Ending soon! Save up to 20% on August ’22 Holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 of 18 View Larger Image
  • Parsonage Cottage - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1079259 - photo 1
close

Parsonage Cottage

Danby near Ainthorpe, North York Moors & Coast (Ref. 1079259)

3.8

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

11 Customer Reviews

  • "10 out of 10 , never seen the dog happier."

    Reviewed by SJun 2022

  • "A peaceful location in wonderful countryside."

    Owners smilingly cheerful and helpful. Cottage perfectly adequate, great shower room, comfortable beds. Suggest mentioning washing machine in list of facilities. Weather was a bit variable but more than made up for by bouncing spring lambs, a new born calf, the haunting cry of plovers and even a cuckoo. What more could you want! Thank you Polly and, is it?, Mel.

    Our favourite guests so far! Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, it was an absolute pleasure having you two to stay & we hope to see you both again soon. Best wishes, Polly & Mel x Property Owner

    Reviewed by BernardApr 2022

  • "Based in a beautiful area."

    Plenty walks for dogs. Property lovely especially main bedroom where you can look at the stars as you sleep. Better for couples rather than with children though as main area is small. Ideal break for couples wanting to go dog walking. Definitely would go back but without kids next time :)

    Garaham thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it! Hope to see you again soon! Polly & Mel Property Owner

    Reviewed by GrahamApr 2022

  • "The cottage itself was more than adequate and clean."

    Our only negative comments would be as follows: We booked this particular property primarily as it was dog friendly. However, on our arrival it became apparent that there was actually no "secure" area whereby we could let our dog out "unsupervised" The Cottage is within the grounds of the main house with no fence separating the two and also adjoins the road to the farm/stables. We found this situation far from ideal . There was no wardrobe/clothes hanging facility in the downstairs bedroom. The hot water capacity in the lovely shower was suspect. As there was just the two of us we managed however, should a family of four be staying, there would undoubtedly be a problem.

    Thank you for your feedback. Had you requested space to let your dog off unsupervised then you would have been pointed towards the paddock adjoining the garden which is fully fenced off and available to guests - photo 18 on the listing. I’m sorry that you found the location next to our home ‘far from ideal’ but on the Sykes listing it states “Note: This property is located next door to the owner's home”. In relation to the comments about no wardrobe in the downstairs bedroom there is a walk in wardrobe leading off this bedroom with shelving units and loads of space to hang clothes in so I am uncertain what the problem is here? The hot water capacity is being upgraded so that’s the only point of your review which is valid. Thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by JohnApr 2022

  • "From previous reviews, both online and in the guest book, it is clear the owners have responded to feedback so it might be worth only looking at more recent reviews."

    The cottage is in a lovely location and is genuinely dog friendly with hard floors, a downstairs shower and washing machine. It is fully equipped, warm and comfortable; we would love to go back but would go out of season because of the price increase. It would be worth having someone trim the tree over the main bedroom as it does hit the window in wind and is quite noisy!

    Hi Katie, thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the heads up about the tree - I am arranging the tree surgeon now! Hope to see you again soon. Polly x Property Owner

    Reviewed by KatieFeb 2022

  • "Too many repairs need doing ..."

    Too many repairs need doing And the owner to be around more And to put on the page if anyone has allergies too and to give more feedback when someone has reported something& not Bribing the people who are staying with a bottle off wine to say I’m sorting the repair that was not done but was aware that the people was not happy staying and said that they will be going home In three days & not in 7 nights not happy with the feedback I got

    Thank you for leaving a review, however we find it quite confusing and inaccurate. You have informed us of one small repair you believed was needed, we have acted promptly and resolved it for you within a couple of hours, leaving a bottle of wine for you as a gift - we are really sorry to hear you didn't appreciate it. In regards to allergies, all the bedding in the property is hypoallergenic, however we have been made aware that you didn't appreciate the flowers in the property, again we are very sorry to hear this as guests normally love them. We find the rest of your comments very unclear, but if you wish to discuss anything further please contact us, we leave our phone numbers to all our guest and we are always here to assist. Property Owner

    Reviewed by VickyNov 2021

  • "Whilst our stay was comfortable, there are a number of areas for improvement."

    On arrival in Danby the property is not clearly signed. We were met by Polly at the property who ensured the keysafe gave us access. The welcome pack and flowers are a nice touch. The upstairs bedroom & bathroom are spacious, comfortable and clean. The kitchen/lounge is dated and although has plenty of equipment clearly the units themselves need replacing and feel sticky, the lack of space creates problems with access to the low oven, cutlery and cupboards,wall lighting is poor and clearly overhead led lights would solve the problem. The 2 seater settee had dog hair underneath the cushions and around the edges. The hall area is dark and improvement with led lighting and white doors/frames would solve the problems.The outside seating area grass had been strimmed but clearly needs cutting with a mower and the grass removed. Despite these problems we enjoyed our stay and the area is beautiful, with a little investment and more attention to cleaning this property could easily be transformed, I would enjoy getting it sorted!

    Hello Thank you very much indeed for your feedback. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the stay and hope you'll be back to see the improvements we've made over the quieter winter months. We have upgraded the lighting in the hall way, kitchen & sitting room, and worked with the cleaners to make sure furry friends aren't causing too much damage! Your comments on the garden have been noted and fed back to our gardener who is increasing his visits to weekly over the summer months. Thanks again for your feedback. Polly x Property Owner

    Reviewed by CharlesSep 2021

  • "Hot water was intermittently unavailable boiler also showed signs of leaking"

    Hi Mr & Mrs Pinder. Thank you for your feedback. I am however surprised with this review, as once you notified me of the issue, I arranged for a contractor to attend within the hour. The contractor confirmed there was no leak from the boiler, and that the hot water had been turned off at the wall by someone in your party. From our correspondence on that day I understood the 'problem' had been resolved and that you had had an 'amazing' stay, based on your comments in the guestbook. All the best, Polly. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CliveAug 2021

  • "Cottage was basic but clean, surprisingly spacious - just lovely."

    Comfortable beds, large bedrooms and bathroom with a great shower. Everything we needed provided plus a nice surprise of a welcome basket for breakfast. Surroundings are beautiful and easy driving distance to several beaches if you’re fancying fish and chips. Would definitely like to book here again, hopefully for longer than a weekend. Thank you

    Hi Mr & Mrs Dixon, thank you very much for your lovely review. So pleased you had a good stay and enjoyed the welcome basket! Looking forward to your return visit. Kind regards, Mel & Polly Property Owner

    Reviewed by EleanorAug 2021

  • "A beautiful cottage, the lady who owns it is so friendly and even let our girls ride her pony :) The cottage is surrounded by endless, beautiful walks, stunning scenery and only a short drive to Whitby harbour."

    We would definitely recommend this cottage, we will be returning.

    Hi Emma, thanks so much for your feedback. So pleased you had a good holiday and the girls enjoyed the riding lesson! Look forward to welcoming you back. Polly & Mel x Property Owner

    Reviewed by EmmaAug 2021

  • "Fantastic cottage in an amazingly tranquil location."

    Great pub (Fox & Hounds) within easy walking distance either by road or even better across the fields. Plenty of space for the dog to roam around and only a short drive to Whitby or the other coastal locations. Wish we could have stayed longer !!

    Mr & Mrs Gordon, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We couldn't have asked for better first guests. Really appreciate the comments and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChrisJul 2021

Show more

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor twin (zip/link, can be king-size on request), 1 x double
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Electric immersion heating with electric storage heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer
  • WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking
  • Front garden with lawn and furniture
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1.1 miles, pub 0.9 miles
  • Note: This property is located next door to the owner's home

The property

Ainthorpe 0.5 miles.

Nestled within the picturesque North York Moors National Park with plenty of walking and trail paths to enjoy, and set on the outskirts of Danby, North Yorkshire is this charming cottage, Parsonage Cottage.

Set over two floors and sleeping up to four guests, Parsonage Cottage is a homely and pet-friendly setting with wonderful country views, perfect for a couple’s getaway to the countryside where you can escape the stresses of everyday life.

Arriving at the property, you will find convenient off-road parking where you and your guests can unload your bags and take in the fresh country air and expansive surrounding countryside.

Step into the rustic open-plan living space with compact kitchen, dining area and sitting area, here you can prepare delicious treats for your guests to enjoy before retiring to the sofa with a glass of wine and toasting to a wonderful holiday.

When your eyes grow heavy, you have the option to retire to one of two rooms, the first being a spacious twin with zip/link on the ground floor, ideal for those with limited mobility.

Completing the ground floor is the contemporary shower-room, where you can enjoy freshening up before a day of exploring the moors.

Climb the stairs where you will discover the second bedroom, a generous double with Velux windows, allowing the natural light to flow into the room.

Explore your local surroundings and venture into the local village, where if you don’t feel like spending an evening in the kitchen, you can treat your guests to a bite at The Fox and Hounds or The Duke of Wellington Inn, both of which serve fresh produce and local ales.

Be sure to visit The National Parks Visitor Centre, which guarantees a great day out for all the family, with an outdoor adventure play area and mud kitchen for the children, glorious woodland and riverside walks, as well as interactive exhibits inside and the ‘Inspired by…’ gallery which alternates its exhibits and the delightful Victorian seaside town of Saltburn-by-the-Sea; here, you can purchase delicious snacks along the famous 600ft pier, soak up the sun on an award-winning beach, or enjoy impressive views on a journey from the town to the beach with a ride on the water-balanced cliff lift, the oldest in Britain.

Also take a trip to the seaside town of Whitby which is a great day out with plenty of things to do and excellent fish and chips to round off your day.

For walkers, the Black Ash Path is a fantastic hiking area, as well as the Saltburn Gill Nature Reserve, where you can enjoy secluded walks with your canine companion or try and spot the local wildlife.

Enjoy a refreshing break with your loved ones in the homely Parsonage Cottage, and do not miss the chance to stay within this glorious National Park.

View on map

About the location

AINTHORPE

Castleton 17 mile; Saltburn-by-the-Sea 22 miles; Middlesbrough 30 miles

Located within the North York Moors National Park in the Esk Valley in the civil parish of Danby, is the charming village of Ainthorpe. Set along the River Esk and home to a small selection of independent shops, pubs and restaurants, including the well-known The Fox & Hounds and The Duke of Wellington Inn, both of which serve fresh and delicious meals as well as local ales, ideal after a day of exploring the moors. For a fun-filled day out for all the family, be sure to visit The Moors National Park Centre, which is set on the outskirts of the village of Danby. Here, children can enjoy an outdoor play area, indoor climbing wall and mud kitchen, and for the rest of the party, there are scenic woodland walks, riverside trails and picnic areas to enjoy a bite to eat. Inside, there are interactive exhibits and the well-known ‘Inspired by…’ gallery which alternates exhibitions with new artists.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas