Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

11 people have recently viewed this property

  • Hilltop Cottage - (Ref. 925471)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
1 of 10 Artboard Created with Sketch. View Larger Image
  • Hilltop Cottage - Peak District - 925471 - photo 1
close
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Hilltop Cottage

Kniveton near Ashbourne, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales (Ref. 925471)

4.5

Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 2

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Open fire
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

23 Customer Reviews

  • "The traffic is horrendous with huge haulage trucks and so close to the property that you can't even step outside safely."

    There's also no phone coverage at all, which isn't mentioned anywhere. We were charged for the diesel (heating) when it says it's included, and there was no wood for the fire, and we had to keep asking for it even though we're happily paying for it. It's very clean and well equipt, but a bit too small for us and very noisy (traffic) from 4am every morning, so not a relaxing break.

    The listing provides an accurate description of this location. The phone coverage is dependant on the network used and can vary. These guests were particular demanding and seemed to think we were there to provide logs whenever they required them, ie three requests in the week, including a text for matches at 9pm, we did however, oblige. At the end of their stay we provided a bill for the additional logs delivered, together with a £10 charge for the diesel used in driving 48 miles to make the deliveries. They did always have the option to buy their own logs, firefighters and matches. The property has an extremely efficient oil boiler which runs the central heating system, no diesel required, and there are never any charges made for this. We are sorry if these guests felt the property was too small, obviously the price guide reflects the size. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BronwynJan 2022

  • "A wonderful welcome with the lights on inside and the heating active."

    The cottage was clean and extremely comfortable, and the helpful notes were much appreciated, as was the very generous welcome tea tray, wine and bowl of water waiting for our dog! We would highly recommend it.

    Reviewed by RichardDec 2021

  • "Lovely little cottage near to lots of great locations."

    Very clean and warm. Everything we needed and more was supplied. Would love to return.

    Reviewed by ValerieOct 2021

  • "THE cottage is situated on a busy main road and is noisy."

    The cottage has no garden but has a side raised small terrace.The access to the said terrace has wooden steps which if u are drinking are not easy to both clime or descend and then open straight on to the main road.The front door opens to the main road "NO PATH" And no way does this make this cottage pet friendly or safe to stay at

    We are sorry you had so many complaints, all of these relate to the situation of the cottage which are obviously beyond our control, the listing does provide an accurate description. We have tried to make the cottage a cosy, warm and comfortable environment for your stay with added extras including wine so it would be nice to be thanked for our efforts instead of being criticised for things we can do nothing about. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidSep 2021

  • "Lovely, snug, cottage in a very good location."

    Fully equipped with all the facilities you could want. Just 2 small downsides. WiFi all but nonexistent (some may say this is a positive!!) and located VERY close to a main road and the noise could be distracting for some but otherwise we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Make sure you bring your own towels and bedding due to COVID.

    Reviewed by TonyAug 2021

  • "Lovely base to explore the Peak District."

    Cottage had everything we needed.

    Reviewed by KarenJul 2021

  • "Very lame excuse not to provide lien and towels which I accepted but complained to Sykes cottages as the cottage details stated these were provided."

    Absolutely no pint getting in touch with customer services. Will not use this company again.

    Reviewed by MarkJun 2021

  • "Hilltop cottage is a truely beautiful property located in a lovely village of kniveton."

    The cottage was warm and cozy with a friendly local pub only 1 minute walk away! The staff at the red lion public house were very accomidating and incredibly friendly. The food was totally outstanding and i'd certainly recommend booking a table there. All in all we had a wonderful 7 days at hilltop cottage and would highly recommend it. The fact the cottage has an enclosed cozy raised garden to the side of the cottage ment there was somewhere safe for sunbathing with our small dog. Hilltop cottage is absolutely a perfect romantic get away for a couple and a dog.

    Reviewed by EmmaJun 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, perfect location."

    Reviewed by GilesMay 2021

  • "The road noise is really loud as the cottage is right on a busy road also no WiFi signal all week, main outside bin was half full on arrival ."

    The cottage is very cosy and warm lovely for a relaxing break. The kitchen had everything we needed to make nice meals. Lounge area is very cosy with a good sized television set and a profuse of dvds. Bedroom was of a good size again nice and warm so to was the on suite bathroom. Overall a very good relaxing holiday in a snug little cottage.

    Reviewed by DavidOct 2020

  • "Really enjoyed a 4 day break at hilltop cottage knineton."

    very homely welcoming cottage and well equippped. only problem no internet whatsoever as many visitors have commented in guest book.

    Reviewed by YvonneSep 2020

  • "Great location nice pub next door"

    Reviewed by LisaAug 2020

  • "We really enjoyed our stay with our 2 small dogs very comfortable home from home ..."

    We really enjoyed our stay with our 2 small dogs very comfortable home from home loved the wood burner slough a lot of the wood was very wet so went & bought some dry wood not a problem though The only thing which wasn’t good was Portable WiFi connected but wouldn’t do anything bit of a shame as we wanted to FaceTime our family Christmas Day Could get WiFi at local pub

    Reviewed by BarbaraDec 2019

  • "We had a really good holiday in the peak district."

    The accommodation was cosy but well equipped. Only downside was the road outside, if ever a village needed speed cameras then it's Kniveton - I've never seen a busier 'B' road and a lot of the traffic was very heavy, lorries and the like. I'd recommend it overall for the location and facilities.

    Reviewed by AndrewJun 2019

  • "Really relaxing break,lovely cottage ."

    Nice pub 100 yards down the road.

    Reviewed by DeanDec 2018

  • "We really enjoyed sitting in the sun terrace/garden in the evening on quality garden chairs, being visited by a family of sheep, some hens and a rabbit, and waiting for the garden lights to come on."

    The owners have done a brilliant job in shifting 4 tons of hillside by hand to create the garden; it really is lovely. We also really appreciated the good flow of water from the shower and the instant hot water whenever it was needed. It is a lovely, well-maintained cottage and was a wonderful base for our holiday.

    Reviewed by PaulJun 2018

  • "I don't feel this cottage is particularly dog friendly to be honest, as even though it states it's on a busy road, it's an actually an INCREDIBLY busy road with not enough pavement width for you and your dog to stand side by side outside the front door and on a blind corner."

    I also feel the garden facilities are inadequate for most dogs, as it's not just steps up to it...but a vertical step ladder. That being said it was a beautiful cottage, very clean, and they'd absolutely made the best of the space available and gone above and beyond with what they provided. I just feel it would be better for couples without dogs .

    Reviewed by KarenJun 2018

  • "Hilltop Cottage is at the bottom of a hill so it is quite a misnomer."

    Being in the dip WiFi was erratic to say the least. I didn’t get a phone signal all week.This meant we had to go to a pub 3 miles away as the pub in Kniveton was closed as the landlord had gone on holiday.Thecottage was perilously placed on the main road with no pavement to speak of. We made the best of it as we toured extensively but there must be far better places to stay than this.

    Reviewed by MichaelJun 2018

  • "A lovely cottage in a little village, well located for getting around the peak district."

    If you have a satnav with route options always take the longer route via the back lanes etc as the scenery and enjoyment is well worth the extra 10 minutes it may take to reach your destination. We visited a great many places of interest ranging from Chatsworth to Keddlestone and none were too far to travel to from our base in Kniveton. A lovely village pub 2 minutes walk from the cottage with a good range of food and real ales. In addition with Ashbourne only 3 miles away and various villages within easy travelling distance choices for eating out in an evening were good, however, a lot of the village pubs/food outlets do not open on a Monday and Tuesday. Overall a really enjoyable relaxing weekend and if we were heading back to that area again we would certainly look to that area again.

    Reviewed by AndrewMay 2018

  • "We loved Hilltop Cottage!"

    It was so cosy and beautifully furnished. Everything had been thought of to make our holiday so enjoyable. The location is great for getting to Ashbourne, Matlock, Derby and Bakewell. We would definitely go back!

    Reviewed by LesleyMay 2018

  • "We had a lovely stay in this cosy cottage, despite it being next to a main road (not really much of a pavement outside the door, so care should be taken)."

    It's a fairly compact place but much lighter than expected! The outdoor area was lovely, particularly in the snow, although the steps up to it are quite steep, which could pose a problem to some. There are fantastic walks in the area, especially to Carsington Water. Owner was lovely & very helpful.

    Reviewed by SuzyFeb 2018

  • "The cottage was absolutely wonderful place to stay and the people in the village were warm,friendly towards us"

    Reviewed by MarkDec 2017

  • "For a small cottage, it had all we needed."

    It is furnished comfortably and with thoughtfulness. The location was perfect for the Peak District. It's within 'touching distance' of the road but did not prove a problem.

    Reviewed by LydiaOct 2017

Show more

Summary

  • One double bedroom with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with dining area and woodburning stove.
  • Oil central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, TV with Freeview, DVD, CD/radio, iPod dock, selection of books and DVDs
  • Plug in WiFi dongle available - can be intermittent due to rural location
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent, fuel for woodburner on honesty box basis
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Roadside parking 50 yards away
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 3 miles, pub 5 mins walk
  • Note: This property does not accept children or infants
  • Note: This property is on the main village road, therefore some associated road noise may be heard
  • Small south facing garden with patio area
  • Patio has two easy chairs with footstools and small table and large table to dine on with umbrella
  • BBQ area for bespoke BBQ'S
  • There is also a washing line
  • Access is via 10 steps at the side of cottage
  • Please note; there may be limited phone reception: please contact your network provider for more information

The property

This pretty 300 year old, end-terrace, traditional cottage is situated in the small village of Kniveton, three miles from the historic market town of Ashbourne, Derbyshire.

Perfect for a romantic break, the property is an excellent base for exploring the southern edge of the Peak District, with lots of walking and cycling opportunities.

With bags of character, the cosy sitting room has beamed ceilings, panelled walls and a comforting woodburning stove, set in a stone alcove.

The compact galley-style kitchen leads off from the sitting room, whilst the cottage stairs open into an attractive double bedroom, with a fully tiled en-suite shower room.

Nicely furnished, with homely touches, this cosy cottage provides comfortable and charming accommodation.

It's just a five minute walk to the friendly, local village inn and a few minutes’ drive to the popular market town of Ashbourne.

This delightful town is renowned for its antique shops, good selection of restaurants and tea rooms, and narrow cobbled streets and market square.

Surrounded by lovely rolling countryside, Kniveton is close to Carsington Water, which has many outdoor activities, including watersports and bike hire.

Take a pleasant walk around the reservoir, a haven for birds, whilst enjoying the scenery.

The splendid stately homes of Chatsworth House and Keddleston Hall are a short drive away and the pretty market town of Wirksworth is well worth a visit.

An ideal property for couples, to explore this stunning limestone scenery.

View on map

About the location

KNIVETON

Ashbourne 3 miles; Carsington 2 miles.

Steeped in history and situated at the southern end of the Peak District, the lovely village of Kniveton sits in a deep hollow on the slope of Madge Hill, offering home to a scattering of traditional stone cottages, a village pub and a delightful old church built in the 13th century. Surrounded by lovely rolling countryside and situated close to the excellent watersport facilities at Carsington Water, this great location provides the ideal base from which to explore the surrounding area. Nearby Ashbourne is the perfect example of an English market town, boasting an eccentric street plan, narrow, cobbled alleys, old market stalls, many fine coaching inns and a good selection of restaurants, whilst being regarded as something of a haven for antique hunters. For those who prefer outdoor pursuits, the Dove and Manifold Valleys are close by offering good walking and cycling, whilst Alton Towers is just a 30 minute drive away!

Region Information

Note: This property does not accept children or infants.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it