Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

  • Lowdale Barns East - (Ref. 956467)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
1 of 19 Artboard Created with Sketch. View Larger Image
  • Lowdale Barns East - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 956467 - photo 1
close
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Lowdale Barns East

Sleights, North York Moors & Coast (Ref. 956467)

4.7

Excellent

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 2

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

61 Customer Reviews

  • "An ideal location especially for dog owners."

    Helpful and pleasant hosts. The barn is well appointed with everything you could possibly need. Would defiantly recommend.

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2022

  • "The accommodation is in a good location for visiting all the places of interest in the area."

    It is well appointed to a high standard and is in a very peaceful setting.

    Reviewed by SheilaApr 2022

  • "Only fault was the table lamp didnt work."

    Lowdale Barn was great for my needs. Beautifully decorated and comfy bed!

    Reviewed by PaulineMar 2022

  • "Lovely stay at Lowdale Barns East ."

    . Barn had everything that we needed and was clean and welcoming. Set in lovely surroundings, was peaceful and perfectly located for what we wanted to do.

    Reviewed by JoMar 2022

  • "Lovely property but some issues with cleanliness."

    Grill pan and oven very dirty ..... and nothing to clean them with. Cutlery also not clean and the plug in the shower had clearly not been cleaned for weeks. Also very dusty floor in the bedroom.

    Reviewed by WilliamJan 2022

  • "This was our second year staying here we have stayed in both east & west barns ..."

    This was our second year staying here we have stayed in both east & west barns the views are amazing and the both barns are beautiful the owners are so lovely would highly recommend staying here watching the owls and deer are fantastic to watch and the silence is golden the owners couldn’t do enough for you i could go on and on about this fantastic place thankyou for everything lots of love Tina xx

    Reviewed by TinaDec 2021

  • "Ideal location to explore the Yorkshire Coast."

    We had a very enjoyable stay. Barn was spacious and comfortable and on the whole had everything we needed. The underfloor heating ensured a warm welcome following days out in chilly December. We would recommend Lowdale East Barn without hesitation. Our only feedback would be that the barn listing states that there is no shaver point in the property and visitors would need to bring an adaptor to charge for example an electric toothbrush.

    Reviewed by SimonDec 2021

  • "Great stay at Lowdale barns East, warm and comfortable property with most equipment required, beautiful rural setting but within walking distance to a friendly pub and great butchers/deli."

    Close to Whitby, Pickering, Robin Hoods Bay and Staithes. Just one suggestion would be the availability of a velux pole as had the back door open for fresh air and had a visit from a dog walking on the foot path, we love dogs but did not want a muddy dog in the property. Great relaxing week, would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by SarahDec 2021

  • "Absolutely lovely property in a wonderful setting ."

    Open fields to the back of the barn. Furnishings modern with a touch of country. Only wish would be a washing machine and tumble dryer or facilities to wash and dry clothes. Other than that a really lovely holiday break

    Reviewed by AndrewOct 2021

  • "Beautiful location, very peaceful."

    Cottage extremely nice and warm thanks to the underfloor heating. Fantastic shower with piping hot water, very comfortable bed. Great TV for evenings and everything we needed. Just a couple of suggestions having a dog it would have been handy to have a bucket or hosepipe fitted out back to clean her when coming in from muddy walks to save messing the barn. Also a kitchen roll and salt and pepper in the kitchen would have been handy plus some soap in the bathroom to wash hands. Only one little negative the security lights out the back shine straight into the bedroom. Apart from that would highly recommend this barn as it's a great base for exploring the beautiful area.

    Reviewed by DawnOct 2021

  • "A wonderfull barn conversion let down by not having spare toilet rolls and no toilet ckeaning brush, no what you expect from top end accomodation."

    The welcome pack was dismal compared to other holiday lets we have used.

    Reviewed by JohnSep 2021

  • "We had a lovely week's holiday staying at Lowdale Barns East."

    Great location for going to places in North Yorkshire. Would definitely stay there again. We cannot fault it in anyway. It was very clean

    Reviewed by JohnSep 2021

  • "Fantastic location with easy access to the Yorkshire Moors."

    Nicely presented cottage, perfect for a summer break.

    Reviewed by NicholasAug 2021

  • "A wonderful comfy cottage in a lovely location."

    Very peaceful and yet not far away from the village. Sleights has a Spar shop, butcher, and bakery as well as a pub and fish and chip restaurant. Whitby is only a few minutes Drive away. Great. We loved the outside seating area. We had everything that we wanted in the cottage. We would love to go back again very soon.

    Reviewed by SusanJul 2021

  • "This barn conversion cottage has two rooms and a shower room."

    The views are lovely and the location is very quiet. It’s an excellent walking centre with footpaths from the doorstep. The accommodation is very simple, even basic. It’s listed as dog friendly but dogs are not allowed on the furniture or in the bedroom. Whitby and the Esk Valley villages are in easy reach by train or on foot. Steam trains from the wonderful North York Moors run through the local station regularly (but may not stop for passengers). If you like simple but attractively situated accommodation with plenty of good walks on your doorstep this is for you.

    Thank you for your feedback,we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. your comments will be passed onto the owner about the cleanliness issues and how the property didn't exactly meet expectations. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LawrenceJul 2021

  • "Lowdale Barn is in a lovely, quiet location, with beautiful views and great for exploring the area."

    The Property was clean and spacious but, we felt, was lacking in the personal touches for a luxury property. There wasn’t any kitchen cleaner, washing up liquid and only 1 toilet roll, whilst this isn’t a huge problem we would have expected the basics in a property like this. It is listed as dog friendly and some information about walking routes from the property would have been greatly appreciated. There is a public footpath which is mentioned but does run fairly close to the back of the barn and is used frequently, therefore may not be suitable for all dog owners. Saying that we thoroughly enjoyed our week here and would hopefully love to return.

    Reviewed by TanyaJul 2021

  • "Lovely rural position, shame about lights on at the darkest times both back and front."

    Reviewed by WalterJun 2021

  • "Lovely peaceful location with great views."

    Very clean and cosy barn conversion, just right for two. Very comfy bed and great shower. Very friendly and helpful owners. Would love to come again.

    Reviewed by KeithJun 2021

  • "Great accommodation, just like a home from home with everything you require to enjoy a relaxing holiday."

    Although a little isolated this was a perfect base from which to explore the attractions in the surrounding area. Can highly recommend.

    Reviewed by JohnJun 2021

  • "Yesterday evening I forwarded to you a fairly detailed account, together with photographs, of the grubby/unhygienic state of the property."

    Please refer to my emailed account. Thank you.

    Reviewed by MargaretJun 2021

  • "What a beautiful comfortable place."

    There is everything you need and more and the space for a 1 bedroom place is amazing.

    Reviewed by JoanneApr 2021

  • "Clean and spacious apartment with everything needed."

    There would have been a few more touches pre covid (soft furnishings removed) but was still lovely. Would recommend.

    Reviewed by ZaheraOct 2020

  • "The cottage was in a nice setting."

    It was clean and very comfortable and modern and all on one floor. The views were fantastic. I can imagine it in spring when all the birds would be singing. All in all a very nice place.

    Reviewed by JohnOct 2020

  • "Enjoyed staying here - perfect!"

    Reviewed by NicolaOct 2020

  • "The lovely countryside situation of this property and the owners was a delight."

    We will be back.

    Reviewed by GeoffreySep 2020

  • "Excellent accommodation."

    Clean, modern with everything you need. The shower was great and the bed comfortable. Set in a beautiful peaceful location but close to lots of great places to visit in this lovely part of the world. We had a really great holiday and I can't recommend this accommodation enough.

    Reviewed by FionaAug 2020

  • "We had a very enjoyable stay at Lowdale Barns East."

    The cottage was attractively furnished, clean, comfortable and well equipped and everything was in working order. It was a perfect place to retreat and relax after our days out on the beautiful Yorkshire coast.

    Reviewed by AlanAug 2020

  • "Very nice and clean holiday home, great for anybody who likes to watch wildlife on your doorstep."

    owners very helpful but discreet. due to covid situation we felt very secure and safe at this property.

    Reviewed by RichardJul 2020

  • "Couldn’t fault the property and the location is ideal, we will definitely be returning."

    The owner had thought of everything, all utensils, pans, egg cups, various glasses, even bakeware and roasting tins etc. Very well thought out and it felt homely. All furniture and furnishings were a very high quality. We will find it difficult to find other properties that measure up to this one.

    Reviewed by JillMar 2020

  • "The owner was on site and we were allowed to go in the property early which was nice ."

    It was everything it said in the advert, we only had a problem with the settee and chair being low, but that's because we are ageing in years. But property brilliant..

    Reviewed by ChristineMar 2020

  • "The property is modern & very comfortable."

    The location is ideal being close to Whitby but situated in a quiet rural area. The accommodation is well equipped & Rachael was very welcoming. We will return in the future!

    Reviewed by LesleyFeb 2020

  • "We have used lowdale barns east 3 times now and the standards have never dropped ."

    We have booked again for june

    Reviewed by TommyDec 2019

  • "Beautifully presented cottage but feel that mention should be made of the footpath close to rear of property and long track from road."

    10 minute walk pub not open. Sykes presentation unrealistic ( wine and glasses etc) compared to two coffee sachets and two teabags and a packet of biscuits. No salt and pepper no sugar. We have had many cottage holidays and the provisions here were frugal. It’s sad as the cottage is lovely.

    Reviewed by SusanOct 2019

  • "It was all we wanted, a beautiful place, inside and out."

    So clean, and modern. lovely walks right on the door step. People so friendly on the walks, could not wish for anything better, we just love the place, can not wait to go back next year with our dog. so relaxing. Dog friendly where ever we went.Our dog just loved the walks all around use.

    Reviewed by BrianSep 2019

  • "Would have liked more glasses to save hand washing rather than using dishwasher every 2 or 3 days along with cutlery etc"

    Reviewed by DavidSep 2019

  • "We both enjoyed our holiday and would return again"

    Reviewed by GeoffreySep 2019

  • "Barn is a very modern conversion from the stable block to the original Lowdale House."

    Several reviewers have commented on the state of the long drive but the worst is the road past The Salmon Leap pub (now closed) and station. You can drive though a private tarmac road just after the Spar and butchers on you way into Sleights which is better. There is no secure dog area which some might find a problem our Greyhound goes on a lead because of wildlife so we were not concerned. Asked to park car beyond gate to paddock but it needs two people as a simple gate hook would stop the gate closing. No hover as we like to clean up before leaving just a brush and pan. I did think that the available tea/coffee etc was poor. One tea bag each and only one toilet roll. Notice asking not to put food down the sink but no kitchen towel to enable plates to be wiped and fat from pan. A trip to Spar was definitely needed. These are little niggles but having stayed in many Skyes Cottages I do think they could be improved.

    Reviewed by ElisabethAug 2019

  • "My satnav had difficulty in locating the property."

    I'm now aware that as the property is located off road on an unmade track it was unable to direct me without me asking someone for exact directions. The signposts showing LOWDALE HALL AND LOWDALE FARM could have been larger and more visible, Otherwise no problems.The owners were very welcoming so we would consider a further visit in the future.

    Reviewed by BJul 2019

  • "Was nice to have a lovely barn , that was soo nice and dog friendly."

    Lovely walks for all.

    Reviewed by LorraineJul 2019

  • "This was one of the best small cottages that we have stayed in, everything that we required for our stay was on hand."

    The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard, the bed is extremely comfortable and there is surprisingly quite a lot of room. It is very conveniently situated just outside Whitby and close to the moors. If you take a dog there are walks from the back door. The description should include that the property is at the end of an unmade farm track, that some vehicles (low level) might have a problem accessing.

    Reviewed by GeoffJul 2019

  • "Peace, perfect peace."

    It is in a very quiet private area with beautiful surroundings. Sitting in the back patio in the evening was an absolute pleasure, watching so many different birds playing around, and, of course, rabbits scuttling around in the fields. Binoculars are highly recommended. Easy walking to the train station, and the local bus stop. Whitby really close, and also the moors are very close. Highly recommendable !

    Reviewed by JeffreyJun 2019

  • "Wonderful stay."

    Extremely comfortable bed. Very clean and tidy. Only complaint.....Outside space could be better. Back step to low and could do with part paved patio.

    Reviewed by SallyJun 2019

  • "Great location so quiet and peaceful , lovely barn conversion very well decorated and very clean ,well equipped ."

    Lots of places close by to visit ,

    Reviewed by FredMay 2019

  • "Everything was perfect and we will definitely be booking again"

    Reviewed by AngelaMay 2019

  • "All was as described, very nice place with everything you would require."

    Bed was comfortable, could do with more storage although from previous feed back a small wardrobe has been added. Walk in shower was of the overhead type, powerful and hot, no hand held, so ladies may need a shower cap. TV was a large free sat and if you have your Netflix login it is possible to get Netflix. Wi Fi was BT and fast with no drop out. Nice location with field all around. Well placed for Whitby, Robin hoods bay, Scarborough, Filey and Bridlington as well as a host of other places. Try the Stables at Cross Butts for a good meal, not cheap but worth it, also the three Jolly Sailors Burniston on the way to Scarborough, cheaper but still good. Both serve hand pumped beer. Be aware that the location is down a gravel track. Luckily we were in a 4x4. if we had not taken the dog we would have gone in the MG and had to park else where. That being said access is ok for modern cars. Would recommend for either a quiet brake of a busy brake visiting the area.

    Reviewed by AndrewApr 2019

  • "A lovely comfortable place to stay that is ideally situated to explore the North Yorkshire coastline."

    Reviewed by DavidApr 2019

  • "We have been to this barn several times now and it is always very clean ,the ..."

    We have been to this barn several times now and it is always very clean ,the owner is very friendly and the location is perfect for exploring the area,we have been in quite a few cottages and this one is the best one we have stayed in

    Reviewed by TommyApr 2019

  • "The barn was exactly as advertised."

    It was very clean and had great facilities. The WiFi was excellent. The hosts were very friendly. We had one small problem with the shower and Rachel responded very promptly. I would thoroughly recommend the property. It was an excellent base for walking straight from the barn and also only a 10 minute drive to Whitby. Also the local train station at Sleights was only 10 minutes walk away. The local butchers and bakers were excellent and not forgetting the fantastic fish and chip shop! We know when we have had a good holiday when we are sad to leave !!

    Reviewed by AlanMar 2019

  • "Fantastic accommodation and beautiful peaceful setting."

    Couldn't fault it. We have booked again for May and lookinging forward to our return. Many thanks to Rachel who was a lovely host.

    Reviewed by HelenDec 2018

  • "The cottage is so wonderful , the interior is built to the highest spec, just loved it!"

    Reviewed by SharonDec 2018

  • "Had the most wonderful week at Lowdale Barns East."

    The cottage was first class,lovely,cosy and comfortable.The milk and the biscuits were a nice touch and very much appreciated.Would highly recommend and nothing was too much trouble for Rachel.

    Reviewed by DebbieNov 2018

  • "We absolutely loved Lowdale Barns."

    The accommodation was very clean, bed comfortable and the kitchen well equipped for a self catering holiday. We appreciated the little extras, foil, kitchen roll, cling film, dishwasher tablets etc and milk and biscuits on arrival are always welcome! We were a bit concerned that being a barn conversion we might feel cold - we needn't have worried the underfloor heating worked perfectly and we were always toasty and warm. Would not hesitate to recommend.

    Reviewed by KimOct 2018

  • "This is our 2nd visit to Lonsdale barns east this year,it is in a good location for exploring the area,the accomadation is very clean and tidy and owner was very friendly on our arrival."

    Will be returning again next year

    Reviewed by TommyOct 2018

  • "Efficient service from Sykes as ever."

    Reviewed by ChristopherAug 2018

  • "We had an excellent holiday."

    The cottage was very clean and well equipped. It is very close to lots of interesting places to visit. The only thing that we could have been warned about was the public footpath that runs directly at the back of the cottage. I opened the blinds in my nightdress the first morning to be confronted by people walking their dogs. Not a problem once we knew but bit of warning would have saved any embarrassment!

    Reviewed by ValerieAug 2018

  • "Nothing"

    Reviewed by JohnApr 2018

  • "It's a lovely peaceful location, owners are very nice and welcoming, with everything you need in the village of Sleights."

    Plenty of walks from the door, will definitely book this cottage again.

    Reviewed by StewartMar 2018

  • "Warm, comfortable and clean Lowdale Barn is in a good position for touring the North Yorkshire coast."

    It is dog friendly with some good local walks for exercising your dog. It is well equipped and the conversion has been carried out tastefully and sympathetically. It is in a quiet and peaceful position and our time there was very relaxing. Be aware that the private drive leading to the barn is heavily pot holed so drive very slowly.

    Reviewed by PeterMar 2018

  • "The welcome we received was great this was our first experience of renting a cottage and we would recommend it to everyone."

    Peaceful beautiful surroundings near the river Esk. Outdoor as well as indoor space. The Barns are extremely clean and well presented for us it felt like home from home. Great base to explore from.

    Reviewed by SallyDec 2017

  • "Lovely place to stay."

    My wife and I and our golden retriever lewie had a great time. I would highly recommend. The barn has been finished to a very high spec. Had a few issues with the hot water with shower running cold sometimes. But when it was working the shower was great. Overall i wouldn't think twice about visiting again. :)

    Reviewed by BenNov 2017

  • "The cottage was stunning."

    Very Hugh standard and had everything to hand. The owner was so accommodating when we got there, fresh milk, tea, coffee biscuits and everything. A massive thank you, we had a great break x

    Reviewed by ClaireOct 2017

Show more

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • One king-size double bedroom with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with a kitchen, dining area and a sitting area.
  • Oil underfloor heating
  • Electric oven, ceramic hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, Smart TV with FreeSat, DVD, WIFI, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • Private patio with furniture and a shared lawn
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Shop 0.9 miles, pub 1.4 miles
  • Note: There is a public footpath close to the rear of the property

The property

This is a luxury, stone-built barn conversion set in the North Yorkshire village of Sleights.

The open plan living area, luxury furnishings, Smart TVs and exposed wooden beams make this bungalow perfect for a relaxing, romantic retreat.

Note: This cottage can be booked with Ref. 956466, together they can sleep 4 people.

Lowdale Barns

A couple of exquisite, stone-built barn conversions set in an old stables in the rural village of Sleights in North Yorkshire. These spectacular bungalows haven been renovated from old farm buildings, they still bare the original stone walls and wooden beams to add charm and character. Lowdale Barns are some of the highest quality properties on our books, they have fantastic furnishings throughout with modern laminate flooring, spacious open plan living areas, Smart TVs, WIFI, well-equipped kitchens, underfloor heating and comfortable living spaces. They both enjoy high, vaulted ceilings, one with a velux window brightening the inside. They come with luxury shower rooms with large walk-in, rainfall showers. To the outside of the cottages, each one comes with its own seating area, perfect to sit out with your morning coffee and plan the days' events. There is also a shared lawn to enjoy on the sunny days. Lowdale Barns come in the village of Sleight, it offers the essentials with a shop, pub, chippy and a café, it is ideally based for a country and coastal holiday as it comes with both within easy reach. The brilliant former fishing port of Whitby is a short drive away with its great range of shops.scenery and a stunning harbour to enjoy. A group of beautiful barns in a lovely rural location.

View on map

About the location

SLEIGHTS

Whitby 4 miles.

Sleights is ideal for both a coastal and country holiday. Just 4 miles from the picturesque Yorkshire coastline, it is also on the edge of the dramatic North Yorkshire moors country, littered with attractive villages and scenery, which is very popular with walkers and cyclists. Though quiet, Sleights boasts a pub, a fish and chip shop, an antique shop (with cafe), a butcher's, a bakery, a hairdressers, a cafe and a Post Office within a Spar shop. The North Yorkshire Steam Railway terminus is a few minutes’ drive, together with regular public transport to and from the nearby port of Whitby. Whitby lies at the mouth of the River Esk and is ideally situated for exploring this beautiful part of Yorkshire. It is an atmospheric town of winding streets and hidden alleys, with a picturesque harbour, safe sandy beaches and, of course, the abbey, reached by the famous 199 steps.

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it