Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th September '22. Available on breaks arriving 1st January - 30th April '23.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Peak District 9 minutes ago

1 of 36 View Larger Image
  • The Watermill - Peak District - 12513 - photo 1

The Watermill

Tickhill, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales (Ref. 12513)



Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 10

  • Bedrooms 5

  • Bathrooms 3

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

23 Customer Reviews

  • "We had such a lovely weekend at The Watermill with family that we hadn’t seen for a long time."

    The house was well equipped for what we needed, and full of character and history. All ten of us enjoyed cooking together and eating together. And although it wasn’t as close to the Peak District as we had thought, we did spend a wonderful day of walking up Bamford Edge, which was around 50 minutes away by car. The only thing I can think of that would have improved the stay for one of us, would be if the single bed in the small bedroom was more comfortable.

    Reviewed by LynseyMar 2022

  • "Our stay at The Watermill was really enjoyable, though how it can be marketed as The Peak District I don’t know?"

    That aside this lovely, historical, quirky, spacious house was perfect for our family Christmas. All the memorabilia was fascinating too. The location albeit on the outskirts of Doncaster was a super location on the shores of a lovely duck pond. Only a short walk to pubs and local shops meant the car was parked most of the time.

    Reviewed by ChristineDec 2021

  • "Very comfortable and well equipped."

    Felt remote but close to a beautiful town. Had a lovely time with friends and family. Angie was very helpful

    Reviewed by BrianAug 2021

  • "The house was well equipped and we loved the location."

    The only problem we encountered was a matter I raised with your Team before we went because someone had posted that they were not full size double beds. As I have two six foot son-in-laws it was rather important that there were at least double sized beds. Two of the 'double beds' should actually have been listed as SMALL DOUBLES and were not really suitable for an average sized couple to have an comfortable nights rest. We managed, because we had an amazing holiday but this did somewhat spoil the experience. The single bed was a mattress on a Z bed frame and not strictly a single bed. The sitting and dining rooms were all perfectly comfortable and well equipped. I did also mention this to John when applying for the Good Housekeeping refund.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Watermill. We are sorry to hear that you found the double beds too small, we can confirm that they are all standard size doubles. Regarding the single Z bed, we have taken note of this and amended the description to advise of this. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SandraAug 2021

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at the watermill as a family and the surroundings are ideal for walks and access to nearby places of interest."

    Due to the nature of the old building, there are a few obstacles on floors and low ceilings to be careful of with children and tall people! Some of the high ceilings could do with a good dusting and the property is very poorly lit for darker periods of the day. An otherwise lovely and unique staycation destination.

    Reviewed by HenryJul 2021

  • "Great Quirky place to stay, right on the duck pond, very well equipped and very well located."

    We stayed for a mid week trip and had a wonderful time.

    Reviewed by NathanJul 2021

  • "We had a lovely family holiday at the Watermill, Seven adults and three young children."

    There was plenty of space and we hardly saw the children apart from feeding the ducks, we got through quite a few bags of frozen peas. There was a playground nearby and good places to walk the dog so everyone was happy. Local takeaways and local butchers were excellent and the people very friendly.

    Reviewed by BenAug 2020

  • "We had a great stay here."

    Angie was very helpful and prompt to respond to contact. Accommodation is comfortable for 9/10; very well equipped, and a great location. Good pubs and cafes nearby, thoroughly recommend staying here!

    Reviewed by TinaAug 2020

  • "Fabulous quirky cottage, lots to look at, a feast for your eyes,inside and out."

    Reviewed by ElizabethMar 2020

  • "Angie was incredibly helpful and available to handle some plumbing issues, etc."

    The Water Mill is an exceptional property and contains loads of character. The owner has made significant upgrades in the bathrooms and kitchen. The only issue we had was a slow draining shower which apparently is a function of the sump pump. Otherwise an excellent stay!

    Reviewed by MarkJan 2020

  • "Beautiful property beautiful village the watermill is very old and dirty, appliances not in good working order toilet broke after one use, dishwasher leaks, fridge doesn't close properly, underfloor heating in kitchen didn't work at all."

    Also boiler in one of the bedrooms not very safe Definitely would not recommend this place if you have young children

    We are sorry to read your comments. If you had made the owner aware of any issues during your stay they have said they would have been happy to assist you. However the owner has noted that there was damage to the property that was discovered after you left unreported. The owner did subsequently receive a payment from you to remedy them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SusanDec 2019

  • "Great property, great location."

    We were looking for a large property within reasonable strikeing distance of family in Rotherham in order to attend an 18th birthday party. Instead of taking several rooms in one of the usual generic hotels, we opted for something a little different and found it here. The Mill is full of charm and character and it's location in Tickhill is spot on. Yes, things are a little creaky. Yes, things could be improved a little in some areas but, in all honesty, I could pick holes in a newly built property let alone one hundreds of years old. A few things need freshening up a little but, on the whole, it's a great place to stay. Would I recommend it? Definitely. Would I stay there again? Oh yes.

    Reviewed by PatriciaDec 2019

  • "It was a beautiful building but furniture was so old and very uncomfortable, not the best place for people with back pain!"

    . If you have mobility problems I would avoid. Loads of cobwebs which can be easily reached and are unnecessary. Main areas were clean but It does need some tlc and a thorough clean, recycled but the bin men didn't take it so ended up putting it in the waste bin as we were concerned about it blowing everywhere. It certainly isn't luxury and is over priced. Overall we loved the house it was quirky and a beautiful location. If the sofa's were renewed and the few faults sorted a couple of us would return but not the way it is now.

    Reviewed by SarahAug 2019

  • "Lovely, quirky cottage conveniently situated."

    Angie the contact for the house was more than helpful on our arrival date. We loved the character of the house and had a great cozy weekend (once we had figured out the heating!)

    Reviewed by LaurenJan 2019

  • "This is a really lovely holiday cottage for a group to enjoy, I would definitely go back."

    There are big communal areas which could easily accommodate a full compliment of 10 adults (and dog!) and meant that some people could watch a film in one place while others read quietly elsewhere. You could do short country walks straight from the door and the village itself is lovely and very well serviced with pubs, restaurants, butchers and other shops. We set up the Z bed in the sun room which was comfy and cosy for a week. The bathrooms were nicely done and well proportioned. The kitchen is a good size with a great oven and plenty of food storage and worktop space for preparing big meals - we found no problem with the fridge which we were a little worried about beforehand because of other reviews. Angie was really helpful and nice to deal with and filled me in on local info it was useful to know. Overall, we all really enjoyed our week at the Watermill in Tickhill and would heartily recommend it.

    Reviewed by CarolineDec 2018

  • "The Watermill is a beautiful property and as we were only 5 people we did fit, although the bathroom were inadequate."

    The property is listed as 10 people, this is only true if one person is on a z bed in the lounge. Definitely not suitable for 5 couples. The beds are only standard doubles, with one 'double' only 4ft wide. It also says 3 bathrooms, it only has two and a cloakroom, the listing also implies a separate shower in the main bathroom, however it is just a tap with a shower head over the bath. Skyes rates this property as 5 ticks implying some luxury which it certainly does not. The term luxury should only be used for properties that provide more than the average, king or super king beds, proper beds for everyone, enough showers for the party, for 10 people I would expect a minimum of three, ideally five. This unfortunately will make me question other properties with this rating. In our view the property should be listed as 6 to 8 people maximum, 2 bathrooms with only the shower in the en suite, not very convenient. We did not get what we expected which was a bit of luxury. I would rate as 3 ticks only.

    Reviewed by JoanneAug 2018

  • "Quirky old mill with new bathrooms and heating."

    Lovely period features and absorbed 6 adults and 4 children with a bit of ingenuity. Apart from the z bed all clean and comfortable. The z bed springs were a bit weak so just as well only used by a child. We had a lovely weekend and the children absolutely loved the mill. Easy Walking distance to Tickhill and the old mill pond forms a delightful backdrop to the cottage. Key pickup was easy and housekeeping contacted in advance to sort out beds and bedrooms. Well done all involved

    Reviewed by RogerMay 2018

  • "I would like to thank you all for a lovely weekend away."

    What a beautiful place and property. Special thanks to the owner as he took the time personally to call me when I had a couple of questions. Again thank you Kind regards Jane Pearce

    Reviewed by JaneMar 2018

  • "The Watermill was perfect for our needs."

    Never had such a stunning view from the kitchen sink! Everyone found what they wanted whether it was a quiet reading room, big screen TV or noisy family games. House was warm, comfy + clean. Owner even provided firm pillows on request. It was the best get together so far....

    Reviewed by HelenDec 2017

  • "Your photos do not do the site justice, they make it look smaller than it is, and some."

    More photos of some of the 'hidden' areas are left discredited , for example the hallways and down stairs bedrooms are not shown

    Reviewed by DanielJan 2017

  • "Beautiful location plenty of restraunts and pubs and locals very friendly"

    Reviewed by HelenOct 2016

  • "The place was very charming!"

    We loved the decor and spaciousness, along with the complete kitchen supplies for cooking and eating. I would suggest having some basic supplies such as toilet paper, paper towels, dishwashing liquid and bath soap available to at least start. Finally the slugs in the kitchen and dining area were problematic. Perhaps a visit from the exterminators is in order.

    Sep 2016

  • "Very good area and friendly people."

    Contact Angie very helpfull

    Reviewed by IanSep 2016

Show more


  • Five bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor 1x double with TV, 1 x ground floor single Z-Bed, 2 x double, 1 x double with TV and en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with bath with attachable shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Fitted kitchen with range-style cooker
  • Sitting room with dining area
  • Study
  • Sun room with doors to courtyard
  • First floor sitting room with gas fire.
  • Gas central heating with gas fire in first floor sitting room and underfloor heating in kitchen
  • Gas range-style cooker, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, 4 x TVs with Freeview, 2 x DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars, additional parking on roadside outside the property
  • Enclosed decked patio area with heater, and mill pond with waterfall and underwater lights
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shops and pubs 0.1 miles
  • Note: This is an historic property, and as such there are low doorways and some internal steps
  • Note - This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £480
  • Note - Due to the property being a Watermill , and on open water, it is advised that children are supervised at all times during your stay
  • Note: Additional Z-bed available

The property

An outstanding detached Grade II listed watermill, adjacent to the ruins of Tickhill Castle in the village of Tickhill.

Full of history and featured on BBC's Escape to the Country, this unique Tickhill cottage has been beautifully decorated and furnished throughout to provide cosy, quality accommodation.

Dating from the 13th century, this Tickhill cottage retains original features including some of the mill workings, open stonework, wooden floors, beams and plenty of living space, just perfect for extended family or friends to relax in style and enjoy this interesting and pretty area.

With views over the mill pond and its resident ducks, this Tickhill cottage provides a first floor sitting room with gas fire for you to relax together, ideal in cooler months.

Sunny days will find guests enjoying the sun room, or the decked courtyard with its waterfall flowing below.

Just outside this Tickhill cottage are seats to rest and take in the ducks on the pond and views over towards the historic castle.

Lovely walks into open countryside can be enjoyed right from the doorstep of this Tickhill cottage, as well as a selection of cycle routes.

There is a golf course around 3 miles away, and Potterick Carr reserve is ideal for bird-watching.

Just a 2 minute walk from this Tickhill cottage are a wide range of shops, wine bars, pubs and restaurants for you to enjoy, with some set in a cobbled stone courtyard.

The nearby market village of Bawtry is where the Mayflower Pilgrim Fathers originated, and today boasts cobbled streets, shops, a number of pubs and a variety of fine restaurants, or you can spend a relaxing day in the serenity of Riverside Fishery Bawtry Yorkshire, with your rod in hand and not a care in the world.

The Peak District and Sherwood Forest offer wonderful opportunities for walking and enjoying the great outdoors.

You'll be spoilt for choice at this wonderful and unusual Tickhill cottage.

Note: This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £480.

View on map

About the location


Sheffield 18.5 miles.

Tickhill is a Yorkshire village with a history dating back to the Domesday Book. There are many traditional shops and pubs in Tickhill, which is a lovely place to explore, including the 12th century Tickhill Castle, which has had an eventful history; a battle between Prince John and his brother King Richard I and then the civil war of the 1640s when Oliver Cromwell paid it a visit! Today Tickhill Castle remains an impressive ruin, with its Norman gatehouse, foundations and moat, which are all accessible. The lovely millpond has a wide variety of ducks, and there is a very pleasant circular walk from it, a great way to take in the surroundings. Tickhill is in a superb position for Doncaster Races, which is 10 miles away, and the bright lights, theatres and shopping of Sheffield is only a 20 minute drive away. The Peak District National Park, Alton Towers and Sherwood Forest, the classic home of Robin Hood are all within easy reach. Bawtry, where the Mayflower Pilgrim Fathers came from, can be explored, while Lincoln is just 40 minutes away and a bit further are the Lincolnshire coast, York and Leeds, or The Deep submarium in Hull.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute