Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Peak District 7 minutes ago

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 42 View Image Gallery
  • The Old Coach House - Peak District - 1037142 - photo 1
close

The Old Coach House

(Ref. 1037142)

Buxton, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales Show on map

4.1

Sykes rating

  • 10 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (23)
  • property (18)
  • well (16)
  • stay (16)
  • great (15)
  • location (15)

36 Customer Reviews

  • "Great accommodation, couldn't recommend enough."

    Lovely place, bigger than the pictures and everything you could possibly need there.

    Reviewed by James5.0Feb 2024

  • "We had a lovely stay."

    The cottage was in a perfect place and big enough for all of us. We did notice that the place could have been cleaner as there was cobwebs in a number of rooms and the carpets needed a good vacuum. The mattresses in the twin room downstairs were very uncomfortable, also the drain outside the front door was blocked. The wooden flooring next to the downstairs toilet has swelled and needs fixing.

    Reviewed by Richard3.1Jan 2024

  • "We loved our stay."

    The place was warm and inviting, with a huge open plan area for cooking, eating and lounging. There is a large catering oven and it is very well provided for with kitchen equipment. A second cafetière or coffee machine would be a useful addition, given the house can accommodate 10 people - but our overall experience was great. Thank you for providing some Xmas decor too - very much appreciated. Also worth noting the proximity to the town centre and beautiful opera house. We took full advantage.

    Reviewed by Valerie4.7Dec 2023

  • "Very roomy and comfortable property in an excellent location for getting into town and into the surrounding countryside."

    It is an old house and shows its age in parts, but has a well-equipped, spacious kitchen and sitting area and the bedrooms were all clean and comfortable. It was perfect for us to get our family together for a big birthday weekend. The only slight quibbles were a lack of cafetiere or equivalent and there was a grub screw missing from the internal door knob for the main bathroom, so you had to be careful opening the door to get out.

    Thank you for your kind comments about the property and its location. We will get a new cafetiere and sort the missing bathroom door screw. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend break away. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark4.4Oct 2023

  • "On the one hand the house was great - large and convenient for town whilst easy to reach the countryside, however the general state of the property was disappointing, so much detail being tired and worn, and the mould in a couple of upstairs rooms was alarming."

    to find out about this issue with mould whilst travelling to the property, by reading 2 recent online reviews, was unforgiveable - since you were aware of the issue i would have expected to have been informed.

    We are sorry. We have cleaned off all mould, caused by lack of air circulation, and repainted all areas affected so this is no longer an issue. The property is very old, at the bottom of a wood and in Buxton which is very wet. We have kept the original stone walls, as these are an integral part of the property, so the walls are irregular and show signs of age. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonty2.2Sep 2023

  • "The property was spacious and well equipped overall and location was as described."

    Upstairs there was widespread black mould in several bedrooms and the shower room when we arrived. We opened windows when we were in, but black mould needs to be treated professionally (and certainly not by paying guests). The racks and bottom tray in the oven were filthy. Overall impression was of poor maintenance and decay. We did hear sounds from above the main bedroom which suggested squirrel or similar in the roof space

    Thank you for your feedback. We are addressing the mould problem as soon as possible. The cleaners must have missed the oven and we apologise for this error. We have not been alerted to noises from the roof space before but will look into this. The property is maintained. It is a very old coach house with original irregular features. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jeff2.2Aug 2023

  • "The property is in a good location next to some woods and only a ten minute walk into town, although it is uphill on the way back!"

    It is well furnished and presented on the surface however the owners really need to address the mould in the house as that is not something that I expected from a 4 tick property. If I had read the review from the previous occupiers I would have questioned staying here. It was on the walls in the ensuite bathroom (also the grout was not clean), in the cupboard in the master bedroom (I had to move my clothes out as they became damp to the touch), and quite significantly in the double room. There was also some dirt and cobwebs on bedroom windows, and also the flooring in the kitchen has gaps in the boards and seems to be coming away in some places, causing some stumbles. I accept it is an old/large property but some of the paintwork was also dirty. Finally was the issue of us having to allow access to the property, while we were out, for someone to fix the washing machine - or we would have had to stay in and give up the last day of our holiday - because the owners were going on holiday!

    We are sorry about the mould issues. We are doing our best to address them. With regards to the washing machine we had to get a hoover engineer and allow him access to the property to repair the machine. Unfortunately the breakdown of the machine (which is new and barely used) coincided with our annual holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicci3.1Aug 2023

  • "Lovely spacious property very well situated for Buxton and the surrounding area."

    Excellent Wi-Fi and tasteful decor. Unfortunately we were delayed getting into the property due to a problem with the cleaners but communication from the owner was good. Even though this was unavoidable I would say that cleanliness of the property was below what I would expect. Black mould particularly bad in small double bedroom and en-suite. Washing machine not working during our stay which is a pain when you are in a big group.

    Thank you for your positive comments about the property. Unfortunately you experienced some problems outside our control. The cleaners were involved in an accident en route to the property and this caused a 2 hour delay in you accessing the property. We contacted you immediately and offered to pay for any refreshments etc while you visited Buxton beforehand. The washing machine broke down whilst you were there. We called an engineer immediately who came out the next day. He visited 3 times and was unable to mend the machine. This has been escalated to hoover and is being resolved. We tried everything we could do to sort the machine asap. It is a barely used new top of the range washing machine so this was very unexpected. We have told the cleaners to deep clean those areas you mention and they have done that. Mould can be a small problem in the summer when the heating is not on as it is a very old property but we keep on top of it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma2.2Aug 2023

  • "The house was perfect for our reunion of 8 female university friends, now in our late 70s."

    The location was very good, short walk to town centre ( slightly hilly), walking routes straight from the door. The house itself was very attractive and the open plan layout was ideal for sociable meal preparation and eating. The house was also extremely well and thoughtfully equipped, and we appreciated the welcome present of a bottle of wine and chocolate biscuits! Plenty of space for 3 cars. We very much enjoyed our stay. Thank you!

    We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at the old coach house and welcome you back soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jun 2023

  • "Fantastic accommodation and great stay."

    Property has everyrhing could want during your break. Great location and so much space. Lovely welcome pack too. Would recommend and comenback again.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0May 2023

  • "Really nice stay in this cottage."

    9 blokes and we were all comfortably accommodated. The property was nice and clean when we arrived and there was plenty of provision of glasses/mugs/cutlery/crockery etc. Very short walk down a steady slope into town which was good too. Would stay here again

    We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the old coach house. Property Owner

    Reviewed by George4.7May 2023

  • "It could have been a fantastic property but just needed a bit more of a clean."

    Lots of cobwebs, dust on to. Just felt a little but unloved in places. A lot of the plates and kitchen equipment were dirty. It was such a shame because the location and space in the house was very very good. We had a good stay and the children very much enjoyed it but just felt a bit of an extra clean would have been of benefit

    Thanks for your comments that the property and location are very very good and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will look into the cleaning. We employ a professional cleaning company and generally get good comments. We keep tabs on the cleaning so are very sorry that it was not quite right this time. The cobwebs are ongoing with such an old property. As soon as they are cleaned off the spiders make some more. We will certainly check over all the kitchen equipment. We constantly update and replace equipment and appreciate guests alerting us to where this is needed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sophie2.8Apr 2023

  • "Beware. No help or support if you have any problems."

    We paid £1,200 for 3 nights in April. On arrival we all wanted to sit in the garden and enjoy a glass of wine. However, the table, chairs and patio were filthy and covered in bird poo. Clearly it had not been cleaned, so I rang the caretakers number that Sykes gave me and asked if someone could clean it. The reply was, No, but 'there is a brush in the shed'. I explained that we'd had a long journey and should not have to clean before we can use the facilities. I was told no one is available ! We also discovered the BBQ was in a filthy unusable state. We also found the walls were dirty, cobwebs everywhere, teflon coating flaking off the pans, the bins were left full in the middle of the drive, no wifi, no shower gel, no dishwasher tabs. The front entrance completely floods when it rains, so take your wellies and be prepared to paddle ! The property is advertised as ideal for all generations, however there is not a ground floor shower, and the stairs are very steep. The house is on a hill, and the woodland walk is up a very steep hill. This was not mentioned in the description when we booked, and 3 members of our party were not able to go. I complained to the owner, who ignored me, and Sykes were unable to get any compensation. Beware, because although there were a lot of issues, any compensation is at the discretion of the owner, and they clearly are not bothered about customer satisfaction. I would not book this again, and very disappointed that Sykes offer no protection for your hard earned money.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience was not what you expected and are surprised by your comments. We answered every enquiry from you with professionalism and politeness. You phoned us and sent us several texts a day during the week before you arrived about minor matters, such as the exact hours of shop opening times, the precise type of shower and number of cheese graters. All these questions were answered immediately. The patio and outdoor furniture were checked and cleaned several days before your arrival. However, the property is situated below a wood and inevitably some debris from overhanging trees drops daily, as does occasional bird droppings. This is out of our control and a natural occurrence. We always clean the outside furniture, before guests arrive, but we have decided from now on to keep it in a covered shed to avoid such bird droppings. The BBQ was clean, but the bottom part of the pan is inevitably a little scarred as it is a charcoal BBQ. You rang us on Good Friday evening on arrival and expected a housekeeping service. Unfortunately, we do not offer a housekeeping service at this property. We are not sure why you thought this was the case. You continued to phone us several times a day up to 10pm on Easter Sunday evening. We responded to all questions, and we did everything that was under our control to do. The property is cleaned thoroughly by a professional cleaning company, but the stone walls are very old and irregular. I believe you may have mistaken this for being unclean. We acknowledge that there were a few very high-up cobwebs (8 meters) at the top of the old coach house ceiling that were not reachable by the cleaners. These have now been cleaned off as we have erected internal scaffolding to do so. We check the state of the kitchen equipment every 2 weeks and replace anything that is broken or missing. Guests regularly comment that the kitchen is well stocked. You complained, after leaving, about a single pan that had scratches on it from previous guest use. It has been replaced immediately. There were 3 other pans of the same size available for your use. We provide dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, cleaning materials, liquid soap etc as well as tea, coffee, biscuits and a bottle of wine for guests. The wifi works very well, but it seems you had mistakenly turned off the router. The property is at the bottom of a hill, so water does accumulate when it rains in some parts of the driveway. This drains away very quickly as the rain stops. You complained about Buxton being hilly. This if the topography of the town as it is in the peak district. The property is very suitable for multiple generations and many guests have given us this feedback. We do not state it is suitable for very elderly people with mobility problems as there are stairs. We are very happy to address any questions around the suitability of the property for particular guest requirements. The website states very clearly that there is no downstairs shower. You rang before arrival and we confirmed this. We take customer service very seriously. We address all customer feedback and do everything possible to provide a great holiday home, in a lovely location, for large groups to get together. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan2.2Apr 2023

  • "Lovely place to stay and the owners where 10/10 they accommodated us arriving earlier than the check in time and leaving later than check out due to the bad weather."

    The house was clean and tidy and well heated. Everything we needed was available Thank you for helping to make our stay as lowboy as possible

    Many thanks for your kind comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amy5.0Mar 2023

  • "We had a fabulous family holiday at the old coach house."

    The downstairs kitchen dining area was perfect for all of us to be together whatever we were doing, especially for the younger members who loved the space to run wild! The cottage had everything we needed and more. The cottage is in a great location, very near the centre of town with lots of great pubs and places to eat but also a supermarket if you need to get any extra bits. We loved the woodland walk which was literally two minutes from the cottage. The owner was super helpful and answered all questions swiftly. As a group with 3 young children I would definitely recommend to other families but also to anyone looking for a great cottage in Buxton.

    That's great. We're really pleased you enjoyed the space and location of the old coach house. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alexa4.1Feb 2023

  • "We had such a lovely Christmas at the Old Coach House!"

    A superb location, within walking distance of Buxton and with plenty of walking routes nearby. The house is spacious, well equipped and comfortable. Certainly big enough for 10 people. There were places where the paintwork could have done with a bit of a spruce, but overall it was well maintained. We made some wonderful memories and would recommend to anyone wanting a big place in a beautiful setting to spend some time quality time with friends and family. Thank you!

    We are so pleased you had a special Christmas at the old coach house Property Owner

    Reviewed by Penny4.7Dec 2022

  • "Really lovely property."

    Thank you for a lovely stay. We had a family weekend with all ages from kids to grandparents - we all loved the space in the kitchen and living area that allowed us to make big meals, play games together and relax after a lovely walk! Couldn’t have asked for more.

    Thank you. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Old Coach House Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Nov 2022

  • "Lovely sized house in a great location."

    However the listing 'suitable for multi generational groups' is misleading: one section of the stairs was too steep for my parents and the sagging sofas were difficult for them to get up from. The carpet was badly stained, paint flaking and broken bed-side table. The sink area and skirtings needed a deep clean.

    Thank you for your feedback. The property has a large downstairs twin bedroom with its own sofa and TV. This is totally accessible with no steps. However yes the property does have stairs. The sofa is of a normal comfortable type. The carpets have all been professionally cleaned this week. We had to wait for a quiet booking time to do this. The property is very clean but it is a very old coach house and occasionally paint flakes off. We maintain and repair these areas regularly. We're glad you enjoyed the size and location of the house. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria1.9Oct 2022

  • "The cottage was a wonderful place to stay central for touring the Peak district."

    The bottle of wine was a wonderful surprise. The woods by the property were nice for an early energetic morning stroll with great views at the top of the hill. Clean and everything we needed was to hand with town centre only a 10-minute walk away although uphill on return still handy.

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Oct 2022

  • "The Old Coach House is a lovely building in a great location."

    We enjoyed our stay and thought the kitchen was very well equipped and the main downstairs room a really fabulous space to eat, relax and have fun in. The one issue we had was the cleanliness. The en-suite in the main bedroom was covered in mould, to the extent that it was really quite gross. There were plenty of cobwebs knocking about, complete with spiders and, in places, dead flies. While this is an old building (and that is part of its charm) that is no excuse for not doing a proper clean. We would recommend the Old Coach House because the location is great and the property is spacious and has everything you could need. However, we would strongly urge the owners to do a deep clean and sort out the mould issues in the en-suite.

    Many thanks for your review. We have asked the cleaners to carry out a deep clean to ensure any autumn cobwebs are not missed. Unfortunately there can be the odd spider making webs in-between cleans, as it is an old house. Thank you for bringing our attention to mould in the en-suite bathroom. It seems this has arisen over the summer due to lack of heating. We have cleaned the area, applied anti mould paint and heating over the winter period should eliminate the problem. We are pleased that you enjoyed the house and location. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mike3.1Sep 2022

  • "Lovely characterful cottage with lots of open-plan space which was ideal for our big family party - big kitchen and lovely double-height sitting and dining area."

    Nice bedrooms - the downstairs twin and upstairs master double were particularly lovely rooms. Could easily park 3 cars. Quiet area with nice woods and hill behind the house for nearby walks. Owners very helpful in posting us some left-behind jewellery. Would definitely stay there again.

    Thank you and we are pleased you liked the house and surrounding area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anna5.0Sep 2022

  • "We left the property this morning as we felt the interior was a bit tired, the cleanliness wasn't great and the bed mattress in particular were of very poor quality so we were unable to get a good night's sleep."

    On arrival there were finger prints all over the patio doors, the place mats were all sticky and many utensils weren't clean. The brown bin was still 90% full of glass. And plastics so it was difficult to add more to it. The carpets didn't look like they had been cleaned in ages - particularly the stair carpets - and we couldn't find a hoover so had to use a dustpan and brush on the four lounge rugs. We also found that the sheer size of the lounge diner made it very cold so we had to have the small fire on which is not what you expect in August.

    Thanks for alerting us to these issues. These have been resolved with an imminent deep clean of the carpets, hoover replacement which a previous guest broke and we are in the process of replacing some of the mattresses. The bins very occasionally accumulate with rubbish when there is a frequent turnover of guests and we have informed the local authority. It can get cold in August in Buxton and we noted you did not put the heating on. There is an advanced hive heating system which heats up the property well - Thanks, Helen Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil2.8Aug 2022

  • "Really nice house."

    Amazing living space with massive high ceiling!

    Reviewed by Humfrey4.7Aug 2022

  • "Great Property."

    Right next to Buxton.

    Reviewed by Raheel5.0Jun 2022

  • "Excellent place for friends, and family, reunions with plenty of space for different activities taking place."

    Well stocked kitchen - plates, mugs, pans etc - for catering for a large group.

    Reviewed by Liz4.4Jun 2022

  • "The Old Coach House was an ideal choice for our family get-together."

    Three generations together for a week. The open plan living room and kitchen gave us lots of space. The kitchen was very well equipped for preparing family meals. We liked the fact that we could walk into town without having to look for parking. Curbar woods were on our doorstep. The enclosed garden gave the children a safe place to play. An excellent family house. Comfortable and warm.

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Apr 2022

  • "Great space in a wonderful location."

    Downsides: 1) Mould on some walls and flaking paint - problem with damp. 2) Only useable shower doesn’t drain well - we had to clear out many guests’ worth of hair from the drain just to make it useable but you still shower in a lot of standing water. 3) Window still broken in master bedroom. 4) Drainage problem outside - a very large puddle encroaching on the house entrance builds up when it rains. We also had to clear out the outside drains to alleviate this problem. 5) Some of the baking trays are completely unusable - flaking teflon surfaces for example. 6) General house maintenance is poor combined with desperate need for a deep clean. Dust and old cobwebs in lots of places. Lots of the DIY is poor e.g. bad / no sealant in kitchen and bathrooms. 7) Washing machine doesn’t function properly even following provided instructions (a full load). Just needs fixing. Property has great potential but really needs some TLC.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you had some disappointments. We were unaware of many of the issues you point out and always address any problems raised by guests straight away. There are two showers and the one referred to has been unblocked and works well. The baking trays have been replaced with high quality products. The window is in the process of being replaced. Unfortunately a very lengthy planning permission process is delaying this. However the window is safe, not unsightly and there is another opening window in the bedroom. The property is a characterful Victorian coach house situated at the bottom of a wood in Buxton. It rains a lot in winter and some water does accumulate in the driveway. This is normal for the area and the house position. It drains off entirely as the sun comes out in spring. The house is cleaned thoroughly with professional cleaners after every guest. Occasionally high level cobwebs do accumulate in the very high crevices 4 meters up near the ceiling. We erect high level ladders to brush these off regularly. This guest contacted us on the Saturday after arriving with concerns about faults with the washing machine. A repair man addressed the problem within 2 hours. However, since then, we have bought and installed a brand new washing machine to ensure no problems for future guests Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew2.8Feb 2022

  • "The cottage was a nice cottage but could be an amazing place with some money spent on it."

    Skirting boards falling off all over the place, window was broken and bad draft coming in (broken by previous guest) , dials broken on radiators, mould on walls. In a great location and a good house for large groups. Just disappointed with the finish.

    "Sorry you were disappointed with the property. In response to your comments the skirting boards are solid, recently installed, and noone has ever mentioned them before. Regarding the window, we were notified by the guest staying immediately prior to your stay, that they had accidentally broken the window. We arranged for an expert to assess it and ensure it was safe before your stay and left a note to explain this. A new window will be installed ASAP in the new year. On 23rd Dec on your arrival you notified us of your concern regarding a potential draft from this window and we offered to come over on Christmas eve with insulating material should this be necessary. You responded, the following morning, to our request about whether everything was okay by stating that the room was not drafty nor cold but too hot! It seems you had the heating full on throughout the night. We have checked the valves on the radiator and all work. All information and guidance you would need in relation to the newly installed hive heating system is available in the guest information pack". Thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anna3.8Dec 2021

  • "Great house in a lovely location - right next to the woods on the edge of town and yet less than 10 minutes to walk down into the very centre of town for shops, eating out and the beautiful park."

    The large connected living/dining/kitchen area was great for our family get-together and space for the 2 small children to run around in.

    Reviewed by Neil4.7Dec 2021

  • "Three generations of our family had a fabulous few days at The Old Coach House."

    The property was very well equipped, and really spacious. We were able to organise a massive treasure hunt for our 5 year old granddaughter, which took in most of the rooms in the house. We found it handily positioned for some decent outdoor walks, and everyone in our party of nine loved the place. Well impressed!!

    Reviewed by Gale5.0Oct 2021

  • "Wifi super fast"

    Reviewed by Sesehang5.0Jun 2021

  • "Was a fantastic house, a great location to Buxton, off-street parking was great and the Kitchen-living room was exceptional for a large group to stay."

    Would recommend it for anyone doing a road trip around the Peaks or just for a lazy weekend.

    Reviewed by Theo4.7Apr 2021

  • "A lovely and very spacious home from home."

    Well equipped and lovely and clean. Excellent location too. We had a great stay, thank you

    Reviewed by Amy5.0Sep 2020

  • "We had a lovely stay at the old coach house!"

    Our arrival was very smooth, with clear instructions, and we found the place clean and well equipped. The large kitchen, dining area and lounge was perfect for a group! Not only is the house lovely, but it’s located in a stunning area, with a woods right on its doorstep. The walk down to Buxton is also very easy, and other nearby attractions such as Bakewell, Youlegrave, the Monsal Trail and Dovedale are all easy to get to. Our stay was lovely, and we would love to come to the Old Coach House again.

    Reviewed by Amelia5.0Sep 2020

  • "This is a fabulously spacious and well kitted-out property."

    It held 6 adults and 4 children easily and we never felt cramped or like we were tripping over each other. The Old Coach House was really well equipped and clean with a beautiful safe garden. It was so handy to be able to walk into Buxton and up into the hills directly from the property. We loved it.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Aug 2020

  • "We had a wonderful week at the Old Coach House."

    The woods at the back of the house leading to Corbar's Cross are lovely and Buxton is only a short walk away. The property is well set up for catering and lots of lovely bedrooms and space. The walled garden is also a very nice place to relax after a long hike. We found the house very convenient for all things Peak District.

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Aug 2020

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Across two floors
  • Five bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x ground-floor twin, 1 x adult bunk
  • Bathroom with roll top bath, overhead shower over bath which can also be hand-held, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, central island with bar stools, dining area and sitting area with electric fire and part roof high ceiling
  • Utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer and large sink
  • Dressing room
  • Gas central heating
  • Range cooker and induction hob, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Enclosed garden to the rear of property with artificial turf area, outdoor dining table and chairs, charcoal BBQ and shed with extra outdoor seating
  • Bistro seating at the front of the property
  • Travel cot, stairgate and table booster seat available in the property, located in upstairs dressing room
  • Off-road parking for three cars
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Please Note: Baths and showers are upstairs - there is a downstairs WC, basin and adjoining utility area
  • Shop 0.7 miles, pub 0.4 miles, restaurant 0.4 miles

The property

The property is an old coach house, full of character, situated at the bottom of ancient woodland and within walking distance of the beautiful spa town of Buxton.

The house is particularly suitable for large groups of friends or several generations of families wanting to spend time together and enjoy outdoor pursuits.

The ground floor has a large light private twin bedroom with sofa and TV.

This room is easily accessed with no stairs or steps.

There is an enclosed garden which is a very safe place for children to play.

The main open plan living/dining/kitchen area is a very large and great space for everyone to get together.

The high ceilings here, dating from the storage of coaches in the 1800s, really gives a sense of the history of the property.

The Old Coach House is in a perfect location.

It nestles under a 200-year-old protected wood, great for strolling through directly from the property and heading up to Corbar Cross with magnificent views across the valley.

Yet you are just a short stroll away from the centre of the town for shops, the beautiful park and an abundance of restaurants and bars.

You pass by magnificent Victorian villas and the Devonshire Dome en-route.

There is off-street parking for up to 3 cars, but you can leave your cars behind.

Scenic walking and bike riding around the Goyt Valley are on your doorstep.

Yet, within a short drive, you have all the attractions of the Peak District with towns and famous hikes, such as Bakewell, the Monsal Trail, Dovedale and Edale.

The property is steeped in history.

It is a renovated old Coach House, built in the mid 1800's within the Duke of Devonshire's estate.

A conveyance of the land between the most Noble William Duke of Devonshire and Marmaduke Walter Vavasour, dated 1874, decreed that the property be developed as a coach house (with stable and outbuilding) to the neighbouring Wye House, a beautiful stately home.

Inside the Old Coach House, you can feel this history, with many features of the original building left intact.

Step inside the bright main hallway with its neutral tones and charming fireplace.

Head for the large open-plan living space, with its impressive high ceiling and two modern ceiling fans for heating/cooling purposes.

Family members or friends can lounge on the sofas, play games, or maybe watch TV, whilst the chef of the group watches on whilst preparing a meal in the well-equipped kitchen area.

Take a seat at the dining table and plan out your activities for the duration of the holiday, whilst others pour drinks at the central kitchen island.

There is a ground-floor twin bedroom with sofa and TV and you climb the staircase to the first floor and discover a further four bedrooms; a spacious double bedroom with fireplace, views over the hills of Buxton and an en-suite bathroom featuring a double walk-in shower, whilst a nicely decorated large twin and a further double bedroom can be found across the way, along with an adult bunk room and a cloakroom where guests can hang extra clothes/coats and leave luggage.

There is a family bathroom with a roll-top bath and overhead (or hand-held) shower.

Head outside into the enclosed garden, eat outside or have a BBQ and admire the high stone walls and imposing yew trees of Corbar Woods.

Buxton has a lot to offer beyond great eateries.

Take a stroll through the Victorian Pavilion Gardens to the River Wye, before hitting the historical sites of Turner's Memorial and The Pump Room.

Gaze at the recently renovated Buxton Crescent, an iconic, Grade I-listed, Georgian building, one of the most architecturally significant buildings in the country or book a show at the elegant Victorian Buxton Opera House.

Wander the impressive galleries of Buxton Museum or take in a massage or treatment at one of the many spas in the town, hosted in hotels or within the magnificent Grade II listed Georgian Devonshire dome which boasts the largest unsupported dome in Europe.

Stop by Poole's Cavern and Buxton Country Park to see the mesmerising limestone caves or spend the day swinging from the treetops with a Go Ape experience.

The Old Coach House offers a great space for large groups who want to come together, are looking for access to stunning countryside, yet want to be within walking distance of a beautiful Georgian town.

View on map

About the location

BUXTON

Tideswell 7 miles; Bakewell 12 miles; Matlock 21 miles.

It was the constant 28 degrees centigrade of the bubbling blue waters of Buxton's eight thermal springs that originally attracted the Romans to the town. However it was during the 18th and 19th centuries, under the patronage of successive Dukes of Devonshire, that the Palladian splendour of the Buxton of today was designed and built - including the magnificent semi-circular Crescent, The Great Stable, Hall Bank, The Square, The Pavilion Gardens and The Opera House. Today visitors continue to enjoy these magnificent buildings and gardens, as well as the Opera House's full programme and annual festivals of music and arts. There is good walking close by with rugged peaks to the north and gentle hills and dales to the south and a number of pretty towns and villages are dotted throughout including Bakewell, Ashford-in-the-Water, Castleton and Edale. The stunning properties of Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall are within easy driving distance and must be seen while visiting this area. A great base for exploring the Peak District.

View more holiday cottages in Buxton

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas