Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

12 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 29 View Image Gallery
  • Hawthornden - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 935080 - photo 1
close

Hawthornden

(Ref. 935080)

Filey, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

4.8

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (31)
  • clean (26)
  • stay (25)
  • beach (22)
  • our (22)
  • cottage (17)

66 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a lovely stay we had everything we needed and enjoyed some fantastic walks nearby."

    We will definitely be back. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Feb 2024

  • "Really enjoyed our stay at Hawthornden, spotlessly clean , spacious and comfortable , lovely log fire , everything you need."

    Very private annex, but you knew there was some one at hand if you needed anything. Highly recommended a stay.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Nov 2023

  • "This was a lovely place to stay."

    The beds and sofas were really comfortable. The main living room space was a very light airy and spacious room could benefit having a lamp on the tv side of the room for the evenings. The on suite shower was a little small if you are a bigger person and the main bathroom could do with a light by the mirror for shaving. It was a very quiet peaceful place to stay and we would stay here again.

    Reviewed by Tracy4.7Oct 2023

  • "A lovely, clean property in a great position."

    We had all that we needed and had a great stay, thank you.

    Reviewed by Candyce5.0Sep 2023

  • "Our fourth visit to this brilliant cottage, everything was perfect."

    The owners, Mandy and James, are on hand if necessary otherwise you have complete privacy. Our 6 year old grand daughter took charge of the gate operation, which she did with ease every day. Location is brilliant for beach, Filey town centre, Scarborough and Bridlington. Lots of walks and Primrose Valley next door, therefore excellent for keeping the kids happy. We will be return. Thank you for another lovely holiday. Ian, Eileen, Charlie and Georgie. 25 August 2023

    Thank you for your lovely comments & feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eileen5.0Aug 2023

  • "Arrived to a closed gated access,(gate not working properly needs attention) pictures of accommodation deceiving , as a annexe of main home."

    Felt as a unwelcome guest in somebody's home, ( privacy) booking was made for ease of access for my disabled wife all on one level. Interior facilities very good, issue with washing machine breaking down a couple of days into the holiday +being asking by the owner directly do we need a washing machine at all? A compromise was given we're for the rest of our stay we could use the main addresses machine but not on a constant basis if needed. Electrics tripping out, frequently having to do small maintenance tasks on your holiday is not ideal. Also there was a issues with flys

    Thank you for your feedback. The gate has been checked and does work and instructions were provided so they can only put this down to user error. The description does state: 'single-storey property, an annexe to the owner's home,..' so we do not feel this is any way misleading and the pictures are clear. The owner is sorry that the washing machine broke so offered you use of their own, which you wanted to use every day. There were local power cuts due to the storms and bad weather; this was entirely outside the owner's control. No one else has reported any issues with flies and the owners have not noticed this themselves but did notice food left out and an unpleasant smell when they came to clean the property after your stay so this may have contributed to the issue. We hope you ejoyed your holiday otherwise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shaun2.2Jul 2023

  • "Lovely find, very close to a haven caravan site, which we wondered onto, used the slim chicken and papa John's pizza very good."

    The bar by the lake is very good. We enjoyed the house we booked, lots in the area to visit. Just could be a little difficult to turn right at busy times, but you can go left and go round the roundabout when it's really busy. Couple of issues with the electric gate, but the neighbour across the way and the uncle who was looking after the property helped. Think a little side gate would of been good so you didn't need to use the electric gates all the time, but not sure if that was possible. Really enjoyed our stay would look to book again when we are in the area.

    Reviewed by Shani4.4Jul 2023

  • "Cottage was clean, had everything you need, position for beach was excellent."

    We had a lovely stay and will hope to be back again.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jul 2023

  • "The property is very nice and clean but not as private as we thought it would be."

    We had a great stay regardless. Very convenient for beach. Things to improve: The fridge needs to be replaced as it is almost constantly on, noisy and doesn't cool very well. The bed in the ensuite room is creaky! The automatic gates can take some time to respond and even longer to open.

    Reviewed by Daniel4.1Jul 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay and the location was great for accessing the dog friendly part of Filey beach."

    In terms of constructive feedback, the kitchen could have been cleaner and the fridge didn’t get cold, so that food went bad after a day. It was great to have an enclosed garden for our dog and everything being on the same level ( no stairs) was also good for our dog.

    Reviewed by Katharine4.1Jun 2023

  • "It is a little bit tired now, the settees are uncomfortable and the beds too soft."

    The outside area is really nice and spacious but there are no sunbeds and no shade from the sun, fortunately it wasn't too hot. Some cleaning essentials would have been handy ie bleach for the toilet etc.

    Reviewed by Kay3.8May 2023

  • "5 star bungalow every thing you could wish for"

    Reviewed by Gill5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Enjoyed watching the birds and wildlife in and around the garden. Have already booked this cottage again.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Apr 2023

  • "We loved hawthornden, it had everything we needed and more!"

    ! So clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for us, great for lovely long walks and a short walk to Filey either along the beach or along the coast.

    Reviewed by Helena5.0Apr 2023

  • "For us this property was perfect everything was clean and cosy."

    The position of the property was great, five minute walk to the dog friendly beach, nice pubs nearby and Filey just a five minute drive away. We would recommend this property to friends and family.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Feb 2023

  • "Enjoyed our stay ."

    the cottage would have benefit from a lamp in living room corner and a second lamp in bedroom. and a bottle of milk ? but overhaul a great cottage well worth the stay.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Jan 2023

  • "Comfortable, private accommodation in an annexe/ extension to owner's house."

    The property is light and airy, has everything you could need for a stay in a central location convenient to the tourist towns and attractions. Filey Beach is accessible by a walk through the nearby Haven Caravan Holiday Park. The majority of the towns are very dog friendly and allow them in shops, pubs and cafes. There's a handy grassed area next to the boating lake within the holiday park which is a short walk from the property for a quick walk with the dog before a trip in the car to the towns of Scarborough, Whitby, Filey etc. We noted a few tweaks which could be made to assist visitors, hooks on the back of the bedrooms and bathrooms doors would be useful for towels, clothes etc. A mirror in the double bedroom would be a welcome addition. A floor lamp in the living area would make more cosy lighting of an evening. We found that we had to put on the dishwasher without a full load as there weren't enough plates and mugs. Maybe for wet weather a shoe rack or bigger mat to store wet footwear in the hallway would help keep the place clean? Overall, we enjoyed our stay to the area and the little house was lovely. We were so lucky with the weather as the week's forecast was for rain all week, but we got just one morning! Phew!!

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8Oct 2022

  • "We had a lovely holiday, very clean had everything we needed for comfort, excellent information on how to use cooker and make log fire, closed in garden so dog could go out , would highly recommend and will go again."

    Thank you for your lovely feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay at Hawthornden. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pamela5.0Sep 2022

  • "Perfect place for us to walk the coastal path with our dog."

    .The cottage was well suited for us and had everything we needed. The woo burner was superb and our dog loved it. The garden was secure which was good for our dog. Lots of nice walks and places to go in the area. Its a convienient location to visit Filey, Scarborough, Whitby and other lovely villages on the coast.

    Reviewed by Jason5.0Sep 2022

  • "Stayed here 3 times and just booked for 2023, brilliant cottage."

    Thank you

    Thank you for the great feedback and return custom Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eileen5.0Jul 2022

  • "Clean, comfortable and spacious top of the range holiday home."

    ideal location for all the towns ie filey, scarborough. whitby and the moors. this is very good for wheelchair access with a ramp leading to the front door. then all one level and very spacious. bath needs a hand rail for us oldies who like a bath but struggle getting out. also blinds or nets for privacy in bedrooms but i am nit picking as this is at the top end of holiday accomodation which we enjoyed very much

    Reviewed by Rita5.0May 2022

  • "This was a beautiful holiday home,We really enjoyed it here, would love to come back in the future,ideal location."

    Only thing missing was the stuff needed to make a brew when first arrived,every holiday cottage we've been to as always had these so was expecting it here.but other than that was happy with everything.thank you for letting us stay

    Reviewed by Bernadette5.0Apr 2022

  • "A lovely base to explore from, very comfortable and warm."

    The log fire was a bonus on a cold evening. The owners were very friendly and helpful, if we go back to this area we would definitely like to stay here again.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback and you are welcome back anytime. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Mar 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay, the garden was secure for our dog, which is a must for us."

    Good parking for our car electric gates which made it even more secure. Handy to Filey beach and walking on the beach into Filey. Also handy for Scarborough and Bridlington, pubs and cafes were in the main dog friendly.

    Reviewed by Thomas4.4Feb 2022

  • "We had a lovely relaxing stay."

    Perfect for the dogs. Plenty of walks. It had everything you can think of. The log fire was amazing, so warm and cosy. Can’t wait to return

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0Dec 2021

  • "Lovely accommodation, a real home from home in a great location for the beach."

    Reviewed by Leyna5.0Dec 2021

  • "Clean, location good,no issues ,will return next year."

    .

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Oct 2021

  • "Oven needs a deep clean, sink overflow in ensuite had black gunk around it."

    Toilet brushes need replacing as very dirty and well used. Bath towels were very small if I'd have known I'd have taken my own. Tin opener needs replacing as it doesn't work. Overall an enjoyable stay.

    Thanks for your feedback Mr Orton. We will ensure the issues you have raised are dealt with promptly and any items replaced with new. With regards to the towels, we provide 4 x standard size hand towels and 4 x standard size bath towels. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention so that we can take action to ensure our property remains at a high standard for our guests. Kind regards, James & Mandy Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mel4.7Oct 2021

  • "Had a lovely time, weather glorious."

    Property clean and comfortable with comfy beds and lovely bedding. Well equipped. Mandy and James friendly and helpful hosts. Location good for visiting Filey, Scarborough and Bridlington. Would recommend to friends and family

    Reviewed by Kay5.0Sep 2021

  • "Absolutely loved it!"

    Reviewed by Eileen5.0Jul 2021

  • "Accurate description of property and local amenities."

    Owners were available for queries and also left us to our own devices. Felt very secure at this property with electric gates to the main house. Would definitely book again. A great base for the local area. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Melanie5.0Jul 2021

  • "The accommodation was beyond all our expectations and is extremely well placed for visiting the surrounding area."

    We would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jul 2021

  • "We loved this cottage."

    It’s bright and clean, plus only a short walk to a beautiful beach. Filey itself is a lovely 20 minutes walk away.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2021

  • "So clean and everything you could want or need, just like a home from home, perfectly located for a base to explore Filey ,Scarborough, and Bridlington all main supermarkets and shops close by ."

    we even managed a walk along Reighton sands but not easy as steep slope down from parking at top , could have done with a stenna to get both down and back .We all had a great time and hope to come again ,the owners were great The only things that were a little difficult was No washing line as drying for 4 on the rack took a long time. The gravel in the parking area was hard to push the wheelchair on and the mud got on our shoes and was trailed inside. The distance from lounge to bedrooms and to bathrooms quite far for my husband who was on oxygen and not too steady on his feet. mobile phones on ee had no signal at all .

    Reviewed by Carol5.0May 2021

  • "Our second visit to this property and it was extremely comfortable and well appointed"

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Oct 2020

  • "Really comfortable, modern accommodation, would definitely stay here again"

    Reviewed by Paula5.0Sep 2020

  • "We had every thing at the cottage to make our holiday enjoyable ."

    Good weather was a bonus.

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2020

  • "Well located property near beach and holiday park which the kids enjoyed play ground and rides."

    Also property on bus route.

    Reviewed by James4.7Aug 2020

  • "Good location for sight seeing."

    Knew of the holiday park behind accommodation but not too noisy. Didn’t know of owners children who played in garden, was noisy but not often. First impressions was clean but looked closer and was disappointed especially in these times. Couldn’t be confident that every surface had been sanitized, spent time doing it ourselves. Overall a place to recommend.

    Reviewed by Gillian4.4Jul 2020

  • "The property is located on a really nice quiet street not too far from a gorgeous wide and long sandy beach."

    The owners of the property were nice, friendly and unobtrusive. A lovely walk to Filey town centre takes approximately 45 mins along the beach and is little quicker taking the path on the Cliff top. Other places going in the opposite direction is Reighton sands and Bempton cliffs which is a bird sanctuary. Even though our stay was over the Christmas/New year period the weather was very kind to us. There is quite a large Holiday homes park nearby so I can only comment on the time of year we were there as it may get busier during the summer season. All in all we had a really nice time.

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Dec 2019

  • "We had a lovely time at the cottage."

    It is very spacious, comfortable and lovely and warm. It was incredibly quiet over Christmas which was lovely but not sure what it would be like in the summer as next door to a caravan site. It is only a ten minute walk to a fantastic beach so we were on it everyday with our dog, she loved it. The house and garden are very dog friendly. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We would certainly recommend this cottage to family and friends.

    Reviewed by Sue4.1Dec 2019

  • "I stayed in Hawthornden with my daughter for a week and found this to be a lovely place to stay, it is attached to the owners home, but you wouldn't know as it's very private, it was spotlessly clean and tidy, the log burner was very efficient and you can buy logs from the owner, there is easy access to Filey, Scarborough, Bridlington and Whitby, the village of Hunmanby is a favourite of mine and would recommend The White Swan and Piebald for eating out."

    I would definitely recommend Hawthornden to family and friends and will return the next time I am staying in this area

    Reviewed by Jill4.7Nov 2019

  • "Really enjoyable stay very lovley place and really clean and comfortable"

    Reviewed by Irene5.0Sep 2019

  • "We loved the cottage very much and the surrounding area was brilliant for our 5 year old grandson."

    Filey was great with its lovely beach and good restaurants. Cannot fault anything. Thank you

    Reviewed by Eileen5.0Jul 2019

  • "Hawthornden Cottage was beautiful and local to plenty of places to walk to."

    It was extremely easy to book through Sykes and everything went really smoothly. This is definitely a cottage we will return to in the near future.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jul 2019

  • "Lovely Accommodation but sadly missing a Welcome pack as per other establishments."

    That’s why it dropped a point.

    Reviewed by Barry5.0Jun 2019

  • "Lovely accommodation, ideal location for days out to surrounding attractions & great dog friendly beaches nearby."

    Reviewed by Siona5.0May 2019

  • "Very clean comfortable accommodation, Highly recommended."

    Reviewed by Valerie5.0May 2019

  • "Cottage was very clean and had all the facilities expected."

    Very quiet which is just what was needed!

    Reviewed by Steven4.7Apr 2019

  • "Lovely property, well situated for local resorts like Whitby, Scarborough, Bridlington etc."

    Easy access to the beach for a walk to Filey (about an hour). Property clean and tidy, nice secure garden for the dog to wander around, we had a wonderful break.

    Reviewed by Keith4.7Jan 2019

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our week staying at Hawthornden."

    The cottage was spacious and comfortable. The enclosed garden was a plus for our Labrador. The location was good with the beach within walking distance and well placed to explore the local area. We would like to return to stay again one day.

    Reviewed by Emma4.7Aug 2018

  • "It was a brilliant relaxing holiday , it was spotless, we use to sit watching ..."

    It was a brilliant relaxing holiday , it was spotless, we use to sit watching the rabbits on the lawn for hours then take the dog for a walk round the lake

    Reviewed by Frank5.0Jul 2018

  • "We had a good holiday good base to get out & about to see lots places"

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Jun 2018

  • "The accommodation was far better than we expected ."

    Will be returning next year

    Reviewed by Vicky5.0Jun 2018

  • "This cottage certainly had the wow factor."

    It had everything that we could possibly need and more. The weather was very kind to us and we sat out in the lovely private garden. The bus service is very good and the bus stop is very near. The walk along the beach to Filey was easy even for two recycled teenagers like ourselves. We loved it and hope to be back age permitting....

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0May 2018

  • "Hawthornden is an excellent cottage."

    Well heated including a log burner. A very high standard of figments. High quality of upkeep throughout. Well positioned for access to a number of seaside towns also York. We have rented several cottages but this is possibly the best so far. Recommend a visit to Eden Camp, a WW2 POW Camp, now a museum, thought provoking. Give yourself time, much to read and see.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Mar 2018

  • "We went in early March and some days it was cold and wet, so we really appreciated the modern and very efficient wood burner in the main living area."

    The only criticism l could make was that there was only one tea towel provided for the week so l bought 2 more in Filey which l brought home with me, but the owners house is adjoining and they were very helpful so would probably have provided more tea towels if l had asked.

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Mar 2018

  • "This place is a little 'gem' it's spacious; well equipped; dog friendly; spotlessly clean and in a lovely quiet area."

    The situation of Hawthornden is great for all the coastal towns and just a ten minute walk to beach. February half term was really quite cold but this place was always cosy after our walks. We would have booked again for July but unfortunately it's fully booked.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Feb 2018

  • "A wonderful base to explore the local fossil sites, a handy garage and pub close by."

    would visit again maybe earlier in the year. the bungalow had every thing you could want for a great stay. I would have liked a hook in bathroom for dressing gowns, but really that is nit picking. well done to you both for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Nov 2017

  • "No bread knife or sharp knife for cutting meat or cheese."

    Washing machine was dirty , would not do my washing in it. But the rest of the accommodation was clean and comfortable. Location was perfect for the beach and visiting other places.

    Reviewed by Lee4.0Jul 2017

  • "I found hawthornden perfect for our needs and have already booked a week there in july next year as it was such good value for money."

    .

    Reviewed by Geoffrey5.0Jun 2017

  • "Very clean and comfortable property."

    Mandy and James were really nice and helpful. The location was excellent and although it was near a holiday village it was very quiet. A lovely place to relax and unwind. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Reginald5.0May 2017

  • "This is the first time we have booked with Sykes' Cottages and we were extremely satisfied with our holiday."

    Reviewed by Margaret4.6Apr 2017

  • "A really nice place, very clean, warm and comfortable."

    Spacious enclosed private patio and garden, which adjoins the owner's garden. Lovely outlook. This accommodation also borders Primrose Valley Caravan Park, but you would never know that as it cannot be seen or heard from the property, but visitors are able to access the camp easily if they wish to do so. The owner's are really welcoming and friendly. Fantastic walks along beach(10mins away) which is dog friendly. We had a wonderful week, and found Hawthornden at Primrose Valley a great place to stay. Thankyou.

    Reviewed by Janet4.4Sep 2016

  • "Lovely Holiday in a super location."

    The owners were very warm and friendly. The cottage was very clean and modern. It felt very much like home from home. We were sorry to leave, the week went all to quickly. We would love to re-book and return in the future.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Sep 2016

  • "The accommodation was lovely, clean and very welcoming."

    We really enjoyed our stay. The beach was in walking distance, which was great for the children. We would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Greg5.0Aug 2016

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin (zip/link, can be king-size double on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburner.
  • Electric panel heaters with woodburner
  • Electric oven and ceramic hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, 2 x TVs (one Smart) with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburner inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Off road parking for 1 car plus roadside parking
  • Bike storage
  • Enclosed patio with pizza oven and lawned area with furniture and BBQ
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 mins walk
  • Beach 10 mins walk
  • Note: This property benefits from being on the edge of a holiday park with direct bus routes to Scarborough and Bridlington
  • Note: This property does not have facilities for electric car charging

The property

Filey 2.8 miles.

This fabulous single-storey property, an annexe to the owner's home, is situated in a quiet spot two miles from the traditional seaside town of Filey.

With just a 10 minute walk to the beach, it is in the perfect location for an enjoyable family holiday, within easy reach of the Wolds, the North York Moors and the larger resorts of Scarborough and Bridlington.

With all ground floor accommodation, there is a wonderful light and spacious open plan living area, with high apex ceilings, large feature glass windows and French doors that open onto the enclosed patio garden - an ideal suntrap from which to relax and soak up the sun.

With a streamlined contemporary kitchen and comfortable leather sofas set around a cosy woodburner, it caters for all weathers.

Both bedrooms are tastefully furnished, the double with an en-suite shower room and the twin with the flexibility of zip/link beds, which can make a king-size double on request.

With a family bathroom and little added extras, including a Smart TV, families or groups of friends won't be disappointed.

An easy 10 minute walk brings you to a superb sandy Blue Flag beach that stretches for miles and enables children and four legged friends to let off steam!

Stroll along to Filey centre, with its promenade, brightly painted beach huts and pretty ornamental gardens.

Enjoy an ice-cream on the promenade, a pony ride along the sands, or crabbing in the rock pools on Filey Brigg.

Just outside the town lies a country park with an animal sanctuary nearby, whilst for walkers, Filey marks the start of the Cleveland Way long distance trail.

Nature lovers must visit the RSPB Reserve at Bempton, to see the puffins and kittiwakes nesting on the high chalk cliffs.

For an action packed fun-filled day, take a trip to Flamingo Land near the market town of Pickering, or explore the stunning countryside of the surrounding moorland.

For the more adventurous, why not try your hand at coasteering, kayaking, sailing and stand up paddleboarding on the Yorkshire Coast, available at local specialists Bay Watersports.

A well placed cottage for a very enjoyable holiday at any time of the year.

View on map

About the location

FILEY

Scarborough 7.7 miles; Bridlington 10.5 miles.

Filey is a traditional English seaside resort with a friendly atmosphere, offering a restful holiday, making an ideal place to stay for walkers and wildlife watchers at any time of the year. A real gem on the Yorkshire coast. A fishing town on the North East Coast, Filey has enjoyed a reputation of being a resort since Victorian times, set beside the magnificent Filey Bay, a long stretch of beautiful sand, with Filey Brigg and its shallow rockpools to the north. Filey Brigg is a low headland that protects Filey Bay and provides good bird watching and seawatching opportunities all year round. The 400 ft high Bempton Cliffs (RSPB Reserve) to the south of Filey Bay are home to over 250,000 seabirds in the summer. Gannets, kittiwakes, puffins, guillimots and razorbills all nest there. Gannets are regularly seen diving for fish in Filey Bay. The Brigg area is an ideal place to watch for common and rarer waders, seabirds and migrating warblers,finches and thrushes. As well as seabirds, seals and other marine life, such as porpoises dolphins and minke whales can be seen in the sea around the Brigg. The town itself seems almost caught in a time warp, retaining much of its character with individual shops, narrow paths and ginnels. There is a small coble landing, a slipway where local fishermen keep their boats, plus delightful beach chalets that can be hired through the summer months. The bay is edged with two promenades and there are various gardens, where brass bands play on a Sunday afternoon. This small town is family orientated, crazy golf and candy floss. Also in Filey there is the Filey Dams Nature Reserve, a wetland reserve where common and rare waders and wildfowl can be seen as well as autumn gatherings of swallows, sand martins and house martins. Also there is Parish Wood (just off Sycamore Avenue) an unexpected gem that offers a wealth of wildlife. Willow warbler, chiffchaff, blackcap and tree sparrows breed there and a wide variety of other species are regularly seen such as great spotted woodpeckers and sparrow hawks. Parish Wood also provides shelter and food for a wide range of migrant bird species such as goldcrests, pied and spotted flycatchers, warblers, finches, thrushes and woodcocks. A short drive brings you to the busier town of Scarborough where for family fun you can visit the Alpamare Waterpark, a waterpark unlike anything the UK has ever seen before, as well as plenty to explore and discover in this lovely area.

View more holiday cottages in Filey

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Christmas