Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) 14 minutes ago

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 30 View Image Gallery
  • The Spires - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 929720 - photo 1
close

The Spires

(Ref. 929720)

Scarborough, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • apartment (15)
  • lovely (12)
  • clean (11)
  • comfortable (8)
  • location (7)
  • bed (7)

36 Customer Reviews

  • "Absolutely loved this apartment the facilities are great."

    Only thing I would suggest is providing a larger frying pan! We found the one that was there was small to cook for a family of four. Thanks

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Oct 2023

  • "Property out side definitely needs paint work ."

    We had a problem with the key on the main door to the property, we had a new one cut which was slightly better, but still had some trouble.

    Thankyou for booking our holiday home and we hope you had a good stay despite the front door of the building. The house is scheduled to be painted at the beginning of October unfortunately Covid delayed the maintenance of the outside of the building. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathleen5.0Sep 2023

  • "We were there for a week and couldn't get a parking space on street had to pay to stay in car park found that the bed and sofas were quite uncomfortable."

    Thankyou for your booking and your comments. Our king size bed is new for this season and the mattresses in all our rooms are of a high quality as is all our living room furniture so we are sorry you didn't find it comfortable. Parking permits are provided but we can't control spaces on the streets around. We are fortunate to have a large car park Pay and Display in the square as an alternative. Property Owner

    Reviewed by William3.1Jul 2023

  • "Property very clean and short walk to the beach and close to a car park if you are u able to park on the street."

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Apr 2023

  • "The heating had a fault from day one, could not contact any of the 3 numbers ..."

    The heating had a fault from day one, could not contact any of the 3 numbers left in the book for 2 days, no soap in the property and no spare blankets hence i left after 2 days,

    We are really sorry about the heating system I did contact your wife as I couldn't get hold if you on your mobile phone. Sorry you where cold generally the duvets and throws are adequate. We did compensate you for your inconvenience but once again we apologise for housekeeping not responding to your call, they were unaware of the problem. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stuart4.4Mar 2023

  • "Lovely property in a great location for exploring Scarborough."

    Very spacious and big, bright rooms. Good value for money. Doesn’t necessarily look like it was freshly decorated for 2022 as it states in the property description. The twin bedroom carpet is threadbare and the bathroom flooring is uneven and poorly fitted. That being said the rooms are nice, comfortable and pleasant aside from that. Also slightly off putting that every night there were groups hanging around the outside of the building which was intimidating especially when having to pass them to enter back into the property with our children.

    Thankyou for your review The flat was redecorated last year and totally recarpeted in May except for the twin bedded room which is due to have matching carpet laid next week!..I believe the bathroom covering had to be lifted due to a pipe problem but will also get attention. Sorry about the group of people I have no idea what that was about . We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our home Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma3.8Feb 2023

  • "Fantastic flat to stay in."

    Close to everything that brilliant location, close to everything you would need in Scarborough. Will be booking to stay again when up next visiting family.

    Reviewed by Alissa4.7Sep 2022

  • "The photos are clearly very old."

    The outside was extremely scruffy and the flat smelled of damp. We opened the windows and it went The flat has clearly seen better days So much needs painting and repairing. Too much to list here. We left early. We were so disappointed. The keys were really difficult to use and we were locked out if the front door because the lock needs repairing. We had to get the man upstairs to let us in. It was not worth the money we paid and we left early

    Reviewed by Marilyn2.5Aug 2021

  • "I acceotrd the description of opulence times to the property, but it is certainly was very tired and was in need of fresh paint, both bathrooms needed an update."

    The entrance door was temperamental and awkward to open. The beds and sofas were adequate , missing a bit of comfort. There is no washing machine.

    Thank you for your feedback. With regards to some of your comments, the washing machine which is in the kitchen behind the cupboard door. The family bathroom was replaced 4 years ago. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline3.1Aug 2021

  • "Really lovely apartment"

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Jun 2021

  • "Had a fantastic few days away."

    The apartment was extremely clean & nicely furnished. Comfortable beds, good facilities. 5 min walk to the beach (depending on level of fitness as there’s a short cut down the hill side). Sea view from lounge/dining window. If I’m being really picky, there’s just a few things that would of improved my experience - the shower in the en-suite was not powerful, everywhere could of done with a fresh coat of paint (marks on walls, nothing major at all), WiFi didn’t work at all, the bottom drawer on freezer was stuck & there wasn’t many tumbler type glasses (tons of tea cups, hardly any tumblers). But like I said, these are extremely minor things & instead of my rating being a 4* would of made it 5*. Would definitely come back again & recommend to others. Owner & housekeeper easy to get in contact with & very helpful. Thanks again!

    Reviewed by Leia4.4Aug 2020

  • "The apartment was lovely and it was clean however the internet reception was appalling."

    We were unable to watch Netflix although the TV had the capacity. The children were unable to use their IPads because of constant buffering. Our phones were very intermittent. Also the dryer was disabled. This was a beach holiday so obviously there are going to be wet towels and clothes and we visited Alpamar more wet towels and swimming costumes. So that part was very frustrating. Kind Regards Marilyn Surtees

    Reviewed by Marilyn4.1Aug 2020

  • "Unfortunately our four night stay was cur short because the music festival we had planned to se was cancelled."

    Decided to go anyway never having visited Scarborough before. Then on the first night the enforced pub shut downs happened. Most other venues also closed and people were advised to not go anywhere so we went home. Not the venues fault. The one night we stayed was enjoyable and the Spires is a lovely apartment/flat well situated and very roomy and comfortable We did not know about the available parking permit inside the appt until we got in and had by then parked on the pay/display opposite. The building could also do with some type of name plaque on the outside as we had to get out search for it. We will definitely book it again if going to Scarborough.

    Reviewed by Thomas4.7Mar 2020

  • "Nice clean, spacious, well equipped accommodation, will hopefully be staying again in the future"

    Reviewed by Derek5.0Mar 2020

  • "We would like to say that we had a fantastic stay at The Spires, we found the property to be extremely well looked after, it was spotlessly clean and extremely well furnished."

    The apartment was larger, better and more luxurious than advertised and very well equipped. We would not hesitate to recommend this property and are already considering a return visit.

    Reviewed by Scott5.0Feb 2020

  • "Ease of booking, key collection, location, everything was great"

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Dec 2019

  • "Very centrally situated"

    Reviewed by Valerie5.0Oct 2019

  • "The apartment was lovely, clean and nicely furnished."

    It is close to the shops for milk and bread and perfect walking distance to the beach. And if you don't like walking the tram is a 5 min walk to take you down. Will book again here when we next come to Scarborough. Thank you x

    Reviewed by Kerry5.0Aug 2019

  • "We absolutely loved staying at the spires ( family of 4) - all the little home comforts you would want were included."

    .. things that just make life that bit easier: kitchen amenities, little baskets to pop toiletries in, board games, playing cards, books galore. It was fab! Beds were sooo comfy and the location was fabulous - you couldn’t ask for more. Apartment was lovely, clean, homely and modern and there was minimal noise around - we slept amazingly well! Thanks a lot for a lovely base for our well needed holiday this year. We will be back!

    Reviewed by Sally5.0Aug 2019

  • "The only bad point was only being able to open two of the windows so in hot weather it was quiet hot"

    Reviewed by David4.1Jul 2019

  • "Really should not be listed as suitable for five adults."

    A z bed is not at all suitable for an adult to sleep on for a week. The promised parking across the road was not available and having gone out for the day and on returning were unable to find a parking space we had the added cost of using taxis or risking parking fines. Because the windows in the double room don't open it was like trying to sleep in an oven.

    Reviewed by Dorothy4.1Jul 2019

  • "We enjoyed our holiday very much we had everything we needed lovely accommodation and near to everything ."

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jun 2019

  • "Absolutely brilliant, it had everything we needed and more!"

    We will definitely be using this apartment in the future.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Apr 2019

  • "We had a very pleasant stay at the spires lovely clean comfortable apartment, nice 15 min walk to the beach as the cable car was not working, but would not recommend for disabled people because of the stairs, the only thing that we missed was a tv in the bedroom and DVD player to keep the children entertained whilst indoors, otherwise lovely holiday thank you so much."

    Reviewed by M4.7Apr 2019

  • "Location for us was excellent for the shops and the Spa."

    Very comfortable apartment with excellent facilities

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Oct 2018

  • "Great location"

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Aug 2018

  • "Had an enjoyable week-long seaside holiday staying in The Spires apartment with my wife and newborn son, however there were a few things that disappointed us that we feel are worth mentioning."

    Starting with the positives: it's in a really good location for stunning clifftop walks along esplanade, has a bright and spacious lounge area and is generally well equipped. Negatives we found were: the gas oven took an age to warm up or cook, it was noisy in the daytime due to renovation works to the apartment next door and there was roudiness outside the Yorkshire Tap pub across the road every night. Our holiday wasn't spoilt, but it didn't live up to the 4 tick standard we've come to expect from Sykes.

    Reviewed by James3.8Jun 2018

  • "Enjoyed a lovely week in a comfortable, clean and well equipped home which was ideally situated for the beach and town."

    Reviewed by Wendy3.8May 2018

  • "The accommodation was spotless, extremely comfortable, tastefully furnished and spacious."

    Looks exactly like it appears on the website. Only slight criticism is the main bathroom. We couldn't use the handheld shower We were able to use the one in the double room en suite though. So no major hardship. Apart from that we were thrilled to bits with the apartment.

    Reviewed by Janice4.6Nov 2017

  • "Would highly recommend , lovely flat"

    Reviewed by Richard4.8Jul 2017

  • "Flat was amazing and perfectly placed in Scarborough."

    . thanks again

    Reviewed by Steven5.0Jul 2017

  • "Great place to explore Scarborough and surrounding towns."

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Feb 2017

  • "The Spires is exactly as we wished for."

    Clean, spacious and I'm easy access of Scarborough. We throughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to others and would book again in the future.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Feb 2017

  • "Spotlessly clean and had everything we needed only one thing I would recommend for people today is a coffee machine so we could make a fresh coffee."

    We did not cook but there was all equipment if you did. Lovely large apartment in quiet road. We were certainly impressed and would recommend.

    Reviewed by S5.0Oct 2016

  • "Absolutely fantastic felt at home"

    Reviewed by Shona5.0Aug 2016

  • "The apartment was so spacious and comfortable, with a lovely decor which enabled us to have a lovely holiday."

    Reviewed by Bernadette5.0Jul 2016

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All first floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double and en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with dining area.
  • Gas central heating
  • Gas oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 mins walk
  • Note: All day road side parking with permit which is provided on arrival
  • Freshly decorated for 2022

The property

The Spires is a spacious first floor apartment within a short stroll of the town of Scarborough, North Yorkshire.

This lovely apartment (freshly decorated for 2022) enjoys glimpses of the sea and is a two minute walk away from the Esplanade, from were you can admire the magnificent views of the Spa and South Bay.

The sitting room provides a flavour of the opulence of bygone times from the huge feature window to the ornate cornice.

The accommodation offers a twin and double bedroom with a en-suite shower room together with a family bathroom.

It is said that Scarborough became known as the world's first seaside resort in the 1600s as people came to take the waters at The Spa.

The Yorkshire coast offers an array of artistic talents and cultures from the Stephen Joseph Theatre, Open Air Theatre and The Spa, hosting festivals throughout the year.

The glorious sandy beaches go on forever and the spectacular cliffs offer superb views and are an ornithologist’s paradise!

Inland, the woodlands and heather-clad moorlands of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park are quite breathtaking.

History buffs will be in their element as this part of the world is steeped in history, with a variety of stately homes, abbeys and castles to visit.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SCARBOROUGH

Pickering 17 miles; Whitby 20 miles; York 40 miles.

Popular since Victorian times, the vibrant seaside town of Scarborough retains many of its original fine buildings, parks and gardens, as well as its historic castle which overlooks the town. North Bay and South Bay provide two superb stretches of beautiful, golden sandy beaches, popular with families and small children. There are a number of child friendly activities and many excellent visitor attractions for grown-ups too, including the Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough Spa and Scarborough Open Air Theatre for live music. Scarborough is a great location for outdoor activities, with golf courses, lovely coastal walks along the Cleveland Way, stunning cycle routes such as the old railway to Whitby, beautiful sailing and championship quality surfing. Add to this all the usual seaside entertainment and bustling promenades located close to the beach and Scarborough is the destination with something for everyone. Ideally situated for touring the coastline and the moors, Scarborough is an ideal base for a fun-filled break.

View more holiday cottages in Scarborough

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas