Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Shropshire 6 minutes ago

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • The Maltster's House - Shropshire - 7120 - photo 1
close

The Maltster's House

(Ref. 7120)

Ludlow, Shropshire Show on map

4.9

Sykes rating

  • 10 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Four poster bed
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (30)
  • location (22)
  • ludlow (19)
  • well (18)
  • lovely (18)
  • our (17)

51 Customer Reviews

  • "Great property ."

    Very comfortable and restful. Brilliant location. As the temperature outside dropped and was frosty we wanted to light the wood burner but could find nothing to light it with. Perhaps some Prosecco glasses would have made the celebratory weekend complete. Other than that , perfect!

    Reviewed by Sandra4.7Nov 2023

  • "We had a lovely weekend in Ludlow, the Maltster’s house was very clean and comfortable, very well equipped and situated in a lovely spot for discovering the area."

    We had a great time. Thank you

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Nov 2023

  • "We came to Ludlow for a family get together and the Maltsters didn’t disappoint."

    It was clean and comfortable with all the facilities we needed for a relaxing stay. We would definitely recommend it.

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Oct 2023

  • "Appreciated the welcoming flowers and the extras accommodations made for us , ..."

    Appreciated the welcoming flowers and the extras accommodations made for us , we enjoyed our time and the Ludlow experience and wine

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Sep 2023

  • "Our second visit to The Maltsters within a year !"

    Perfect home in a great location. The owner was very accommodating with lots of help on hand . Everything in the home is top quality with really comfortable beds and 2 bathrooms. There’s a car park and the railway station within 5 minutes walk,Tescos and Aldi too.We would totally recommend a stay here especially if like us you need a restful weekend with good friends.

    Reviewed by Nicky5.0Sep 2023

  • "A lovely, spacious, clean, well appointed and equipped property, walking distance to everywhere in central Ludlow and very near supermarkets and train station."

    It is on a main road, a bit noisy sometimes if the front windows are open. Good to have a free parking space in the road. Unfortunately the sound on the lounge television did not work and we didn't want to waste holiday time staying in for engineers, so could not use it.

    Thank you for your feedback. Following your stay we had an engineer come out to the property and fix the issue with the television before the next guests arrived. We thank you for your stay and hope you enjoyed it regardless of this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanna3.4Jun 2023

  • "The property is beautiful!"

    10 minute walk to centre of town & castle. Aldi, Tesco and railway station around the corner. We parked at the railway station for our stay as the property is on the main road and only has parking for one vehicle. Eating establishments tend to close at 2:30 pm and reopen at 6 pm.

    Reviewed by Damian5.0May 2023

  • "We had the most amazing weekend here, the house was perfect and had everything we needed."

    Perfect location for our adventures too! We would definitely be visiting again! Thank you so much to the Malsters House owners. Xx

    Reviewed by Rachael5.0Apr 2023

  • "This is a beautiful home in the centre of Ludlow town."

    The photographs do not do it justice. We were celebrating a big birthday with our daughters husbands and grandchildren. It was very convenient for walking to restaurants and shopping. The bed linen was beautiful and everywhere was very clean. Only moan ,we would have liked some champagne glasses and we did find quantity of toilets for ten is an issue .

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Mar 2023

  • "Lovely house."

    Well maintained and plenty of cookware and utensils. Very helpful owner.

    Glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Becky5.0Nov 2022

  • "We felt so lucky to find this gem in Ludlow !"

    Perfect setting close to shops and bars staying in a beautiful home . The house had everything we needed with comfortable beds and lots of space to socialize together which was perfect for our celebration. I was contacted by the owner who was lovely and really helpful.Our group have talked about making it a yearly trip due it being so perfect

    Reviewed by Nicky5.0Sep 2022

  • "A lovely property in an ideal location"

    Glad you enjoyed your holiday at the Maltster's House. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally5.0Aug 2022

  • "Lovely house, very comfortable and great location."

    Reviewed by Emma5.0May 2022

  • "Spacious, clean and comfortable cottage."

    All the rooms a generous size. Very comfortable beds and leather sofas. The kitchen is well equipped with pans etc. Two boilers so there are no hot water issues when staying with a large group. Excellent location, with the centre only a few minutes away at the top of the street, and the walk to Dinham Weir starting at the old church yard opposite the house. The owner was exceptionally helpful, making sure we had good restaurant tips in advance; we loved the "secret" parlour pub at no. 14 Corve Street. Highly recommended overall.

    Reviewed by Dan5.0Apr 2022

  • "The house is in a great location for exploring the lovely town of Ludlow."

    It was clean, comfortable and spacious. The owners were helpful with suggestions of places to eat, park and visit.

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Apr 2022

  • "Stunning property."

    Ideal location. Excellent communication. All utilities of a very high standard. We were a gang of 5 uni friends and the cottage was exactly what we needed. Close to town, station, supermarket. Thoroughly enjoyable. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Rhian5.0Mar 2022

  • "A lovely house which was ideal for our family get together."

    Excellent communication from the host ensured everything went smoothly. Ideally situated for exploring Ludlow. I'm sure we will be back.

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Mar 2022

  • "Fantastic house."

    It has been wonderfully updated and the original features preserved to make it very attractive. All the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The house was spotless and well maintained. We were particularly impressed by the kitchen, the expensive appliances and the level of equipment. Cutlery, crockery, glasses and pans were all top quality and there was plenty of them. It even has Le Creusot! The location is excellent and only a short walk to the centre of town. Our group was very impressed with the house and we look forward to returning there soon

    Reviewed by Garry5.0Jan 2022

  • "A lovely old house, with bags of character, plenty of space, comfy beds and ..."

    A lovely old house, with bags of character, plenty of space, comfy beds and perfectly situated for a short stroll into town

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Dec 2021

  • "Lovely house in a great position for all of the town centre facilities."

    Also a great base for cycling trips into the surrounding countryside.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Oct 2021

  • "Lovely property, beautifully situated, well equipped with friendly, helpful owners who are close at hand if needed."

    If I can make one suggestion: the bath towels are exceptionally small and should be replaced.

    Reviewed by Stewart5.0Sep 2021

  • "The house was lovely, it was everything we wanted"

    Reviewed by Teresa5.0Sep 2021

  • "A very enjoyable week."

    Reviewed by Keith4.7Jul 2021

  • "Superb accommodation Very good communication from the owner Will be staying again"

    Reviewed by James5.0Jun 2021

  • "Well appointed house."

    The courtyard is a locely suntrap.

    Reviewed by Hilkka4.7Jun 2021

  • "We enjoyed a lovely four night stay at The Malsters to celebrate my mum’s 70th birthday."

    The house was extremely comfortable, had everything we needed and enjoyed a fantastic central location. Alina was extremely helpful and gave lots of recommendations that helped to make our stay even more special. We would love to visit this property again.

    Reviewed by Mandy5.0Oct 2020

  • "A beautiful house in an ideal location for exploring Ludlow."

    Reviewed by Di5.0Sep 2020

  • "Fantastic place to stay in Ludlow!"

    Owners were also very helpful with advice and tips on things to do/places to go to during your time there.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Sep 2020

  • "Yes the property was Great, well Placed, Plenty of room, Very Clean and Tidy."

    Parking was Just across the road. Ludlow it self was a Wonderful place to visit, Plenty of places to go, and a short train ride to plenty of places of interest. Will one day return.

    Reviewed by Paul4.1Sep 2020

  • "Malster’s House was deceptively spacious, well presented and very comfortable for our group."

    All the amenities within the house were clean and in good order with a good stock of crockery/cutlery. The beds are very comfortable, and the size of the bathroom has to be seen to be believed! Would highly recommend this property.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Aug 2020

  • "The location of the property was very good with having local shops close by so you didn't need to rely on transport, having the free permit to park your car across the road was an added bonus."

    Plenty of room within the house to accommodate 10 people.

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Aug 2020

  • "The Maltsters house ticks all of the boxes that you would expect of a holiday cottage ."

    Just on the edge of Ludlow which is a beautiful town full of quirky shops and varied eateries, we Loved the walk in and didn’t have a bad meal or take away. The cottage itself Comfortably accommodated 9 people, we were lucky with the weather and spent some lovely family evenings in the courtyard. Everything was spotless and there were no shortages of equipment. All Bedrooms were spacious With very comfortable beds and you could have a party in the bathroom it was massive. All in all I would recommend the cottage and hopefully it doesn’t get fully booked so we can book it again in the future.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Aug 2020

  • "The cottage was lovely, comfortable with everything we need for an enjoyable stay."

    We like to cook and the kitchen had all the equipment we required and it was a cosy place to stay. The location could not have been better, we had the town on our doorstep with shops, pubs and restaurants within walking distance.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Feb 2020

  • "The house is really comfortable and well-equipped, and we enjoyed our stay very much."

    Parking is obviously an issue in Ludlow, but you can unload outside the house before moving the car to a car park, all of which charge 7 days a week. We had difficulty lowering the temperature of the central heating so turned off the radiators where necessary, so these will need to be turned on again, I expect. Thanks again, we had a great time.

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0Dec 2019

  • "The cottage was great."

    It was in an excellent location, very comfortable, and well equipped. The parking situation is a bit inconvenient. We had to park a short distance away, in a pay and display carpark. The tariff was payable from 8am to 6pm. There was no option to pay in advance, so we had to get to the carpark to pay by 8am( except Sunday, which was free). The TVs didn't work. The owners did try to resolve this, without success. They did say that sometimes this was due to previous visitors, messing with the cables( although not in this case).Maybe this is something that could be checked before new visitors check in. There were no champagne glasses.

    Thank you for your feedback. Both televisions have been checked and it appears to have been guest errors. The TV in the dining room was working and the TV in sitting room was receiving radio channel(if TV displays no channel found, please press AV button on Panasonic remote control.) Thank you again for your feedback and I am glad to see you scored your stay so highly. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jeannette4.7Nov 2019

  • "Only that we had 13."

    5 tog duvet in July!

    Reviewed by William5.0Jul 2019

  • "Exceptional house, excellent location, would highly recommend this property"

    Reviewed by Ceri5.0Apr 2019

  • "The house is excellent, very spacious and very well equipped."

    Parking arrangements take a little time to master, but there were ample spaces in the vicinity. ( We had 3 cars between us)Ideally situated for the centre of Ludlow, just a quick stroll up the hill, close to restaurants, pubs and shops. Plenty of useful tips from the owners. A great house !

    Reviewed by Melanie5.0Apr 2019

  • "Ludlow and The Maltsters House were the perfect setting for our family gathering to celebrate our Golden Wedding."

    The house has an Award for restoration and conversion to holiday letting. Everything was so well equipped and laid out. Spotlessly clean and everything in good order. What more can we say ! We would highly recommend both the house and the town.

    Reviewed by Derek5.0Mar 2019

  • "The cottage was fitted out to an extremely high specification and very well equipped indeed."

    The owner phoned me with information and recommendations a few days before our trip and also phoned me shortly after our arrival to check we were happy with everything. We had a lovely trip for Mums 90th Birthday, very happy customers.

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Feb 2019

  • "Sykes staff were polite, efficient and very helpful with any queries I had."

    The holiday home was delightful and the description accurate. We had a super weekend. Thank you

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Oct 2018

  • "Fabulous house in a good location, very spacious although not sure it would comfortably accommodate 10."

    Storage space and toilets may be an issue. The house is very tastefully decorated and generally well equipped. The host was extremely helpful. The WiFi that was an issue in some reviews has clearly been resolved. We were unlucky to have roadworks on the busy main road directly outside the house which made it very noisy with cars waiting at the traffic lights from early morning.

    Reviewed by Nicola4.1Oct 2018

  • "Perfect location for exploring Ludlow and lovely, comfortable, well equipped house."

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Aug 2018

  • "We wanted a large house to use as a base for a 60th birthday celebration for 9 ladies, this was more than adequate!"

    We were taken aback by the eye for detail, having used houses filled with Ikea furniture previously, to have these lovely furnishings at our disposal was great! The lovely leather sofas with the wool blankets to snuggle into was very popular! The bathroom where a party could be held in was amazing! A well equipped kitchen topped it off, and that gorgeous long table was a brilliant for us all to sit and gossip!!!!!

    Reviewed by Bernice5.0Jun 2018

  • "This is a fabulous property in a perfect location."

    The only drawback we found with been an all female group of 10 was that 2 showers and 2 toilets was sometimes a problem.

    Reviewed by Julia4.7Mar 2018

  • "Beautiful house, in an excellent location with walking distance to town which is very convenient."

    The house was well appointed. An extra toilet would have been useful as we were a party of nine but other than that it had everything one could need.

    Reviewed by Russel4.7Mar 2018

  • "The best holiday cottage we have stayed in."

    Everything in the house was of high quality. The position in the town was ideal. Communication with the owners was good and couldn't be more helpful. Would definitely recommend this place and will most probably go again.

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Mar 2018

  • "The owner telephoned us prior to our visit to explain where to pick up the key and to inform us of all the exciting local things to do while in and around Ludlow."

    We all fell in love with Ludlow and the surrounding gorgeous Shropshire countryside. The house was beautiful ideal for our family size with rooms spacious enough to entertain and enjoy each others company. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Angela4.8Jan 2018

  • "As a group of mixed ages from 2 to 76 yrs old ."

    It met our expectations . We had a problem with a radiator not working the owners were round to sort it out for us with in the hour. The size of the cottage was great we weren’t on top of each other . The 2 separate downstairs areas meant you could relax more . Well equipped kitchen . One feature that would help, would have been spare bedding as we had young children and accidents can happen and we didn’t have spare bedding for when this happened . Location was great for getting out and about or staying around Ludlow. We had days where some guests weren’t 100% to go out and about the house was a good size for people to relax in. The centre of Ludlow just there meant they could have a wander around .

    Reviewed by Denise4.8Dec 2017

  • "A quality home in a quality location."

    ....Highly recommend you won't be disappointed :)

    Reviewed by Nigel4.8Nov 2017

  • "Excellent town centre location in beautifully appointed, spacious family house."

    The owner also gave recommendations of places to eat and go with a two year old in Ludlow.

    Reviewed by Rowan5.0Apr 2017

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Four bedrooms: 1 x king-size four poster double with ensuite bathroom, 1 x family room with 1 king-size double and 1 single with additional pull-out bed, 1 x twin (zip/link, can be super king-size double on request), 1 x ground floor twin (zip/link, can be super king-size double on request) with en-suite shower, basin, WC, washing machine and tumble dryer (doors to bedroom and hall)
  • Large bathroom with bath, hand-held shower, separate shower, basin and WC
  • Fitted kitchen with breakfast table
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove.
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove in sitting room
  • Electric oven, ceramic hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, 2 x TVs with FreeSat and Blu-ray DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • There is a parking permit provided for one car opposite the property, roadside parking available 1.5 minutes walk away from the property, 24 hour car park is also available 2 mins walk from property
  • Enclosed high walled courtyard garden to rear with furniture and BBQ
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 min walk
  • Town centre, castle and leisure centre with swimming pool and spa 5 mins walk
  • Commonwealth Alexander Stadium 1hr 20 min drive away
  • Please note that check in time is 3pm and check out time is 10am
  • Note: There is a parking permit provided for one car opposite the property Note the preferred check in day is a Friday and a Monday

The property

This superb 18th century Ludlow holiday cottage is situated just 5 minutes' walk from the heart of the famous medieval town of Ludlow, one of the UK's finest examples of Tudor England.

This charming Grade II listed Ludlow cottage has been awarded Ludlow's Conservation and Heritage Award for quality of conservation and enhancement, having been immaculately renovated, decorated and furnished in a traditional style, which provides luxury accommodation and oak beams throughout.

This Ludlow cottage provides very spacious, character accommodation, ideal for a family holiday in beautiful Shropshire.

At this Ludlow cottage there are four large bedrooms, including one on the ground floor with an en-suite bathroom.

On the ground floor there is also a kitchen with breakfast area, an attractive dining room with TV, and a sitting room with TV and a Clearview woodburning stove, which is perfect for relaxing in front of after an exciting day exploring the Shropshire countryside.

Ludlow is home to a majestic 11th century castle, renowned shops, pubs, wonderful restaurants, tea rooms and racecourse, and is famous for its huge variety of food, art and transport festivals.

For the more energetic there is cycling and fishing close by, as well as golf and numerous walking routes along the Mortimer Trail.

Nearby attractions include Stokesay Castle, the Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre, Acton Scott Historic Working Farm (as seen on TV), the Long Mynd and Caradoc Hills, the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, Wroxeter Roman Ruins, the Severn Valley Railway and medieval Shrewsbury and Hereford.

This is a Ludlow holiday cottage of the highest quality offering wonderful family accommodation in a truly special all year round location.

View on map

About the location

LUDLOW

Church Stretton 15 miles; Hereford 25 miles; Shrewsbury 28 miles; Worcester 33 miles.

The historic market town of Ludlow is situated on the River Teme, amidst the outstanding countryside of the Welsh Marches. With more than 500 listed buildings, the town provides a fascinating range of architecture including Ludlow Castle which is over 900 years old and is one of the first stone castles to be built in England. Today the castle is open all year round and hosts a wide range of events including outdoor theatre, food, art and literature festivals and many antique and art fairs. Below the castle, Millenium Green offers a large public riverside green and weir and provides excellent indoor and outdoor dining facilities via the Green Cafe located right on the riverside. Ludlow has held street markets since the twelfth century. Nowadays, a traditional open-air market takes place in the town square every Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday throughout the year. More than forty stalls selling a range of goods including fresh produce, cheeses, books and a selection of local crafts are on offer with the 'Local to Ludlow' produce market some Thursdays and an Antique & Flea market some Sundays. Ludlow is also a gourmet’s paradise and a shopper’s dream. The town boasts many places to eat and drink, as well as a number of exclusive boutique style clothes and gift shops. Ludlow is within easy reach of Church Stretton, Shrewsbury and Hereford, as well as popular attractions such as World Heritage Site of Ironbridge Gorge, Severn Valley Railway, Berrington Hall, Croft Castle and Cardingmill Valley. Ludlow is a superb destination for a relaxing all year-round break.

View more holiday cottages in Ludlow

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas