In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Captain's Cottage in the last 24 hours

1 of 39 View Image Gallery
  • Captain's Cottage - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1011322 - photo 1

Captain's Cottage

(Ref. 1011322)

Scarborough, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (22)
  • clean (10)
  • location (10)
  • stay (9)
  • lovely (9)
  • bed (9)

28 Customer Reviews

  • "It is in a perfect location in the middle of everything beach town etc was a ..."

    It is in a perfect location in the middle of everything beach town etc was a beautiful little cottage would definitely stay again

    Reviewed by Katrina4.4May 2024

  • "We enjoyed our stay at Captain cottage and the rooms were a good size for a couple or small family staying here."

    The enclosed decking outside was nice and safe for our small dog. I did feel it could have done with a good clean & sweep though, and the garden furniture had seen better days. We were disappointed that no basic provisions were supplied such as washing liquid, a dishcloth, a couple of washing tablets would have been nice, or a pint of milk for a cuppa after our train travel. We have stayed in a few Sykes holiday homes now and must admit have been spoiled in the past by proprietor’s going the extra mile with providing the basic essentials and a Welcome pack which is so appreciated when you are travelling by public transport and limited to how much one can carry. Whilst I fully understand self catering means just that, sometimes attention to detail and the little additional touches can make a holiday complete.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the size of the cottage and also the decked area for your small dog. I will pass your feedback onto my cleaning team - there are usually provisions that you have mentioned included, so will see why this was missed and try to reinstate. Thank you once again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kimberley3.4May 2024

  • "Location of Captains cottage is excellent just a 5 minute walk to the seafront."

    The cottage overall was clean and we managed to park outside using the parking permits which was great as parking in Scarborough is not easy and expensive. Unfortunately there were a few things we had issues with such as the internal doors, they were extremely heavy to open and my 6 year old could not open them so often was stuck in a room if she went by herself, I would not like to think of fingers getting stuck in these doors! We found some of the cupboards in the kitchen and the wardrobe upstairs were full of some personal items and ornaments which didn’t leave much room for us to put our own clothes etc. There were missing handles on the kitchen cupboards and cupboard drawers in the bedroom making them hard to open and the coat hook downstairs was hanging off. Wallpaper in the kitchen and living room was also coming away from the wall and dog hairs on the backs of the cushions in the living room. No tea towel was left even though there are some on the photographs therefore we didn’t bring one. The back door lock was too stiff to open so we didn’t enjoy the backyard seating area this could also be a fire hazard if not fixed. We’ve stayed in quite a few Sykes cottages and they have always been excellent however this one could do with a few changes to bring up to the same standards.

    Thank you for your feedback. The internal doors are heavy as they are fire rated doors and have been assessed and recommended by a fire assessment which was completed this year. The cottage has also been fitted with fire safe thumb screw locks on the back and front door and as such are the recommended locks for this type of property, as also assessed by a fire safety officer. I have passed your feedback onto the cleaning team with regards to the dog hairs. The cupboard upstairs is the cleaning cupboard hence why there are items in here for cleaning and storing away. I hope you found the large wardrobe suitable in the main bedroom as this allows full use as does all the other storage in the property. Thank you for your feedback - it's much appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah3.1Apr 2024

  • "In my opinion the cottage had not been cleaned properly."

    Certain electrical items didn't work as the should of ie, toaster not working on all sides and the dryer part of the washer/dryer not working. The wall paper in places was coming away and one of the single beds was broken. A bit more attention could be spent in the kitchen/bathroom things like cleaning products and a tea towel could have been provided. Other than this we enjoyed our stay. .

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you felt the property had not been cleaned and that the bed was broken. My cleaner confirmed that all was okay with the property prior to arrival, so I'm not sure what happened. I ordered the bread knife and new toaster during your stay, as you had requested and a new bed was ordered and set up upon your departure. Thank you for highlighting that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for visiting Captain's Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia3.1Mar 2024

  • "The cottage really is a home from home, everything has been thought of to make it enjoyable, close to the seafront and nice and quiet- just one word to the wise, make sure you change your parking permit BEFORE 10 am, we went out at 10."

    40 and had a fine on the windscreen!!!

    Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay bar the parking ticket!! We hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally5.0Feb 2024

  • "Fantastic cottage, location ideal, we have walked our socks off."

    The parking permit was essential and managed to get a space no problem. On the leaving day we managed to get a spot right outside. The base is ideal as you can walk everywhere. We also visited Bridlington, Filey and on the way home Robinhoods Bay. We have loved the couple of nights away. The only negative is the bed is not the comfiest. But hopefully will visit again.

    Thank you so much for your feedback - it's very much appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lois5.0Feb 2024

  • "The house is lovely with plenty of room but it does need a little bit of tlc, I completely understand it’s an old house on the coast so will suffer with damp but there are places where wallpaper is peeling etc."

    didn’t bother us but might others. We called it the hobbit house as the doors and staircase to the 3rd floor are very low, if you’re tall be careful, I’m the smallest at 5ft 8 in our family and hit my head a few times. It’s in an ideal location for the seafront, town etc and has everything you would need. Parking can be an issue, especially at school run times. I would recommend but don’t be expecting a modern pristine place, it’s terrace house so comes with the issues of an old house.

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of Captain's Cottage and benefited from being so close to the sea and all the wonderful entertainment in Scarborough. The property was renovated with a full damp course, so thank you for letting me know about the wallpaper - I will let the maintenance team know to help rectify it. Wishing you all the best. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen3.1Jul 2023

  • "Perfectly placed cottage in Scarborough."

    Short walk to the beach. Plenty places to eat and drink close by. Very comfortable and clean. Will definitely return.

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was an absolute pleasure having you as our guests! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0Jan 2023

  • "The photos give the impression of a lovely cosy clean cottage."

    Reality is the wallpaper is peeling, damp in the top bedroom ceiling and heavily stained carpets. There is no mention the property is next to a school and if you arrive @ 16:00 you won’t get parked outside.

    Thank you for your comments. As per the details on booking a permit is provided for the parking and parking is available along the road or around the corner. The property is located in the very popular old town area of Scarborough and is five minutes walk from the beach. It is located in a residential area as this is usual for this location with all the benefits of being close to the town, the beach and the restaurants. The cottage has recently been redecorated following its annual maintenance. I will follow up with my cleaning team with regards to the carpet, paint and wallpaper. Thank you for highlighting this to me. Hope you enjoyed your stay and wish you the very best. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane1.9Oct 2022

  • "Lovely stay at captains cottage would definitely return."

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Captain's Cottage Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brian4.7Jul 2022

  • "Had a great stay at captains cottage."

    Very well equipped cottage, loved the outside space. 2 minutes of all amenities and beach. Will definitely go again. Thanks for having us.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. You are very welcome to come and visit us again! Glad you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gavin4.7May 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at the Captains Cottage."

    Its ideally situated being close to the market, the beach and all central amenities. A lovely decked area for a garden was perfect for the doggies. The kitchen/diner was so well equipped and the lounge was cozy coupled with a lovely 1st floor bathroom. We felt really comfortable and at home. Can't wait to go back.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I'm so pleased you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ralph5.0Mar 2022

  • "This property is in a great location but was greatly let down by the decor, odour and cleanliness."

    Wallpaper falling off, paint falling off the ceiling onto my son's bed, doorstep held on by plasters. I had to wash all the cutlery, plates, bowls and glasses before we could use them as they were dirty. Very strange odour in the main bedroom. I have let the owner know and they have had a change in cleaners so some of this may improve. Also walls are extremely thin and neighbours are very noisy, shouting and swearing until early hours most nights (I realise the owners cannot change this). It's a shame as the property is in a great location, close to the beach, lots of shops and restaurants nearby and is very spacious for a family of four.

    Thank you for your feedback Rebecca. I am obviously disappointed to read about the issues you had. I am glad you found the cottage to be in a great location and happy we were able to resolve the issues for the next guests. As you have mentioned we have had a new cleaning team in and your feedback has been passed on to them. Wishing you all the best Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rebecca2.5Feb 2022

  • "Lovely property, well decorated and very comfortable!"

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. Its very much appreciated! Happy new year to you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sara5.0Dec 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay at Captains Cottage."

    Its very clean and comfortable. Feels very homely. Lovely and warm. Vey well equipped with everything you need. Perfect location for North and South Bay attractions. Communication from the owner was very efficient. Thank you.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. So happy you enjoyed your stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maria5.0Nov 2021

  • "Cottage was very clean, beautifully furnished and had everything we needed."

    The only negative would be the noise from the neighbouring house. Obviously the owners of ‘Captains Cottage’ can do nothing about this but we did leave a day early because of it.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Oct 2021

  • "Superbly appointed cottage."

    Ideal location.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2021

  • "We had a lovely holiday in Scarborough."

    The position of the cottage is good for the nearby market etc but as many seaside resorts the area in general is quite run down.The cottage itself was very nice,clean and comfortable and lovely and quiet considering the location which is near a school.There is a good selection of take away food outlets so we didnt do much cooking at all in the cottage but the modern cooker was easy enough to use.The beds were very comfortable even though the double bed is quite creaky because of the wooden base.The bathroom is lovely,clean and modern ,the overbath electric shower isnt very powerful but we managed to use it without problems.All in all we would give the cottage a great rating and maybe we will return again nxt year.

    Reviewed by Dorothy4.7Oct 2020

  • "The parking and area was not as expected from the listing which was disappointing ."

    Lots of rubbish in black bags on decked area .. needed some attention to tidy

    Reviewed by Anna3.1Aug 2020

  • "Back patio could do with weeding and cleaning."

    Reviewed by Veronica5.0Aug 2020

  • "I cannot recommend this cottage enough."

    From opening the door the cottage has been beautifully decorated and really felt like a home from home. The kitchen has everything you would have at home and the washing machine is an added bonus. The bedrooms again were beautifully decorated and very comfy. The outdoor space is fantastic and perfect for relaxing. Only a short walk from the beach and less than 5 min drive from the supermarkets. We never struggled to park near to the cottage which was also good. Would highly recommend and would love to return one day.

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Jul 2020

  • "The cottage was a terrace house in the middle of social housing flats and houses some had the Windows boarded up there was a strong smell of cannabis every time we walked down the streets ."

    The next door was extremely noisy young child running and shouting up and down every night parents shouting at her every night we went to bed then on last night we were in bed heard the other side of house come in started playing guitar and then singing, we thought that house was empty as looked run down but someone was living in it We didn't feel safe living there there was young lads walking up and down in the middle of night we were woken up a couple of times The property itself had everything you would need for your stay but sorry unable to recomend this property as area was not good

    Dear Mrs Giubilaro, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that Captains cottage had everything you needed for your stay but obviously disappointed to read your comments about Scarborough. We specifically chose to purchase this cottage due to its excellent location and the old town community in which it is based. As a mum myself, I appreciate that the local area is a key consideration and as other guests have stated, the great location of the cottage is hard to find, which makes it ideal for families wanting to be near the local amenities. Unfortunately I am unsure of any locations in Scarborough or nearby that do not have a mix of both privately rented and council housing. The majority of houses on longwestgate are however privately owned as you can see from an internet search of properties in that area. Unfortunately I do not have control over people walking down the road, I will obviously pass your feedback on to the private holiday cottage owner next door. The noises seemed to be from another holiday maker, therefore I am confident that this is a very rare occurrence. Thank you once again for your feedback it's very helpful and we hope that you will come back to Captain's Cottage, Scarborough another time to experience the Yorkshire heritage, views of the castle and proximity to the sea Property Owner

    Reviewed by Isobel3.8Mar 2020

  • "It was very clean and comfortable with lots of little extra touches We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily return any time."

    There were just a couple very minor things which did not really detract from the stay. You might want to thinl about a black-out curtain on the bedroom window - the street light is right outside When we arrived, the back door was unlocke Also, there were 5 bin bags of rubbish and a dustbin full of rubbish on the decking. This wasn't much of an issue as it's February and we did not go out there till our last day. Sadly, when we went to put our rubbish out there on our last day, it looked like the high winds had blown the dustbin lid off and the seagulls had done their job. We decided to leave our rubbish inside.

    Dear Mr Lively, thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you found your stay at Captains cottage to be clean, comfortable with lots of extras and that you would happily return anytime. I have passed your feedback with regards to the bags, door and seagulls to our cleaner who has assured me that this will be addressed. We do pass on details with regards to bagging up rubbish to our guests and which bags to use upon booking however it seems that unfortunately on this one occasion the rubbish day was missed. Our cleaner is very good and eager to listen to feedback, as you have mentioned re the cleanliness of the property on your visit. We will continue to advise our guests of the process. We are glad this did not detract from your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Feb 2020

  • "Really clean and comfortable cottage on a quiet road and within easy reach of all amenities."

    Would use again if available

    Reviewed by Craig5.0Feb 2020

  • "Lovely little cottage in a good spot for access to most amenities."

    Been decorated recently so some doors are difficult to close. As it is now dog friendly a hoover would be handy. Had a small issue with rubbish on arrival, seagulls had got to the bags on the decking and made a mess. Also not clear on procedure for which colour bags go out on which Friday.

    Reviewed by Andrea5.0Jan 2020

  • "The cottage was great, it had recently been re decorated and very clean."

    Thank you to the owner who sent new updates of the the work they'd carried out. The cottage is in a great location for north beach it's a nice walk about 20 minute. The south beach is a 10 minute walk and ideal for town. Had a great time over the new year with our dog, who loved the walks on the beach. The new years fireworks where fabulous.

    Reviewed by Philip4.7Dec 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely."

    Felt bigger than the photos. Very comfortable. A lovely break. Very central. Had everything we needed and more. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Anna5.0Dec 2019

  • "The cottage was in a good location, we enjoyed our time there immensely."

    We especially liked the way we could use our own Netflix and the selection of board games and dvds. That was a nice touch. I would not hesitate to recommend holy cottage.

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Aug 2019

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x first-floor double, 1 x second-floor twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, WC, and basin
  • Kitchen/dining area
  • Sitting room with electric fire.
  • Gas central heating and electric fire
  • Electric oven and induction hob, washing machine, dishwasher, microwave, fridge, freezer, Smart TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of reading materials and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Roadside parking permit provided
  • Garden with decking area
  • One well behaved dog welcome, additional dogs may be considered on request
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.5 miles, pub 0.2 miles. Scarborough Harbour 0.3 miles

The property

Scarborough is a lovely resort town located on the North Sea Coast, offering two bays and sandy beaches, it’s the preferred holiday destinations from many tourists from all over the world.

This charming mid-terrace house can be found in the heart of Scarborough, just a short walk from bustling restaurants and the beachfront.

A large outdoor area to spend the evenings, this property is perfect for a small family or two couples wanting to be close to the action of a fun-filled resort area.

It offers two bedrooms, including a double on the first floor and a twin on the second floor, with a promising view of the night’s sky through the roof windows as you drift off to sleep.

The tidy kitchen/dining area hosts an array of amenities to assist you with preparing a home-cooked meal, or whipping up something with a freshly bought fish from the seaside.

The sitting room is the perfect place to unwind, with a beautiful electric fire to snuggle up next to on a breezy night on the rocking chair.

Outside is a large decking area fit for the whole family to get together and enjoy breakfast together.

The local area is perfect to experience seafood cuisine, fresh from the sea, or simply enjoy some delicious fish and chips on the beachfront with other holiday-goers.

Enrich yourself with history by taking a trip to the relics of medieval town life at The Bolts or visit the Rotunda Museum, an 1829 museum offering you an insight into local history, or take a walk down to Scarborough Harbour or North Bay Beach where you can find a yacht club, seafront café, and amusement arcades.

Further out is Peasholm Park, famous for its breath-taking Japanese-style landscaped park and gardens; a true picturesque paradise.

To discover more beautiful scenery, head to Yorkshire Dales National Park for a walk filled with magnificent wonders and tranquil settings.

Captain Cottage is a brilliant property with easy access to the beachfront, walking routes, and family fun activities.

View on map

About the location


Pickering 17 miles; Whitby 20 miles; York 40 miles.

Popular since Victorian times, the vibrant seaside town of Scarborough retains many of its original fine buildings, parks and gardens, as well as its historic castle which overlooks the town. North Bay and South Bay provide two superb stretches of beautiful, golden sandy beaches, popular with families and small children. There are a number of child friendly activities and many excellent visitor attractions for grown-ups too, including the Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough Spa and Scarborough Open Air Theatre for live music. Scarborough is a great location for outdoor activities, with golf courses, lovely coastal walks along the Cleveland Way, stunning cycle routes such as the old railway to Whitby, beautiful sailing and championship quality surfing. Add to this all the usual seaside entertainment and bustling promenades located close to the beach and Scarborough is the destination with something for everyone. Ideally situated for touring the coastline and the moors, Scarborough is an ideal base for a fun-filled break.

View more holiday cottages in Scarborough

Note: Up until 30th August 2019, this property is pet free. From 30th August 2019, the property accepts one well behaved dog.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas