Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

  • 7 Gretton - (Ref. 956804)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

7 Gretton

Cardington, Shropshire (Ref. 956804)

4.7

Excellent

Sykes rating

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

40 Customer Reviews

  • "A lovely cottage in a rural location, with everything you need for a week away."

    We appreciated the welcome pack with home made cakes. Great pub in easy walking distance. We enjoyed visiting local attractions like Ironbridge and Ludlow Castle. Walks can be enjoyed from the door or a short drive out to places like Wenlock Edge or Stiperstones. Thoroughly enjoyed our week at 7 Gretton.

    Thank you for your lovely comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at No 7 and the local attractions. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TimothyOct 2021

  • "Lovely peaceful location in a good position for touring the local area."

    Thank you for your review and for scoring No 7 100%. It was great to see you again and we hope to see you in the future - you will always be welcome. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnthonySep 2021

  • "A very good base to work from, although maybe a little remote for some adventurous spirits."

    Everything you could want is in easy reach with a short car journey, or better still leave the car behind and walk. The locals were very friendly and easy to chat to. The local pub served very good ale and food and always had a very welcoming atmosphere. We would choose this accommodation if we return to the area at some stage in the future.

    Thank you for your review and it would be lovely to see you again if you do decide to return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by StephenSep 2021

  • "We had stayed there last year and despite supposed Covid Cleaning regimes in place we noticed their standards had slipped dramatically."

    The windows all needed a good clean. The tin opener was disgusting and had to be scrubbed clean before use. New scissors are required as the current ones couldn't cut through hot butter. The rug in front of the inglenook rucked up far to easy and was dangerous. On the plus side it was nice to see a handrail had been fitted to the entrance steps but unfortunately only one of the four lights that marked the entrance path was working.

    "Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at No 7 which of course we take very seriously. What a pity you felt the need to voice so many negative points and we hope they didn't spoil your holiday. With regard to the windows, they are cleaned regularly but sometimes other maintenance issues needing to be dealt with on changeover morning will have taken up our time. The insides would normally be cleaned every Saturday and the outsides during the week, but this year we have found that as the majority of guests have spent most of their days at No 7 rather than going out, we have therefore found it difficult to clean the outsides as often as we would like because we don't want to intrude on guests privacy. The hearth rug has been replaced in the hope that the new one will stay in place and please accept our apologies for the tin-opener which was an oversight which of course should not have happened. The solar-powered lights and scissors have also been dealt with, we were not aware that they were not working. We would have been more than happy to have been given the opportunity to address these issues whilst you were here, especially after visiting you to ask if you were happy and if there was anything you needed or that we could do and to let us know if there was as we only live next door." Best wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by MartinSep 2021

  • "Perfect location for the Shropshire Hills"

    Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BrianJul 2021

  • "It was obvious that the cottage was very old with a lot of wooden beams and walls a foot wide."

    It had great charm and character. It was scrupulously clean and everything looked brand There were welcoming touches of a loaf of bread, a pint of milk and small cakes. Everything that was needed to make the stay enjoyable was included. It is way out in the country side with the local village having a pub and a church. To go out meant travelling narrow country lanes to get to a main road. This part of Shropshire has some beautiful hilly scenery with easy to challenging walks.There are also many interesting places to visit, historical, religious and lots of places for food and drink. My favourite village was Much Wenlock, and further afield the town of Ludlow. It was a superb holiday where even the weather was good.

    Thank you for your wonderful review - we are very lucky to own such a little gem of a cottage and to live in such beautiful surroundings and it is great that we are able to share it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JudithJul 2021

  • "A cracking little cottage tucked away in rural Shropshire - perfect for what we wanted and needed."

    The cottage was better than we imagined it would be, it had all the amenities we needed, and more besides, a very welcome 'welcome pack' was provided (including cakes!!! :-)), and we felt very much at home. It was also lovely to be able to meet the owner, Caroline. It was a brilliant base for a week of cycling and walking. The countryside is stunning, with a pub within walking distance. It was a shame we had to leave, and I suspect we will look to book again.

    Thank you very much for your lovely comments. It's always good to know that our guests have enjoyed staying at No 7 and our lovely countryside. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BevJun 2021

  • "The cottage was perfect for my solitary stay of six nights."

    Spotlessly clean and appointed to a very high standard in every way, while retaining many original period features that made it feel comfortable and welcoming. The owners had left a welcome pack that included homemade cake, jam and fresh flowers. I was also welcomed in person. The whole experience was delightful, as well as good value. Sykes provided a simple and clear service for booking and payment, much appreciated.

    Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at No 7. We feel very lucky to own such a little gem and it's great to be able to share it with guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MaryJun 2021

  • "Loved the peace & quiet."

    Scenery & history of the local is outstnding. WE also loved to see rabbits, foxes, sheep & cows all around. Can recommend New Ruby Chinese takeaway in Church Stretton

    It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at No 7 and saw lots of wildlife during the week. Hope to see you again sometime. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NevilleMay 2021

  • "Great location for exploring the Shropshire Hills and plenty of walks straight from the door."

    The only noise at night was the hooting of owls!

    Thank you for giving No 7 100% and for your great comments, we are glad you enjoyed your holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidOct 2020

  • "The cottage was well prepared and had had a thorough clean before our arrival."

    If you are looking for a cottage with character this is the cottage for you as it has it in spades from the doors through to the bedroom. It is situated in the countryside next to a farm giving a feeling of space but is 5 minutes from a pub and 10 minutes from Church Stretton. It was ideally placed for our walking holiday with there being an abundance of a range of walking in the area. Harry and Caroline kept in touch with us before our stay and Harry called on the day of arrival to explain a few things and answer any questions we had.

    Thank you for your feedback. It's good to know that you enjoyed your stay at No 7. We love it's character too, although it takes longer to clean on changeover days than if it didn't have it. The cleaning has always been important to us and is especially so during the present time. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DerekOct 2020

  • "Just one thing , it says that the cottage has a tumble dryer but it did not , a small mater I guess ."

    Although as we like to walk the hills , we very often get wet , we thought no mater we can dry our walking gear , sadly we could not , but other wise we loved the cottage and have booked again for next year .

    Thank you for your review of No 7. We are sorry to hear that you didn't find the tumble drier and hope that you didn't get too wet - it's in the shed adjacent to the cottage. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the rest of the cottage and look forward to seeing you again next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MaryOct 2020

  • "Excellent self contained cottage in a beautiful and peaceful spot."

    Everything we needed was there and it was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, with extra covid protection measures in place too.

    "We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at No 7 and thank you for your lovely comments". Property Owner

    Reviewed by CaraOct 2020

  • "We enjoyed everything about this cottage experience ."

    It really felt cosy & comfortable . The owner had gone to great lengths to make sure we felt safe & secure . We were really impressed with the cleaning regime prior to our arrival . The cakes ,bread & milk were very much appreciated . My wife loved the flowers .The cottage is ideally situated to make the most of a Shropshire experience .

    We are so pleased to hear your comments following your stay at No 7, they are just great. The cottage's cleanliness and comfort are very important to us and we really appreciate your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MichaelSep 2020

  • "Great cottage in a great location to explore all that the area has to offer."

    Lovely pub a few minutes walk away, serving reasonably priced food and good local ales to try. Many walks from the door. All precautions in place to make our stay safe in these strange times. TV signal a bit dodgy sometimes (but we didn’t go to watch TV) and a dishwasher would have been nice to save a bit of time, would definitely return.

    Thank you for your kind comments regarding No 7 and we are glad you enjoyed your stay there. With regard to the dishwasher, we may be able to install one in the utility Property Owner

    Reviewed by NicholasAug 2020

  • "7 Gretton is a beautiful cottage surrounded by very scenic countryside and just a short walk from a lovely pub."

    The cottage itself was outstanding in cleanliness it was so homely and comfortable we had a very enjoyable couple of nights there to re charge our batteries!! The key pick up was hassle free. Communication with the owners was very good too! We were very happy with our stay there

    Thank you for your lovely comments and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at No 7 and feel recharged even after just a couple of nights there Property Owner

    Reviewed by VickyAug 2020

  • "This comfortable cottage is ideally located to explore this pretty part of South Shropshire."

    There are lots of walks & cycle routes directly from the cottage. Even though Covid-19 social-distancing restrictions were in place during my stay, the owners checked early on that everything was in order in the cottage - which it was - and where I could find them (the property next door) should I need to speak with them - which I didn’t, as they had provided everything I needed. A perfect place to retreat to at any time of year.

    It was lovely to meet you and have a "social distance" compliant chat and thank you for your lovely comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolAug 2020

  • "The cottage is delightful, very clean and tidy with excellent Covid 19 arrangements."

    Very comfortable and well equipped, ideal for visiting Shropshire and the Marcher country. Location perfect and the local pub is superb.

    Thank you so much for giving No 7 a top score and for your lovely comments, especially regarding our Covid 19 measures. It's hard to find the right balance and we are very pleased that you feel we have achieved this Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidAug 2020

  • "We had an amazing time at 7 Gretton in Shropshire, a beautiful and peaceful area not too far from Church Stretton."

    The house was spacious and airy, with all the features we could hope for. Everything had clearly been cleaned thoroughly before our arrival, and the owners were even kind enough to leave us some delicious bread and cakes! Would recommend this cottage and thanks to the owners for their hospitality.

    We really appreciate your super comments and are pleased you enjoyed the cake too Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChristianAug 2020

  • "The cottage was everything it said it would be, had a really fantastic stay regardless of weather would recommend this cottage and the ease of booking with sykes."

    "Thank you for giving us 100% in your review of No 7 and for your comments. Your enjoyment of our cottage is very important to us, such a shame we cannot provide good weather as well" Property Owner

    Reviewed by FrankNov 2019

  • "No 7 Grefton is the ideal cottage for a holiday."

    Caroline came down to meet us and was a really nice person. We were treated not only to a sparkling clean, comfy and warm house but it was filled with thoughtful additions like milk, tea and coffee, logs, CAKE! Everything you could need was there: first aid kit, torch, washing machine, utility for dirty boots, ... honestly it was absolutely brilliant. It is well placed for exploring areas such as The Long Mynd, The Stippertones, Ironbridge, Shrewsbury... Thank you Caroline and Guy for a great week. We were extremely comfy.

    "Thank you very much for the great comments in your review of No 7, it's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and my cake!" Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by AprilNov 2019

  • "Beautiful homely English cottage owned and run by lovely people."

    Caroline was welcoming, kind, and provided bread and milk and yummy treats on our arrival. The cottage had everything one would need on a holiday. It was spotlessly clean and is warm and cosy with woodburner and central heating. Very comfortable bed and strong and toasty hot shower. It’s in a very quiet location within a half hour drive to most of the local Shropshire tourist sites. I would highly recommend Gretton 7. Thankyou so much for having us Caroline. Kia ora!

    Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you have fully recovered from your cold. If you are to visit the UK again it would be lovely to have you back staying with us. Kind regards, Property Owner

    Reviewed by TraceyOct 2019

  • "Coming from Australia, the experience of staying in a cottage like this was something we could only imagine."

    We thoroughly enjoyed it and would be recommending it to others.

    thank you so much for giving us 100% in your review of No 7. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay especially as you came all the way from Australia! Property Owner

    Reviewed by YvonneOct 2019

  • "The cottage exceeded our expectations and was exceptionally clean."

    Thank you for giving No 7 100% in your review, it's much appreciated and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GarySep 2019

  • "The cottage is quiet and rural, down narrow lanes which was fine."

    There was a great problem with flies in the cottage. We've stayed in many rural cottages but never had such a problem. Maybe the owners need to put a screen door up! Bed was comfy. Towels were very stiff and hard and shower didn't drain away properly...I think there was a blockage cos water came up the shower when you flushed the toilet. Owner came to visit but never returned to replace bulb in lamp!

    Reviewed by CameronJul 2019

  • "The cottage was brilliant, in a superb location down a quiet lane, If stopping ..."

    The cottage was brilliant, in a superb location down a quiet lane, If stopping in this area again would certainly look at booking this cottage again

    Reviewed by StephenJul 2019

  • "The location of the cottage was just what we wanted"

    Reviewed by ColinMay 2019

  • "We had a great week at 7 Gretton."

    It's a lovely spacious cottage with just about everything you would need for a self catering holiday - although there are so many excellent places to eat in the area that our self-catering was limited to cooking our morning bowl of porridge!! We were welcomed with milk, bread, home-made jam and cakes which was an unexpected treat. You'll soon get used to the narrow lanes although they are very quiet and we rarely met any on-coming traffic. Our SatNav was extremely useful if not essential. It's a well placed cottage for visiting the many places of interest in the area and we'll certainly be back for some more exploring.

    Reviewed by NigelMay 2019

  • "A delightful cottage d in a quite hamlet well placed for visiting the area."

    Facilities were very good

    Reviewed by LesleyMay 2019

  • "We found the cottage so peaceful and very comfortable."

    The welcome tray was really yummy and found lots to do and did many walks some from the door. The sympathetic renovation of the cottage was absolutely lovely. The little stroll to the local pub was pleasant.

    Reviewed by JanetFeb 2019

  • "The peace & quiet."

    The views all around were just lovely. The locals very friendly. The cottage was really comfortable, very clean & I had the best nights sleep ever, probably to do with how relaxed you can't help but feel but also the bed which was so comfy didn't want to get up!!. Opened my eyes to the many experiences available when renting accommodation. So much so I have already booked a summer get away for the family in a property in Norfolk. Well done Skye's Cottages

    Reviewed by CaroleDec 2018

  • "Lovely cosy, quirky cottage!"

    Reviewed by MargaretDec 2018

  • "This beautiful cottage in a quiet location is a perfect get-away."

    Peaceful with everything you need to enjoy a holiday. Thoughtful, pleasant owners added to the experience. I have already recommended it to friends and plan to stay again. Thank you.

    Reviewed by HeatherOct 2018

  • "Lovely cottage in a tiny hamlet of Gretton next to a farm, it's so peaceful and dark on a night - if you want some good shuteye away from the hustle and bustle this is a good choice."

    It's conveniently located near Cardington village which has a nice pub and Church Stretton is just up the road which has a good sized Co-op as well as other little stores like cafe's, plenty of restaurants and bakeries. Facilities at the cottage are great, all you could need for a week. It's well maintained and clean, spacious for what you need. It was nice to see how the cottage came about (there's a little photo album showing its restoration/expansion). You can't go wrong if you want a well priced week away in the Shropshire hills.

    Reviewed by LiamAug 2018

  • "Superb location, very convenient for Church Stretton and the Stretton Hills."

    Very well equipped, and a lovely welcome from the owners when we arrived.

    Reviewed by RichardJul 2018

  • "Probably one of the best cottages we have had, very nice welcome pack and other thoughtful touches."

    Ten minute walk to pub was good, be careful the roads have a lot of potholes so be aware when driving, but all in all a very good week.

    Reviewed by RichardJun 2018

  • "A very enjoyable stay thank you"

    Reviewed by DarrenJun 2018

  • "The hospitality of Caroline and Harry was warm and gracious."

    Little touches like jam, slices and personal introduction were very welcome. The cottage was spotless, comfortable and well appointed and provided an excellent base for our daily outings to local places of interest. We would have no hesitation in returning some time in the future.

    Reviewed by LaurenceApr 2018

  • "Highly recommended."

    Reviewed by CarolMar 2018

  • "Lovely , clean, comfortable cottage in a great place."

    Owners very friendly and helpful.

    Reviewed by MikeAug 2017

Show more

The property

A delightful, detached character cottage in the heart of the hamlet of Gretton, just half a mile from the beautiful village of Cardington situated next to a working farm.

This beautiful cottage is ideal for a romantic break in the Shropshire countryside, and the perfect place to unwind after a day of exploring.

The property exudes character with exposed beams throughout, stonework and traditional stone tiles complimenting the rural surroundings.

From the front door there is a utility room which leads to a cosy sitting room where you can relax after a long walk whilst warming up by the log burning stove.

The stylish and well equipped kitchen and dining area features traditional stone tiles.

On warmer evenings you can sit outside on the patio and enjoy the peace and quiet whilst sipping a glass of wine.

Upstairs there is a charming king-size double room and a separate shower room.

Outside you have an enclosed gravel garden with a patio area and lovely views of the farm and surrounding fields.

The charming village of Cardington is packed full of picturesque buildings dating back to the 1600s, and home to Shropshire’s oldest pub which dates back to 1651.

Fabulous walks and cycling trails are just a few miles away in the town of Church Stretton which is overlooked by the stunning Long Mynd Hills, also known as Shropshire’s ‘Little Switzerland’.

Visit Bridgnorth and sample locally-brewed beers by the riverside.

Why not explore further afield and visit the medieval towns of Ludlow and Shrewsbury, or travel to the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge.

This cottage is the perfect base to explore Shropshire’s Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Summary

  • One king-size double bedroom
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with log burning stove.
  • Oil central heating with log burning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, tumble dryer, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Ample off road parking with garage for 1 car
  • Bike storage
  • Gravelled garden with patio with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 6 miles, pub 8 mins.

View on map

About the location

CARDINGTON

Church Stretton 7 miles; Much Wenlock 7 miles.

The pretty village of Cardington lies amongst the rolling hills of the South Shropshire countryside. Cardington boasts the oldest pub in Shropshire – The Royal Oak, mentioned in the Domesday Book! Its rural situation is ideal for sightseeing, with miles of country walks in all directions, not to mention the beautiful Shropshire hills - a draw for walkers, riders and nature lovers alike! A wealth of birdlife (including buzzards, woodpeckers and ravens) has its home here. Acton Scott Historic Working Farm, Severn Valley Steam Railway, Stokesay Castle, Shrewsbury, Ludlow and the Ironbridge Gorge, with its 10 museums, are each less than 15 miles away. The attractive market towns of Church Stretton (known as "Little Switzerland" by the Victorians) and Much Wenlock are both close by and offer a variety of shops, pubs and restaurants. A superb location!

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it