Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

23 people have recently viewed this property

Hillside East

Kingussie, Northern Highlands & Cairngorms National Park (Ref. 1557)

4.6

Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

11 Customer Reviews

  • "It was a lovely wee house, close to the shops and well placed for walking straight from home."

    We went on an adventure looking for Raitts and to the Barracks straight from the door (and in our trainers, easy walking mostly). I did have to ask for a few things that couldn't be found during the week and help was there quickly, couldn't fault the service. Although it would be handy to be able to get to the whirlie to dry some clothes during our stay especially as storage was limited for clothes, and with 2 kids I had to move some furniture around. We were only looking for 4 days break but since all bookings were beimg charged a full weeks fee we stayed for the week and had a great time. But this will put me off booking through Sykes again.

    Reviewed by ClairJul 2021

  • "Lovely, comfortable, well equipped house in good location with storage at back for our bikes."

    Minor problem with hot water resolved immediately. Had a great week, thank you.

    Reviewed by EdwardSep 2020

  • "Really lovely area to stay in, and the cottage felt like a real home from home"

    Reviewed by JohnSep 2020

  • "Excellently situated to go exploring this fabulous countryside."

    Reviewed by NoraOct 2019

  • "Place dirty, had to buy basics like salt, TV very small, broke down, no outside space to sit and the chair had a hole in it."

    Twin room very small, no room for luggage. Nice location though

    Thanks for your time in writing your review, although I’m of course sorry it’s so negative. I must say I’m surprised to hear you have described the property was dirty, given our conversation on the phone when you called me on arrival to ask for an additional set of towels as you had arrived at the house with an additional guest that you had not booked. At no point during this call did you mention this, nor when Alison (our housekeeper) dropped the towels round, and if there had been a problem it could have been resolved immediately. My wife and I were the last people to use the house prior to your arrival and it was left in an immaculate condition. There was also salt in the cabinet in the kitchen. We were sorry to hear that the TV stopped working a week into your stay. We immediately acted upon this, on a Sunday, to organise a replacement as soon as possible, which arrived within 48 hours (the earliest possible time given delivery times in the highlands!) undoubtedly, it is very frustrating when something goes wrong, but I think you’d agree we dealt with this as promptly as we could under the circumstances. With regards to the outdoors, we do not advertise a garden space nor seating outside. Finally, the size of the second bedroom is very clear from the photographs, and previous feedback has commented about how much bigger the house was than had been expected. There is a large wardrobe in the main bedroom where suitcases can be stored. Again, I’m very sorry you were left disappointed, but I hope my response has offered some clarity for what is a rather unfair review when we were very responsive and communicative with you during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EvelynJun 2019

  • "Thanks for a lovely holiday this my second with you both been great I I’ve one ..."

    Thanks for a lovely holiday this my second with you both been great I I’ve one booked for October I’m sure it will be as good would recommend to anybody

    Reviewed by MichaelMay 2019

  • "We had a fantastic stay."

    The cottage is much bigger than it looks on the photos and very well equiped. It has a real home from home feel and is ideally located for exploring the Highlands. We did have a few problems with both the heating thermostat and the cooker but that may be us operating it wrong! We can't wait to book again.

    Reviewed by NicholaApr 2019

  • "The accommodation was exceptionally clean and comfortable and was extremely well equipped."

    Felt like home and made our holiday enjoyable.

    Reviewed by RoseJul 2018

  • "This cottage was very well equipped and excellent value for money."

    I would prefer a dishwasher instead of a washing machine, especially as there is a laundry in the village.

    Reviewed by ElizabethJun 2018

  • "Had a lovely and comfortable week in Kingussie - thank you for having us at Hillside East!"

    Reviewed by RhonaApr 2018

  • "Only possible draw back for a family very steep garden , on main road."

    Reviewed by NicholasOct 2017

Show more

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Small, well-equipped kitchen with dining area
  • Oil central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, Smart TV (Inc Netflix), WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 300 yards
  • Please note: The back garden is very steep and is not considered suitable for sitting or playing in.

The property

This traditional, stone-built terraced property is situated in the town of Kingussie, in the heart of The Cairngorms National Park.

On the high street, Hillside East is well placed for enjoying all that this popular town has to offer, with shops, restaurants and attractions just a few minutes' walk from the doorstep.

Decorated, furnished and equipped to a good standard, the property provides warm and comfortable accommodation and is the perfect base to return to after a day's walking or touring.

The whole area is an outdoor enthusiast's paradise with a variety of year-round pursuits on offer from walking, fishing, bird-watching and golf, to cycling, climbing and of course skiing!

Alternatively, just relax and enjoy the stunning Cairngorms scenery!

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

KINGUSSIE

Aviemore 12 miles.

Situated in the glorious Cairngorms National Park, Kingussie attracts visitors all year round. The town has a fine selection of hotels, shops and restaurants, as well as being home to one of Scotland's most beautiful golf courses. At the award-winning Highland Folk Museum, just 2 miles from Kingussie, demonstrations of traditional crafts take place most days during the summer months in the ‘streets’ of the village-like grounds. Just 12 miles south of Aviemore it is also a popular winter destination for skiers along with the Lecht, with skiing and snowboarding for all abilities. Visit Dalwhinnie, where you can tour Scotland's highest distillery and have the mysteries of whisky making explained (and purchase a bottle!) or go to the Highland Wildlife Park, and explore the habitat walks and be amazed at the wolf territory and a diverse collection of Highland wildlife. An excellent location to tour this attractive part of the Central Highlands, with many of the main attractions an easy drive away.

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it