Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 26 View Larger Image
  • Bank View - Scottish Lowlands - 3663 - photo 1

Bank View

Chirnside near Berwick-upon-Tweed, Scottish Borders (Ref. 3663)



Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 7

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

23 Customer Reviews

  • "Great communication with owner and their assigned keyholder."

    Such a spacious, clean and comfortable accommodation. Lovely outdoor space though this seemed to be getting work done upon our departure so not sure of what it's new layout will be. Great location for exploring too. Only thing I thought would perhaps be beneficial was a clothes horse for airing clothes indoors during inclement weather, but I love doing a wee wash on holiday maybe others aren't as fussed!

    Dear Sian, Thank you for your nice comment on our holiday apartment-it it’s always nice to hear when guests are happy with the accommodation they have booked and it helps us to make improvements too. As far as the work in garden is concerned-nothing to worry about-it was time to renew the fence since it was looking a bit tired. A clothes horse is a good idea, I will put one in, although it is maybe worth mentioning that the washing machine is a tumble dryer too and there is a dedicated drying line in the garden as well. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SianJul 2022

  • "We stayed for 7 nights in Bank View Apartment with our 2 children."

    The owner greeted us to show us in and give us the key. Our first impressions were met by an suttey smell in the hallway/stairs which remained all week. The apartment was spacious with a decent sized kitchen with dining table and bathroom. The beds were comfortable but it would have been nice to have the option of 2 pillows. Unfortunately the 3rd room wasn't made up so we couldn't use them. The sofas are not very supportive and are low for anyone with back/knee issues. The apartment was fairly well equipped, it lacked a grater and the hoover was not the most efficient! We enjoyed using the cottage as a base and had some great days out. Whilst staying we unfortunately had to endure some work being done in the downstairs aspect of the building. The owner advised us on arrival that access would be needed on the Tuesday and the joiner would be working downstairs so could be noisy on the Wednesday. We never heard from her about requiring access. Due to this information we planned a day out on the Wednesday and decided to spend a quieter afternoon in the apartment on the Tuesday. When we returned for the afternoon the noise of the joiner started and it went on till almost 7pm. We were about to ring the owner when the noise stopped, just in time for settling our children to bed. We do feel this was unfair and there was no contact made to warn us of a change of plans. There was no warning before our stay of this work being completed and no offer of compensation given. We appreciate tradesmen can be hard to arrange but for potentially 1 days work we felt this could have been worked around. We hope the owner can take this feedback on board as its meant.

    Dear Anthony, I am glad you found Bank View comfortable, spacious and well equipped, but I am sorry you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay. Additional pillows are stored in the property and I could have directed you to them had you requested them. Prior to your arrival, I phoned you to discuss how the beds should be made up and I acted on your instructions. Access to the property on the Tuesday was for a routine inspection to ensure the property complied with safety regulations and took place as planned whilst you were out, as agreed with your wife. As for the noise downstairs, I am afraid I do not have control over what happens there, since it is an entirely separate property. As far as I was aware, there was going to be a joiner working downstairs that Wednesday only, who finished at 5pm. Thank you for bringing to my attention the lack of a grater, I will buy one and will also check out the hoover. The white leather sofa in the apartment is an expensive piece of furniture, and is generally appreciated by our guests. However, as you told me on arrival that you are suffering from a bad back, most settees might be uncomfortable for you. Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnthonyMay 2022

  • "Clean, well-equipped and cosy flat."

    Comfortable beds and lovely bathroom. Helpful hosts. Was perfect.

    Reviewed by EmilyApr 2022

  • "Lovely stay, very spacious and comfortable property."

    Everything you need in the kitchen for cooking. Very comfortable beds to give a very good sleep. Location very good Co-op 2 doors away

    Reviewed by JacquelineDec 2021

  • "For a dog friendly cottage listing , the rigorous rules made it rather disappointing, in particular a ban on dogs peeing in the garden which meant I could not use the garden at all."

    .the garden was one of the reasons for choosing the property . That and other overly controlling supervision means I would not return or recommend to others.

    Thank you for your comment, which I read with interest. I am intrigued that you were unhappy with our policy that pet owners should toilet their dog away from our premises, when this is clearly stated in the Sykes summary of our property. I would have thought that you knew this before you booked? As a dog owner ourselves we understand the benefit of having the company of your dog whilst on holiday, not to mention the considerable savings of ever increasing kennel fees. Surely gardens are traditionally used for other purposes than as a dog toilet? I am not sure what you mean by 'overly controlling supervision'? I am puzzled by this statement, since the only contact we had was when I welcomed you at the beginning of your stay and when I checked you out at the end. Just as well that I did, since you had not stripped the beds as per government Covid regulations! Property Owner

    Reviewed by KarenSep 2021

  • "Had a brilliant holiday in this lovely spacious apartment, it is warm clean and comfortable."

    So very well equipped, had everything and more we needed. Lovely garden to spend time in was a bonus. It is a perfect base to explore many places of interest. We really enjoyed our days out. Village is well kept, handy having Co Op so close. Thank you to Agnes for making us so welcome. This apartment is a gem.

    Reviewed by StanSep 2021

  • "This property is an ideal base to explore the north Northumberland coast, Scottish borders and Berwickshire coast."

    Edinburgh is also relatively easy to access. Local services were good we highly recommend the local butchers and we enjoyed fish and chips from the village chippy. If you enjoy whisky the tour at Glenkinchie distillery is a good experience. The only improvement we might suggest would be a small dishwasher, but then we do cook so generate more washing up than a family who eat out or takeaways!

    Reviewed by HelenJul 2021

  • "Our stay at Bank View in Chirnside exceeded expectations in every way!"

    We felt very blessed to find a property at such short notice that could accommodate our family of 6 + small dog in a location with so many nearby attractions including Berwick, St. Abbs, Coldingham Beach, Holy Island, Bamburgh, and more. Further inland, we enjoyed visiting the Jim Clark Museum (Duns) and Manderston House. We also spent a day in Edinburgh (1 hour drive). There are several nice local walks around Chirnside, and the people couldn't have been more friendly - it is a quiet, pleasant, well-kept village. The local chippy is very good, as well the Waterloo Arms. Having the Co-op literally 100 feet away was amazing! As for the flat itself, we were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness, high ceilings, and overall quality. Everything worked perfectly (appliances, WiFi, etc.) and we were all very comfortable. This is a hidden gem, I would have expected to pay 40-50% more (and would have happily done so). Agnes & Bob couldn't have been more friendly and attentive, he came round immediately to fix a stuck window on a Saturday evening. Thanks again Agnes, looking forward to our next visit!

    Reviewed by AndrewJul 2021

  • "There were a couple of issues we felt needed addressing."

    One was the cooker, which the ladies hated and found difficult to operate, a more modern one would seem more appropriate in this apartment. We would like to have had bath sheets instead of bath towels and the twin beds were extremely noisy. When turning over in the night they squeaked very badly, waking the other occupant of the room. Minor issues only, but over the period of a week they became very irritating. Otherwise the location was good and the roads excellent.

    Thank you for your comments on your stay at Bank View. We appreciate feedback from our customers- they help us to make improvements where required. In response to your concerns: the cooker was due to be replaced, and a new cooker had already been purchased, ready to be installed. However- due to Corona Virus back log of work, it was hard to find an electrician speedily. The work has now been completed and Bank View is now equipped with a brand new ceramic hob cooker and oven. Noisy beds in twin room: we have never had any complaints about these beds, either before or after your holiday, so I am not clear about how and why the beds could have been so noisy during your stay. Bath sheets instead of bath towels: many holiday apartments do not include towels as standard, you have to bring your own or pay extra. If they are included, bath towels are industry standard for holiday apartments. However- I am sure you will be supplied with bath sheets in 4 or 5 star hotels. Whilst we appreciate your desire to have baths sheets, our holiday apartment is advertised as 3 ticks by Sykes and prices reflect this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SandieAug 2020

  • "A lovely apartment with big rooms and very comfortable."

    Ideally situated in the village near amenities (shops, children's park, dog walks), beautiful country walks right on the doorstep. Also ideal for visiting the area, 15 minutes from beautiful beaches in the car and only an hours drive to Edinburgh.

    Reviewed by LisaAug 2020

  • "Very recomend"

    Reviewed by IlonaDec 2019

  • "I speak for the 3 of us who had the pleasure of staying there, we were very ..."

    I speak for the 3 of us who had the pleasure of staying there, we were very comfortable in the very homely atmosphere and it was the perfect location for access to Berwick-upon-Tweed, Lindisfarne, Alnwick, Bamburgh, Cragside, Edinburgh, Roslyn Chapel and a few other places which we discovered, we also found the locals friendly and accommodating

    Reviewed by AndrewOct 2019

  • "Very convenient village access for local amenities"

    Reviewed by SusanAug 2019

  • "Bank View provided everything we needed for our holiday, the accommodation was spacious and homely."

    The location provided a great base to see lots in the surrounding area from manor houses and gardens to cities and the seaside. The convenience of having the Co-op next door really helped and all the residents of Chirnside are very pleasant. The owners were very quick to respond when we had a problem with the fridge, sorting it out within an hour. Bathroom floor can be very slippy if wet, we had ample towels for a family of seven. We would recommend this property as it’s spacious and all on one level after the entrance stairs.

    Reviewed by JeanAug 2019

  • "Had lovely time."

    House was lovely and roomy, well equipped, even washing powder and fabric softener. Very comfortable and warm. Central for lots of places to visit. Bamburgh, Berwick upon Tweed, kelso, Holy island... Will come again if in area.

    Reviewed by LouiseOct 2018

  • "Very nice place to be."

    A wonderful flat with everything what you need to have nice vacations. Central Position for a lot of activities. A nice place to explore the scotish heritage. We will come back.

    Reviewed by ChristophAug 2018

  • "Can't really put the blame on Sykes, but more on the owner."

    We arrived at the Property after 15.00h as suggested. The door to the property was wide open, the key was inside. We were disappointed to find that the beds were not made up. There was no sign of anything at all to make us feel welcome. We tried to contact the owner to no avail. Contacted Sykes customer service who apologised and assured us that they would endeavour to contact the owner. Eventually, someone turned up with bed linen and made up the beds. It also seemed to be a problem when we requested two pillows for each guest! In comparison with other Sykes cottages we have rented, this one lacked basic items such as washing up liquid, bin bags, hand wash in toilet, toilet paper, at least in sufficient amounts until we had the opportunity to shop. Future guests should be informed of this as it would have been more convenient and would cost less to bring these necessities with us than it did to purchase them locally. Otherwise, it was a good base to explore the surrounding area, including the lovely beaches. ------------------------------------------------------------ OWNERS REPLY Dear Ms Mccrorey, Thank you for your evaluation of our property - we always welcome feedback from our customers. As I explained to you when you came to my door at 15.30, I had been held up by Scottish Power who needed to do urgent works to our electricity supply, and I had therefore not been able to lay out the bed linen for the house help. You might recall seeing the Scottish Power engineer at our door when you came round? The beds were ready for you, all made up, half an hour later. You offered to make up the beds yourself, but I felt that it was our duty to do this for you. We always leave the door to Bank View on the latch, with the key on the kitchen table, as stated in the information which you will have received from Sykes by e-mail. When you requested 5 extra pillows, these were provided at once, together with the linen– so I do not understand why you perceived that there was a problem. We always supply the flat with a fresh roll of toilet paper. In addition, all bins are lined with liners on arrival. We also provide a welcome pack of tea, coffee and biscuits. The Co-op, which opens at 7am and closes at 10pm, is 2 doors on from our property, so it is very convenient for purchasing supplies. You seemed to enjoy spending time in the garden, and we are delighted about this. However, we would have preferred if the music you were playing in the garden would have been at a more acceptable level, since our other guests in Coach House commented adversely about it.

    Reviewed by MarianAug 2018

  • "This flat is very spacious and comfortable in part."

    The living room is lovely and the bathroom has a lovely powerful shower. The master bedroom has a comfortable bed and the small room has fun double sized bunk beds in it which my daughter loved. The twin bedroom, my son found less comfortable as he felt the bed was too narrow and he was nearly falling out of it. I spent ages looking for a dog friendly cottage in the Berwick in Tweed area. I wanted an enclosed garden to keep the dog secure. It does state that dogs are not allowed to go to the toilet in the garden but even after you have taken your dog to go to the toilet, you are not 100% sure that they won't; and it was clear that if your dog broke any of the rules then you are out. So we didn't use the lovely garden as you can't leave the dog alone in the flat either. It does state this in the description of the flat but when you have looked at so many cottages they role into one. There is no access from the apartment into the garden. You have to walk around the building (the flat is above a closed down bank) to access the garden and you have to park the car on the other side of the building too. Fine if you are unpacking on a dry day. There is a park just down the path (dark at night) to toilet the dog which they can run around in. We tried to walk to the river from the flat as suggested in the welcome pack but the instructions were not clear to turn left or right and you would be walking a long way of it on a fast road with no pavement. My dog was scared by being close to cars and we didn't realise until we went by car how long this walk would have taken. There are a number of dog friendly pubs in the area (within 30 min drive) to go for dinner since you can't leave your well behaved dog at the flat. There is is co-op two doors up from the flat and Berwick on Tweed has all the big supermarkets. If you don't have a dog, then this apartment if fine. It is comfortable, well kitted out and the village is a good area to use as a base. If you do have a dog, then I don't recommend it. This place tolerates dogs rather than dog friendly.

    Reviewed by SarahJul 2018

  • "A bit disappointed in this holiday flat, even though it was well equipped, it could have done with a deep clean, when looking for lost toys moved one couch and a bed to find lots of cobwebs, its been a long time since any furniture was moved."

    The double bed is 2 singles pushed together, they also give you two single quilts instead of a double one, lack of spare pillows, beds are not comfortable, even the children complained and my children can sleep anywhere. One bedroom window was painted shut. With it only being single glazed windows, traffic driving past makes the windows rattle, there is also a pigeon problem in the village, with them sitting on line wire and window sills, making cooing noises from 4am. Parking can be a problem being next to co op, even though there is meant to be an allocated space, residents park in front of it. We enjoyed our time in the area, just not the accommodation, sorry but would not recommended this holiday flat. --------------------------------- OWNERS REPLY Dear Ms Mckenzie, Thank you for taking the time to review our property- we do welcome feedback from our customers! I am sorry that you found the property not to your satisfaction. Bank View is thoroughly cleaned on a weekly basis to present it in a clean and welcoming state for each customer to enjoy. However, it is not possible to move every piece of furniture every week, but a regular deep clean is being carried out once a month. Bank View offers, as advertised, one Master bedroom with a Super King-sized bed, one twin bedroom and one bedroom with adult sized handmade bunk beds. The Master bedroom is always supplied with a Super King pure silk duvet and naturally, the twin bedroom is supplied with two single duvets. However, guests are welcome to push the two single beds in the twin bedroom together, if they wish to do so. We have taken great care to provide beds with mattresses of high quality, and all beds are equipped with extra thick mattress toppers to ensure a comfortable nights sleep. We are not aware of any windows being painted over, and as a matter of routine, the cleaners open all windows to thoroughly air the apartment before guests arrive. Bank View, is, as seen on the web site, a period property. Heavy traffic is denied access to Chirnside Main Street, and there is a 30 mph speed limit. It is a small village in a rural location, so naturally there is wildlife, which most people find attractive. There is an allocated off road parking space in the drive of Bank View, and a white line across this space indicates no parking to block access. We cannot, however, be held responsible for parking offenses committed.

    Reviewed by CarolineJul 2018

  • "The accommodation was very good and clean."

    Nice spacious rooms, lounge and kitchen. Would definitely like to go again in the future

    Reviewed by MohamadJun 2018

  • "Nice spacious apartment with giant bed."

    Loads of places to go to and walk with the dog. Very comfortable

    Reviewed by JaneJun 2018

  • "The location was very good not far from neighbouring places of interest we had nice weather too!"


    Reviewed by HelenOct 2017

  • "We loved the place - although it is only a flat, it is spacious; you sink into the sofa and do not want to get up again."

    There is a comfy chair in the kitchen where you might want to sit and read, only that you get distracted all the time by the stunning view. Owners are very helpful and friendly. A lot of sights are close by - don't miss Bamburgh beach. You can easily reach Edinburgh. There is a very well-equipped shop with super-friendly staff just next door. We also enjoyed one of the pubs with friendly locals to have a chat. I would book again without hesitation!

    Reviewed by JuditAug 2017

Show more


  • All first floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x super king-size double (zip & link) can be made into a twin if requested from owner at time of booking, 1 x twin, 1 x adult bunks (single on top, double on bottom)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Fitted kitchen with dining area
  • Living room
  • Ground floor entrance hall.
  • Eco-friendly wood pellet central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, 50'' TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
  • All fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available on request
  • Off road parking for 1 car in front of wrought iron gates, plus free roadside parking
  • Enclosed garden with furniture and BBQ accessed via wrought iron gates
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1 min walk, pub 3 mins walk
  • Note: Guests are requested to take their dogs out of the property grounds for toilet duties. Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £150

The property

A delightful Chirnside holiday cottage apartment, in a wonderful, elevated position overlooking the Tweed Valley, and enjoying stunning countryside views towards the magnificent Cheviot Hills.

This stone-built detached upper Victorian villa lies on the main street of the village of Chirnside, and provides an excellent base from which to explore the Scottish Borders.

Enjoy Chirnside village with its historic landmarks, shops and pubs, venture to nearby Berwick-upon-Tweed and explore the quaint narrow streets and exciting activities on offer, or visit the resort of Spittal and spend the day relaxing on the soft sandy beaches before returning to this spacious Chirnside cottage apartment.

The ideal base for discovering Northern England, Edinburgh, and the Scottish Borders.

This property is next door to Ref. 2994, and together they accommodate 9.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Duns 6 miles; Berwick-upon-Tweed 9 miles.

The village of Chirnside occupies an elevated position overlooking the River Whiteadder and offers stunning views across the magnificent Cheviot and Lammermuir Hills. A number of interesting landmarks depict the village's long history, including a 16th Century dovecot and a beautiful parish church, believed to date back to the 12th Century. Each summer, the Jim Clark Rally, the only 'closed roads' race on mainland Britain, takes place in and around the Borders as a memorial to the village’s home born champion. Just 9 miles away lies the charming, coastal town of Berwick, boasting quaint, narrow streets enclosed within Elizabethan walls, excellent shopping and dining facilities and an interesting arts centre. The local area affords fantastic fishing, golf, walking and riding opportunities and the nearby resorts of Eyemouth, Coldingham and Spittal offer soft, sandy beaches, ideal for a relaxing afternoon. A brilliant location for exploring historic Edinburgh, the stunning Northumberland coastline, and the attractions of Holy Island, Paxton House, Manderson, Bamburgh and Alnwick Castle. Chirnside is a great holiday location all year round.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £150

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute