Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 26 View Image Gallery
  • Holmefield House - Yorkshire Dales - 1038016 - photo 1

Holmefield House

(Ref. 1038016)

Ripon, Yorkshire Dales - South Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (14)
  • well (11)
  • location (9)
  • good (9)
  • stay (9)
  • comfortable (9)

26 Customer Reviews

  • "I enjoyed the stay very much and had no problems at all."

    I spoke with the property owner and found them to be very nice and accommodating. Many thanks!

    Reviewed by Daniel5.0Mar 2024

  • "We had a lovely stay."

    The home was clean, facilities in the kitchen and bathrooms very good. We are thankful that the owners put up a Christmas tree to ensure a festive trip for the kids. Very considerate. Small touches of wine on arrival very appreciated. The property was easy to access on arrival. Great location to Ripon and local supermarkets, pubs. Thank you for ensuring we had a comfortable, cosy Christmas stay

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Dec 2023

  • "The house is a 10 minute walk into Ripon centre and just round the corner from the bus stop for buses to Harrogate and Leeds (£2 fare---a bargain)."

    There is a small, shared, but secluded garden to the back and a front drive with off-road parking. The area is pleasant and very quiet and the house is spacious and well equipped and represents very good value for money.

    Reviewed by Margaret4.7Nov 2023

  • "Cosy, comfortable house, especially the sitting room, a well equipped kitchen."

    Enclosed garden for the dogs, little Rupert spent some time trying to find a way out, to no avail. Large selection of good condition DVD's and books to suit every age and interest.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Nov 2023

  • "Worse holiday ever."

    House was dusty. Bunk beds not fit for purpose as they collapsed with my children on. Carpet grips on stairs hurt every time you went up. I had a nail go through my toe. Avoid!!

    HI and thank you for the feedback, we are sorry to read your comments. We can confirm the bunk beds and carpet in question have now been replaced. We do appreciate your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charlie2.5Aug 2023

  • "The house was comfortable and well equipped in a quiet location close to Ripon."

    Contrary to a previous review, we wouldn't have known anyone was living in the annex. A good location for touring and a good bus service to Ripon, if needed, and to Harrogate. We would recommend staying at Homefield House.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2023

  • "A very peaceful cottage."

    Great base for visiting all of the attractions nearby. No problem with the annex attached - in fact lady very helpful when we arrived (we didn't notice two buttons to open key safe).

    Thank you so much for the lovely feedback, we hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline4.7Jun 2023

  • "Lovely home from home, well situated for close amenities."

    Definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Veronica4.1Apr 2023

  • "Having read several reviews prior to our stay, we were slightly hesitant regarding how it would be."

    To be honest, the house was lovely. Not necessarily furnished as I would like. The glass table with the children felt scary, my being a fan of wood. The house was warm, comfortable with plenty of extras. We loved the sofa! The kitchen was extremely well kitted out with every size pan and dish you might need. Just one thing, a bedside lamp in the twin room is needed, and a larger cafetière, especially with a house-full.

    Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will certainly take all comments on board. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards Andy & Shere. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue4.7Apr 2023

  • "Exactly what we wanted."

    Easy walk into the town centre, but in a nice quiet area with a garden and several nearby parks for kids/dog. Others have mentioned someone living in the annexe, but honestly we wouldn’t have known she was there except for the car moving. The garden is very quiet and private, and the house very comfortable with all linens included and all necessary kitchen equipment. The owners were extremely helpful, both in advance and when we were there. We would definitely stay again, especially with such reasonable prices.

    Thank you so much for the lovely comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and you are welcome back anytime. Andy & Shere. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Liz4.4Apr 2023

  • "House was not properly cleaned."

    Mess in drawers and generally not clean. Comments about this were in tie book from earlier this year but clearly little or nothing done to rectify issues. Worse was the misleading pictures and description of the property. (Also mentioned in the book on the property.) we were not advised that there was an annex to the right hand side of the front door of the property and in it was living the mother-in-law. This annex directly overlooked the small back garden making it uncomfortable to be in the garden. I expect you to investigate this and let us have your reply and proposals

    Hi Gordon, thank you very much for your feedback. The house is cleaned from top to bottom after each changeover so not sure what you are referring to when you say, “not properly clean” Also the pictures on the website are identical to the home and furnishing, so again we are not sure what you are referring to. It is a shame you didn’t contact us while you were at the property so we could rectify any issues you had. We do hope you enjoyed visiting the local facilities and we hope to see you again. All the best Andy & Shere. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gordon1.9Apr 2023

  • "This is definitely not the best property we have stayed in."

    The details omit to mention there is a granny annex attached to the property with someone living in it overlooking the garden and sharing the drive. The property is furnished very cheaply with old duvets and pillows that were stained and should be replaced, very old duvet covers. The chest of drawers don’t shut and MDF wardrobes with no hanging space in some rooms. The curtains are thin and cheap and don’t block out much sun. The beds are old (although mattresses look new) with awful plastic mattress protectors. The double bed is extremely small. There isn’t enough sofa space for 6 people and the property needs some sorting out. There are loads of plates in the kitchen but not enough glasses and no colander and only a cafetière for one person! It felt like a weird mix of stuff that’s just been added to over the years. The bathroom fan is broken. On arrival we contacted the owner as the property smelt really badly of dogs, there was very little washing up liquid, one dishwasher tablet and no bin bags. He did bring over some supplies but there was no welcome hamper as previous reviews suggest and it felt like the bare minimum was provided. It was reasonably priced and a good location for Ripon but definitely a very basic property.

    Thank you so much for the feedback, we will certainly take this onboard. We are very pleased you enjoyed the location and hope you had a great time visiting the local facilities. Hope to see you again, all the best Andy & Shere. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate1.9Feb 2023

  • "It was a lovely property and provided plenty of space for a group of four 30-40 something women, + 2 dogs, enjoying a weekend trip away to Yorkshire."

    The sofas and mattresses were very comfortable, the check-in was really simple and straightforward, and the property was well maintained. The only, really small thing is that certain things like a dish cloth and salt was missing from the property which meant that we had to go purchase these items to use but this is a very minor niggle.

    Thank you so much for the feedback, we have now added the items you mention. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for choosing Holmefield House, hope to see you again. All the best Andy & Shere. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katherine4.4Dec 2022

  • "Comfortable property in convenient quiet location."

    Some milk on arrival would have been welcomed as we had travelled a distance. Overall, a pleasant stay

    Thank you so much for your feedback, hope you had a great time exploring the area. All the best Andy & Shere. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Nov 2022

  • "We had a great week at Holmefield House."

    It is very well equipped and only 1/2 a mile from Ripon city centre. On site parking is great. There is a very useful path from further along the street onto Bondgate that makes the walk to the lovely cathedral a lot shorter than going round by the main road.

    Thank you for the great feedback, we would be more than happy to welcome you back to stay at Holmefield House. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2022

  • "A lovely holiday let in an extremely quiet location yet only a short distance from Ripon."

    Very well equipped and furnished with everything we needed ( a basic measuring jug in the kitchen would be useful). Clean, comfortable and spacious. Thank you.

    Thank you for the great feedback, we would be more than happy to welcome you back to stay at Holmefield House. The measuring jug has been replaced too :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Sep 2022

  • "Amazing house!"

    ! Great place to stay! Really enjoyed our stay!!!

    Thank you for the great feedback, we would be more than happy to welcome you back to stay at Holmefield House. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rivka5.0Aug 2022

  • "Really spacious and well equipped property, comfortable and welcoming."

    Walking distance to the town and great location for visiting the Dales.

    Thank you for the great feedback, we would be more than happy to welcome you back to stay at Holmefield House. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Aug 2022

  • "The facilities are exceptional - every bit as convenient as being at home, but without the many down-sides!"

    The location is quiet and VERY convenient both for the centre of Ripon AND for taking the dog for lovely walks in the woods and with areas nearby for letting her off to run wild. We're moving to live locally so won't be renting in Ripon again but wouldn't hesitate to recommend Holmefield House as an excellent touring base.

    Reviewed by Hugh4.7Sep 2021

  • "Disappointed that the bath was not useable."

    The shower was ok but apparently the previous weeks guests had broken the bath plug system and it wasn’t fixable until after our stay. As I personally prefer a bath, this was disappointing. Otherwise, the house was spacious and well equipped and in a good location for exploring North Yorkshire.

    Reviewed by Trevor3.8Aug 2021

  • "The cottage was not hugely clean, there was rubbish left in the office on the 3rd floor."

    The home wasn’t suitable for small children, nothing was fixed to the walls, I had to move a bookcase out of the bedroom our children were sleeping in in case they pulled it over. The garden whilst enclosed was very sparse & we didn’t use it as it was directly overlooked from the weird granny annex which was uncomfortable. There was a Lot of every crockery, cutlery & utensils you could need but the high end appliances could do with a proper clean, they all smelled & had mildew.

    Reviewed by Carolyn2.8Aug 2021

  • "Disappointing, dirty n definitely wouldn't recommend it."

    Chipped crockery, 2 dirty utensil drawers full of crumbs. Filthy washing machine soap dispenser. Rust encased on bathroom soap dispenser. Layer of dust on towel heater. Settee full of crumbs and lounge carpet would benefit from a shampoo. Only one set of keys. Household rubbish bin full on arrival. In general standards simply not good enough.

    Thank you for your feedback, We are sorry to here you experienced the issues mentioned. If this was mentioned during your stay we would of loved to rectify these issues for you. Thank you for your comments regarding he carpets we will look into this. Again I am sorry but hope issues you highlighted did not take enjoyment from your holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katie1.9Jul 2021

  • "Myself and three fellow golfers visited holmefield house for the second year running."

    It is a superb accomadation with every facility you could possibly want. It is in a quiet location but only a short walk to the centre of Ripon. We always go for three nights and play three different golf courses in the area. The golf courses are also superb.We will be going again next year without doubt. The only possible way you could improve on this property would be a second toilet. Having said that it is never really an issue.

    Reviewed by Valerie5.0Jun 2021

  • "The house was lovely and clean and really well equipped."

    We were visiting family locally for a few days so sadly, didn’t have time to explore the area.

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Jun 2021

  • "Wonderful cottage with every appliance and utensils you could have."

    Excellent accomadation, near to ripon and within walking distance. Good pub nearby and walked home easily from wetherspoons in ripon. Would recommend to anyone. Also used three great golf courses nearby at reasonable cost.Decor very modern and very clean.

    Reviewed by Valerie5.0Sep 2020

  • "Enjoyed our stay in Holmefield House It is an excellent place to stay."

    Good base for getting around. The house is spacious, clean & a real home to home feeling. It has everything you need & more. We would certainly recommend this house.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Aug 2020

Show more Hide all


  • Over-three-floors
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x twin beds, 1 x double, x 1 Single Bed
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with electric fire
  • Second-floor study
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, TV and WiFi
  • Off-road parking for one car
  • Enclosed garden with lawn and patio area with outdoor furniture and barbecue
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.3 miles; pub 0.4 miles

The property

Resting peacefully on the edge of Ripon, you will find the wonderful dwelling of Holmefield House.

Situated over three floors, this contemporary accommodation provides a fantastic base for a family of six to explore the true delights of North Yorkshire.

Make yourself at home in the airy kitchen where you can grab your ingredients from the spacious fridge/freezer, cooking up a storm with the help of the contemporary appliances and handy utensils that sit within the chic white units.

Join the group at the dining table as you begin to feast upon your lovingly prepared meal, sharing the activities you look forward to the most on this fabulous escape to Ripon.

Retire to the sitting room and turn on the electric fire before sinking into the plush corner sofa and flicking on the Smart TV to find a captivating movie or catch up on your favourite series.

Enjoy a warm summer's afternoon basking in the sunshine out in the garden, as you dine alfresco at the patio table with mouth-watering treats from the barbecue.

Venture up the staircase to the first floor, where you can tuck the children into 2 single beds and send them off to sleep with a soothing bedtime story.

Head across the way to the tranquil bathroom to relax and unwind as you indulge in a deep soak in the tub, grab your towel from the rail and return to the comfort of one of the delightfully decorated bedrooms, where you can pick out your comfiest clothing from the ample storage provided.

Enjoy some quiet time in the study, watching a movie on the wall-mounted TV as you kick back on the sleek black sofa and admire the rooftop views from the large Velux window.

Wake the next day feeling rejuvenated as you pull on your best walking gear and enjoy a relaxing stroll into the centre of the city.

Feel the grandeur of Ripon Cathedral before losing yourself in the history of life in a workhouse at the nearby Workhouse Museum.

Admire the striking flowers in the well-kept Ripon Spa Gardens before taking a scenic stroll along the River Skell.

Grab a bite to eat in one of the many well-established eateries in the area, washing it down with a refreshing pint with the locals in one of the city's much loved pubs.

Venture further afield to the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and discover the imposing ruins of Fountains Abbey before embarking on an exhilarating hike through the rolling countryside.

Make memories with your loved ones on a stay at Holmefield House

View on map

About the location


Masham 9 miles; Harrogate 12 miles.

Dominated by its imposing cathedral, the historic city of Ripon has a great deal to offer visitors - the Cathedral with its 1300 year old crypt, the Yorkshire Law & Order Museums, various craft markets, an International Music Festival and Ripon Races; not to mention the many beautiful riverside and canal walks. Even the famous Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden are within walking distance along the banks of the River Skell and it is just a few miles to the popular Lightwater Valley Theme Park. The historic houses of Norton Conyers and Newby Hall & Gardens are also close by. If you do feel the need to get in the car and explore, Ripon is ideal for touring both the Yorkshire Dales and the North York Moors, not to mention Harrogate, Knaresborough and York too!

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas