In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

11 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 11 View Image Gallery
  • Fossil Cottage - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1015799 - photo 1
close

Fossil Cottage

(Ref. 1015799)

Whitby, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Open fire
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (41)
  • location (28)
  • lovely (25)
  • no (18)
  • stay (17)
  • clean (16)

55 Customer Reviews

  • "I have left a note regarding the leaking pipe outside the window of the twin room."

    Leaks after flushing the toilet so can be quite smelly! Plus waste going onto the roof. Just needs sealing. This did not ruin the stay at all! Beautiful cottage with easy walk into the town. When unloading /loading the car do not worry about the cobbled street you need to go down. It took us a couple of times to work out you can drive down this road. Comfortable beds. Spotlessly clean and comfy. Beach opposite the property down the steps. Ideal for families. We were 2 x couples and found the cottage to have ample room. Not recommended for any people with mobility issues as stairs are extremely narrow.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Fossil Cottage. Thank you for the note you left us, we have addressed the problem so it shouldn't happen again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tina4.7Jun 2024

  • "Lovely small and quaint cottage in a perfect location."

    The cottage was very well equipped with everything you need. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable with quality bedding. Trivial pursuit and scrabble were a great addition and provided a lovely evening of entertainment whilst snuggled up in front of the log fire. There is enough wood for an initial fire but bring more if you are staying a few nights. The welcome pack was a lovely addition with tea, coffee, biscuits, crisps and cake

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Apr 2024

  • "We were a bit dissapointed that there were no Christmas decorations in the cottage having stayed in several over Christmas this was the 1st without."

    But £10 spent in the charity shops we put a tree with lights on the meter cuboard looked lovely. We had a fabulous time overall. The cottage was smaller than it looked in the photos. So bit of a squeeze with 4 adults in the lounge. Being tall we all managed to bang our heads above the hob in the kitchen and at the bottom of the stairs. The cottage was clean and nicely furnished. The beds were comfortable and the bedding lovely and fresh. Would have liked some place mats for the dining table and a tin opener that worked . Appreciated the lovely goodie bag with Yorkshire treats. Would stay again but as a couple or with grandchildren.

    Reviewed by Catherine4.1Dec 2023

  • "A lovely old fisherman’s cottage in a great position on the cobbles in the old town."

    Tastefully furnished & really comfortable with everything you need. A lovely welcome pack was left for our use & we have already rebooked for next year. Only negative would be the single beds in the second bedroom, I had to reposition the slats under the mattress as they slipped out of position & the mattresses were far too soft.

    The single beds have now been replaced. Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Nov 2023

  • "The cottage was in a brilliant location and very nice,the only fault I have is it needs a good in-depth clean."

    The mould in the bathroom needs addressing and the cleanliness in the whole cottage needs looking at.There’s also a weird smell in the kitchen,this could of been the rug in front of the sink which I had to put in the boiler cupboard!!There seems to be quite alot of niknaks in the cottage which is ok if they were cleaned regularly and not collecting dust.

    Thank you for your feedback. I can assure you that the property as now undergone a deep clean following a busy summer season. We have redecorated the bathroom and addressed the mould. The rug you are referring to has now been removed along with some of the ornaments around the cottage. We hope these improvements will make a difference and that you may return in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jackie2.8Sep 2023

  • "Brilliant-don't read this review looking for 'Niggles', There are none."

    The place is in a fab location, with all we needed including rain man watched it, Thanks. Everything works, is clean and the welcome hamper was scrummy and a great touch. We even brought friends back to see it and they loved it too!

    Heather & BeanSep 2023

  • "The only problem was the stairs were very steep"

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Aug 2023

  • "Welcome hamper very good."

    Storage space for basic food items e.g. Bread Tec would be nice. General lack of flat surfaces as everything covered in nik-naks. No orange waste bags provided. Beds very comfortable, as was furniture. The stairs were problematic and need a banister. Unfortunately husband broke is leg on second day so had to leave early.

    Reviewed by Madeleine3.4Aug 2023

  • "Lovely place will be back again"

    Aug 2023

  • "Such a fantastic location and beautiful cottage, thank you so much"

    Ellen (mum), Eden (18), Charlie (10), Arlo (dog!)Jul 2023

  • "First trip to Whitby and will be back!"

    Loved this well equipped home from home. Everywhere the eye was taken had interesting and tasteful decor and artifacts which made the accommodation feel cosy, homely and catered for so the owner has obviously traveled & knows what makes a stay perfect. Will definitely be back as so quirky and in keeping with the location. Thanks!

    Marg, Fiona & LexiJul 2023

  • "Lovely Cottage Beautiful decor."

    Really enjoyed our stay, we could only say one negative and that is some of the glasses and mugs weren't clean when we arrived. Also the shower water didn't drain away very quickly. Other than these few minor details, this cottage is wonderful. This is the fifth cottage we have stayed in in Whitby and by far the best!

    Anabel, Philippa & SueJul 2023

  • "Excellent stay."

    Very well equipped cottage. Great location. Weather was excellent. People are super friendly. Good value for money.

    The Forrests & ElvisJun 2023

  • "Property was lovely and clean."

    It looked exactly like the pictures and the bedrooms were actually bigger than expected. Really great that it’s dog friendly. Amazing location. Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by Sophie5.0May 2023

  • "Enjoyed our stay at Fossil Cottage the house is lovely, clean and welcoming."

    The welcome hamper with the Yorkshire food and drink was fabulous. Perfect location for all the delights of Whitby.

    Reviewed by Rachael5.0May 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful cosy & romantic cottage."

    The homely touched really make you feel welcome. I will be recommending it to all my friends & work colleagues. The addition of the welcome bag was the cherry on the top.

    Jackie & PaulMay 2023

  • "Beautiful cottage and a lovely stay here in Whitby."

    Felt very homely, love the decor. would highly recommend.

    The Shep'sMay 2023

  • "Stunning cottage."

    Perfect and would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Julian5.0Mar 2023

  • ""

    Reviewed by Chloe2.5Mar 2023

  • "Fossil cottage was fab choice for a birthday break, we are familiar with the location and expected the narrow streets on the drive up to the cottage, it's all part of Whitby charm."

    The cottage was clean and well presented. We cooked steak on our arrival night and found everything in the kitchen we required. Chester the dog enjoyed his stay as did we. Our only comment and is no reflection on the accommodation itself was the key hand over at the end of the stay could have been made more clear... however 10/10

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Feb 2023

  • "The cottage had dusty surfaces and cobwebs from the bedroom ceiling near the door and under the cooker hood."

    There were two used mugs in the sink. We couldn't find the instructions for the cooker so had to guess settings for the Christmas dinner. The stairs were quiet steep so not good for older people. The cottage was nice and warm though.

    Reviewed by Jackie3.1Dec 2022

  • "The location of the cottage was perfect and the parking at Abbey Farm worked out well."

    We were slightly taken aback when we arrived and had to drive through a very busy Church Street on a Saturday afternoon and assumed we’d made a wrong turn. The lack of any outside space was not ideal for our dog as it meant putting clothes on to take him out for early morning/ bedtime toileting- my husband drew the short straw!

    Reviewed by Georgina4.7Jun 2022

  • "Everything was absolutely fab at the cottage just 2 slight problems 1."

    The toilet seat requires tightening 2.A hand grip would be appreciated in the shower cubicle for help in excepting in possible Otherwise the cottage was a dream both in location and ideal for our every needs towards making a very memorable holiday in Whitby we shall definitely return to the cottage next year if possible Thanks to all the staff at Sykes Best wishes The Newton family& Sophie (the dog) Gateshead

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Jun 2022

  • "Fossil Cottage in Whitby is a cosy and warm cottage, which made us feel relaxed and welcoming."

    Decorated and cleaned to a high standard and was lovely to stay in for our holiday. The location on the East side was a five minute walk to the 199 steps, then up the steps to the Abbey. A five minute walk to a beautiful beach and the Pier. Lovely shops and Restaurants a short walk away, and central spot to see all Whitby. A great dog friendly cottage and dog friendly place to visit.

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0May 2022

  • "Lovely property, great location, look forward to stopping here again"

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0May 2022

  • "Absolutely superb."

    Location Spot on. 199 steps literally 30ft from the front door. The beach across the street and down some steps. The room themselves are so tastefully decorated. They are absolutely beautiful. The beds wow I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud. The cottage had absolutely everything I could think of , from a smart tv to a cheese knife wine and gib glasses to pens note pad and baby bowls and cutlery. Even a travel cot and high chair. High quality everywhere. Other reviews mentioned uncomfortable settee this must have been replaced as it eas very comfy and so were the 2 armchairs. The best of all was the VERY Generous hamper we we're greeted with on arrival. Packed with lots of Yorkshire's finest goodies from tea,cakes,ground coffee, biscuits, crisp, and chocolate. Thank you , I will be back.

    Laura DakinMay 2022

  • "Lovely cottage great location everything we wanted!"

    Reviewed by Elaine5.0Apr 2022

  • "Lovely quaint cottage in a great location."

    Very cosy, with new sofa and very comfy bed. Highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Mar 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in great location for exploring Whitby."

    Only disappointment was lack of any welcome pack for arrival, not even a pint of milk. Also scant toilet roll supply. This is the difference between good rating and excellent rating.

    Thank you for taking the time to add feedback. I must apologise for the lack of a hamper on your arrival. I have rectified this and you will receive a little something in the post this week. We do hope you will return to Fossil cottage again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola4.7Feb 2022

  • "The chairs in the lounge area, are so low that it was like sitting on the floor."

    Thank you for your feedback, we have now updated the sofa and chairs to new ones, so this will no longer be a problem. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip4.1Dec 2021

  • "Cottage was lovely but feel it should have been in the write up about stair ..."

    Cottage was lovely but feel it should have been in the write up about stair safety not good for children as you came straight out of second bedroom straight onto to twisted staircase should have been told about this so dangerous The other problem was the two very old sofas no comfort at all as cushions you sat on had ne padding left and so low to ground knees were under your chin when sitting Which meant we spent nearly all our time out Just to sit comfortably very disappointed with this Think someone from sykes definitely needs to check them out so you know how bad they are Would like feedback on my review please as very unhappy Julie Rooney

    Thank you for the feedback, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay , we have replaced the sofas and the armchairs Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie2.2Nov 2021

  • "Excellent cottage, gives the feel of old world with modern facilities."

    Only point is tv signal though this could have been blamed on high winds. Smell of the kipper smoker up the road, takes you back in time.

    Reviewed by Timothy5.0Nov 2021

  • "Good location & by and large all was as published and enjoyable."

    Didn’t expect to have to clean some pretty dirty cooking trays & pots. The very restricted access could have been flagged more clearly - witnesssed car rage on more than one occasion!

    Glad you had an enjoyable stay, sorry to hear about the dirty cooking trays and pots, this issue has now been resolved. If you had called us during your stay we would of gladly rectified immediately. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tim3.8Aug 2021

  • "A lovely homely, well equipped cottage in a great location for visiting Whitby and surrounding seaside towns."

    Will definitely recommend to family and friends.

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Aug 2021

  • "The location of Fossil Cottage was excellent, a stones throw from the beach which we managed to get entirely to ourselves one evening."

    The cottage was fresh and beachy yet cosy, just the atmosphere we were looking for. We were pleased to find it beautifully clean. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Yvonne4.7Jun 2021

  • "The cottage was extremely clean and beautifully decorated with seaside themed art/cushions/ decorative features."

    It was small, but cosy & comfortable. The stairs were fun for us, but would prove difficult for elderly or infirm visitors. The position in Henrietta Street was fabulous - very quiet but very close to Whitby town centre. There was no outside space, but a few steps along to the end of the (dead end) road was a grassy area with several benches overlooking the harbour - a perfect place to catch the sunset. Whitby is a lovely seaside town with excellent shops, a picturesque harbour, a safe beach and atmospheric ruined abbey. Nearby we enjoyed walks at Robin Hoods Bay, Staithes, the Falling Foss tea gardens (woodland walks and waterfall) and the waterfalls between Grosmont and Goathland.

    Reviewed by Christina5.0May 2021

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we got in a bit earlier as the weather wasn’t good."

    The front door was a little tricky and at 1 point I thought I couldn’t unlock it to get out, and as it’s the only door I did panic a little. But that aside we had a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Tracey4.7May 2021

  • "Beautiful cottage excellent location"

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Apr 2021

  • "This is the second time we have stayed here and its a fantastic cottage in a great location."

    Small point of maintenance, front door locks need to be oiled as they both kept sticking. Inner door lock now missing and the door appears to have been kicked in as its cracked. I don't know when this happened but it doesn't give a good impression.

    Thank you for your comments, we are so glad you like Fossil Cottage. We apologise for the damage to the door, the problems have now been addressed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Oct 2020

  • "A delightful little cottage."

    Loved the wood burning fireplace but it would have been nice to have had one bag of wood already there. Loved the unexpected bag of groceries - thank you for that. We enjoyed our two week stay even though it had to be cut short by two days because of the virus travel restrictions. Tips for future older visitors - Easy chair and couch in sitting room are very low and feather seat cushions need a good plumping each day. Stairs very steep and narrow treads in places.

    Reviewed by Helen4.4Mar 2020

  • "This is a lovely, very cosy cottage and Whitby out of season was great."

    However, given its location we expected it to be very quiet. Actually there is quite a lot of early morning traffic, delivery vans in particular driving past to turn round at the end of the lane. Access with a car, even to drop off and pick up is a nightmare and when we stayed works in the car park restricted the parking spaces, 20 minutes minimum to find somewhere else to park. The cottage is well equipped but lots of the owners stuff there, not enough space for our own food and granddaughters (7 months) things in the kitchen. Finally, a few soggy logs, no fire lighters and hardly any kindling meant a trip to the Coop for supplies even on the first evening. Worth noting staircase is very steep, not suitable for elderly or infirm. I’d love to recommend this cottage but we wouldn’t stay there again.

    Reviewed by Peter3.1Nov 2019

  • "A lovely cottage in an excellent location."

    The welcome pack was a real treat too. Would gladly stay here again and I hope the next guests enjoy their stay as much as we did.

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Oct 2019

  • "A fab cottage in a great location."

    Excellent service and welcome bag when picking up keys. Will be booking again for sure. Thank you.

    Reviewed by James5.0Sep 2019

  • "Would definitely come back!"

    We love Whitby. Whitby Brewery is fab, dog friendly and great view of The Abbey. Loved Humble Pie and Mash.

    Horsfall PartyMay 2019

  • "All aspects highly satisfactory."

    The dog enjoyed the treats in the hamper very much!

    McCarthy PartyApr 2019

  • "We were delighted with Fossil Cottage, it definitely loved up to expectations (which were high)."

    It was perfect for the two of us.

    Sayer PartyFeb 2019

  • "Had a good stay."

    Parking at the nearby farm worked out very well. Thank you for the welcome hamper - lovely coffee! Coastal Walk at Robin Hoods Bay is lovely. Abbey Wharf Restaurant prepares lovely fresh meals. Eden Camp War Museum is about 50 mins drive but well worth the visit.

    ParsonsSep 2018

  • "Beautiful Cottage."

    Garrett PartyJul 2018

  • "Loved the cottage and furnishings are lovely."

    Location good - would definitely return and recommend it. (The welcome bag was a lovely touch - thank you!) 100% satisfied with everything - oh, and very comfy beds too!

    The Birchall FamilyJun 2018

  • "The cottage was perfectly equipped - even down to the detail of providing a sewing kit."

    In every aspect, it exceeded our expectations.

    Mr And Mrs KearseyMay 2018

  • "Thank you for letting us stay in your fabulous cottage, the location was perfect and the standard of furnishings was excellent."

    We arrived to a very clean cottage and a lovely welcome hamper, we will certainly book with Yorkshire Coastal Cottages again.

    The Goldwaters - December 2017Dec 2017

  • "Fabulous cottage, beautifully clean, excellent Wi-Fi connection, thank you for a great holiday."

    Mr & Mrs Trainor - October 2017Oct 2017

  • "What a lovely cottage, we enjoyed being in the "Old town" of Whitby with all of it's quaint shops and cobbled streets, we would recommend to everybody and have booked again."

    The Bell Family - Tunbridge Wells - August 2017Aug 2017

  • "A beautiful cottage in a superb location, very clean and tidy, thank you we will return."

    Tony & Linda Smales - Edinburgh March 2017Mar 2017

  • "Toilet rolls."

    Perhaps not the usual way to begin a review of a rented property, but in the case of Fossil Cottage in Whitby, very pertinent. I’m sure everybody has struggled with a new toilet roll, trying to tear that first sheet free and ending up with six feet of half-freed, torn sheets while the other half stays resolutely gummed. At Fossil Cottage, someone had thoughtfully done the hard work for us, and tucked the first sheet into the cardboard centre tube. This is just one small example of the care and consideration that had gone into preparing the cottage for us. The place was spotlessly clean and blissfully warm as we arrived on a cold, late November day. The Welcome Pack contained everything we needed for a snack, cup of tea, round of toast or glass of wine. I can’t overstate how cosy this little place is; particularly the kitchen. And the lounge with its easy-to-light wood burning stove (everything, down to the matches, was provided). It’s quiet too, in November anyway. Just 2 minute’s walk from bustling Church Street, few pedestrians and even fewer cars pass by to disturb your tranquillity. OK, it doesn’t have a sea view – if it did you would be paying considerably more. BUT, pop outside and, within 20 feet, you are at the top of steps leading down to the beach, and have a lovely aspect of the harbour. To end, Fossil Cottage is a little gem, and many thanks to Yorkshire Coastal Cottages for recommending that it would meet the needs of four adults and a well behaved dog. In fact, it far exceeded our expectations.

    Tim Gill, Near Harrogate; November 2016Nov 2016

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Yorkshire Coastal Cottages collection.
Over 120 carefully selected properties in Yorkshire

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with fireplace, 1 x twin Shower room with shower, basin and WC. Sitting room with woodburning stove. Kitchen with dining area and pantry.
  • Electric oven, hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, TV, WiFi. Bed linen & towels inc. in rent. Vehicular access can be gained outside the cottage for unloading luggage, and a car parking space is available in the Abbey car park at a separate cost
  • Alternatively on-street parking and a Pay & Display is available on Church Street, approximately 800 yards away. One well-behaved pet welcome at a cost of £30. Shop, pub, beach 50 metres.

The property

A charming Grade II Listed former fisherman’s cottage, located on Henrietta Street in Whitby’s Old Town.

You couldn’t get much closer than this to Whitby’s famous 199 steps and the Abbey ruins – inspiration for Bram Stoker’s Dracula. Renovated and decorated to a high standard, yet retaining its beamed ceilings and exposed wooden flooring, Fossil Cottage is a wonderful choice for family and friends who are seeking a cosy base in Whitby’s historic centre. Relax in the spacious sitting room after days out on the beach.

The cosy woodburning stove is so comforting in the colder months – a lovely radiating warmth.

How wonderful to snuggle up and chat or simply make time to read a book.

The fully fitted and well-equipped kitchen has integrated appliances plus there’s a useful pantry. Keep the cook company and enjoy lazy breakfasts at the kitchen table.

Upstairs there is a double bedroom which is nicely lit from its two windows, with views over cobbled Henrietta Street.

The beamed ceiling and feature cast iron fireplace add period charm.

There’s also a twin bedroom with full size 3′ single beds. The compact shower room has a good size corner shower, basin and WC. Fossil Cottage is perfectly located for exploring Whitby on foot.

Meander through the cobbled, winding streets of the ‘old town’, pausing for a cup of traditional Yorkshire tea.

Hunt for your own fossils on the nearby beaches or treat yourself to some traditional Whitby jet as a keepsake of your holiday.

Foodies are spoilt for choice when it comes to excellent fish restaurants.

Don’t leave without trying a famous ‘Fortune’s’ kipper, the amazing smokehouse is located a few doors away on Henrietta Street. Take a heritage steam locomotive from Whitby to Grosmont, ‘Heartbeat’ country; the North York Moors are stunning, especially in August and early autumn when the heather blooms.

For coastal splendour, walk the cliff tops between the fishing villages of Staithes and Runswick Bay.

Just over an hour’s drive away, the Bempton Cliff Reserve supports England's largest population of seabirds on its chalky cliffs. Whether for rest and relaxation by the sea, or a beautiful cottage from which to explore, Fossil Cottage is an excellent choice.

View on map

About the location

WHITBY

Robin Hood's Bay 5.5 miles; Scarborough 19.3 miles; Pickering 23 miles; Guisborough 21.5 miles.

The seaside town and port of Whitby lies at the mouth of the River Esk in the Scarborough district of North Yorkshire. Ideally situated for exploring this beautiful part of Yorkshire, the local area hosts an array of activities so you can be sure to get the best out of both the countryside and the coast. From the nearby North York Moors to its Blue Flag beaches, there's something here for everyone. Amongst its many attractions, Whitby holds a charming atmosphere, home to winding streets and hidden alleys, where you can find a wide selection of eateries and shops scattered amongst them. Take a trip to the picturesque harbour and lighthouse to watch the sun set or get involved in some whale watching or a coastal cruise to watch the creatures up close. Climb the famous 199 steps to the Whitby Abbey to immerse yourself with history, or visit the Captain Cook Memorial Museum presenting historical and ethnographic exhibition about Cook himself. Close to the Robin Hood's Bay, rich in heritage, wonders and scenic spots, and in easy reach of the bustling towns of Scarborough and Middlesbrough, Whitby is a prime location for exploring all of the delights that Yorkshire has to offer.

View more holiday cottages in Whitby

Wi-Fi: Free Wi-Fi included.

Utilities: All utilities, bed linen & towels included.

Pets: One well-behaved pet welcome at a cost of £30.

Parking: Vehicular access can be gained outside the cottage for unloading luggage, and car parking is available in the Abbey car park at a separate cost. During the Winter months payment at the Abbey car park is suspended. Please check the dates before leaving your car. Alternatively on-street parking and a Pay and Display car park is available on Church Street, approximately 800 yards away.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas