Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 37 View Image Gallery
  • Chine Cottage - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 966463 - photo 1
close
  • Chine Cottage - (Ref. 966463)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

Chine Cottage

(Ref. 966463)

Sandsend, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

4.9

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (31)
  • location (21)
  • clean (16)
  • well (15)
  • views (15)
  • bed (14)

58 Customer Reviews

  • "This was our 4th holiday in beautiful Sandsend, and our 1st staying in Chine Cottage, the other places were not up to standard so I was very pleased with how modern and clean it was."

    We would not hesitate to return and hopefully will be back again in 2025.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Jun 2024

  • "Chine Cottage is just perfect, obviously not for wheelchair users or people who struggle with stairs."

    We love it's position, the views and comfy beds, the under floor heating makes the cottage warm and inviting to return to after a day out. We have been twice before and wouldnt hesitate to return, dates allowing. Whitby is walkable and well worth the effort.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Mar 2024

  • "We had a good look around before unpacking."

    all looked clean and tidy mark on room carpet and coffee stains at side of main bedroom spills around kitchen units and door but all bathrooms very clean in general all good. beds all nice and comfy good towel's nice big front room good view of the sea. good location for long walks into Whitby and around which is what we like.

    Reviewed by Peter4.7Dec 2023

  • "We loved our stay at Chine Cottage and in Sandsend and would definitely stay again."

    Our only small complaint was that we found that the bedrooms were too warm for sleeping and the thermostat control was difficult to alter. Otherwise everything about the cottage was excellent.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Dec 2023

  • "Disappointed there was no CHRISTMAS tree in,only one lamp in the lounge and ..."

    Disappointed there was no CHRISTMAS tree in,only one lamp in the lounge and didnt feel homely in there when staying in at night in winter's bad weather, kitchen dining table had plastic tablecloth which slummed down the area as the units and appliances were top of the range and fabulous, the back room to my mind was awful and not welcoming or cosy enough at all, lamps and cushions or even conservatory furniture to bring it up to date, rather old fashioned, wifi not powerful enough in fact couldn't make or receive calls at all on our mobiles which is good if we CHOOSE NOT TO RECEIVE OR MAKE PHONE CALLS as we're on holiday but we needed to make an emergency call and couldn't connect until travelling especially into Whitby, will stay again as the property ideally situated and immaculately clean just basically needs finishing touches to enhance it

    Reviewed by Marilyn4.7Dec 2023

  • "Simply excellent."

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Nov 2023

  • "Beautifully appointed property."

    It's the third time we've booked Chine Cottage and it never fails to feel like home.only one negative was the double bed in the first floor could do with the mattress renewing.

    Reviewed by Yvonne5.0Oct 2023

  • "A fabulous property."

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Sep 2023

  • "A well designed and well equipped holiday house with modern fittings."

    Beds were comfy and the two bedrooms at the back of the house were very quiet. The house is ideally situated for walks on the beach. Off road parking was a bonus as Sandsend was very busy. One minor issue was that there was no non slip mat in the bath of the main bedroom so for safety we used the shower of the third bedroom on the top floor. Unfortunately the local general shop had been closed for some months but was expected to be reopening late Autumn 2023.

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2023

  • "Out of the 10yrs of our family holiday on the Yorkshire coast, this was our favourite house yet !"

    The kitchen was well equipped, it’s very modern and so clean (thank the cleaner !) loved the use of garage. Location is amazing! only grumble was the mattress being so soft ,that I felt I was at an angle inwards towards the centre. We didn’t sleep v.well because of this. All in all , a fabulous weeks stay! Thank you

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Jul 2023

  • "Lovely cottage although the top floor bedroom has very low ceiling and the second top floor bedrooms has an en suite which such a low ceiling it is quite difficult to use without banging your head."

    Otherwise a delightful cottage

    Reviewed by Susan4.7May 2023

  • "Had a lovely stay at Chine cottage."

    The cottage was clean, beautifully furnished and the kitchen was fully equipped for our stay. Looking at dates for next year to return.

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely cottage but found the heating to complicated and all the rooms uncomfortably hot"

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0Mar 2023

  • "The cottage is really well situated and easy to find, it was absolutely spotless and had a fantastic time in a very comfortable cottage."

    We will definitely return!

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Feb 2023

  • "Excellent property, amazing views, this was our second stay and we will be back for a third visit soon"

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Feb 2023

  • "We love your house and have been 4 times now all was very good only thing was it was windy one night and the electric flashed off and back on then the internet did not work right rest of the week and Netflix did not work came on later on in the week ?"

    but we had a grate week and the cleanliness is superb thanks Pete & Chris.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Dec 2022

  • "We could not fault anything at Chine Cottage, it was a beautiful location and it was well maintained and spotless, the only thing to complain about was the weather."

    We had a lovely time and would not hesitate to return and would definitely recommend it.

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Dec 2022

  • "Excellent cottage with excellent views both with the WOW factor, we will be back ASAP, the Internet wasn't working but we did see that you had tried to get it sorted, the towel rail in the first floor bathroom was extremely hot and a mirror in the downstairs toilet would be nice and a little shelf in the front bedroom shower would be nice, we had a wonderful stay Whitby and Sandsend are just beautiful, we have visited many times over the past 23 years, and this is the first time we've stayed in Sandsend and we've certainly fallen in love with Chine cottage and the wonderful view."

    Sincerely Mark

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Oct 2022

  • "Another light is needed in the lounge area."

    The frying pan provided was unusable all the non stick coating is coming off. Wi-Fi wasn't working as BT had let them down this was a disappointment but it was up to Sykes' to inform me which wasn't done. Apart from the above mentioned negatives: A great location opposite the beach and close to amenities could not be faulted. The kitchen area was under used as the lounge was more inviting. A well stocked kitchen with all crockery, utensils and cookware available.

    Reviewed by Yvonne4.4Oct 2022

  • "Our third visit and won't be the last!"

    Great location, clean and very well equipped. All you need for the perfect beach holiday (well maybe a bit of sunshine

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Jul 2022

  • "Absolutely gorgeous house and in beautiful location."

    We loved the sea view from the kitchen and living room

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Jul 2022

  • "This is the second time we’ve stayed at Chine cottage and it was as perfect as the first time."

    Wish we didn’t have to come home.

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Jul 2022

  • "Coat hooks for outdoor coats."

    Could be behind garage door for example. Cost hooks on bathrooms and bedrooms would also be useful Mirror in downstairs cloakroom. Exceptionally well furnished and equipped throughout

    Reviewed by Sue5.0May 2022

  • "Excellent holiday home very good location with parking would stay again"

    Reviewed by James5.0May 2022

  • "This was the fourth time we had rented this property and there will be a fifth."

    The situation, outlook and local facilities make it our ideal holiday stay. A couple of minor points. It should not be the job of the incoming guests to have empty the water reservoir and clean out the dispenser on the washing machine ( some one had tried to use a dishwasher tablet!!). The bottom shelf in the fridge was broken so when the milk and wine were placed in it, the shelf gave way and tipped the lot onto the kitchen floor. Fortunately nothing broke. The kitchen sink hot tap is still dripping.

    Reviewed by Leona5.0Mar 2022

  • "Fab place just think a couple of clocks is needed maybe in lounge and kitchen."

    Had a long power cut apparently neighbour said this happens regularly but there was only one torch which did not work, had to go out in car and find supermarket to buy candles so maybe a couple of torches in the property would be helpful. No complaints very clean, comfortable and well situated property would recommend and return

    Reviewed by Lynn4.7Mar 2022

  • "We have been four times now."

    We love the cottage and the location. We will be booking again certainly for March 2023, and possibly for Autumn 2022. We enjoy watching the sea, walking on the beach and ambling around the village

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Mar 2022

  • "Lovely house, fantastic views,extremely comfortable."

    We will be back to sandsend but maybe a different dwelling with a downstairs bedroom

    Reviewed by Patricia4.7Feb 2022

  • "This was a lovely place to stay."

    The cottage was very clean and cosy.

    Reviewed by Gina5.0Feb 2022

  • "The cottage was very comfortable with underfloor heating and all the bedrooms being on suite."

    The location is great right on the sea front with a pub, quality fish and chip shop and small shop very close by. Whitby is a walk away along the long beach when the tide is out.

    Reviewed by Clive5.0Feb 2022

  • "Excellent facilities and location we really enjoyed our stay and hopefully will return in the future."

    The cottage was lovely and warm to return to after a nice walk, the garage ideal for coats and cases etc., The sea views are excellent, and the cafe over the road good for a breakfast if you want to be lazy. The only things my wife said was missing were a dressing table and seat pads for the kitchen seats, other than that perfect.

    Reviewed by Eric4.7Jan 2022

  • "Grate place to stay good location we like to go walking lots of choice to go for a meal in Whitby or the hart pub new fish shop is open now will be going back."

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Oct 2021

  • "A modern, well equipped, clean, warm house with amazing sea views."

    This has been our second holiday at Chine Cottage. Recommend walks along the beach to Whitby, the local pub, fish and chip restaurant, gift shops, general stores and beach front cafe. YES. We will be going back for a third time!

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Sep 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, brilliant location, excellent facilities."

    The listing needs updating as oven gloves, tea towels and washing-up facilities were all provided. Will hopefully be returning in the future.

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Sep 2021

  • "Wonderful location for a great holiday on the east coast"

    Reviewed by Susan3.8Sep 2021

  • "Amazing view from this 3 storey house on the sea front."

    Immaculate house, plenty of room.

    Reviewed by Kimberley4.7Aug 2021

  • "Fabulous week!"

    Much needed chill out time in these strange times. Beautiful cottage and fab location. By far the best I have stayed in at Sandsend and I have been ever year fir the last 25! Already booked for next year! Thank you!

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Jul 2020

  • "Wonderfully equipped Cottage on three floors."

    As the main lounge is upstairs it would have been a nice touch to have a small TV either in the kitchen or in the small sun room at the back of the house. Everything else was wonderful.

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Mar 2020

  • "This is our second visit in 12 months."

    Ticks all the boxes. Fabulous sea views with a choice of local cafes and the White Hart pub serving excellent food. Best book in advance at weekends for the pub.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Nov 2019

  • "This is a fantastic cottage."

    Clean, tidy with super view. My only disappointment is the owner has changed booking to Saturday to Saturday so this no longer fits our needs, such a shame as we would have re-booked immediately.

    Reviewed by Dean5.0Nov 2019

  • "The cottage was quite a bit smaller than we had expected - the double room on the 2nd floor was very much "in the eaves" and the bathroom eaves made it uncomfortable to use for a 6 foot gentleman."

    The clean your teeth over the sink meant bending almost double! Generally we were very happy - fixtures and fittings were of a very high quality, though we were surprised to have such limited information about recycling in this day and age

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Oct 2019

  • "Our holiday was booked for five people but only three of us could go."

    It was a fantastic holiday we had a room each and each room was en suite. It was the best cottage we had stayed in ,due to the very well equipped kitchen, the luxury of having loads of choice on the television for our evening viewing,the fantastic view from the lounge,the quality of furnishings and the short distance to walk to the local pub. We even felt energetic enough to walk to Whitby! Thank you to the owners for allowing us to share their cottage.

    Reviewed by Joyce5.0Aug 2019

  • "Chine cottage is in a wonderful location and the cottage is beautiful so much so I never want to go home , no wonder you have to book early, the cottage is lovely and clean, comfortable and furnished to an high standard, I would recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a relaxing break."

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Jul 2019

  • "Lovely place in a fantastic little spot."

    Loved the views. The place was spotless and had all the facilities you would expect. I felt it lacked the little 5 star touches that you would expect to be a truly 5 star experience

    Reviewed by James4.4May 2019

  • "Although the cottage was well equipped there small things that would have made it better ie egg cups and smaller tumblers."

    Other wise the cottage was lovely, the views were sensational.

    Reviewed by Carol4.7May 2019

  • "The cottage was excellent, and in a great location looking out over the sea."

    The garage was useful to store bikes, and it was helpful to have the drive to park. Sandsend is a great location for exploring the coast, with great walks in each direction from the front door of the cottage.

    Reviewed by Kate5.0Apr 2019

  • "Excellent clean modern cottage with fantastic views"

    Reviewed by Nick4.7Mar 2019

  • "The property was immaculately clean, we saw them being built a few years ago never thought we would get the chance to stay in one, so glad we did."

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Mar 2019

  • "The situation of the property is glorious."

    A step across the road to the beach. It is 150 yds for the bus service up to Middlesborough or down to Scarborough with all stops in between. With the bus it is only 7/8mins into Whitby. Internally the property is immaculate, comfy beds, lashings of hot water and sweeping views over the bay. After our first night there we booked the same property for a further week in June. Enough said.

    Reviewed by Leona4.7Feb 2019

  • "This was a superb cottage In a prime location across from the beach."

    Decorated toca very high standard with high end furnishings....however, I felt I lacked that personal touch, with the feeling it was half finished on the interior styling. I’ve stayed in similar properties where it really felt like a home from home. We didn’t spend much time in the cottage due to the glorious weather, however when we did return, we felt unable to truly kick back and relax and with 2 teenagers, only one tv was an issue. However, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this property and would love to return one day.

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Feb 2019

  • "This is a lovely cottage with amazing views."

    Bedrooms are well appointed and beds are comfy. The whole cottage was spotless. The only downside was minor in that there was not a roasting tin and being Christmas that proved difficult. Plus there weren’t serving dishes or gravy boats. The downstairs ‘ lounge’ is not a lounge, it has a sofa bed in it and is somewhere to take off shoes which is handy. The WiFi is in this room. Having stayed in other process comparable cottages I have come to expect these things. The driveway is exceptionally steep and could be a problem to some people. Despite all the negatives the cottage was warm and cosy, the location is excellent, I would certainly recommend to anyone.

    Reviewed by Sheila5.0Dec 2018

  • "Fantastic cottage is such a beautiful location."

    Finished to a very high spec, two large baths and a reasonable shower room. Reasonable price and ideal base to search the East coast. Sykes- excellent service and the App makes things very easy to arrange.

    Reviewed by Dean5.0Nov 2018

  • "Excellent accommodation in a superb location."

    We will definitely return soon

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Nov 2018

  • "Absolutely beautiful property, will stay here again."

    Reviewed by Maxwell5.0Oct 2018

  • "The cottage was so comfortable, beds comfortable we all slept really well, the location of the cottage is superb and we miss sitting out with a coffee watching the world go by and of course looking out to sea was wonderful, really wanted to stay, my only complaint is that we had to come home."

    thank you Jean x

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Jul 2018

  • "We would most definitely recommend this Cottage at Sandsend."

    Do be aware that there are steep stairs over three floors. But you will need to go up and down these to work off the delicious fish and chips from Whitby, the breakfasts over the road in the cafe, pork pie from the village store and the button popping meals from the (local - 2 minutes!) away pub. The Cottage is a perfect well equipped base for touring North Yorkshire, that is if you can bear to drag yourself away from the amazing views of the sea from every front window. And at night, if you leave your bedroom window open, you can be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. Beats the rumble of city traffic any day!

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Jul 2018

  • "This holiday home was worth every single tick rating!"

    The home was very comfortable, clean and furnished and equipped to a very high standard. Lovely views from kitchen-diner, first floor sitting room and top floor double. The main road through Sandsend runs in front of the house but the traffic is not that heavy and by mid-evening almost non-existent. Sandsend has minimal facilities, one shop, a couple of cafes and a restaurant so it’s not teeming with tourists, just people who appreciate a nice long beach to walk on. Would thoroughly recommend this holiday home!!

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Apr 2018

  • "This house is amazing and the views are to die for."

    Will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Mar 2018

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x first floor double with en-suite, bath, shower over, basin and WC, 1 x second floor double with en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC, 1 x third floor twin with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Ground floor sitting room
  • First floor sitting room.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and ceramic induction hob, fridge/freezer, washing machine, microwave, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, WIFI, speaker system, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Lockable bike storage
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • this is on a steep drive)
  • There is street parking available outside the property at the back, however, this is busy during peak times
  • Patio with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 10 mins walk and pub 2 mins walk
  • Note: This property does not accept children or infants under 10 years old
  • Please note: The WiFi works on the ground floor only.

The property

This terraced cottage is situated in the village of Sandsend in North Yorkshire, and boasts lovely sea views which you can admire from the comfort of your own home.

With three bedrooms, this retreat offers a refreshing getaway for families or friends, wanting to escape into the peace and quiet of this tranquil location.

Upon entering, a contemporary kitchen is nicely fitted, and holds everything you need to prepare those home cooked meals with your loved ones, before sitting down at the dining area to enjoy.

On the ground floor you will also find a cloakroom.

The sitting room is a comfortable place to relax and benefits from French doors which lead out to a patio area, perfect for getting some fresh air, after a lovely evening.

Take the stairs up to the next floor and a second lounge is elevated by beach views, which you can admire as the day goes by.

To complete this floor, a double bedroom is well presented and comes complete with a beautiful en-suite bathroom.

Another set of stairs holds a second double bedroom, and a twin bedroom boasts an en-suite shower room.

On a free afternoon, why not rest on the patio area and enjoy some quiet time, or wander out towards the sea views, to experience the coastal scenery first-hand.

Sandsend is the ideal place for a family holiday with its award winning, wide sweeping beaches, rock pools and dramatic cliffs.

For the more energetic the village sits on the Cleveland Way Trail, which offers great off-road cycling along the disused coastal railway as well as breath-taking clifftop walks.

This is the perfect holiday destination for all to enjoy.

View on map

About the location

SANDSEND

Whitby 2.5 miles.

Lying on Yorkshire's spectacular Heritage Coastline, Sandsend is the ideal place for a family holiday with its award winning, wide sweeping beaches, rock pools and dramatic cliffs. Indeed this part of the coastline is known locally as the Dinosaur Coast because of the many fossils found here. In the season, beachside stalls offer everything from light snacks and drinks to boats, buckets and spades! Children will enjoy damming the little beck where it crosses the beach to form a freshwater lagoon - great (and safe) for paddling and boating! For the more energetic the village sits on the lovely long distance Cleveland Way Trail, which offers great off-road cycling along the disused coastal railway as well as breathtaking clifftop walks. The National Trust now own the nearby headland, Sandsend Ness, where there is a delightful nature trail in the old quarry pits. A special place offering something for everyone!

Note: This property does not accept children or infants under 10 years old.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Christmas