Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

14 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 32 View Image Gallery
  • 2 Riverside - Scottish Highlands - 967587 - photo 1

2 Riverside

(Ref. 967587)

Foyers, Northern Highlands & Cairngorms National Park Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (8)
  • lovely (5)
  • location (4)
  • kitchen (4)
  • stay (4)
  • all (4)

11 Customer Reviews

  • "Ideal cottage in a superb location, well appointed with every thing you should need."

    I especially enjoyed the apples from the tree in the back garden which in spring and summer would be lovely for a BBQ. For us it was late necessities for the dog. The house was warm and cosy and heated quickly with a boost. The only thing we could fault were the bath and shower facilities , only stayed for a short break and could not make the downstairs shower above tepid, despite instructions, perhaps we would have sussed it if we’d been there for a week!! This did not detract from the stay just would have been top scores all around without this minor inconvenience. Thanks for the stay.

    Thanks for the lovely feedback you have given us we appreciate it. Thankyou for bringing our attention to the issue with the shower , it has now been repaired. We are glad you had a lovely time in our little.piece of heaven Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mandy4.4Oct 2023

  • "Can’t rate this place enough, the rooms are all large and beautifully decorated."

    The kitchen is full with utensils, cooking dishes etc. Five minute walk to the banks of Loch Ness. If you fancy a piece of heaven then this is the place for you. Highly recommended and owners couldn’t be nicer when I asked loads of questions.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Sep 2023

  • "A nice house in a lovely location."

    We enjoyed our stay. A couple of minor niggles, the shower over the bath, never got hot, just Luke warm. The kitchen floor was dirty round the dishwasher, and washing machine, and down the side of the fridge, also the baking trays were dirty and had to be washed before they could be used. We were very unfortunate to have some rather noisy neighbours whilst we were there, which we think were holiday makers, as they sounded foreign. They were making noise past 3am night after night. Not the owners fault, but it did spoil the experience.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Jun 2023

  • "A lovely, comfortable house in the Highlands."

    Couple of things could do with updating, but nothing that spoils the stay. Perfect location for small families and walkers that want to explore the Loch Ness area

    We really appreciate that you have taken the time to leave feedback and that you had a lovely stay at Riverside. We are glad you enjoyed the location, which we agree is very beautiful and that you found the house to be lovely and comfortable. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew4.4Oct 2022

  • "We found the cottage very quiet and well presented."

    However, the property was poorly maintained and in need of some remedial work. The specific points are: 1. One of the bulbs in the bathroom needed to be replaced. The shower head in the bathroom needs to be renewed. A ventilation pane needs to be installed in the bathroom to ventilate the room. 2. The outside boiler gave off some very noxious fumes. We had to close the windows and back door when it was running. We feel that this should be investigated because it is potentially very dangerous. 3. The storm lamps didn't have a single battery that worked. The batteries throughout need to be replaced. 4. We found that the front door stuck, possibly owing to a jammed mechanism. We felt that this should be investigated.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We also appreciated the text message from your wife to say what a lovely stay you had. We have completed a series of upgrades and repairs since your feedback was received which includes the following. Any broken bulbs in the property have been replaced. The shower head has been replaced and upgraded. There is an extractor fan in bathroom in place of a ventilation panel, this has been checked and is working. The previous boiler had been serviced however we have had a new boiler with hive system fitted. There is a carbon monoxide monitor in the property and the chimney has been swept with no issues found. The storm lamps should only be used in case of a power failure but may have been left on which has drained the batteries. We have replaced all the batteries. The mechanism in the front door had been broken, this has now been repaired. We are pleased that you found the property to be well presented and we thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen2.5Sep 2022

  • "Although advertised as suitable for 6 persons, we found the kitchen very small once people sat at the table, and there was only 3 of us."

    Also, there was only 3 mugs which although okay for us, we still fought over the biggest 2! But we had a lovely time and the house felt very clean and had everything we needed and we really appreciated that the furnishings etc were so Scottish - I fell in love with moo coos whilst in Scotland.

    Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you had a great holiday at Riverside and enjoyed your stay. Our cleaner will be very happy that you found the property to be very clean. We have also bought more large mugs so there is enough for everyone Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marion4.4Sep 2022


    !! Do not recommend booking here at all as if felt very unhygienic. The owners completely forgot we were arriving!! There were kids lounging around in the house and rushed out as they did a ‘quick clean’. It felt very dirty to stay in as the property has obviously been lived in. The kitchen was dirty, there were crumbs all over the kitchen table and coffee table in the living room. The floor was dirty and unhoovered. Worst part was that the owners first avoided us/ any complaints and then finally refused to compensate us in any way at all (after we left the property). If you have troubles with your experience/accommodation here then it is completely up to them how much they wish to compensate you. We left a day early due to the poor service and still they couldn’t compensate us in the slightest. Sykes cottages or other booking agents will not be able to help you either. Terrible experience and I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone.

    Thank you for your feedback. We apologise that the cleaner was still finishing the cleaning when you arrived. This is not the first impression we want our guests to experience. We are disappointed that you did not contact us directly to discuss this. Our mobile numbers are available so that you can call us about any problems or concerns which might occur during your stay. We are always happy to talk to our guests and resolve any issues you have. Following your feedback and our subsequent investigation we have appointed a professional property management company to ensure this does not happen again. Standards are being closely monitored. Thank you again for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anjuli2.2Jul 2022

  • "Great accommodation beautiful surroundings has everything you need."


    Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Riverside and we agree that the surroundings are truly spectacular. Thanks again, Nicola and Jason. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Jul 2022

  • "Beautiful house, very light and airy, well equipped very clean, very cozy felt very relaxed and comfy, nice outside space to sit and chill with a glass or two, fantastic location for short walks and the longer walks, no complaints, we had a lovely holiday, so did our very tired dogs, cheers, highly recommend."

    Thank you for the nice review and the positive feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our little piece of heaven. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Jun 2022

  • "The owners made sure we have a warm Christmas welcome by taking care all the little details!"

    The house was clean and tidy and the fire place was ready to be lit up! Even with 0 degrees outside the area was gritted and there was no risk of ice while driving around! Would definitely recommend!

    Thank you for your lovely review. We’re pleased that you had a wonderful Christmas and enjoyed your stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Orient5.0Dec 2021

  • "Used the house for work purposes & everything was spot on, home from home for the lads"

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Sep 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size,, 1 x double with TV, 1 x double
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Oil central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and ceramic hob, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer
  • Smart TV, 2 x DVD players with a selection of DVDs
  • Selection of of books and games
  • WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking available
  • Enclosed garden with barbecue and seating
  • Secure bike storage
  • Two well behaved dogs allowed
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.9 mile, pub 0.7 miles
  • Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £350
  • Note: Check-in from 4pm, check-out by 10am
  • Please note: This property can accept short breaks commencing on Fridays or Mondays

The property

This wonderful, semi-detached property lies in the pretty highland village of Lower Foyers on the quiet eastern banks of Loch Ness.

Set over two floors with a charming interior, 2 Riverside is a lovely holiday base for families and friends to come together and explore the magical shores of Loch Ness and the surrounding area.

After a day of fell walking, look forward to unwinding into the lounge, boasting a cosy ambiance with a woodburning stove and plush seating, here you can switch off with a good movie and a selection of snacks.

Carry the conversation into the kitchen/diner, home to a wealth of appliances to assist in home-cooking, including an electric oven and ceramic hob, microwave, fridge/freezer and even a washing machine so you won’t have to bring your whole wardrobe!

Set the dining table for a hearty feast before toasting to a long-awaited getaway with your loved ones.

As the night grows darker, retreat upstairs to the bedrooms, offering the choice of a king-size and two doubles, each with light colours and ample wardrobe space for your personal items.

Choose between a shower or a lazy soak to start your day, with a shower room upstairs and a lovely bathroom on the ground-floor.

To the outside of this Foyers cottage is an enclosed garden with patio area, complete with a set of table and chairs and barbecue to tempt alfresco dining, or simply treat yourself to a well-earned drink after a long day.

Within the village you’ll find a local shop and Post Office where you can pick up any essentials, plus an award-winning café, restaurant and pub for when you don’t fancy cooking.

Foyers is perhaps most well-known for its spectacular 140ft waterfall known as the Falls of Foyers where the River Foyers drops into a gorge leading into Loch Ness, providing a scenic afternoon of exploring.

The capital city of the Highlands, Inverness, lies 20 miles away but offers a flourish culinary scene, superb retail therapy, iconic structures with its suspension bridge and many historical treasures.

A trip to the Highlands wouldn’t be complete without a visit to Loch Ness, containing the largest volume of freshwater in the British Isles, plus there’s even a chance to spot the famous Loch Ness monster!

For an idyllic break to a scenic region of Scotland, look no further than 2 Riverside.

EPC Rating: Band D

EPC Rating: Band D

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Fort Augustus 13 miles; Inverness 20miles.

Foyers is a pretty highland village situated on the quiet eastern banks of Loch Ness and is accessed via a scenic single track road from Inverness that runs along the side of this famous Loch passing through various small villages until you enter Foyers. The village itself boasts a village shop and Post Office along with a friendly cafe, two hotels with bars and restaurants and an award-winning cafe with shop. Foyers is perhaps most famous for its spectacular 140ft waterfall known as the Falls of Foyers where the River Foyers drops into a gorge leading into Loch Ness. In Victorian times the Falls were very popular and visitors arrived to see them by paddle steamer from Inverness. The road from Inverness into Foyers can be continued through the village and along this quieter side of the world famous Loch and eventually you will arrive in the bustling village of Fort Augustus which has an excellent butcher, nice shops, restaurants and the famous flight of lock gates, often busy with boats. The area is ideal for walkers, cyclist and wildlife spotters and of course the scenery is second to none.

Please note: This property can accept short breaks commencing on Fridays or Mondays.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas