Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) 16 minutes ago

1 of 34 View Image Gallery
  • Clematis Cottage - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1084288 - photo 1

Clematis Cottage

(Ref. 1084288)

Raithwaite near Sandsend and Whitby, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (22)
  • stay (15)
  • lovely (14)
  • bed (12)
  • clean (11)
  • comfortable (10)

26 Customer Reviews

  • "Great cottage in a lovely secluded location."

    Well equipped and quality bedding and towels. A lovely welcome pack on arrival. We visited in November when the paths into Sandsend were quite muddy as you would expect for the time of year so would love to revisit in the summer.

    Reviewed by Kathryn4.7Nov 2023

  • "We are very happy with the accommodation."

    As a result we will be booking the same cottage for next year.

    Thanks for the fantastic score and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2024! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Oct 2023

  • "Overall a really nice and peaceful base to explore Whitby and the surrounding areas."

    Welcome pack on arrival was most welcome and had considerate details within the "cleaning pack" that contained thinks we often forget to bring. Best welcome pack in any accommodation we have ever stayed in

    Thanks for a great score, glad you enjoyed the welcome pack! Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.4Oct 2023

  • "Clematis cottage is very comfortable and extremely well maintained."

    It was very clean and a pleasure to stay in. The hotel staff were very welcoming and eager to show us around. Very dog friendly place. Only downside was the mobile signal and the weak WiFi. However that didn't spoil our stay.

    Thanks very much for your very positive feedback and top score (100/100). Some mobile signals work better than others. We'll double check the WiFi speed, never had poor feedback on that before, so hoping it's just a blip, but we'll check it out. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clematis. Thanks again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gina5.0Sep 2023

  • "The cottage was fine but it was in the middle of a building site which worsened during our stay."

    It was unsightly and we were unable to open the windows or sit outside due to the noise and dust and we did not feel we had any privacy from the workmen directly outside the windows. The workmen were pleasant and polite but we were not at all happy with them directly outside the windows whilst we were having our breakfast or pottering in the kitchen or in the sitting room etc. We felt a visit from the owners or their reps. was in order. Photo's have been taken, I could go on about the cliff and the subsidence and the parking but I'm sure the owners are aware of all this or should be. Unfortunately all this was a blight on the holiday and the rest and relaxation we had looked forward to. We feel strongly that some form of compensation is due.

    I'm sorry that you experienced this issue. A couple of the cottages nearby have had a new gas mains put in, meaning the gas company had to dig up the road opposite, to lay the pipe, restricting what is normally convenient parking. That work is now concluded and back to normal. I'm sorry you weren't told, I wasn't informed either, otherwise I would have told you immediately. I have since taken this up with the estate, they have assured me this work is now complete and apologised for the inconvenience. We do visit guests when we can, but as you can appreciate that is not always possible or arguably wanted by all guests. I'm not sure why you've referenced a cliff and subsidence, I'm unsure what that means. You also requested a bath mat for the bath, which was purchased and provided within 24 hours. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynn3.8Sep 2023

  • "Our second stay at Clematis Cottage this year, location superb and everything we needed."

    Cottage looking a bit tired and a couple of things not as they should be probably reflective of a very busy season. TV continued to beat us and lack of phone signal frustrating however we will certainly be back again. Must remember to take a good torch next time needed for taking dog out late at night!!

    Thanks for scoring the cottage very high. The cottage has been decorated and the kitchen door handle fixed, meaning it's looking very smart. We will check the instruction manual for the TV, ensuring it's accurate and easy to follow. Thanks for returning for your second visit, it's really appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine4.4Sep 2023

  • "Lovely, comfortable and clean cottage."

    Ideally situated for visiting Whitby and the surrounding area. Coastal walks possible from the door. Sandsend is a beautiful setting, with many good pubs and restaurants nearby. Only a few negatives: For me the lack of mirror in the second bedroom was annoying as it made it difficult to dry my hair or put make-up on. There are only 2 hangers supplied so couldn’t make use of the wardrobe, plus storing spare pillows in there had resulted in a horrible, musty smell so wouldn’t have wanted to put any clothes in there even if there’d be more hangers available. Weather during our stay was mixed so a clothes airer to dry wet walking gear would have been useful. The tea, coffee and cake provided were a lovely addition but hand wash and washing up liquid were lacking. Maybe worth swapping some of the cake for more practical products. Overall though it was a lovely stay and would definitely return.

    Thanks for your very positive score and constructive feedback. I tall mirror has been put in the bedroom, more hangers and a clothes drier added. The spare pillows etc have been removed from the cupboards allowing more air to circulate. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane4.4Jul 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay and would happily visit again but we did feel that people had been in the property with dogs and maybe let them onto the furniture as cushions on sofa and small cushions did small of dog which is off putting especially if you do not take dogs."

    You could also put more coat hanger in wardrobes as only 2 in each.

    Thanks for positive score and we're glad you enjoyed your stay at Clematis. The carpets, sofas and cushions are professionally cleaned (regularly), they are due to be cleaned again in July. We will add more coat hangers to the cupboards, some must have been taken! Thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet4.1Jun 2023

  • "Really cute cottage tucked away from the crowds of Whitby."

    The property is beautifully presented and accepted dogs which is wonderful . The beds are comfy and of a great size. The welcome tray of coffee tea and treats was very thoughtful. I would really have loved to have a washing machine pod on that tray as I forgot to take any with me !!! Also, the dryer part of the machine did not work despite following the instructions to the letter. The cottage is nicely positioned to visit other local places .

    Thanks for your positive feedback, Clematis is located in a wonderfully quiet setting, and offers the facilities of the Raithwaite hotel, so best of both worlds! We'll take a look at the dryer, if there is an issue, this will get fixed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tessa3.4Jun 2023

  • "Lovely cottage, comfortable and well equipped ."

    Would have given even higher rating if we could have worked out how to operate the many televisions! Would have liked more private outside sitting area

    Thanks for your positive feedback. We'll check the instructions for the TV's and edit where needed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by William4.4Jun 2023

  • "We had a great time at Clematis Cottage, perhaps a bath mat for the bath as can be slippy, also a bin in the bedrooms."

    Also the front door mat needs to fixed to the floor to stop slipping on entrance. The cottage was fully equipped, warm and inviting. Just as the description and pictures advertised. Of which is not always the case at some places I’ve stayed before. So Thank you to the owners.

    Thanks for your positive feedback and I'm glad to say that some of your feedback has been actioned. We hope to see you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lorraine5.0Apr 2023

  • "Lovely cosy cottage for a short winter break Well equipped and very comfy beds Super warm too"

    Thanks for your very positive feedback, glad you had a restful stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bronwen5.0Mar 2023

  • "We loved our stay at Clematis Cottage."

    It was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and in the ideal spot for exploring the surrounding areas. We will definitely be back. Loved it!

    Thanks for very positive feedback, the cottage looks very smart since it was re-decorated. The surrounding area is wonderful, especially the walk through the woods and coastal paths! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shelley5.0Feb 2023

  • "Really enjoyed our stay and will Definately return."

    Very comfortable and clean . Only downside is it took us a while to find the cottage and the lock on the door was a bit difficult however it turned out the lock was fine and it was only the handle that was stiff and a good push down and we were in.Lovely large rooms and comfy beds,couldn’t wish for more.

    Thanks for very positive feedback, the door has been fixed, thanks for noting that. Glad you had a great stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Jan 2023

  • "What an amazing property for our short break."

    Had everything we needed, with great wifi, TV offering the availability to watch a great selection of films and programmes on the many apps including Netflix and free view. Beds super comfy and a lovely small welcome pack on our arrival. Very poo phone signal, but not an issue to use messenger or WhatsApp to make any calls. Parking definitely not a problem, although many cottages empty due to being off season. Fantastic weather during our stay, although ground very wet, due to recent heavy rainfall, managed a few trips out which we had planned and would definityly love to stay here again.

    Thanks for your 100% positive feedback and describing Clematis as 'Amazing'! Recently (in the close season) it's been re-decorated in many rooms, so it's looking great! The cottage is set in such a quiet, peaceful and tranquil location, phone signal is poor, but as you say, you can connect via other apps etc. We'd love to welcome you back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Nov 2022

  • "The property is generally good, although could do with decorating."

    Great location etc. The access road to the Raithwaite hotel (before the cottage) is a bit dangerous, the hotel staff from the hotel use it as a race track, the hotel ignores complaints

    Thanks for your feedback. The property has been re-decorated in early 2023, so looking fresh and smart. The hotel has changed ownership now, so the issue of driving was a one off. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Phil3.8Nov 2022

  • "Had a lovely stay in Clematis Cottage on the Raithwaite Estate…it’s a very cozy warm cottage…nicely decorated too."

    I would definitely recommend and hopefully we will be visiting again.

    Thanks for your great feedback. The majority of the cottage has been re-decorated, so it looks impressive! I'm glad you had a very cozy and warm stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Oct 2022

  • "The cottage was lovely and clean, comfortable beds and quality bedding."

    The cottage smelt strange when we arrived - musty? There were several empty reed diffusers - just having oil in them might improve the smell. There is a lot of work/landscaping going on at the site? for the new Raithwaite village - including right outside the cottage windows, it looks a bit of a mess, we would have preferred to be pre-warned about this. Overall we have had a great holiday, fantastic spot, very comfortable cottage, short walk to Sandsend beach which is beautiful.

    Thanks for your overall positive response and glad you had a great stay! The carpets have since been professionally cleaned, there's no smell since. The ground works were short term, so I'm sorry you experienced that during the time you visited in September 2022. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma4.7Sep 2022

  • "Things did not start out well."

    Firstly, we couldn’t actually find the property. After driving up and down past the ‘L’ shaped cottages, we eventually discovered Clematis through a very tight gap and entered a small courtyard. It became apparent that we couldn’t leave the car outside the cottage as we would block the entrance to the courtyard. The instructions state “Park up in the off-road parking spot”? What parking spot? So reluctantly we called the owner to ask where we could park and was told, on the road by the grass bank or on the hotel car park. Neither was really a good option as I had a broken ankle and was on crutches. So, after unloading, we parked on the paved area outside the kitchen window by the road. We did find instructions when we were in the cottage, but again they were not very helpful. We then decided to have a drink and put the TV on, after thirty minutes of trying to find ITV and scrolling through channels that kept saying there was no signal? I once again reluctantly decided to phone the owner. He, very helpfully, arranged for a lovely lady, Catherine to call round. She couldn’t get any channels either but after turning it off and back on some did appear. We then spent another thirty minutes scrolling through the menu and noting the numbers of the main channels. I have left my list in the hope it will be of some help to future occupants. There are TV’s in all the rooms but as you can’t actually watch much on them, they are a bit pointless. We asked her about where we had parked, and she said she thought it would be fine. The cottage itself proved delightful, very clean, comfortable and spacious. The lounge and bedrooms were quite large and nicely decorated. The bed was huge and one of the best and most comfortable I have slept in. The kitchen was really well equipped. There were some minor scuffs on the walls which were immaterial and in no way detracted from the overall appearance of the cottage. It was dog friendly which is always a bonus. The biscuits, tea, coffee and milk were a nice touch too. To conclude, I feel there needs to be a sign on the ‘rear’ or roadside indicating which building was clematis. Also, there is no allocated parking, the description included the statement ‘off road parking spot’ as some of the other cottages had allocated parking, could the block paved area be allocated to Clematis? This would be helpful, as I imagine if all the cottages were in use, parking would be an issue. Also, the TV really needs sorting out, scrolling through over one thousand channels, most of which didn’t work is not ideal. On the 29th May I had also contacted Sykes about the TV and parking, as previous reviews mentioned this situation. I was told the TV does have an aerial and there was off road parking. Clearly this is not the case. To his credit, the owner Paul, was very helpful in helping us resolve the issues with the TV, as was Catherine. It was a very comfortable place and pleasant place to stay, despite the two issues I have mentioned.

    Thanks for your feedback. Parking is directly outside the cottage, on the private road, which doesn't have passing traffic (it's a dead end so ultra quiet). I'm glad you could get your 4x4 around to the door, which is ok for loading and unloading. I'm sorry you had issues with the TV, I think someone else had changed the settings before you, I'm delighted that we responded and had someone at the property, fixing the issue within one hour of you alerting me, so a very quick response. Overall, I'm glad that you had an enjoyable stay, once you got settled in and unpacked, and I appreciate you acknowledging the quick response! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Annette4.4Sep 2022

  • "Loved it couldn’t of asked for more will be back"

    Thanks very much for you extremely positive score and feedback. We're glad you loved the cottage and beautiful surroundings! We hope to see you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Aug 2022

  • "We had a very enjoyable stay at Clematis cottage the location was perfect for us as we like to park the car up and never use it until we go home."

    You are able to walk to sandsend and Whitby along the beach or over the hills and there are plenty of walks from the cottage if you have a dog. Walking to sandsend and back through the woods is fairly steep and through a view field which can be nervy if you’re not used to them. The cottage is lovely and practical but there are no homely features it’s clearly just a rentable property it has everything you need although there isn’t any information at all about the area,the cottage,where to park or how things work. There are quality tv’s in every room but getting to watch something is a different matter terrestrial tv is impossible and the tv in the lounge is primarily Netflix or player apps and the kitchen/bedrooms only have now tv all a bit pointless if you want to watch the news. They are also poorly fitted. There’s lots of paint scrapes about the cottage but that doesn’t matter really and the shower head needs a good clean and fitting properly as more water runs from the top rather than the rain drop head apart from these minor points we would definitely return.

    Thanks for your largely positive feedback, we're glad you had a very enjoyable stay. The cottage is used solely for holiday rentals. Sorry the cottage guide book wasn't in the cottage during your stay, I can confirm another guide book has been re-printed, outlining the cottage features and information, also providing tips regarding the local area, including the Raithwaite estate which guests can enjoy. The guide book also includes instructions regarding the TV's. Areas of the cottage have been re-painted since you're stay, the shower etc was also sorted quickly. Thanks for acknowledging these are minor points and stating that you would definitely return, we hope to see you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.4Apr 2022

  • "A lovely place to stay and set in the beautiful grounds of Raithwaite Hall (spa hotel)."

    The setting wasn’t fully explained in the description so it was a very pleasant surprise as we could use the facilities of the spa at a reasonable cost. Very comfy and clean cottage, well equipped.

    Thanks for your fantastic feedback. The cottage description has been updated. The cottage is located in a very quiet and peaceful corner of the Raithwaite estate, (near Sandsend), guests can enjoy the great facilities, we've had some beautiful meals at the restaurant! We're pleased that you found the cottage comfy and clean. We hope to see you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.7Apr 2022

  • "We had a great stay and would highly recommend to others to stay there."

    It was comfortable and very clean, although we found white rice under a chopping board, so we had to drop our rating for this. The cottage could do with a little touch up of paint in certain areas but again this was only in certain places either furniture had scuffed the wall or on a skirting board in the kitchen, for example. We loved the added touches with a small bottle of milk, tea and coffee sachets and biscuits on arrival. The kitchen was well equipped and all the pans and utensils you would need to cook a meal.The shower was hot and the bathroom was lovely and clean. The cottage was very warm and cosy. It is very pretty and we enjoyed our stay there. We have two grown up boys who came with us, and although they had to share a double bed, which we knew about before we booked , the cottage could cater for the 4 of us comfortably.We loved the outside space and enjoyed having a sit outside which is a big plus for us. The setting was lovely and it took us about 40 minutes to walk into Whitby and about 20-25 mins to walk into the heart of Sandsend. We all came away happy that we'd had a lovely short break in a very cute, comfortable cottage. I wouldn't hesitate to book again!

    Thanks very much for your constructive and positive comments. We try very hard to ensure all guests have a very enjoyable stay. The cottage has recently been re-painted in the hallway, the area most scuffed from guests moving in and out! I'm glad you enjoyed the quiet and peaceful setting that Clematis enjoys, it's also pleasing to hear that you felt warm and comfortable when inside! We hope to see you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul4.4Apr 2022

  • "The cottage was a very comfortable & clean place, it's in the grounds of Raithewaite Hall so down a long drive with plenty of walks around plus you can walk to Sandsend & leave the car behind."

    One negative was the fact there wasn't any information about anything, I understand this could have been due to covid but surely info could have been emailed? We had no idea where to park, no info about recycling, local amenities etc. The TV's were also a mystery unless you're an internet buff & the little info that was there was completely wrong! We've been going to cottages for over 20 years & this was the first time we've encountered this & if it is due to covid I can't understand how they can leave magazines but no info. From a safety point of view the bathroom radiator was always very very hot which could be a danger if touched by a child but as there was no instructions we couldn't turn it off!

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Mar 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in a beautiful location."

    Very clean and comfortable. Tastefully decorated and spacious. We would have liked a little complimentary hand soap in the kitchen and downstairs toilet. Would definitely stay in Clematis cottage again. Thank you.

    Thanks very much for your positive comments, we're glad you had a very enjoyable stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Penelope5.0Mar 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, nice and warm when we arrived."

    Agree with a previous review about the dishwasher door as it hit my husband on the leg, also the urine stain on the bedroom floor is still there. Beds comfortable and had a great sleep, would definitely stay again.

    Hi, Firstly thanks for your feedback, which we take seriously, striving to ensure guests have a fantastic stay, providing good value for money. Addressing a couple of the points you have outlined; firstly, we're awaiting a part for the dishwasher door, this should be fixed by early March 22. Regarding the reported urine stain in the corner of the room, which is approximately 5cm x 5cm, I can assure you that this is NOT a urine stain. Someone marked the carpet with hair straighteners several months ago, thankfully the mark is faint, the carpets and sofas are professionally cleaned at least every two months, unfortunately that will not solve this mark. Other than that, the carpets are in good condition. I'm glad that overall you had a great stay and you would return, thanks for your business. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mandy4.7Feb 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size, 1 x double
  • Travel cot available
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen/diner with TV
  • Sitting room
  • Central heating
  • Electric double oven, Ninja Air Fryer, gas hob, microwave, coffee mahine fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher
  • 4 x TVs (lounge with ambient lighting), WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Welcome Pack, Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking
  • External area leads on to Raithwaite Estate Grounds which has gardens and paths to explore
  • Two well behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1.2 miles, pub 0.8 miles, beach 0.4 miles

The property

Settled on the outskirts of Whitby, very near the peaceful village of Sandsend, rests this attractive stone-fronted property, Clematis Cottage.

Just a short walk away from a sandy beach and overlooking the treetops from its Velux windows, this holiday home is ideal for couples, four friends or a family.

Park up in the off-road parking spot before making your way inside to the entrance hallway; kick off your boots and hang your jackets ready for an exploration.Discover the sitting room, with two plush sofas where you can unwind with a cup of tea and a good book and a feature wooden wall for a rustic feel.

Locate the kitchen/diner with its whitewashed cupboards and electric oven, integrated microwave, to whip up culinary delights and a dining table to enjoy meals and a chatter together.

As the sky grows dark, retire upstairs, and soak your muscles in the bath or opt for a rinse in the rainfall shower to wash the day away.

When sleep calls, choose between two adorned bedrooms, a super-king-size and a double, both with furniture to house your belongings.

Awaken with a refreshing walk through the woodlands to find Sandsend Beach to relish the coastal sights and in the afternoon why not test your swing at Whitby Golf Club?

You could also take on the beautiful coastal walks, the views are breath taking!

The cottage has been recently decorated and has its own seating area. Venture into the centre of Whitby to embark on a guided walk to unveil the rich history of the seaside resort, enjoy award winning fresh fish and chips on the promenade or sit back and watch live entertainment at Whitby Pavilion.

Scarborough is just down the coast, where you can enjoy rides, indoor water slides and amusements.

Explore the pretty old fishing villages of Robin Hood's Bay, Staithes or Runswick Bay for a stroll along the sandy beaches, a trip to the fascinating museum, and dine out in a traditional pubs with crackling open fires.

For a much-needed escape to the coast, in a very peaceful location, choose Clematis Cottage.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Robin Hood's Bay 5.5 miles; Scarborough 19.3 miles; Pickering 23 miles; Guisborough 21.5 miles.

The seaside town and port of Whitby lies at the mouth of the River Esk in the Scarborough district of North Yorkshire. Ideally situated for exploring this beautiful part of Yorkshire, the local area hosts an array of activities so you can be sure to get the best out of both the countryside and the coast. From the nearby North York Moors to its Blue Flag beaches, there's something here for everyone. Amongst its many attractions, Whitby holds a charming atmosphere, home to winding streets and hidden alleys, where you can find a wide selection of eateries and shops scattered amongst them. Take a trip to the picturesque harbour and lighthouse to watch the sun set or get involved in some whale watching or a coastal cruise to watch the creatures up close. Climb the famous 199 steps to the Whitby Abbey to immerse yourself with history, or visit the Captain Cook Memorial Museum presenting historical and ethnographic exhibition about Cook himself. Close to the Robin Hood's Bay, rich in heritage, wonders and scenic spots, and in easy reach of the bustling towns of Scarborough and Middlesbrough, Whitby is a prime location for exploring all of the delights that Yorkshire has to offer.

View more holiday cottages in Whitby

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas