In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 24 View Image Gallery
  • Heythrop - Peak District - 4302 - photo 1


(Ref. 4302)

Farley near Alton Towers, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 10 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • towers (17)
  • alton (17)
  • lovely (10)
  • location (9)
  • cottage (9)
  • property (9)

26 Customer Reviews

  • "Really enjoyed our stay."

    Lovely log fire, good sized rooms, cozy cottage vibe for a large family. Perfect of visiting Alton Towers as only a 5 minute walk from the park. Only slight issue was the lack of shower curtain or door on the landing bathroom upstairs which made it difficult to shower without soaking the floor. Overall it was excellent and our family of 10 will be back

    Reviewed by Mandy4.7Apr 2024

  • "It was the best stay, rooms was big and cozy Living room was spacious and overall location was perfect."

    Definitely will think about coming back for our next family gathering.

    Reviewed by Inga5.0Dec 2023

  • "Lovely property, exactly as seen in the photographs."

    Comfortable and clean, the log burner is lovely on a cool night. Ashbourne and the surrounding area is a beautiful place to visit, excellent walking, running and cycling and Alton Towers next door! We will be returning.

    Reviewed by Diane5.0Oct 2023

  • "A great place to stay for a family get together, Alton Towers is only a 10 minute walk away."

    Everything is well provided and 4 bathrooms with 10 people is great.

    Reviewed by Susan4.4Sep 2023

  • "Really disappointed with the cleanliness/state of the property for such an expensive price."

    The house felt really dirty as soon as you walked in (even though it had only just been cleaned!) the mop was left outside the entire time, which was really off-putting as a first impression! I was absolutely horrified when we had stripped our beds to find stained sheets, a completely ripped duvet and disgusting patches on the linen. I should have read the reviews better as this seems to have been going on for years! There were cobwebs and a dead wasp in our bedroom, the furniture is awful and knackered, it desperately needs replacing. The place has clearly been put together as cheaply as possible. Dirty cutlery and crockery (this clearly hadn't been checked/washed by the owner from the previous visit), NO bins upstairs (why?!) and only one tiny one under the sink, for 10 people. Just a bizarre place. Great location for Alton Towers, but thank God we didn't spend long here. The whole place just felt dirty. Also, is there a wasp nest on the roof, as you couldn't open any of the windows at all without loads of them coming in? Very disappointing.

    Reviewed by Stuart1.3Aug 2023

  • "A great base for a larger group of people, ideally situated to walk to Alton Towers."

    Accomodation was functional and comfortable. The bedrooms were all good sizes and it was good to have four bathrooms. Highchair and stairgate provided as requested. However, there were a few negatives about facilities and maintenance which we felt could be improved upon.The kitchen area is quite small , especially if 10 adults were sharing , but we used the dining table for food prep. The black out blinds in the velux windows in the upstairs rooms were coming away as the plastic stick on hooks were broken. The waste bin was very small underneath the sink and no other bins were provided anywhere else .The grass in the communal lawn area needed cutting. Some coat hooks and a shoe rack outside the door would be an asset. Despite the negatives, we enjoyed our weekend and it's close proximity to Alton Towers. We would book for a return visit.

    Reviewed by Alison3.1Aug 2023

  • "The property was fantastic."

    We had a fantastic time celebrating my niece's 21st birthday at Alton Towers. The property was ideally situated. Everything we needed was there and everyone had a great time. Communication with hosts was brilliant before, during and after the stay. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Laurence5.0Jul 2023

  • "Super cottage, brilliant for a big group as there are plenty of bathrooms!"

    Great location with lots of things to do nearby for children or adults. Good outside space too. The kitchen is small but the dining table doubled as a work top and the kitchen is very well equipped so it was easy to prepare meals for 10 of us. The living/kitchen is open plan which worked really well for us and means the ‘chef’ doesn’t feel left out when preparing meals.

    Reviewed by Julia4.7Apr 2023

  • "Excellent situation for Alton towers."

    This is the third time we’ve stayed at Sarah’s cottages. We were in Heythrop this time and we think it’s the nicest out of the three . Ideal size downstairs and upstairs very clean and airy for families

    GillianJan 2023

  • "I think sometimes people don’t give an accurate review."

    I read one that said Heythrop was a great property and booked it because of that. However, this property was very dirty, the facilities are very tired and poor, cooking pans are way past there best and not clean, there’s a broken sofa, broken dining area heater, broken outside table and when we stripped the beds on the day we left we noticed that the beds were dirty and stained. I am horrified that my family slept in dirty beds. I tried to address these issues with Sykes Cottages and through them the owner. My concerns have been swept aside and no apologies forthcoming. All my issues have been denied despite my having photos to prove what I said. Sadly this feedback does not allow me to attach photos. The property is accessed along a narrow lane and up a steep ramp into a courtyard. There is plenty of parking. The problem is that at night this area is very dark and there are no outside lights. We had to use our phones. To be fair this property is close to Alton Towers. It is spacious but as I said tired and dirty.

    Reviewed by Susan1.3Sep 2022

  • "Heythrop is a wonderful house, it was warm and cozy upon arrival and very clean."

    Could not of asked for a better property to stay for 10 people to visit Alton Towers. My only piece of constructive criticism would be that the beds could do with new mattresses, but other than that it was a lovely place to stay :)

    Reviewed by Mark4.1Mar 2022

  • "Heythrop was in a beautiful location, with miles of fabulous walks from the doorstep."

    It was warm and there was plenty of hot water and space for the 9 adults that we were. However, the cleanliness and facilities were simply not up to the high standard that I have come to expect from a Sykes listing. There was no teapot or any coffee making equipment. The owner came round 24 hours after I asked for these two items with what looked like they had just been bought from a junk shop - the coffee machine was mouldy and filthy and couldn't be used and the teapot wasn't much better. I have photos. We had to wash many kitchen items before we could use them such as saucepans and even the cutlery drawer. The dishwasher drove us to distraction since the runners were broken and the fridge was broken inside, the door compartment being held together with sellotape, and was old and dirty and the freezer was so frosted up we couldn't get all we wanted in it. The patio door wouldn't open and there was a lose socket in the dining area. Having been insulted by the owner bringing round the mouldy coffee contraption I wasn't minded to tell her of all tbe other things that were wrong. I was on holiday and didn't want to ruin it by getting into some argument with her. I also read from previous reviews that some of these things had been complained about before but the owner had obviously ignored them. It was a very expensive property to rent and I've never experienced such a low standard from a Sykes house before. I thought it was rich that there was a £250 'good house-keeping' bond. I actually think that I should be refunded £250 for the furnishings and cleanliness providing anything other than an example of good house-keeping.

    Reviewed by Rosalind2.2Feb 2022

  • "The cottage was very welcoming and warm when we arrived!"

    There were flowers, biscuits and a bottle of white wine in the fridge which was a nice little touch on the part of the landlord! The rooms were nicely laid out and there was adequate room for up to 10 people!! The kitchen could have been better equipped with extra cutlery for meal starters and some large serving spoons would have been nice. Some pedal bins in each bathroom would have been useful! There were a few other small minor issues which I am going to share directly with the owner, but overall we had a wonderful stay and would definitely stay here again!

    Reviewed by Georgina3.8Nov 2021

  • "Comfortable."

    Lovely owner. Kind and helpful. Suited the 10 of us. Plenty of space. Well laid out. Good proximity to some lovely places. Close to Alton towers for those who wanted to visit.

    Reviewed by Judith4.4Jul 2021

  • "Loved Heythrop cottage, very spacious and clean."

    Sarah lovely and helpful, lovely touch with biscuits, coffee and tea there for arrival, and flowers on table

    Reviewed by Janette5.0Jun 2021

  • "It would be nice to have bins in bedrooms and bathroom and also sofa were not comfortable too soft and old and some of the seating area marked with felt pens etc."


    Reviewed by Kokila4.1Jun 2021

  • "Lovely cottage Ideally placed for Alton towers Thank you for cake, milk tea etc"

    Reviewed by Victoria5.0Apr 2021

  • "Lovely little cottage in a nice area."

    Plenty of space for how many it can accomodate. Would visit again. Just a few minor things that could do with updating / replacing / fixing. Was a little disappointed that towels weren't provided and other things had been removed (due to covid) but under normal circumstances would normally be available. (not had these issues elsewhere we have visited and stayed).

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. We had to put some measures in place as a precaution during the pandemic; but we’re pleased to say most things have returned to normal, including providing towels for all guests. We hope this didn't impact your stay too much. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lindsay3.4Sep 2020

  • "Fantastic location for Alton Towers, on the doorstep."

    Lovely cosy cottage with log burner. Perfect for family and friends to get together.

    Thank you for your lovely comments. We're so pleased you had such a lovely holiday and would love to welcome you back to Heythrop again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Oct 2019

  • "Heythrop was slightly run down, the flooring in the lounge and kitchen was damaged when we arrived and the dishwasher although working wasn’t easy to load."

    We chose Heythrop due to the location to Alton towers which was perfect, but unfortunately couldn’t use the outside areas to a very aggressive Pheasent who was keen to attack anyone who dared step outside the door.

    Thanks for your comments. Customer feedback is very important to us and helps improve the experience for future guests. The dishwasher runners have been replaced and we have checked the flooring and have found no issues. Sorry you had an issue with the local wildlife; we've not had any other reports of this, but we're sorry if this impacted your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul2.5Oct 2019

  • "Lovely cottage perfect for Alton towers visit"

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Oct 2019

  • "The owner is taking the proverbial."

    The place is filthy; the dishwasher is broken, the fridge is broken; the oven filthy, the hob filthy, the bathrooms filthy, beds not made or changed. The bathrooms a disgrace, urine stains and pubic hair in beds, dirtiest pillows we have ever seen. Sykes should be ashamed to continue listing this property. I will be surprised if Sykes publish this feedback!

    Thank you for your feedback I am sorry to hear your comments regarding your holiday at Heythrop The owner is very concerned about the issues you have raised as they weren’t made aware of any of this during your stay Your feedback is not typical of the comments that Customers leave. We want all our Customers to have a fantastic holiday & report any issues that they have during their stay so they can be resolved. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dermot1.3Oct 2019

  • "The cottage is well furnished and in a prime location, very good viewing from the cottage, the deer farm is close to the cottage and option of morning walk, fresh air makes mind fresh."

    If any one would like to take a long breath and love to see natural beauty I think this cottage is perfect. Car parking is available too. We enjoyed a lot.

    Reviewed by Md Masud5.0Aug 2019

  • "Perfect location for a family visit to Alton Towers Theme Park with a 10 minute walk to the gate"

    Reviewed by Andrea4.4Jun 2019

  • "As a group we felt the property was tired and ready for redecorating."

    As the main room was open plan downstairs it was very cold with the bad weather. The patio doors seemed to let a lot of cold in. Be prepared to source fire wood if staying over a cold spell. The location is fantastic for Alton Towers, and all the bathrooms in the property make it very comfortable for families sharing. Larger bath towels would also help as we had three 6ft males in our group!

    Reviewed by Louise3.1Mar 2018

  • "Sarah (the owner) was very forthcoming in helping ensure we knew where the property was as well as if we needed any help."

    A very lovely property! Comfortable and desirable it being literally a hop, skip and a jump from Alton Towers theme park.

    Reviewed by Sean5.0Sep 2016

Show more Hide all


  • Five bedrooms: 1 x ground floor double with TV, 1 x double with TV and en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC, 1 x double with TV and en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x double with built-in wardrobes, 1 x twin
  • Two bathrooms with bath, shower over, basin and WC (one on ground floor)
  • Open plan living area with well-equipped kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburner and patio doors to garden
  • Electric central heating with woodburner in sitting area
  • Power and starter pack for woodburner included in rent
  • Electric cooker, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 4 x TVs with Freeview
  • Cot and highchair provided, stair gates can be supplied on request
  • Towels and bed linen provided
  • WiFi
  • Private patio with garden furniture
  • Shared use of large lawned area
  • Off road parking for 3 cars
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 3 miles, pub 1 mile
  • Note: No stag or hen parties, or similar at this property
  • Note: Check-in time 4pm
  • Note: Property is a five-minute walk from the pay gates of Alton Towers enabling guests to pop in and out of the park

The property

A fantastic holiday cottage, located in the pretty village of Farley in Staffordshire, just a five minute stroll from Alton Towers.

This semi-detached stone cottage sits in an attractive courtyard setting and offers comfortable accommodation for a group looking to enjoy a break in the Peak District.

This cottage benefits from a characterful living area with classic wooden floor, comfortable furnishings and a woodburner in a stylish brick surround.

The cottage also provides en-suite facilities, all modern appliances and Vileroy and Bosch bathrooms, ensuring your every need is taken care of.

Outside, guests will enjoy the well positioned patio with rural views, not to mention the array of activities, such as horse riding, golf and great walking opportunities locally and in the Peak District and Derbyshire Dales.

Alton Towers itself is just a stone's throw away so get your adrenaline pumping on the fast rides, relax in the large waterpark or indulge in a luxurious spa treatment.

Whatever you choose, a week won't be long enough at this excellent Alton Towers cottage

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Ashbourne 12 miles.

The historic village of Farley consists of a small scattering of traditional cottages and farms adjacent to the Alton Towers estate. Britain's number one theme park, Alton Towers has rides and attractions aimed at everyone, including fabulous white knuckle rides, Toyland for the younger guests, boating on the lake, magnificent gardens and rides on the cable car. Nearby, the lovely market town of Ashbourne, with its eccentric street plan and narrow cobbled alleys, features an array of delightful antique stores and a choice of good pubs and restaurants. Attractions like Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, Dovedale, and the fantastic Derbyshire Villages Ilam, Hartington and Tissington - famous for the well dressings - are also within easy reach.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas