In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
  • The Cottage - (Ref. 970356)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
1 of 13 Artboard Created with Sketch. View Larger Image
  • The Cottage - Peak District - 970356 - photo 1
close
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

The Cottage

Wensley near Matlock, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales (Ref. 970356)

4.1

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 5

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

5 Customer Reviews

  • "I was very disappointed when I discovered that the off road parking benefit is in fact a public car which is inadequate for the number of people trying to park there, not just residents of the Square but other nearby cottages due to a general lack of parking."

    I was expecting a parking space where I could rely on being able to park. I have used Sykes in the past and have been very happy with the arrangements.

    Reviewed by RichardJun 2019

  • "Stunning part of England - its central location enabled us to explore a variety of activities really easily."

    Will definitely go back and will look at the Sykes site for a cottage.

    Reviewed by GSep 2018

  • "On entering the cottage, we were overwhelmed by the smell of damp and mould."

    Indeed, as the door leads into the kitchen, we saw immediately all the mould round the windows. The first thing we did was to open those windows to try and get rid of some of the smell. Then, in the living room is a wet wall - not just damp, wet! We were really shocked that we had been sent to spend a week in these conditions - where is Sykes quality assurance? Photos available. In terms of how the cottage is fitted out, everything is cheap. And the bare minimum. In fact, we'd say that in the kitchen it didn't even reach the bare minimum - the amount of crockery was dismal, 5 dinner plates, 5 side plates, 4 bowls! Not even a milk jug. The oven was dirty as was the grill pan - so we didn't use either. There is no garden and the village isn't the best to say the least. Now we know the area we wouldn't stay here again, not just the cottage but the village too - Kinster up the road is lovely. In a word, the standard of this cottage was shocking. ****Owner's Response**** We’re sorry that The Cottage didn’t meet your expectations. Unfortunately you didn’t attempt to get in touch to inform us of any issues whilst you were staying. Had you done so, we would have had an opportunity to provide a resolution. However, we would like to thank you for your feedback. The damp problem was only highlighted after your stay and as a result we have a damp proof company undertaking some works in June, we must add though that the wall in question wasn’t wet, but it did have a few damp patches. We would also like to say that all the furniture throughout the cottage is new and in excellent condition as it was purchased less than 6 months ago and is all solid oak. Furthermore, there is no garden advertised with the property. We think Wensley is lovely village, it’s not as busy as some villages, but it’s quaint, has fantastic walks on the doorstep, and is close to lots of lovely attractions, amenities and places to eat.

    We’re sorry that The Cottage didn’t meet your expectations. Unfortunately you didn’t attempt to get in touch to inform us of any issues whilst you were staying. Had you done so, we would have had an opportunity to provide a resolution. However, we would like to thank you for your feedback. The damp problem was only highlighted after your stay and as a result we have a damp proof company undertaking some works in June, we must add though that the wall in question wasn’t wet, but it did have a few damp patches. The cottage is equipped with 8 of everything in terms of glasses, crockery and cutlery. We would also like to say that all the furniture throughout the cottage is new and in excellent condition as it was purchased less than 6 months ago and is all solid oak. Furthermore, there is no garden advertised with the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LyndaMay 2018

  • "Lovely cottage and lovely people."

    Due to the snow we thought we’d be stuck. Lady that owned the cottage was very understanding at our being late at leaving. Lovely neighbors helped clear the snow to get us out. Thank you everyone so much. Had a great time.

    Reviewed by KellyMar 2018

  • "Fab cosy cottage in a wonderful quiet location but great for exploring the area."

    All beds SO comfy & everything you could need in a cottage was provided. Highly recommend

    Reviewed by JenFeb 2018

Show more

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x first floor king-size (zip/link, can be twin upon request), 1 x ground floor twin (zip/link, can be twin upon request), 1 x single with pull-out bed
  • First floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with woodburner.
  • Gas central heating with woodburner
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 mile.

The property

This delightful corner cottage rests within the village of Wensley, a wonderful part of the Peak District National Park.

Full of charm and tradition, you are guaranteed to feel a warm welcome upon arrival.

The diverse selection of bedrooms make this retreat perfect for a family or group of friends looking for a sociable place to return to after a day of adventure.

Enter into the kitchen/diner, complete with a homely touch, and you can enjoy breakfast or dinner amongst the heart-warming layout.

Cosy up in the sitting room before the woodburner, and be impressed by the signature fireplace and overhead exposed beams that bring a real sense of character.

The ground floor is also home to a twin bedroom, neutrally decorated for a classic finish, and accompanied by a bedside table.

Take the stairs to arrive at the king-size bedroom, wonderfully presented with a built-in wardrobe and a dressing table where you can get ready ahead of your afternoon.

The single bedroom has a pull-out bed and is convenient for a child or extra guest to enjoy a peaceful nights sleep away from it all.

A family bathroom boasts an all-white suite and completes the accommodation.

Nestled in the Derbyshire hills just 3 miles from Matlock, with some wonderful walking and stunning views all around, Wensley is the place to be.

Bakewell, Chatsworth and Matlock are all nearby and for keen walkers and cyclists, the village lies within 5 miles of the Tissington and The Limestone Way.

Feel right at home in this well-appointed location.

View on map

About the location

WENSLEY

Matlock 3 miles; Bakewell 8 miles.

Wensley is a conservation village which is nestled in the Derbyshire hills just 3 miles from Matlock, with some wonderful walking and stunning views all around. Just one mile away is the conservation village of Winster which is situated within the Peak District National Park and is an extremely pretty place with a charming 17th century market house and other imposing 18th century houses on its three main streets. Less imposing, but no less endearing, are the little alleyways or ‘ginnels’ off Main Street, which are well worth exploring. The village is famous for its Morris dancers, Wakes festivities (every July) and its annual Shrove Tuesday pancake race - a fascinating spectacle! Within the village is a well-stocked community store incorporating a Post Office, and two pubs - both serving food and local traditional beer. Bakewell, Chatsworth and Matlock are all nearby and, for keen walkers and cyclists, the village lies within 5 miles of the Tissington and High Peaks walking/cycling trails and The Limestone Way.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it