Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

30 people have recently viewed this property

Mariners Rest

Amble, Northumberland (Ref. 1037567)

4.5

Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

20 Customer Reviews

  • "This was a wonderful house and we really enjoyed staying there."

    I do think that the yard could do with a makeover.

    Reviewed by LynnApr 2022

  • "Just a lovely little cottage."

    Very clean and perfect for what we wanted.

    Reviewed by DavidApr 2022

  • "A lovely base from which to explore the area"

    Reviewed by LindaMar 2022

  • "We had a lovely few days in Amble."

    Some reviews of the house had been less than positive but it was only one of two available at the time of booking. We couldn’t have been happier. Clean, cozy and welcoming. It had everything we needed.

    Reviewed by ChrisMar 2022

  • "Lovely, well equipped cottage in a good location."

    Very helpful, approachable and genuine owner who sadly was badly let down by his housekeeping services. The oven and grill pan had been "missed" by the housekeeper and were very greasy and dirty. The owner immediately apologised and offered us vouchers for a local restaurant. After 24 hours the housekeeping service offered a detailed explanation about the personal circumstances of one of the staff which may have caused the oversight. Unprofessional and unsatisfactory. After some persuasion the issues were rectified on day 5 of the holiday.

    Reviewed by VictoriaDec 2021

  • "The cottage is well appointed situated in a central location with shops and restaurants nearby."

    There are scenic walks on the doorstep with a large field just behind the cottage that is ideal to walk your dog/s where they are able to be let off lead . Parking is not provided at the cottage but there is a free car park just down the road.We had a great break visiting nearby attractions Warkworth castle (within walking distance along the coast),Alnwick and Bamburgh a short drive away.

    Reviewed by FeliceNov 2021

  • "An excellent holiday home."

    An old house renovated to the highest modern standard, great location and very comfortable- we will be back

    Reviewed by MarkNov 2021

  • "Lovely location, especially for the late night dog walk."

    Easy access to shops etc. Parking was easily found very close to property. The beaches were fantastic, we found a different area to walk each day. All in all we had a great stay

    Reviewed by JoOct 2021

  • "Super cottage in great location, Walking distance to harbour and lots of shops and restaurants."

    We had a great week , just a few points which we felt were worth noting: -the bed in the 2nd double room was small, not a true double, - both duvets were too hot - the crockery could not go in the microwave

    I am pleased that you think Mariners Rest is a super cottage in a great location. Regarding your comments the double bed in the second bedroom is a 4' double bed and is listed as such on Sykes website. The crockery is not designed to be put in a microwave. The cottage is equipped with appropriate dishes etc for our guests to use in the microwave. Thank you for your comments which help us to maintain the cottage to a high standard whilst continually improving the facilities available to our guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HilarySep 2021

  • "A cosy, comfortable cottage which was very relaxing to come back to after a day out."

    The location was very good - close to two supermarkets and the harbour, and handy for the River Coquet for those interested in water sports. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by BarbaraSep 2021

  • "Would have been ideal if description had mentioned the cottage was in the heart of the village because we were woken up each morning at 4."

    30 am due to delivery trucks! Property required deep clean everywhere, they did fulfil request to clean shower and kitchen floor, but I would have preferred not to have to ask! Reason given was due to being very busy this year! Bed in main bedroom very comfortable, but as my husband snores I sometimes slept in single and that was very lumpy with protruding springs!

    Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Mariners Rest. I would first of all apologise that the property did not meet your expectations, although I was surprised as all guests' feedback to date has been extremely positive. We take guest feedback very seriously as this enables us to continue improving the experience of our guests stay with us. I will respond to your comments as they appeared in the order of your feedback. Disturbed sleep - Firstly you state that you were unaware that the cottage was situated in the heart of the village. The fact is it is clearly stated on Sykes website that it is in the heart of Amble You also mentioned disturbance caused by various delivery vans at around 4.30 am every morning. Northumberland County Council have set delivery restrictions, in that they cannot take place before 6.00 am and these are strictly enforced. I was concerned that this may be a regular occurrence, which is clearly in conflict with the guidelines. I contacted the Trading Standards Department who advised me that no complaints had been made to them in this respect during the period of your stay. Standard of cleanliness - You stated that the property required a deep clean on your arrival. Understandably you contacted our cleaning contractor and spoke to the Head Housekeeper (the contractor is a Sykes preferred partner) who came to see you immediately to discuss your issues. Deep cleaning of holiday let properties follows strict guidelines and is carried out under exceptional circumstances. Examples might include, following completion of property improvements or subject to a prolonged period of shutdown such as COVID restrictions. In both examples our property received a deep clean. The cottage is thoroughly cleaned each time there is a changeover of guests as was the case on the morning of your arrival. The Head Housekeeper does not agree with your claim that a deep clean was necessary. However, as a matter of courtesy she cleaned and scrubbed the downstairs open plan area. Single bed - The cottage was completely refurbished the year prior to lock down and only became a holiday let in the spring of 2020. All beds were purchased new following the refurbishment. I am surprised that you found this bed to be lumpy and to have protruding springs. Of the three beds in the house, this is the one least used, as guests tend to be either one or two couples. The bed is used occasionally when guests include two children. It certainly does not have any protruding springs. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ShirleySep 2021

  • "Cottage beautifully situated for all amenities and just a short walk to the sea."

    Struggled with the wet room shower at first but soon got the hang of it, it no way spoiled our stay. Would stay there again

    Reviewed by PatriciaAug 2021

  • "The listing for the property is incorrect as it states that there is a king sized bed in the second bedroom and a double in the main room with en suite."

    There is a double in the en suite room but the bed in the second bedroom is actually only a small double (4ft) not king sized as advertised. This did cause us great problems and we would not have booked if we had known the bed configuration. Disappointing! Otherwise the property was exceptional and in a fantastic spot but unfair to falsely advertise the facilities

    I am delighted that you found the cottage was exceptional and in a fantastic spot. I also note you found the cottage listing details regarding the smaller of the 2 double bedrooms unsatisfactory. The original listing was compiled by Sykes Cottages and, as you have pointed out, incorrectly states that the second bedroom comprises a king size bed when in fact it should have read standard double bed. Regrettably, I failed to detect the error, and as the owner I fully accept responsibility for the incorrect entry. During the first week in July 2021, the double bed, in this second double bedroom, was replaced by a new 4ft double bed, together with a single wardrobe. I would also like to thank you for your feedback which is most important to us as we continually improve the facilities available to our guests. The listing has been amended by Sykes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CathrynJul 2021

  • "We had a lovely time cottage had everything you would need and a great location"

    Reviewed by SamanthaJun 2021

  • "The cottage was home from home, every need catered for."

    Location ideal. High Street literally on the corner where you will find supermarkets, restaurants and take outs. The Harbour 10 minutes walk away also has restaurants. If you like an ice cream then a visit to Spurreli's is a must. Lovely touch to have a parking permit to use whilst out and about.

    Reviewed by LMay 2021

  • "The cottage was very well equipped and very clean."

    Felt really welcome and the milk in the fridge and the loaf if bread were much appreciated. Would definitely go to Mariners Rest again

    Reviewed by DavidApr 2021

  • "A lovely little cottage just off the main street so close to shops but quiet."

    Recently decorated and really well done. I have slight hip problems and found the double bed too hard for me to sleep so moved to one of the other bed rooms. There is no parking on site but this is usual for this type of cottage. We have booked this cottage again so it must be good.

    Reviewed by GlynApr 2021

  • "It was a lovely cottage but the underfloor heating downstairs wasn't effective at keeping us warm (we had to use the fan heater and blankets provided)."

    Also the lack of curtains upstairs made for disturbed sleep, especially for my son sleeping in the single bedroom where the streetlights shone straight into the room making it like sleeping in daylight.

    Thank you for your feedback. The underfloor heating is normally extremely efficient. All systems and appliances are well supported in the Sykes welcome pack as well as the comprehensive guest instructions in the house - 3 telephone numbers (owner, local agent and Sykes) are provided as we are very keen that guests make contact with us so that any issues are resolved immediately. It is unfortunate, that during your stay, I was not made aware of the difficulty you encountered with the underfloor heating as I would have resolved it immediately, either with instructions over the phone or by visiting you. I can also change the settings remotely anytime to suit any guests’ needs. In response to your comments about street lights disturbing sleeping guests we have purchased blackout curtains for all 3 bedrooms. We are pleased that you have found time to provide feedback, giving us the opportunity to make continuing improvements for the benefit of all future guests staying in our property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JennieOct 2020

  • "Lack of freezer this would have been useful as most people would be taking their own food."

    Even if this were to be in the refrigerator. The heating system especially the under floor was not really efficient especially in the cooler weather. Key box outside and the alarm box would be better placed lower on the walls very difficult to operate. The cottage is in an ideal situation for people who enjoy the outdoors,so many events in the area. Plenty of hot water at all times. The owner of this property was very helpful but would suggest that as we were to put out waste bins the information should be colour coded for the necessary days of collection. Overall we did enjoy this place.and could recommend it.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had some issues with our property but welcome your feedback and an opportunity to respond. The fridge is advertised as being without a freezer compartment. We want to make the cottage as comfortable as possible, and having considered your comment, we have installed a desk top freezer for the convenience of our future guests. On your arrival you were unable to open the Master Lok key safe in order to gain access to the property. Despite calling me for assistance you still could not gain access, so we called out within half an hour to enable entry. We met with you again at the cottage at the end of your stay to ensure, that during your stay, you did not have to worry about securing the property when you left at the end of your stay. We have also lowered the key safe on the wall and thank you for your comment in this respect. The colour coded bin collection timetable is available in the guest instructions file. However, we have now attached copies to the inside of both bin lids in response to your comments. We have addressed the issue of the underfloor heating in our response to Mrs Morgan (October 2020). Property Owner

    Reviewed by KathleenOct 2020

  • "Mariner’s Rest was more than the usual holiday cottage."

    It was welcoming with clear information and everything needed on arrival. It is exceptionally well kitted out and furnished. The kitchen is small but has everything you are likely to need. We were very impressed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would certainly recommend it to friends.

    Reviewed by JeanJul 2020

Show more

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite wetroom with shower, basin and WC, 1 x 4' double , 1 x single
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting room
  • Gas central heating upstairs, underfloor heating ground floor
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge, table top freezer, microwave, washing machine, TV with Freeview and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Three well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub within 0.1 miles; Note: This property does not feature a garden
  • Note: Parking can be found within the town and is based on a first-come, first-served basis

The property

Mariners Rest is a fabulous open-plan cottage that can be found lying at the heart of Amble town.

Ideally situated and just a 5 minute walk to both the Marina and the Harbour, this countryside cottage provides the perfect escape for groups of four travelling with their four-legged friends.

Enter into the warmth open-plan living space and sink deep into the stylish leather sofa, as you flick on the television and unwind from an action-packed day in the countryside.

Move your way over to the pretty country kitchen, well-equipped with all the essentials for a smooth-sailing self-catering stay.

Pop on the kettle and delight in a warm cup of tea, as you group together at the dining table to discuss your plans for the evening ahead.

Climb the staircase to the first floor and be greeted by a stylish bathroom decorated with chic black tiles, where you can indulge in some peace and quiet as you take your time to get ready with a rejuvenating cleanse under the shower.

Venture into your bedroom for the week, whether it be the homey king-size decorated with pretty florals, the delightful single boasting ample storage space, or the spacious double with the benefit of an en-suite wetroom.

Grab your coat and head for the door to indulge in an evening of wining and dining out on the town, at some of the area’s most popular pubs and bars.

If a quiet night indoors is on the cards, be sure to stop by the local supermarket to pick up all your favourite snacks.

Sitting close to the coast, the town of Amble is home to an idyllic harbour with striking colourful beach huts and The Fish Shack where you can enjoy a mouth-watering portion of fish and chips.

Take to the waters for a trip to Coquet Island, a favourite amongst bird watchers thanks to the colourful puffins that call this beautiful area their home.

Over in Warkworth lies the imposing ruins of Warkworth Castle and Warkworth Hermitage.

Whilst in the area, be sure to take a walk through the Northumberland Coast Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and stop by the 14th century ruins of Dunstanburgh Castle.

Stay at Mariners Rest for a relaxing retreat to the North East.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

AMBLE

Warkworth 1 mile; Alnmouth 4 miles.

The bustling little seaport of Amble is situated at the mouth of the River Coquet and is an ideal place for exploring Northumberland. Historically a centre for boatbuilding, Amble offers a marina, a harbour, sandy beaches and coastal walks to the bird sanctuary at Hauxley and country park at Druridge Bay. Large fishing boats moor along the harbour wall and land a variety of fish, prawns, crabs and lobsters. There is a fish centre on the side of the harbour that is now primarily a shell fish hatchery to re-stock levels of lobster and other shell fish, this sells local fish and is open to the public. A mile south of Amble is Coquet Island, an RSPB reserve with a large population of terns, puffins and eider ducks and boat trips around the island can be arranged. The pretty coastal villages of Alnmouth and Craster and numerous superb beaches are only a short drive away, whilst picturesque Warkworth with its castle, charming Alnwick with its castle and award-winning gardens, and the National Trust’s Wallington Hall and Cragside are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Amble

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it