Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 38 View Image Gallery
  • Butterchurn Apartment - Northumberland - 912977 - photo 1

Butterchurn Apartment

(Ref. 912977)

Otterburn, Northumberland Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • our (3)
  • recommend (3)
  • fire (3)
  • kitchen (2)
  • family (2)
  • back (2)

4 Customer Reviews

  • "An amazing property to stay with a family."

    The rooms were immaculate, the kitchen was fully functioning and exceeded all expectations and the lounge area was extremely comfortable with a beautiful lit fire on our arrival. The breakfast was excellent value for money and the staff were very efficient. I would thoroughly recommend this accommodation. We will certainly be back.

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0Dec 2023

  • "Sykes Holiday Cottages - Butterchurn - Otterburn We stayed in the first-floor apartment which was well positioned, well equipped, clean and near the wedding venue we were attending."

    When we arrived however, after an tiring 7 hour drive with our two young grandsons, the keys were not where they were supposed to be (on the windowsill inside). We then repeatedly phoned the number given ( 07768744922) to reach Darren, the owner. The number never answered. After a while we discovered and rang a " fire alarm number" belonging to the cleaner, a nice lady called Joanne who kindly explained how to get into the kitchen of the guesthouse part of the property and get the key to the upstairs apartment which had in fact a different entrance. We found the property rather cold and given the time of year the heating was not timed to come on early enough in the evening. The information book in the apartment said “heating controls in cupboard” but this was not so. On the last day Joanne came back to enquire whether we were okay, apologised and gave us some logs for the woodburning stove. Darren was supposedly on holiday. That may well have been true but he could of course have made himself available wherever he was in the world or at least contacted us himself to apologise. Overall we did not get value for money and feel justified in not recommending the property. Sykes Holiday Cottages should have seen to it that the description given of the property tallied with the facts. The book inside the apartment was also inaccurate. We suggest a financial compensation of sorts should be considered.

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you don’t feel that you could recommend my apartment , this is far from typical, as everyone who has stayed has commented how lovely it is. I’m delighted that you found the accommodation clean, very well equipped and well appointed and our representative lovely. It is most regrettable that in error, the key was not left out for you on the windowsill and I can only apologise for this simple oversight. but, I understand that you were able to contact joanne who was able to tell you how to obtain the key. We try extremely hard to get things right for our guests and this was a simple oversight of our apartment cleaner. It was however available to you onsite momentarily The apartment was supplied with kindling, sticks, fire lighters and matches. You notified joanne at 4pm on arrival that the apartment was colder than you’d have liked. It is usual for the heating to kick in automatically at 5.30pm and guests are usually out all day and therefore, it has never proved an issue. The heating was timed to come on 7.30-9-30 and 12.30-2.30 and 5.30 - 10-30 and does not fall below 16oC. As soon as joanne was advised I boosted the heating to come on immediately and I adjusted the timings for the remainder of your stay remotely and you confirmed that the central heating had kicked in. I understand that later joanne checked in with you and provided additional logs and more than sufficient to last the duration of your stay. In future I will ensure that the log burner is lit for guest arrivals , such is my expectation. The notes in the book are intended to let guests know that they can switch the heating off from the cupboard and I will review and amend this description on my return. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. At the time you were trying to contact my number I was on a flight to Thailand. My first in 5 years, that wasn’t supposed as you have suggested but actual and I resent your veiled suggestion that we may have been telling untruths. You are assured that had it been within my gift to answer the phone at the time you rang I would have done so, from wherever in the world and I was always available on WhatsApp to joanne to react immediately, with the exception of my flight times. Joanne is not my cleaner but, manages the property in my seldom absence. Given that the apartment is extremely well presented, immaculate and well equipped and you enjoyed maximum occupancy at an already discounted price and we took immediate and positive action to rectify relatively minor concerns satisfactorily during your stay, I don’t agree that compensation applicable to this case. I thank you again for your feedback and I assure you that the actions that I have discussed will be taken to reduce the risk of recurrence. I completely disagree with your scoring that the property description is inaccurate in anyway, or that the apartment is anything short of immaculate and I note the absence of any adverse commentary to this regard to substantiate your scoring. Your issues were, immediate access not available as described and heating not on at point of arrival and both were actioned asap to keep matters in context and I will ensure that the log burner is lit for arrival. The heating was boosted asap at the time and you had everything to hand to light the log burner however, with hindsight I can appreciate that it would have been better to ensure that it was lit for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Theo2.8Nov 2023

  • "Fantastic place would highly recommend ."

    It was well furnished and well equipped. The beds were comfy. Very well looked after will recommend to friends and family will rebook again.

    Thank you very much. Delighted you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gary5.0Oct 2023

  • "We were gusts at a wedding in the area, this little gem of an apartment was absolutely amazing and very reasonably priced."

    It had everything you need, giving us our own comfort without the hassle of a hotel. Brilliant rooms with loads of space and very clean, the log fire is the best! Would recommend to anyone rather than a hotel.

    Thanks Stuart, delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your feedback it’s much appreciated Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Sep 2023

Show more Hide all


  • First-floor apartment
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size, 1 x king-size, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Electric central heating
  • Oven, hob, microwave, fridge/freezer
  • TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking available
  • Shared rear garden
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 0.2 miles, pub 0.3 miles
  • Note: Access to the property is via a flight of internal stairs

The property

Well-positioned in the charming village of Otterburn on the outskirts of the Northumberland National Park, discover this neatly-presented first-floor apartment, Butterchurn Apartment.

Benefitting from an open-plan living space, woodburning stove and close access to the local amenities, Butterchurn Apartment welcomes six guests to enjoy a tranquil escape to Northumberland.

After unloading in the off-road parking space, ascend the staircase to your new dwelling, entering to be impressed by an inviting living area where you and your loved ones can congregate and debrief after a day of adventures.

In the kitchen, get to grips with a great array of appliances before cooking up a storm for the whole family, to be enjoyed at the dining table; alternatively, if the weather permits, make use of a shared rear garden to delight in an alfresco affair.

When the evening grows cooler, take refuge in the charming sitting area and cosy up in front of the roaring woodburning stove, ready to click on the TV and catch up on your favourite shows.

If you’re seeking some much-needed R&R, slope off to the sleek bathroom and treat yourself to a long soak or warm shower before opting for either a super-king-size, king-size or twin to rest your head in.

In the morning, embark on a scenic stroll along the River Rede, stopping off at the nearby Percy’s Cross, before ending back in Otterburn to refuel with a hearty pub lunch at William de Percy or Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel.

Venturing into the Northumberland National Park, uncover the hidden gems of Hareshaw Linn Waterfall, Kielder Water Bird of Prey Centre, Black Middens Bastle House and Vindolanda, an excavated Roman village and fort, guaranteed to excite the history buffs amongst you!

For plenty of shopping and eating opportunities, spend the day in the bustling city of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, where you’ll find the Discovery Centre, Newcastle Castle, Tyne Bridge and the iconic Angel of the North.

However you choose to while away the days in Northumberland, do it from the superb base of Butterchurn Apartment.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Bellingham 7 miles; Alnwick 29 miles.

The delightful village of Otterburn, once the site of the famous 1388 victory of the Scots over the English, nestles close to the banks of the River Rede, between the hills and moors overlooking the North Tyne Valley. It offers excellent walking opportunities and is on a variety of popular routes for cyclists. Hadrian's Wall and the beautiful Kielder Forest and Waters are close by, providing fantastic fishing, horse riding and nature watching, amidst superb, tranquil countryside. Otterburn is the former home of a busy weaving industry, and the world famous Otterburn Mill marks the village's historic past. Nearby Bellingham, built predominantly from local stone and slate, houses a handful of pubs, shops and tea rooms and a highly regarded 18 hole golf course. Visit the nearby, majestic, stately homes of Wallington Hall and Cragside, or the historic market town of Alnwick, with its stunning castle and gardens, a mere 40 minute drive. Otterburn is a superb location for a relaxing holiday, any time of year.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas