Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Northumberland 9 minutes ago

1 customer booked Bar Harbour in the last 24 hours

1 of 37 View Image Gallery
  • Bar Harbour - Northumberland - 2366 - photo 1

Bar Harbour

(Ref. 2366)

Beadnell, Northumberland Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (43)
  • well (31)
  • clean (31)
  • beach (31)
  • lovely (31)
  • great (25)

70 Customer Reviews

  • "Would highly recommend this place Very comfortable, settees and beds Enough room for 8 of us plus the dog Very clean, well equipped kitchen."

    So close to the beach and a lovely pub called the landings right next to the beach. I was so pleased it was decorated with a Christmas tree and other Xmas decs as it made it so festive and they had even left us 2 bottles of Prosecco to see in the new year. Great enclosed garden Excellent communication We will def be back Thank you so much for a lovely stay. Just wish it had been for longer!

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Dec 2023

  • "Spacious, light and very clean with everything you need."

    Extremely cosy and the beds were all very comfortable. Ample parking and a very short walk to the beach. We loved Bar Harbour so much we have booked up again for March next year!

    Reviewed by Ruth5.0Nov 2023

  • "Had a lovely time and stay at bar harbour excellent facilities clean and tidy"

    Reviewed by Sheila5.0Nov 2023

  • "A lovely comfortable house with comfy beds to relax in."

    The large living room/diner leaves plenty of space for families to spread out. The large garden is great for kids & dogs being fully enclosed & secure.

    Reviewed by Leanne5.0Oct 2023

  • "This house has everything one could possibly need Very comfortable, clean and great location."

    We have no complaints whatsoever. We also had a few excellent meals at the local pub well recommended within walking distance. Would definitely return to Beadnell Many thanks

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Oct 2023

  • "Well appointed very clean house short walk to beach and The Landing ."

    Good to have 2 bathrooms Nice enclosed garden, great for furry friends . Would definitely return

    Reviewed by Tracey4.7Oct 2023

  • "The house is well positioned, only a 5 minute walk to the harbour and beach."

    There is a safe enclosed garden, ideal for young children and dogs. The house was noticebly clean on arrival (apart from a greasy oven and grill). The ensuite smells of damp which has permeated into the bedroom and could be a problem for anyone with breathing problems. The beds are very comfortable. There are a number of minor maintenance issues that I have notified the owner directly about. Lovely house but needs some TLC.

    Thank you for your comments, which I have also replied to by email. Any smell of damp may have been due to a leak in the shower in the ensuite bathroom, which was rectified just prior to your arrival. There is no longer a smell of damp in the bathroom, or bedroom. The house is due to have some maintenance work carried out soon, which is done annually in the winter, and any minor issues will be rectified then. Pictures of the house on Sykes website were taken very recently, and confirm that the house is in overall excellent condition. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenny3.4Sep 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Bar Harbour."

    We found the description accurate. The house is mostly comfortable with good beds and en suite shower fine. The over bath shower worked well too, but it’s a very deep bath. The kitchen was fine, and we didn’t really cook. The dishwasher tablet dispenser was broken but seemed to work. Our main problem were the sofas - they were quite uncomfortable and we were happy to be only 4 people. Having said that, we would happily return.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you found the sofas uncomfortable. They are relatively new, but are due to be upgraded over the winter months. The shower over the bath in the main bathroom works well for most people, especially with young children. I do hope that you return soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ruth4.1Sep 2023

  • "Photos on site need updating as interior was not what we were expecting and all a bit mismatched."

    For example TV much smaller than pictured, sofas not the same and very uncomfortable, dining chairs different, mugs / crockery very old fashioned and chipped. Bathrooms very tired and need maintenance, main house bathroom was a real issue as seal on the bath has gone so if you shower water leaks through the lounge ceiling ! We were limited to baths in there and had to all use the en suite to shower. Windows and doors need attention, some windows wouldn’t open at all and doors at the back are very stiff. Very strange smell downstairs, we thought it may have been the cleaning fluid but as it got worse when doors were closed, I don’t think that is the case. Strong smell of marijuana … possibly the rug in the lounge ? Freezer really not big enough for a house for 8 people, and was made worse by the fact it desperately needed defrosting. The mattress in the main bedroom was very uncomfortable. No welcome pack or info on bin days etc or even the extra touches of advising places to visit / local restaurants etc ? I have never known a holiday property not do this. It’s a real shame as the location of this property is amazing and has such potential, but it needs a lot of TLC. Another positive was the enclosed back garden - great for dogs.

    I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our house. I have arranged updated photos, which will show 2 matching sofas and 8 matching dining chairs, which differs from your review. The main bathroom was decorated and upgraded prior to your arrival, and I would dispute it being 'very tired'. Had you reported a leak from shower in main bathroom, it would immediately have been attended to, but you did not mention it until placing this review. However, present guests have not had an issue with this shower. However, this will be further checked out by a plumber to confirm. Cleaners did report that the freezer had been turned up by yourselves and they had therefore had to defrost the freezer when you left, and turn it back down. A welcome pack was emailed to you prior to your arrival at the house, containing any information required, including local information and also a contact number to report any issues. As always, tea, coffee milk and sugar were left out for your arrival. All mattresses were replaced during covid downtime, with good quality mattresses. We have had no other complaints about this mattress, and indeed I have the same mattress at home and find it extremely comfortable. As for the smell of marijuana, I cannot comment, as I have never smelt marijuana, but again this is a problem noticed only by yourself. I am baffled by your review, but perhaps the house just was not for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian1.9Jun 2023

  • "Lovely cottage Clean, comfortable and spacious"

    Reviewed by Amanda4.7May 2023

  • "Comfortable and well located for the beach."

    Reviewed by Gary3.8Mar 2023

  • "A big house great for our family get together."

    Well equipped, clean and warm. Close to the sea and the amenities

    Reviewed by Katy5.0Mar 2023

  • "Lovely property situated in a quiet residential location."

    Comfortable, warm and Clean property and furnished well. Living area is at the back with double doors which was lovely we were lucky with the weather for January and had the lounge ones open for a few hours. Secure enclosed back garden for children and dogs. Ideal location for exploring the Northumberland coast.

    Reviewed by Glenda4.4Jan 2023

  • "Perfect for friends and family, everything you need plus beach 5 min walk"

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Jan 2023

  • "The house was spacious enough for us all but needed some TLC for example new toilet seats, loose towel rails, chipped glasses and plates."

    As stated we were near the beach which was lovely. The estate the house was on was quiet so overall we had a lovely stay. Ideal base for days out.

    Reviewed by Bridget4.1Oct 2022

  • "We have stayed here many times over the last few years and always return because the house is just what we what."

    It is located close to beadnell beach and the pub with good food is not far is totally enclosed so no worries about letting the dogs enjoy the garden, house is always clean and well equipped....except no egg cups....but heyho..yes we can recommend bar harbour cottage.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Sep 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay, very clean property only two mins walk from the beach."

    There are some dogs next door which are a little intimidating if you are not expecting them to suddenly lunge at the fence. I think they just wanted to play, but they were noisy. There are some very creaky floor boards (not what you expect with a newish house) which really do need attention, with a small child with us, we had to do a kind of ninja dance across the landing so as not to waken her. Thicker curtains or blinds on all the windows are also a must, as it was very difficult to sleep as soon as it got light from 4am onwards. Obviously I am being picky as I would love to go back again, but would be reluctant if these points were not addressed. Even better if there was a box of books, jigsaws or family games for wet days perhaps.

    Reviewed by Jean4.7May 2022

  • "Fantastic location - 5 minutes from the most wonderful beach."

    House very clean. Garden well enclosed and suitable for dog. There was some barking from next door's dogs. Crockery looking quite tired - a number of items had chips. Would have appreciated a small vegetable knife.

    Reviewed by Rae4.4May 2022

  • "Lovely property and very clean."

    Had a lovely welcome pack. Would have liked a bigger fridge/freezer but apart from that there was no problem with the house, would recommend it. The only downside was the two dogs next door who were aggressive and loud not only with our two dogs but also when we went out into the garden. At one stage we thought the fence wood come down.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Apr 2022

  • "This was a good base for our trip, everything you need in the house, especially the kitchen."

    Very quiet and toasty warm on a very cold Sunday in November. The price was good too.

    Reviewed by Simone4.7Nov 2021

  • "Lovely property very clean well equipped excellent location"

    Reviewed by Sheila4.7Nov 2021

  • "House was very clean when we arrived and the facilities were as described."

    As previously mentioned by another guest, the floors upstairs were very creaky and need attention but did not spoil our enjoyment of the house.

    Reviewed by Jayne4.4Nov 2021

  • "This was a lovely property in a lovely location and five minutes walk to the beach."

    It was scrupulously clean and very well equipped with lots of little extras. I would definitely stay there again.

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Oct 2021

  • "The property was great & in a fantastic location."

    We would have given it a 10 out of 10 score if it hadn't been for the settees which found a little uncomfortable & the lack of underlay under the upstairs carpets, which meant you heard every footstep.

    Reviewed by Adrian4.4Oct 2021

  • "Beadnell is a quiet village with lovely beaches The house was ideal for our ..."

    Beadnell is a quiet village with lovely beaches The house was ideal for our needs and was a 5 minute walk from the beach, it was also dog friendly as we had 2 small dogs We hope to be back sometime

    Reviewed by Andrew3.8Sep 2021

  • "The house was a nice size for our group (4 adults, 3 children) and is beautifully located within a short walk to Beadnell Bay."

    Linen, towels and necessities (toilet roll, soap etc) were provided as well as a lovely welcome pack. Plus WiFi and a Netflix Account available to use. A couple of things frustrated us over our stay. The floorboards upstairs were extremely creaky (we all have the odd creaky floorboard but these were significantly noisy). This made getting our 1 year old to sleep, and ensuring we didn't wake him walking around the house quite difficult. And whilst the house was clean, it was clear that under the sofa's hadn't been swept prior to our arrival as there quite a bit of dust and dog hair under the sofas. Which, in times of Covid was rather frustrating. The location (so close to the beach) was the real benefit of the property.

    Reviewed by Jane3.8Aug 2021

  • "A lovely large house just 5 minutes walk from the beach."

    Clean, tidy, well equipped and we would certainly stay there again.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jul 2021

  • "Not all extract fans worked, fridge freezer too small for size of house, no cooling available."

    if RHS are neighbours and not renters then you should not allow pets their dogs were very aggressive and noisy. But in all we enjoyed our stay there and a good location to base your holiday in Northumberland.

    Reviewed by Mark3.1Jul 2021

  • "Great location 5 min to lovely Sandy beach recommend the craster arms pub and burger van on beadnall beach."

    Bamburgh beach is also So lovely and clean House has well stocked kitchen and everywhere is very clean and comfortable

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Jul 2021

  • "Small tear in settee."

    Dining chair torn. Kitchen tap dripping. Floor boards up stairs super creaky. Electric shower over bath not brilliant. Apart from that everything else was great. The beds were super comfortable. The house was very clean. All kitchen utensils very well equipped. Garden nice and tidy. Overall not to bad.

    Reviewed by Stuart4.4Jun 2021

  • "It was great to see such a well cleaned house as we arrived in these difficult times."

    All pubs and shops were taking the rules seriously and with care

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Sep 2020

  • "Bar Harbour was dirty and if I didn’t have four very excited grandchildren with me we wouldn’t have stayed."

    Got to say it’s been one of the worst property’s I’ve stayed in for the price it should be perfect. If you would like more information I would be happy to talk about our experience .

    Reviewed by Valerie1.6Aug 2020

  • "Bar Harbour was perfect for us!"

    We were greeted with a lovely card and welcome pack. The house was spotless and had everything we needed. Kitchen was well equipped, including cleaning materials. We were thrilled to find an Iron and ironing board as we were there for a family wedding. Living/dining area was spacious for 4 adults plus 3 children aged 7 to 13. Would we go back? Definitely. It's in a beautiful part of the country and well located. Even spotted a pair of thrushes in the garden!

    Reviewed by Jan5.0Mar 2020

  • "We had a lovely family weekend away, spending quality time with my granddaughter."

    We found Bar Harbour to be very comfortable, it was warm despite the very windy outside. The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of dishcloths and tea towels. There were dishwasher tablets left and a nice little welcome pack. There were dog bowls for our two poodles who loved the back garden which was very nicely enclosed, with high close boarded fencing. The beds were the best I have slept in at a holiday rental in some time. I could actually sleep and wasn't balanced on hardboard. Everything was working as it should, and a nice little touch was the lovely bamboo children's' ware in the kitchen, although to be honest I wouldn't expect a holiday cottage owner to provide such things. We had plenty of hot water and my granddaughter loved a splash about in the bath. If you had forgotten any toiletries there were plenty in the bathroom. A really nice touch. We would stay here again and nothing was too much trouble for the owner, although there was nothing to contact her about once we had arrived. Its a short walk to the beach, and Beadnell beach is wonderful for walking your dog although my memories are of sailing there in my boat as a child. Its not far to Seahouses and Bamburgh or Amble.

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Jan 2020

  • "Love the village, accommodation disappointing, the house would benefit from a good clean, very grubby in most rooms, beds were extremely uncomfortable, various lights wouldn’t work (kitchen under counter, outside front door), all bedroom floors were very noisy, not good with small children."

    Kitchen extraction fan not working very cold in kitchen due to gale blowing through the fan. Bath leaked and came through living room ceiling. Will not be returning to this property in a hurry..

    Thank you for your feedback Your comments are very out of character for this property as the cleanliness scores are always 100%. The owner and her cleaner ensure that the property is cleaned for every holiday. The owner provides a contact number for you to call if there are any problems during the stay. They will sort out any issues for you straight away. We always encourage Customers to contact owners during their stay if there are any problems so we can ensure they are fixed during the stay and the holiday is enjoyable for you at the time. I am sorry to hear about the issues you raised with the bath and appliances – the owner has checked all of this & everything is working fine. Once again, thank you for your comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jayne3.1Nov 2019

  • "The location was great & the welcome pack was a lovely touch."

    The house itself was good and well stocked with cleaning materials etc. Unfortunately we found the house to be very grubby eg we found large ‘dust bunnies’ in the main bedroom between the bed & bedside table, the toaster looked as if it hadn’t been emptied for a while, bathrooms needed a good scrub, downstairs floors and bath tub were dirty and had to be cleaned by us. The instruction folder only had 3 pages of information in it. Instructions were found in the kitchen drawer but were loose and not very helpful. There were plenty of glasses, adequate crockery but nothing suitable for children (although there was dog bowls available). Cookware was adequate but the oven trays were rusty. Kitchen drawers were filled with ‘clutter’ and the dishwasher handle was held together with tape. The floors were very creaky – especially annoying as we had toddlers with us and we were trying to be quiet! We have stayed with Sykes Cottages many times and this house is the worse one for cleanliness we have stayed in.

    Thank you for your feedback Your comments are very out of character for this property. The cleanliness scores are always 100% The property is very well stocked and the owner has taken onboard the comments regarding the instruction booklet. It may have been moved by another Customer. They are aware of some of the floors being creaky and they are resolving this. Thank you for the other issues that you raised, the owner is aware of these We would always encourage Customers to get in touch with the owner during the holiday if there are any issues. We can then ensure that they are sorted out for your during the stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham2.5Oct 2019

  • "Bar Harbour is great and this is our 4th visit and, as usual, a lovely time was had by us all."

    The house is in a super location for the beach with just a short walk to lovely sands. It has a safe and enclosed garden for children and dogs to play in and is very spacious with plenty of room for larger families. Bar Harbour is clean, comfortable and a real home from home although some of the lounge furniture is now in need of replacing. There is plenty of garage space for storing beach equipment and a very welcome tumble drier in there as well. A lovely holiday home!

    Reviewed by John4.7Aug 2019

  • "Bar Harbour is a great place."

    Really close to the beach, well equipped and felt like a home from home. We all had a lovely stay

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jul 2019

  • "Stayed here before."

    Location is excellent. Five minutes walk to a superb beach. House is fine except for the very creaky floors upstairs, very noisy when anyone moves around. Also the grass on the lawn was very long making games difficult but I guess we were between cuts. Overall we had a good break there.

    Reviewed by Keith4.4Jul 2019

  • "One or two niggles with the property, kitchen tap was temperamental with the cold water and we experienced a couple of slug incursions in the kitchen as well."

    The TV could maybe do with an upgrade to something with a USB port as we like to watch films if the weather is inclement as it was. But barring them the property was excellent, plenty of room and comfortable, good location for the beach and close to other attractions. The owner answered our queries quickly and efficiently.

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Jun 2019

  • "Great house and location."

    Well stocked and welcoming. Plenty of space and good facilities. Minor issues are around the information on how tp use the plethora of remote controls....not good turning on the fire instead of watching the TV. Also kitchen cold tap has some kind of airlock/valve issue so sounds awful when used.

    Reviewed by Lyn4.7May 2019

  • "Fantastic house in a fantastic location."

    Great welcome gifts from the home owner. Would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0Apr 2019

  • "This has been our 4th visit to Bar Harbour and, as ever, we`ve had a truly fantastic week."

    It is in a superb location as it is only a short walk away from the beach which is ideal and safe for children to play on. Bar Harbour is very clean, comfortable and has everything you need to make your holiday relaxing. The weather was a little chilly and we used the central heating for the first time but we found we could control it easily and it heated up the house quickly. The garden is fully enclosed and safe for the dogs and the children. We cqn`t praise the house enough and have already booked to return in August which we are really looking forward to. A superb house, a fantastic location! We will keep returning!

    Reviewed by John5.0Apr 2019

  • "Fantastic place to stay, a lovely, clean, quiet residence 5 minutes walk from Beadnell's vast sandy beach."

    Perfect for a quiet getaway. Ideally located just down the road from Seahouses and Bamburgh and a short drive to Holy Island and Alnwick. The house itself had everything we could need and was very comfortable. Completely secure back garden, perfect for children and dogs. The only problem we encountered was being unable to regulate the shower in the main bathroom, but no biggie as we just used the en-suite. An outside light over the back garden would have been useful too. A welcome bottle of wine and biscuits was a lovely touch! Would thoroughly recommend Bar Harbour and if we make plans to come back to Northumberland, wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Mar 2019

  • "I absolutely loved it, my one drawback was myself, I took everything with me, and when I got there it had everything, I always take toilet rolls, cloths , scourers, extra towels etc."

    You do not need these it has absolutely everything, even down to packets of dog poo bags. I would say this was a lovely experience and I was joined by some family members who had suffered a bereavement and even they said it had cheered them up and they were grateful we invited them. The beach is a stones throw, rabbits pheasants and even geese are walking around the estate. You will not be disappointed, Go to Newton by the sea, a lovely day out, and the Joiners Arms for food was amazing, far better than the Craster Arms.

    Reviewed by Brenda5.0Mar 2019

  • "We had a fabulous stay with fabulous weather Lovely house very comfortable and well equipped Would of liked a hoover as we had 2 dogs with us."

    Would definitely stay again at Bar Harbour

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Feb 2019

  • "The property needs some maintenance, there was a smell as you walked in the entrance and into the kitchen."

    The smaller of the two couches in the lounge was very sticky. The left hand side floorboards or possibly the joist upstairs were shot resulting in a lot of noise/ banging if anyone was in either of the two upstairs rooms or going to the toilet in the night. The electric shower only stayed warm for a very short time and had very poor water pressure and the other shower did work but needed the shower head replacing. Two of the double matteresses could do with replacing as were uncomfortable.

    Reviewed by Debra2.8Feb 2019

  • "This was our second stay and once again we had a lovely week We really appreciated the welcome wine biscuits etc ."

    The only downfall was the squeaky floorboards upstairs .Otherwise a very well equipped home would recommend it

    Reviewed by Janice5.0Feb 2019

  • "Beautiful clean house with everything you need to self cater."

    We were made to feel very welcome with lovely note, milk, biscuits and wine. Perfect location for spending quality time with family. Thank you x

    Reviewed by Katherine5.0Jan 2019

  • "Great house rental in a lovely village."

    The house was very well equipped for a family holiday, and the owner had added some nice touches for our pre-christmas break, such as wine and Stollen on arrival. I can recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Dec 2018

  • "Fantastic house in a great location, stayed there for 3 nights with family , it was everything we hoped for and would definitely recommend and book again."

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Nov 2018

  • "Had a lovely stay at Bar Harbour in Beadnell."

    It was well located to explore the Northumberland coastline, including Berwick, Holy Island, Seahouses, Craster, Bamburgh, Morpeth, etc. The property was exceptionally clean, and very spacious and comfortable. We had everything we could possible need to make our stay enjoyable. The owners left a welcome note and an invitation to use coffee, tea, sugar and milk - they even left us a bottle of wine to enjoy after a day out exploring the local area. Would definitely recommend this property. The booking process was very easy and so we'd also recommend the use of Sykes Cottages to others.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Nov 2018

  • "Had a really lovely time."

    It’s a pity that Sykes bombarded me with emails every day ( sometimes more than once a day ) right from booking the holiday! I have now unsubscribed ! I am reluctant to use Sykes again due to this as it’s unsolicited mail. I only gave my email address for use in connection with the holiday I had booked!

    Reviewed by Mrs.dawn5.0Oct 2018

  • "No"

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Sep 2018

  • "Lovely accommodation with nice sunny garden close to a great beach which was ideal for walking the dogs."

    Ideally situated for touring the area's many lovely sights, walks and eating places. Would highly recommend to friends and family.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Sep 2018

  • "Absolutely beautiful house."

    Fantastic location and superb garden that was perfect for two dogs and a very active toddler.

    Reviewed by Adele5.0Aug 2018

  • "A brilliant 2 weeks at Bar Harbour as usual as we have been before and have already booked to go back twice next year."

    A lovely house, very clean and comfortable and a real home from home. It has everything needed for a great holiday. The garden is safe and fully enclosed for small children and dogs and the location is fantastic. It is only a short walk to the wonderful beach which is safe for children to play on and also to paddle in the sea. A highlight of our holiday was a boat trip to the Farne Islands where our boat was followed by a pod of dolphins. Fantastic! There are some lovely walks in the area and plenty of places of interest to visit. We really enjoyed our stay again and we are already looking forward to going back next year.

    Reviewed by John5.0Aug 2018

  • "Excellent accommodation perfect location"

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0May 2018

  • "The house was ideal for our large family."

    The garden was a lot bigger than expected and our dog was safely enclosed. Our grandson loved playing out in the garden. The house was spacious and light and had everything we needed. We had a great holiday and would not hesitate to book the same house again. We have had lots of holidays in Beadnell and this was one of our best.

    Reviewed by Gail5.0Apr 2018

  • "Excellent holiday accommodation."

    Beautiful house on a very quiet estate within walking distance of beach. Can't wait to go back.

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0Mar 2018

  • "Comfortable, spacious and clean property well placed for beach walks with the dogs."

    Had a lovely weekend with friends and would definitely consider another break at this property.

    Reviewed by Pam4.4Jan 2018

  • "The house was super-duper clean."

    The heating had been put on in advance so we arrived on a cold and wet November evening to a lovely warm and welcoming house. Lots of plates, cutlery etc, which was great as we were a large group. Loads of clean towels and bedding was nice quality. It was ideal for us as we were all attending a wedding at nearby Newton Hall and had adults and kids. There was lots of space and the garden looked clean and well tended (we didn't go outside as the weather was awful). Excellent location for a number of places and two minutes walk from the beach.

    Reviewed by Vicki5.0Nov 2017

  • "The house is in an ideal spot if you like unspoilt beaches on your door step."

    Great for dog walkers and close to numerous good pubs and restaurants. The house has all the facilities you need and for the four of us there was plenty of room. It would feel crowded for a party of eight. The kitchen is small but well equipped and there is one reception room, a decent lounge diner. Fixtures and fittings were a little basic and we found the bed a touch soft for our liking but we still slept ok. The only real negative was the noisy flooring upstairs, it creaks and bangs no matter how light footed you are and any light sleeper is woken up by any movement. It really could do with a look at. Having said that we had a good stay here, WiFi is excellent and the owner was very helpful. Good enclosed garden if you have dogs. House was clean and fresh.

    Reviewed by Keith4.8Jun 2017

  • "An excellent holiday home."

    I would be happy to rebook this accommodation for our next visit to Beadnell I would also be happy to recommend Sykes Cottages for the professional way they managed our booking and for the prompt assistance we received when we reported a leaking shower.

    Reviewed by Grace5.0Apr 2017

  • "Had a great stay at Bar Harbour."

    The property itself is extremely spacious and the location is beautiful, only a stones throw from the beach. I will definitely recommend Sykes Cottages in the future.

    Reviewed by Neil4.8Feb 2017

  • "Fabulous thank you"

    Reviewed by Pamela4.8Feb 2017

  • "Love Beadnell & Bar Harbour Had a fab Christmas with family and friends x"

    Reviewed by Lorraine4.8Dec 2016

  • "Booked the house for a family wedding visit."

    Grandparents, two sons, their partners and babies. It had everything as advertised and to a very satisfactory standard. The wifi and tumble dryer were an unexpected bonus. Northumberland is beautiful, even at the end of November!

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Nov 2016

  • "Great location next to wonderful beach and walks, the walk to crafter a must finished with a crab sandwich in the jolly fisherman."

    House nice and clean with plenty of room.

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Oct 2016

  • "Fourth visit to bar harbour just as good this time as it was the first time."

    It feels like our second home now.the position of the house to the beach is just great.a bit of if a hike to the shop and pub but that didn't matter. Northumberland is the best.

    Reviewed by Robert4.4Sep 2016

Show more Hide all


  • Four bedrooms: 3 x double, one with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom, with bath, basin and WC
  • Well-equipped fitted kitchen
  • Sitting room with dining area and doors to large enclosed garden.
  • Oil central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD player, radio/stereo CD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot, stairgate and highchair on request
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Large enclosed rear garden with garden furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shops and pubs 5 mins walk.

The property

A detached house only 500 yards from Beadnell's vast sandy beach and with views across to the sweeping bay from the first floor.

Situated on a quiet estate in the centre of the village, Bar Harbour offers comfortable, well-equipped accommodation, including a spacious sitting room, en-suite to the master bedroom and a large garden.

The sandy beach is just a stone's throw away, while the rest of the area offers golf courses, sea fishing, watersports and more.

The market town of Alnwick, with its famous castle and gardens, is a short drive away, while Seahouses, Holy Island and the rest of the glorious Heritage Coast are on the doorstep, waiting to be discovered.

View on map

About the location


Seahouses 1.5 miles; Bamburgh 5 miles.

This attractive and peaceful harbour village is situated beside one of the most beautiful stretches of Northumberland’s Heritage Coastline - Beadnell Bay. Established in Saxon times, Beadnell was once an important fishing village and a smuggler's haven. Nowadays, it is still a fishing village, but is equally popular with holidaymakers who come to enjoy its pretty harbour and, of course, the nearby sandy beaches. The village has a shop, two pubs and a café serving food. Popular Seahouses is just over a mile away and has shops, a supermarket and restaurants, and it also offers boat trips from the harbour to the magnificent Farne Islands - a haven for bird watchers. Bamburgh is close by, whilst the market town of Alnwick with its Castle and Gardens, shops, pubs and restaurants is a short drive away.

View more holiday cottages in Beadnell

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute