Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 16 View Image Gallery
  • Ted's Place - Yorkshire Dales - 1066535 - photo 1
close

Ted's Place

(Ref. 1066535)

Whitby, Yorkshire Dales - North Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 3 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • place (18)
  • location (17)
  • lovely (17)
  • cottage (14)
  • clean (13)
  • great (12)

38 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a great time at Ted's Place."

    It was a well equipped cottage, warm, cosy and clean and in a prime location to all of the wonderful delights of Whitby. We'd highly recommend it.

    Reviewed by Melanie5.0Mar 2024

  • "I have been to this cottage several times and this time notice the deterioration of the maintainace and cleanliness of the cottage ."

    The floor was lifting in the living area which we kept tripping over.All the air fresheners I had to un plug as they was all empty some was even going brown due to not being changed and left plugged in air fresheners last a month so they not be changed in a while for them to go brown.This is a fire hazard .There was mould on the landing and mould in the bathroom and in the bedroom under the dressing table was a nozzle for a hairdryer on the floor which I picked up it had been there a while cause it was very dusty and the dressing table chair I had to wipe before I could sit on it.The lampshades are very dusty the rug was dirty in living area. The door to the back kept sticking I could not open it myself .The security door at the front was broke and had to be holded back with a brick. There was dog dirt outside the property one morning cause the security door was not working which we had to clean.We stayed for 11 days as anyone would I got the hoover to hoover and it was absolutely disgusting the smell that came from it.Again this shows not being cleaned proper to smell as it did .The extractor fan in the bathroom needs cleaning and the back needs power washing as it’s green and smells .We payed over £1600 for our stay the cottage is in need of a good clean and updating.I won’t stay here again

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all feed back. We are extremely upset to hear all your comments, we take great care with our cottages and pride ourselves on service and cleanliness. Unfortunately, there had been a leak which resulted in the floor lifting, this floor has only been down for 9 months, it is currently getting replaced. Because of all the rain and snow the security door swelled and the lock had to be removed as we couldn't get anyone to fix it during the Christmas period. This is now fixed. We will address your other comments so thank you again for bringing them to our attention. If you had alerted us during your stay we could of relocated you into one of our other cottages, unfortunately there is nothing we can do once you have left. Despite this I hope you had a nice Christmas break. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane2.5Dec 2023

  • "It was lovely has everything we needed for our short stay x"

    Reviewed by Becky5.0Oct 2023

  • "We had a fabulous stay at Ted’s place in Whitby, once we had found it"

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Sep 2023

  • "The small signs for teds place is placed in the alleyway, which is very hard to see when you are looking for the accommodation."

    We drove round and round and could not find it,so we had to park up and walk around and finally a local new where it was. The parking info is not very clear. For example there was no info regarding disable parking, which would make it easier for disable car parking. The scratch card W zone should be made clearer how to use at the start when you first get there,as this is the first thing you have to do when you find teds place The only fault I found: We would not use the oven as it is/was very dirty and you could see it had not been cleaned for some time

    Thank you for your feedback Yvonne. Regarding the parking there is a coloured map in the cottage and a picture of the parking signs showing all the areas you can park with the permits I left you, did you not see them ? I emailed you prior to your stay with photos and further instructions on how to find the cottage so it looks like you didn't receive the email. I am sorry to hear about the oven, I have passed your comments onto the cleaner. Despite this I do hope you had a lovely time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Yvonne3.8Aug 2023

  • "Lovely place."

    Clean, well equipped and great location.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Aug 2023

  • "Very clean, comfortable and great location"

    Thanks very much for your lovely feedback. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Jul 2023

  • "Fabulous stay love whitby and ted’s place is really lovely only reduced the comfort because of the mattresses but only because me and my son prefer firmer mattresses and they were a bit too soft for us but it is personal preference."

    The shower is amazing. Convenient place to go anywhere in whitby town thanks to owner for leaving the parking permits

    Reviewed by Tracey4.7Jun 2023

  • "Excellent location everything we needed for a pleasant stay would definitely stay again highly recommend"

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely time here."

    The cottage was spotless and very comfortable with everything you would need. The location was excellent being very close to restaurants, bars etc. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Edward5.0Mar 2023

  • "Ted’s place was exactly as described."

    We were comfortable and enjoyed having WiFi and google. The shower was spacious and hot. We had everything we needed ( apart from a tea towel ) Short walk to the harbour, it was a lovely area. A few mishaps at the start with our car, the TV and a pair of reading glasses. The owner and the staff at Coastal Cottages were very helpful. Managed to walk the 199 steps to the Abbey despite being listed for a hip replacement! Would like to go back when it’s warmer to enjoy sitting outside - with a new hip.

    Reviewed by Lucy5.0Mar 2023

  • "What a lovely stay we had."

    Very clean and cosy. Home from home with lovely touches such as biscuits, milk etc. ideally situated for both beaches , shops and harbour. Such an excellent location. Couldn’t ask for anything better. The provision of scratch cards enables parking on adjacent streets free of charge , thank you so much. Deb and Gordon

    Reviewed by Deb4.7Dec 2022

  • "A very clean and tidy place."

    Everything you need for a home from home vacation. Well placed for access to all the facilities that Whitby has to offer, with excellent transport links. A very thoughtful welcome pack, with lots of information, and a handy parking permit included! Regards, Robert.

    Reviewed by Robert4.1Oct 2022

  • "A great cottage, right in the heart of whitby, fantastic location, had a lovely ..."

    A great cottage, right in the heart of whitby, fantastic location, had a lovely weekend, will be back and will recommend to others

    Reviewed by Damon5.0Jul 2022

  • "Lovely little cottage perfectly, positioned for a quiet holiday."

    A short walk to takes you to the harbour side were the quaint shops, pubs and famous fish and chip shops are!!( an excellent fish & chip shop is 40 yards from the cottage)

    Reviewed by Roger4.1Jun 2022

  • "Decent property."

    Very good, central location. Excellent service from the house team that sorted out a couple of minor problems that we had. Could do with a decent map showing the location of the cottage and its associated roads, especially the one-way system and the best way to get there.

    Reviewed by Richard3.8May 2022

  • "The first thing that hit us when we opened the door was a lovely welcoming smell."

    . The cottage is clean, comfortable & well maintained & had everything we could possibly need for our stay. Its in a great location near shops, bars & cafes but tucked away so its nice & peaceful. Our little dog loved the little yard. The beds have to be the comfiest beds we have slept in we left after our weekend feeling really refreshed. We would highly recommend Ted Place

    Reviewed by Lindsey5.0May 2022

  • "Lovely cottage it was definitely home from home."

    Great location out the way of the crowds but just a 5 minute walk to the town and harbour. We will be booking again next year.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0May 2022

  • "Really good apart from ALL the air fresheners."

    They are bad for my chest and it took me 2 days to find them all. There were even 2in the pan cupboard,

    Reviewed by Lyn4.1May 2022

  • "Fabulous place, well equipped, central location."

    The little yard at the back was secure & ideal for our dog.

    Reviewed by Antony5.0Apr 2022

  • "This I a clean well presented holiday home."

    With all close amenities,easy walking distance to harbour, restaurants and bars.

    5.0Mar 2022

  • "Another great week at our favourite bolt hole ."

    And the recliner does work. Will book again .

    Reviewed by Douglas5.0Mar 2022

  • "What a lovely place."

    Clean well stocked. Upstairs floor creeks alot. Hidden away but in the center of everything. Short walk to west cliff or down the road to the harbour. Would stay again.

    Reviewed by Jill5.0Feb 2022

  • "I’m not one to moan about dog friendly self catering property, but I feel it’s needed in in this case."

    We booked Ted’s Place in February for 7 nights but we left after 5 nights as it was not a good experience at all. We were greeted to a dishwasher full of dirty dishes, so we had to put it on and wait for it to finish before we could have a cup of tea after our long drive to Whitby, as there wasn’t a clean cup in the property, which wasn’t the best start! There were no street parking scratch cards at the property as advertised, I had to ring around myself then fetch them myself from the office, good job I arrived to Whitby while the office was still open! The washing machine was full of mould and was not usable as it stank too bad. The mattress on both beds were that old, thin and uncomfortable you sank into them and felt every spring. Both my husband and myself couldn’t get much sleep on the bed at all. They were the worst mattresses I’ve ever seen in a self catering property, and we use pet friendly self catering properties in the UK on an average of 5 a year! The single bed had a dirty brown mark on the flat sheet and the whole bedding stank too much to sleep on. And had the same problem as the other bed’s mattress, being old and you felt every spring in it. The grill on the cooker didn’t work properly, it only heated up half on 1 side, the other side didn’t work at all. The living room carpet was very ‘grubby’ and the whole house needed a good clean, ie the dust on the table lamps and mirrors was quite bad. The window blinds were very dusty too and some were twisted and battered. On a plus side, the bathroom was clean and the shower was very nice and the location was good as it was very close to the town.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you did not have the best experience. I am very surprised at this feedback as this does not reflect the usual feedback we get from this property. Regarding your comments about the mattresses, these are memory foam mattresses with no springs in them at all. They are only 10 months old and have 4 inch mattress toppers on them as well so I don't understand how you could have felt every spring. Again the carpets are new and as with any holiday property they are deep cleaned regularly. We apologise for the oversight on the housekeeper’s part with the dishwasher, this is not acceptable and they have been spoken to so it shouldn’t happen again. I know you came into local office to voice your concerns and you were offered a re- clean of the property but you declined. We have had the grill looked at so thank you for bringing this to our attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen1.6Feb 2022

  • "We did have trouble gaining entry to the outside door of the property and had to call the local agents."

    They couldn't open the door either but managed to get a relative to come down and they had the knack !!! I did mention this to the handyman who was working on the next cottage and we did text the owner of the property but she was away. Took a while but we got in and all was well

    Reviewed by L4.7Feb 2022

  • "Teds Place is perfect for exploring Whitby and the surrounding area."

    Situated close to the centre of Whitby nothing was far away. The facilities were great the cottage was very clean and comfortable. For a winter break we had perfect weather cold and dry. The cottage was warm and cosy. Thank you for d lovely stay and a much needed getaway x

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Jan 2022

  • "Couch not very comfy reclining chair didn't work"

    Reviewed by Allen4.4Oct 2021

  • "Location, home comforts, amenities"

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Sep 2021

  • "Loved this little place."

    Just perfect size and location Can’t fault it

    Reviewed by Donna5.0Sep 2021

  • "The house is in a great location only a few minutes walk to the beach and slightly further to reach beautiful countryside walks to neighbouring villages."

    Find the cinder track and you can walk, run or cycle for miles. I think this track would be suitable for buggies and wheelchairs however Whitby and the surrounding landscape is hilly which makes the scenery stunning but challenging for the less mobile. The little courtyard is private and such a lovely place to unwind however there are plenty pubs and restaurants nearby. There is also a traditional bakers shop and a delicatessen a few minutes walk away and great little cafes too. You can walk to a lot of the places of local Interest so parking up the car and forgetting about it during your holiday is definitely an option. We had our dog with us and the house was ideal especially the courtyard which provided a shady spot for him during the hot weather. It also provides a place to dry off swimwear and water sport equipment safely. A great place to stay whatever you want from your holiday in Whitby.

    Reviewed by Audrey5.0Jul 2021

  • "Cottage owners were really helpful when we has a small issue with the WiFi; the owner was around to fix it within the hour."

    Would happily book Ted's place again.

    Reviewed by Daniel3.8Jul 2021

  • "Great location in the heart of whitby"

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Jun 2021

  • "The accommodation was lovely and well equipped."

    The beds are really comfortable and the little touches to welcome us on arrival were much appreciated. Parking can be a challenge but its ideally located for amazing walks so we didnt move our car all week once we had found a permit space.

    Reviewed by Jen5.0May 2021

  • "We had a fantastic time ."

    Teds Place was so lovely, the only criticism is the shower could be hotter . We understand it’s probably set at a temperature for safety reasons but a little notch up would be good.

    Thanks very much for your feedback I'm so pleased you had a lovely time. Wasn't aware the shower was not hot enough, will send the plumber round this week. Thanks again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debra5.0May 2021

  • "Great little bolt hole ."

    Nice and clean .had all that you want . Close to my local in whitby . Would book again .

    Reviewed by Douglas4.4May 2021

  • "Ted's Place, we loved it."

    Bright modern decor and furnishings- a tardis of a cottage. Everything we needed in a holiday home to explore Whitby and the surrounding areas. Lovely to arrive back each day and eat in a well equipped kitchen and a very comfortable bed to retire into at the end of the day. Very nice touches in the house on our arrival which made a lovely start to our holiday. 4* to the owners.

    Reviewed by David5.0May 2021

  • "Ted's place is a cosy hideaway well-equipped cottage in the heart of Whitby."

    There is everything in the cottage to enable you to stay in if you want and it is also only a few minutes walk from the town centre. We loved our stay there and would definitely return

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Apr 2021

  • "Great location, central but quiet and on a nice street."

    We locked ourselves out and the owner came and let us back in and was lovely. We parked initially at the Silver Street car park (Pay and Display) to unload, then used the parking permit system on streets a few minute's walk away. The cottage was small but with great amenities, all very comfy and clean and nicer than expected, it also had a little outdoor area with tables and chairs. Would visit again!

    Reviewed by Tasia5.0Apr 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Yorkshire Coastal Cottages collection.
Over 120 carefully selected properties in Yorkshire

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x single
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and cot available
  • Roadside parking with scratchcard
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking allowed
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub 0.1 miles, beach 0.2 miles

The property

Nestled at the heart of the seaside town of Whitby is Ted's Place, a wonderful terrace cottage resting just a stone’s throw away from the sandy beach and the town’s plethora of attractions and amenities.

With its exceptional location, this quaint cottage is perfect for a romantic getaway or a fun-filled family holiday, perfect for a traditional Yorkshire getaway by the sea.

Enter into the light-filled property and discover the open-plan living room, offering a social hub to enjoy the company of your family and friends, as well as containing all the modern conveniences required for a comfortable stay.

The kitchen is well-equipped with an electric oven, gas hob, fridge and dishwasher and the formal dining table is perfect for relishing in a home-cooked dish or a tasty takeaway, whilst accompanied by a glass of something special for toasting to a wonderful getaway.

A plush leather sofa and a sumptuous armchair invite you to relax in front of the TV or delve into a good book to truly unwind before heading to bed.

Step inside the master bedroom, where crisp, quality linens drape across the king-size bed, which is awaiting to be snuggled into at the end of an action-packed day, whilst the single bedroom is a quaint spot for the younger guests of the group to catch their rest.

Concluding the interior is a sleek shower room, featuring a spacious walk-in shower, basin and WC.

When you're ready to begin exploring, meander the famous winding alleyways of the town to discover the plethora of award-winning restaurants and bars, as well as iconic fish and chip shops before browsing the cobbled streets lined with independent shops.

Head to the waterfront to watch the world go by or soak up the sunshine at the beach, which is also great for watersport opportunities.

Explore the town further by walking along the river to the base of the 199 Steps before embarking on the climb to reach the ruins of Whitby Abbey; here, savour the beautiful seascapes and views over the town before exploring the eerie Abbey ruins, said to have been inspiration for Bram Stoker's 'Dracula'.

Once you have completed the town’s plethora of attractions, venture further afield to the beautiful Robin Hood's Bay or don your walking boots to walk along the Cleveland Way to soak up more views or if you are bringing your bike along, the Cinder Track is ideal, as it is completely traffic free!

The North York Moors National Park is also worth discovering, boasting plenty of scenic sights amidst the varied landscapes of coastline, moorland and woodland, home to rich geology and wildlife.

With the bustling seaside town of Scarborough also waiting to be explored, make Ted’s Place your choice for your next action-packed getaway.

Note: This property can be booked with Refs.1066902 and 1101986, together sleeping up to 9 guests.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

WHITBY

Robin Hood's Bay 5.5 miles; Scarborough 19.3 miles; Pickering 23 miles; Guisborough 21.5 miles.

The seaside town and port of Whitby lies at the mouth of the River Esk in the Scarborough district of North Yorkshire. Ideally situated for exploring this beautiful part of Yorkshire, the local area hosts an abundance of activity so you can be sure to get the best out of both the countryside and the coast. From the nearby North York Moors to its Blue Flag beaches, there's something here for every interest and time of year. Amongst its many attractions, Whitby holds a charming atmosphere, home to winding streets and hidden alleys, where you can find a wide selection of eateries and shops scattered amongst them. Take a trip to the picturesque harbour and lighthouse to watch the sun set, or get involved in some whale watching or a coastal cruise to watch the creatures up close. Climb the famous 199 steps to the Whitby Abbey to immerse yourself with history, or visit the Captain Cook Memorial Museum presenting historical and ethnographic exhibition about Cook himself. Hosting an abundance of leisure facilities, opportunities to explore the natural lands, and plenty of coastal delights, Whitby offers something for everyone. Close to the Robin Hood's Bay full of heritage wonders and scenic spots, and in reach of the bustling towns of Scarborough and Middlesbrough, Whitby is a prime location for exploring all of the delights that Yorkshire has to offer.

View more holiday cottages in Whitby

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas