is however a lovely common not too far away which she thoroughly enjoyed.

    Reviewed by DonnaSep 2020

  • "Clean and welcoming lodge, lovely location and well equipped."

    Excellent fishing on site, would have been great to fish from the lodge so a little maintenance to the lake would have made it perfect. Would definitely return.

    Reviewed by JaneAug 2020

  • "Beautifully positioned lodge on the lake."

    Very clean but facilities are basic. Could do with a little investment in furniture, crockery and kitchen utensils. Everything perfectly useable but no luxury feel. A couple of issues - bathroom hot water tap far too tight and hot water either scolding hot or just cold.

    Reviewed by GavinJul 2020

  • "This property is described as been able to fish within the lodge area."

    this is impossible as due to large Lilly pads which have been there for years to become that established. so with this in mind i booked my holiday for dog friendly and fishing which couldn't happen so spoilt my whole holiday. there is a fishing area in complex but no dogs allowed and no dogs to be left in lodge so couldn't even do this. i am so disappointed with Sykes as i use then regular and have booked for next year to a different cottage but i am so upset that this property has not obviously been updated or looked at by one of your team at Sykes. what do you propose to do about this? but i would like to add the property itself was lovely just not what it was advertised for so very disappointed indeed i have photos of area if you require. julie taylor

    Reviewed by JulieJul 2020

  • "We really enjoyed our stay it was just what we wanted."

    It wasn't overly clean as there was alot of dust but wasn't too bothered about it. Thank you for a lovely relaxing visit

    Reviewed by SarahDec 2019

  • "Four of the five ceiling light pendant bulbs blew whilst we were there, I assume this is a regular problem, hence the many candles in the property."

    The dinning chairs were so rickety we didn't dare sit on them and the two small sofa's had seen better days. We really enjoyed or stay and would stay again, but just a small investment in some replacement dinning chairs and sofa's would not go a miss in this property.

    Reviewed by DarrenDec 2019

  • "The location was great with lovely views over the water …."

    However … the accommodation was very basic, furnished with the cheapest furniture imaginable; whilst disappointing, if that was it we probably wouldn't have completed this survey. The main issue was the DIRT. The cutlery & crockery were filthy, a wine glass with a massive crack out of it, the extractor fan caked in grease, clearly hadn't been cleaned in a very long time, thick dust on the window blinds, alongside multiple cobwebs everywhere. With a bit of effort this could be a gorgeous little property

    Reviewed by DeanSep 2019

  • "This was our first visit to the York area and this lodge was the ideal base to visit the surrounding towns and villages."

    Lovely location with just enough local amenities for our needs and we can recommend The Ship for dining so long as it's not a Tuesday! The wife and daughters enjoyed feeding seed daily to the ducks in the pond on the site. Overall, a very relaxing break and we will definitely be returning.

    Reviewed by WilliamAug 2019

  • "Great cottage, easy to check in."

    Very comfy beds, lots of pillows. Larger then it looks on the photos. Great warm powerful shower. Very peaceful location. And great that is was dog friendly.

    Reviewed by KatieAug 2019

  • "Not vacuumed very well and found 2 clumps of hair and dust under the dining room table."

    Dust on tv cabinet.Duvet covers on the bed looked untidy and not ironed. Both sofa's were uncomfortable and had to take care when sitting down as middle strut was hard wood.

    Reviewed by JimJul 2019

  • "We had a lovely week even though weather not great fishing was super only comments for improvement is key lock box needs replacing far to low have to kneel on wet grass to open and as owner said after phone call temperamental and no tap hose for ladies to rinse hair besides that great site great log cabin enjoyed holiday ."

    Reviewed by MartinMay 2019

  • "Lovely holiday chalet in a lovely setting."

    Facilities were good, but really needs a shower hose! Bath takes ages to fill up and it was difficult to do something simple like washing your hair. A few coat hooks would also be beneficial. The points above, however, should not detract from a lovely chalet in gorgeous surrounds.

    Reviewed by GavinApr 2019

  • "Lovely quiet and clean site."

    The lodge was perfect for us with everything you could need. Loved sitting on the swing on the verandah overlooking the pond. Early morning wake up call from the ducks for food :-)

    Reviewed by AmandaMar 2019

Show more


  • All ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double (zip/link can be twin on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, hand held shower head, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room.
  • Gas central heating with extra heating from electric heaters
  • Oven, hob, fridge, freezer, washing machine
  • Smart TV in sitting room with DVD player and 2 x Smart TVs in the bedrooms
  • WiFi
  • Selection of books and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Off-road parking for one car.Other parking area available at the barrier
  • Enclosed decking to rear with garden furniture and parasol
  • Four well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub less than a mile
  • Note: Children must be supervised by an adult at all times
  • Note: Dogs must be kept on a lead at all times
  • Note: Free fishing is available in allocated areas on site, due to the natural habitat surroundings it will be difficult to fish outside of the lodge, however a fishing licence is required
  • There are also allocated areas to fish on the River Foss just a couple of miles away
  • Please note: WiFi is mobile WiFi
  • Please note that due to the property being a lodge rather than a cottage water pressure can fluctuate. Please note: If you are booking for August, it must be to arrive on a Friday,

The property

Positioned on the beautiful Manor Park, within Nelson Holiday Parks on the fringes of Strensall, is this well-appointed log cabin.

This holiday let boasts a wonderful lakeside position and a secluded location, offering families and friends the chance to get away and explore a wonderful region of Yorkshire.

Amidst the peace and quiet, enjoy the luxuries of the interior welcoming you from the moment you arrive.

The kitchen is fully equipped for cooking up a storm for your loved ones, whilst there is also a lovely dining area and views across the lake form the cosy sitting room.

After a day on the moors, return to rest at this spacious lodge, with two bedrooms to choose from, to catch a good night's sleep.

One of the rooms comes with a zip-and-link bed so you have the option of a twin arrangement if you wish.

There is also a spacious bathroom to assist you throughout your stay.

Sunny afternoons can be spent on the decking with a refreshing glass of wine, as you take in the views of the glistening lake.

The centre of the park plays host to a well-stocked private fishing lake, so don't forget to pack your best rods for reeling in the prize catch.

Strensall is a quaint little village nearby, located on the River Foss, with pubs, shops, takeaways and much more, along with a splendid golf course.

Strensall Common boasts a vast conservation area sweeping across more than five-square kilometres, popular with dog walkers and birdwatchers alike.

There are plenty of other walking and cycling opportunities in the surrounding countryside and family day's out can be spent discovering the beautiful North York Moors National Park, an easy drive away.

Pay a visit to the city of York, browse its shops and marvel at its 13th-century Gothic cathedral.

Further afield is Dalby Forest and the seaside town of Whitby, with its famous abbey.

With so much to see and do in the area and a peaceful base to return to at the end of each day, how can you miss an opportunity like it?

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £75.

View on map

About the location


York 7.5 miles; Kirkby Moorside 18 miles; Knaresborough 22 miles; Harrogate 26 miles.

A satellite village to the north of York, Strensall offers excellent transport links into the historic city centre. This friendly village has good amenities including pubs, shops, a hairdressers, a bakery and a fish & chip shop. There is also a village park and a superb golf course, with other alternatives close by. Just outside the village, the Strensall Common Nature Reserve is a conservation area with heathland and a wonderful array of wildlife, including birds, common lizards and adders. The surrounding countryside offers good walking and cycling opportunities, with picturesque cycle routes leading along the riverside path into the very heart of York. Hop in the car and venture into the North York Moors National Park to explore Dalby Forest, a beautiful setting for a family day out woven with walking and bike trails and a Go Ape centre! An easy drive away, the idyllic market town of Knaresborough is situated in the shadow of a large aqueduct, with a bustling market square and quaint, friendly pubs, cafés and shops located along the River Nidd. Take a stroll along the river, visit Knaresborough Castle and Mother Shipton’s Cave and in the summer, enjoy an ice-cream and hire a row boat. There are many things to see and do in this lovely area of Yorkshire, a wonderful holiday base all year round.

Note: This property is not suitable for children under 7 years due to site restrictions.
Note: The property is all ground floor, however there are a few steps up to the lodge.
Note: Children must be supervised by an adult at all times
Please note: If you are booking for August, it must be to arrive on a Friday,

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas