In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 16 View Image Gallery
  • 18 Howard Street - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1001967 - photo 1
close

18 Howard Street

(Ref. 1001967)

Scarborough, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (15)
  • great (13)
  • clean (13)
  • house (12)
  • lovely (12)
  • property (11)

31 Customer Reviews

  • "Upon opening the door we were hit by an extremely musty smell."

    I mean it smelt pretty bad with an old and dirty runner in the hallway. The front room was basic and we had difficulty watching the tv as it was plonked on a piece of wood in the corner and could not be turned. The kitchen was not particularly clean. Microwave smelt and was rusty. Oven was filthy and much of the cutlery and dishes etc had to be washed before we used them. The toilet seat up stairs was loose and the toilet leaking. There was also a great big mark on the front windows which looked like human snot. Unfortunately, either due to the dust or animals previously being in the property I was fairly unwell to the point we left early.

    We are absolutely devastated at this review and what you found. The runner in the hall has been down a long time, but it does save the carpet from wearing. (We will look to replace it). We have just bought a new smart TV that has wide legs, so the wood, which you can hardly see, makes it a bit more stable. (We will see if we can get it put on the wall). We use contract cleaners and have never had a complaint, I will be speaking with them. I know nothing about the toilet seat being loose or leaking, we were there 2 weeks before you and it was fine. (we will get a plumber round to check it). As for the window I haven't a clue! This is a no animal property. We are very sorry you had to leave early and we will look into each issue. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Malcolm1.9Mar 2024

  • "A lovely house perfectly located."

    Our second stay here and we can’t wait to be back. The house was spotlessly clean as always

    Thank you for the great feedback. So nice to know that you are happy to return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jaason5.0Oct 2023

  • "Had a great holiday here,I had a mishap with the parking permits ( my fault) as ..."

    Had a great holiday here,I had a mishap with the parking permits ( my fault) as I had marked off the first day instead of using the disc for 2 hours,texted the owners and they rang me back and sorted it no problem,property was spotless and in a quiet street,tv could be doing with updating as it kept cutting out on certain channels and wouldn't come on again,would definitely stay again in the future

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm happy that everything worked out. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Daniel4.7Sep 2023

  • "We had a fantastic holiday, despite the weather, if only you could book that!"

    The house was in a great location. It had everything you needed. Pub and shop at the end of the road. A short walk to a lovely cafe and into town. Would definitely recommend and would definitely return. Thanks for having us! Phil & Janice

    Thank you, we are so please you had a good holiday despite the weather. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jul 2023

  • "Nice property great location for good walking to all that Scarborough has to off."

    Grocery stores, cafes, restaurants, and pubs within 5 mins walk.

    Thank you for your feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ann E3.8Jun 2023

  • "A great house very clean and comfortable so close to everthing and everthing you need for a great stay."

    Thank you for the great feedback. So pleased you had a good holiday Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Apr 2023

  • "An absolute gem."

    Great location and lovely house. Definitely will return.

    Thank you for a great review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Feb 2023

  • "Clean and comfortable."

    Well equipped and good location. Car parking with voucher system not a problem.

    Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Oct 2022

  • "We found everything to our satisfaction."

    Very clean and comfortable. Everything available that was needed. Easy walking distance to some lovely restaurants and of course close to the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors. My only quibble was initially trying to find out about parking nearby. I felt I had to do a bit of searching before I found details of restrictions, etc. The owners had very kindly left us a parking disc at the property. Thank you. We both love Scarborough. This was the fifth stay for us.

    Sorry about this, hopefully there was parking tickets for you to park on the street. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lorraine4.7Sep 2022

  • "Everything available as described."

    Just one comment no washing line or airer. Parking scratch cards worked fine. Great location.

    Very sorry about the washing line. There was one there the last time we went. My husband bought new pegs and peg bag and the washing line was inside the bag. Not sure what has happened to that, we will replace on our next visit. Thank you for letting us know. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Sep 2022

  • "Had a lovely week, nice house, beds very comfortable, 2 good showers, everything we needed but when we arrived at stated time the beds were not made up and house hadn't been cleaned but a bit later cleaners came with bedding and said they would clean ."

    Really sorry about the cleaning, I do get a reminder to say what time they will be there, hopefully they didn't disturb you too much and hopefully they did a good clean. I will look into it and thank you for the feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet4.7Aug 2022

  • "Excellent property in a great location for both bays in Scarborough , property has a great layout and plenty of room with lovely little touches that make this property feel like a home from home rather than just a rental property."

    Two toilets was a bonus and the downstairs wet room a god send for elderly less mobile parents travelling with us .

    Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Jul 2022

  • "Very pleased in all respects with our stay at 18 Howard Street."

    The owner has done a marvelous job and helped make our stay in Scarborough most enjoyable. Cleanliness and comfort was of an exceptionally high standard and the property sits in a very quiet, peaceful location. Convenient for groceries or takeaways whatever you fancied. The bed comes in for special mention as we slept like logs every night. Both North and South bays are near at hand so we couldn`t have asked for more. Thank you Paul & Helen.

    Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jul 2022

  • "Great little property, the two welcome packs really appreciated."

    Clean and comfortable. Good economic price for location. You've got this right. We enjoyed our stay and would happily come back. Well done Mark Young

    Thank you for the great review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Jun 2022

  • "Very good location near the bay and clean throughout the property."

    Would stay again if in the area again!

    Reviewed by Matthew4.4Jun 2022

  • "This was our 3rd visit to Howard Street and, as usual, everything was perfect."

    I wholeheartedly agree with the March review - that the linen was quality and all the other facilities were tip top. We had a wee problem with finding the ironing board eventually and are still a bit perplexed that we were given dishwasher tablets but couldn't find the dishwasher but who cares - the local pub and various local restaurants are brilliant so we needed minimal washing up! If you do go there the local cab company Nippy Taxis also provide excellent service. Hope to return yet again in the not too distant future.

    Thank you for the excellent feedback, we are so pleased you have returned once Again! We look forward to your future visits. I think our wonderful cleaners leave dishwasher tablets in all the welcome packs. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Apr 2022

  • "Had a lovely 3 days here, the house was immaculate and well equipped."

    It was homely and comfortable. The bedroom in the front was the one we used, the bed was amazing and the bedding and pillows were luxury hotel style. It was so comfortable. The shower was a great power but you have to get the heat right as its mixer taps, but we got it perfect and it was very powerful. A great added bonus having a shower and toilet downstairs. We had no complaints about the house at all. The location is brilliant, everything on the doorstep. A great pub a stones throw from the house called The Albert, friendly and welcoming. Loads of takeaways on the doorstep. We got the x93 bus into Robin Hoods Bay and walked the coastal route to Whitby (7 miles) which was lovely (despite the weather) But if you like walking this is a great route. Will definitely recommend and return.

    Thank you for this amazing review. You are our first visitors this year, great to get positive feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephanie5.0Mar 2022

  • "Warm, comfortable and very clean."

    Good location, near beaches and town, lots of on-street parking. Lots of nice touches especially the 2 welcome packs, one tea coffee etc and one for cleaning. The kitchen is well equipped with sufficient pots and pans for cooking meals. The bedding is good quality and very clean, some of the most comfortable beds we've used. Excellent value will definitely return.

    Thank you for the feedback, we are continually making improvement to make the house as pleasant and homely as possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eric4.7Dec 2021

  • "Comfortable property, warm and cosy for a November holiday."

    Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Nov 2021

  • "Only met expectations coz it exceeded them last year!"

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Oct 2021

  • "The accommodation is in an excellent position for walking to the North Bay or walking into town."

    It was very well equipped and the beds were very comfortable. We had everything we needed for a lovely break.

    Thank you for your feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Sep 2021

  • "We had a lovely holiday."

    The property had everything we needed. It was perfectly situated between the North and South Beaches. There was a pub, pizza takeaway, shop and chip shop within easy walking distance. I liked the decking in the back yard. It had everything except for a sea view.

    Reviewed by James4.1Aug 2021

  • "We had a lovely time staying at Howard Street."

    Good location, clean house, good facilities and parking on the street. It was a comfortable stay. We do love Scarborough!

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Oct 2020

  • "Didn’t realise the house was split onto 3 levels as this wasn’t made very aware on the description."

    The house is ideally situated though and was very clean, just wish it had an actual freezer then it would be perfect.

    Reviewed by Jaason4.4Oct 2020

  • "The house was well located with on-street parking (in my case blue badge) very easy."

    Local amenities as described are good and it is but a short walk into town. In my case because of mobility issues, most of the time we went about using Nippy Cabs who were brilliant. I recommend anyone who needs a place in Scarborough to consider 18 Howard Street. It was home from home and was 99% tops. Had to deduct 1% coz the bathroom lights don't work - no hardship as we used the downstairs on instead!

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Sep 2020

  • "Lovely clean house in a perfect location ."

    Hand sanitisers located in rooms of the house which was a perfect extra touch and made us feel safe and secure knowing hygiene and cleanliness was to a high standard . Would recommend.

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Sep 2020

  • "Owners exceeded expectations: they were incredibly friendly and helpful with our booking."

    House was very well stocked eg cleaning/cooking items which was very useful. The house was a great place to stay, location was excellent :)

    Reviewed by Louise4.7Aug 2020

  • "Great accommodation."

    Good location. Has everything you need. Easy booking and good communication.

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Aug 2020

  • "The accommodation matched the description and was one of the best we have used."

    Reviewed by Phillip5.0Feb 2020

  • "This house had everything we needed."

    Was spotless and very comfortable especially liked the extra touches such as the biscuits, tea,coffee etc. Even provided toiletries. The only downside was the parking as double yellow outside the property and limited spaces.

    Reviewed by Rachael5.0Jun 2019

  • "18 Howard street is lovely."

    It was very cosy, clean with a beautiful bathroom and a very useful wet room. The wet room was just right for my brother-in-law who is recovering from an operation and would have struggled with the bath. We had a great time. My sister-in-law cooked a lovely roast dinner in a normal cooker tgat you don't need a degree before you use it. We would definitely recommend it and would stay again. Thanks for a lovely weekend. Jeanette and family from Hull

    Reviewed by Jeanette5.0May 2019

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Two bedrooms; 2 x doubles
  • Bathroom with shower over bath, basin and WC
  • Ground-floor wet room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting/dining room with electric fire
  • Gas central heating with 2 x electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, washing machine, TV with Freeview, selection of books and games, and WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Permit/scratch card parking
  • Enclosed rear garden
  • Sorry, no smoking or pets allowed
  • Pub and shop within 0.5 mile
  • Please note this property can only accommodate bookings of a minimum of 3 nights, or more.

The property

A charming, mid-terrace cottage set away from the seafront in the vibrant town of Scarborough.

18 Howard Street rests a stone’s throw away from the hustle and bustle of the charming harbour yet is within close reach to the peaceful North York Moors, offering a vast array of opportunities for a family of all ages and tastes.

This wonderful base boasts a fresh colour palette and everything you could possible need for a traditional seaside holiday with your loved ones.

The well-equipped kitchen houses superb appliances to prepare a delicious home-cooked meal before settling down within the elegant dining area.

After dinner, unwind within the sitting area whilst you catch up on your favourite TV shows and the electric fireplace fills the room with warmth.

Drift off to sleep within a choice of two double bedrooms, each boasting a refreshing interior that you will be delighted to wake up to each morning.

Located a mere stone’s throw away from the property are a superb selection of pubs, restaurants and takeaways if you don’t feel like cooking one evening, as well as a number of shops for picking up any of the essentials.

For days out, venture to the beach where you will find a number of watersports on offer or spend an afternoon at Luna Park, a superb funfair with something for all ages.

For a taste of history, visit the medieval Scarborough Castle or the former prison.

If you are feeling adventurous, explore miles of vibrant landscapes of countryside and coast, rich in quaint villages, woodland and historical landmarks.

The property is a 3 minute walk away from the beautiful sites of the North Bay and only a 10-15 minute walk into the town centre.

There are also an abundance of places to visit up the coast such as Robin Hood’s Bay and Whitby; plus, you can also head down the coast to Filey and Bridlington.

18 Howard Street is a perfect base for a family seaside getaway and for touring the North York Moors.

18 Howard Street is a perfect base for a family seaside getaway and for touring the North York Moors.

View on map

About the location

SCARBOROUGH

Pickering 17 miles; Whitby 20 miles; York 40 miles.

Popular since Victorian times, the vibrant seaside town of Scarborough retains many of its original fine buildings, parks and gardens, as well as its historic castle which overlooks the town. North Bay and South Bay provide two superb stretches of beautiful, golden sandy beaches, popular with families and small children. There are a number of child friendly activities and many excellent visitor attractions for grown-ups too, including the Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough Spa and Scarborough Open Air Theatre for live music. Scarborough is a great location for outdoor activities, with golf courses, lovely coastal walks along the Cleveland Way, stunning cycle routes such as the old railway to Whitby, beautiful sailing and championship quality surfing. Add to this all the usual seaside entertainment and bustling promenades located close to the beach and Scarborough is the destination with something for everyone. Ideally situated for touring the coastline and the moors, Scarborough is an ideal base for a fun-filled break.

View more holiday cottages in Scarborough

Please note this property can only accommodate bookings of a minimum of 3 nights or more.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas