Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • Mulberry Manor - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 979595 - photo 1

Mulberry Manor

(Ref. 979595)

Tunstall near Withernsea, Vale of York & Yorkshire Wolds Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • our (8)
  • stay (7)
  • location (7)
  • only (6)
  • lovely (6)
  • all (6)

17 Customer Reviews

  • "An amazing experience."

    The accomodation was lovely.

    Reviewed by Mohammed5.0Mar 2024

  • "Location and cottage lovely."

    Inside I spent first hour getting rid of spiders and cobwebs with only a dust pan and brush as the property looked like it hadn't had a clean since the last holiday makers. Nothing to clean surfaces with and had to buy surface spray as well as toilet blocks as none at all. Only a push along hoover from the sixties to clean floor bought a cordless vacuum so we could clean it properly. Mice droppings in cupboard under sink and an awful smell in the same area. No batteries in torch and shower was Luke warm. Both mentioned by last occupier in their review. Leak under sink in main bathroom bath and downstairs toilet no toilet rim blocks. Generally ok but not cleaned prior to our stay. Some points made by last holiday maker and have yet to be addressed. Would stay again but cottage needs a refurb to freshen up.

    Reviewed by Gary2.5Jul 2023

  • "The extractor fans in both bathrooms not working, no facility to be able to open the upstairs bedroom window when the weather was hot (no catch, if window opened would just swing freely and smash)."

    Upstairs shower the red button on shower control to regulate temperature of water stuck in so only cold shower available so had to use bath( would suggest that’s more costly for the owners as well as being inconvenient) The TV requires an upgrade, when renting a property in the middle of nowhere with no pub to visit a smart TV with more choice of channels would be useful. Outside of the property although presentable is pretty useless as an area to sit and have a family bbq (weather permitting) grass too long and slopes away from house

    Reviewed by Ash4.1May 2023

  • "Positive: open-plan layout ideal for sociable family gathering; peaceful location; upstairs rooms were spacious with comfortable beds; decorated Christmas tree a nice touch."

    Negative: the property was described as being all ready to move in but when we arrived on a very cold December evening, all radiators were switched off at the wall and the immersion heater had also been turned off-it took quite some time to go around and turn on/programme the panel heaters and we needed help from the owner to sort out the hot water. It took several hours for the water to reach a reasonable temperature and a a couple of days for the property to feel warm. The TV was not tuned to any stations and kept asking to be connected to a free view box-we could not find a box. The property is listed for 6 people but the motley collection of glassware was barely adequate for 4. Some of the crockery and cutlery had dried food, eg egg yolk, stuck on it. There was an emergency torch on the consumer unit but the battery was flat and there was no charger to hand.

    Reviewed by Pamela2.8Dec 2022

  • "The rooms were nice and spacious and the added bonus if a separate downstairs loo was great."

    However, the items in the kitchen weren’t particularly clean and it was clear that the floor hadn’t been mopped prior to arrival by the colour of our socks. When trying to cook some breakfast, we really struggled! The job needed to be unlocked but we have never used one like this and so ended up googling the instructions. It would have been much simpler to include an instruction leaflet. It kept then showing a symbol and not working - we still don’t know what this meant as there was no instruction manual. This left the rest of our breakfast cold and was disappointing. There was also only a sweeping brush, and a carpet sweeper to clean and so couldn’t do a very good job. A bit indulgent but it would have been nice to have a small welcome basket - even just some milk left. Overall the cottage was nice and the outlook too - we had a lucky treat seeing some newborn lambs in the field. It was easy to find and well located.

    Reviewed by Poppy2.8Apr 2022

  • "Fantastic place with friendly people will definitely be back"

    Reviewed by Kj5.0Mar 2022

  • "It was nice to get away but was disappointed as were the party due to a couple of issues."

    The accommodation was very cold on arrival and took a long time to warm up, compounding that was the fact that an electric heater didn’t work. Whilst the owner responded quickly to this query, no timely solution could be offered which I understand given the short stay. However, it did raise the question that if the cleaner had been in earlier that day, why couldn’t they turn the heating on to pre warm the barn or even the owner given they were local, especially when we had elderly parents with us. Also, the leaflets available in the property folder did not correspond with the actual heating panels. When we came to use the crockery, a couple of plates still had old food stuck to it (looked like broccoli) and a couple of glasses had dirty marks around the top, which meant that we felt we needed to wash it all before usage. It felt that there had been no check over before new guests arrived.

    Reviewed by Collette2.8Feb 2022

  • "Mulberry Manor was a really lovely place to stay over the Christmas holiday."

    The beds were really comfy and there was plenty of heating and hot water. The owners had even put up a lit and decorated Christmas tree for us. The hamlet of Tunstall is really tiny and quiet so a lovely place to stay if getting away from it all is what you're after. Having said that the wifi was excellent. There was a good selection of dvds to watch on the tv (not that we did) and even a couple of books. The only downside was the draught coming in from the main door when it was particularly windy (which it was while we were there). However, luckily we had brought a roll of kitchen towels with us and we improvised a door round draught excluder. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back, perhaps when the weather is warmer!!

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Dec 2021

  • "The cottage was perfect."

    It was very clean and well equipped with everything in the kitchen. It was in a very peaceful location although we had to travel by car to get to the beaches. Bridlington and Hornsea beaches were beautiful and not too crowded.

    Reviewed by Claire4.7Jul 2021

  • "Very pleased overall."

    Nice and spacious rooms. Quiet location with easy access to the South East Yorkshire coast, plenty of walks locally. Nice friendly owners.

    Reviewed by Brian4.4May 2021

  • "The cottage was perfect for our needs and had areas to sit out in the mornings and evenings."

    The owner was very quick to come round to help us with the heating system and hot water. Lovely views towards the sea and nice to be next to the farm.

    Reviewed by A4.7Apr 2021

  • "Great beach but had to climb down a mud slope as no steps."

    You are able to walk along the beach from Tunstall to Hornsea but we were tired so turned off at Mappleton and had a sandwich, coffee and cake at The Old Post Office cafe,which I can highly recommend. Mulberry Manor was very clean and comfortable, we absolutely loved our relaxing stay there.

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Apr 2021

  • "Good place to stay."

    Very clean accomodation. Reccomend meal at Roo arms pub in Roo.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Aug 2020

  • "Great accommodation (only thing I would say is the down stairs bedroom could do with black out blinds) also great country side views all around."

    Recommended a visit to Withensea beach.

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Aug 2020

  • "We had a lovely short break at Mulberry Manor."

    The facilities are as described and the location is convenient. There was plenty of space in the property and outside for our whole family. There were just a couple of small things that we all agreed would make a big improvement: The lack of wifi - it seems a shame for a modern renovation to have no free wifi. The blind in the downstairs bedroom would not pull up or down meaning the security light flashing on in the night woke the occupants of that room. There were very few toilet rolls - only half a roll left in the main bathroom. The tray for tea/coffee had not been re-filled from the last occupants so there was plenty of tea but no coffee as all. Otherwise, a really lovely stay. Recommended!

    Reviewed by Alison4.1Aug 2020

  • "Beautiful home from home in a beautiful location."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at mulberry manor

    Reviewed by James5.0Jul 2020

  • "We were very impressed the moment we walked into Mulberry Manor."

    The spaciousness of the property hit us first then we noticed the lovely welcome tray of goodies which included a bottle of prosecco, some chocolates, half a dozen free range eggs and a loaf of home-baked bread,as well as a lovely hand crafted card welcoming us. We had travelled with our two daughters and our 4 year old grandson for whom a camp bed was provided. Our daughters and grandson occupied the upstairs quarters and we had the en-suite double on the ground floor. Our grandson was very impressed that there were 3 toilets. We were delighted to learn that we were the first guests in the cottage. We found the accommodation very comfortable and it was an ideal property for us. As with many new things there were a few first time niggles but these were sorted for us very promptly. The plusses for us were the spaciousness & comfort of the property. the tranquil location with sea (and wind turbine) views and the in-house amenities of washing machine, dishwasher, fridge freezer, TV etc. We loved every minute and would certainly recommend it as an ideal family accommodation.

    Reviewed by Charles4.7Jul 2020

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x ground floor double with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with bath, shower, basin and WC.Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire.
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven, ceramic hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, small selection of books and games
  • WIFI
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair on request
  • Ample off road parking
  • Communal lawned gardens and gravelled area
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Shop 3 miles, pub 4 miles.

The property

Mulberry Manor is the largest of the barn conversions, adjoining Meadow View.

It has a spacious open plan living area, a well equipped kitchen and the convenience of a ground floor bedroom with an en-suite shower.

A glass balustrade leads up to the other two double bedrooms and the family bathroom, with a separate shower and a bath.

Tunstall Farm Cottages

In the small hamlet of Tunstall, near Withernsea, you will discover this group of five barn conversions, set around a central courtyard with communal lawned areas and ample off road parking. They provide homely accommodation for a variety of guests; from families, to tourists and couples. Whether you are planning a relaxing holiday or seaside fun, this location promises the best of both worlds, with its network of footpaths and coastal entertainment. Return home from the bustle and hustle of the popular coastal resorts to the peaceful location of the cottages, surrounded by open countryside. Enjoy easy cycling from the door on the quiet, winding routes of the Holderness peninsular. Take your binoculars and visit nearby Spurn Point for the internationally renowned bird watching opportunities. The pretty, medieval town of Hedon is nearby and Pattrington’s famous medieval church is only a ten minute drive. The traditional seaside towns of Hornsea and Withernsea have much to offer for families, with long sandy beaches, promenade walks, candy floss and fish and chips. Choose the cottage that suits your needs and enjoy this comfortable retreat.

View on map

About the location


Kingston upon Hull 17 miles; Market Weighton 37 miles.

The popular seaside town of Withernsea, lies in the East Riding of Yorkshire. This cosy, coastal haven has a relaxed atmosphere, the perfect location for a family break. The flat, rural landscape surrounding the town offers some magnificent sweeping views and a wild, windswept atmosphere to blow the cobwebs away! The surrounding villages offer some historical landmarks, including a lighthouse now housing a museum, a Napoleonic fortress and a huge nuclear bunker which runs award-winning tours. Withernsea's sand and pebble beach boasts a grand tower-like entrance, plenty of delicious fish and chip cafés nearby and, further along the coast, the spindly and atmospheric Spurn Peninsula that stretches three miles out to sea. Withernsea offers a traditional promenade, ornamental gardens, children’s playgrounds and fun attractions including amusements, plus there's also the convenience of two supermarkets in the town.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas