Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 customer booked Springwood Cottage in the last 24 hours

1 of 16 View Larger Image
  • Springwood Cottage - Peak District - 1024767 - photo 1

Springwood Cottage

New Mill, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales (Ref. 1024767)



Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 2

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

29 Customer Reviews

  • "Springwood Cottage is a lovely cottage for a break away."

    It is beautifully decorated and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. It is in a good location, within easy reach of a number of different places to go walking, as well as a number of different towns and cities in Yorkshire. I never had any issues getting parked outside. The village of New Mill has a small supermarket to get immediate supplies from with a larger supermarket in nearby Holmfirth. The chinese takeaway in New Mill is also highly recommended! I would definitely recommend Springwood Cottage!

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback, it’s very much appreciated. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay! I must say the Chinese is exceptional, particularly the salt & pepper chips! Thank you again for booking to stay at Springwood Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlisonJul 2022

  • "We had a great week with our two labradors in the cottage ."

    It had plenty of room for the dogs downstairs. The cottage is a lot more spacious than it looks online . Very clean , and modern with plenty of items in the kitchen to cook any meal . We had a huge choice of great walks , good food outlets and a fantastic green area across the road to walk the dogs morning and evening . The parking was easy ,right outside the cottage and no problem was faced all week . I would highly recommend this delightful cottage to anyone that is thinking of booking . The owner of the property was outstanding in helping us a few days before when we text and asked if the cottage had walking books etc , she went out of her way to text extra info to us too . Very very impressed with the whole experience . 10/10 .

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback, it’s very much appreciated. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay & found all the amenities worked. Thank you for booking to stay at Springwood and we would love to welcome you back for any future stays! Property Owner

    Reviewed by LisaJun 2022

  • "It was a perfect little cottage for us and the dogs we would highly recommend."

    The roads a little noisy but was that exhausted slept through it lol only issue I had was the bath/shower was extremely slippery when wet could do with a mat. Would love to visit again in the future thank you.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback, it’s very much appreciated. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay! It can be a little noisy at peak times, but hopefully the traffic was quieter on your evening. I’m terribly sorry about you not having a mat, usually one is put in at every changeover so I apologise for the oversight. Thank you again so booking to stay at springwood and we would love to see you again in future Property Owner

    Reviewed by SoniaJun 2022

  • "We had a fabulous week away, the cottage is very well equipped, we cooked several times during our stay and found everything we needed and more."

    The owners have provided a clear guide to the cottage and there are instructions for the use of the appliances, where to find local pubs and shops and so on which is extremely helpful. The cottage has loads of storage space. We would highly recommend this cottage.

    Thank you so much Gwyn for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback, it is really appreciated. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and if you visit sunny Holmfirth again in future, we would love to have you back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by GwynJun 2022

  • "Like previous reviewers, we could not get all the rings of the ceramic hob to work and dined out more often than planned as a result."

    Like previous reviewers, we found the traffic too noisy but we are early risers and in May did not need the windows opened for too long or it would have been even more of an issue. We were concerned about parking as parked cars were mounted on the pavement in the row of terraced houses and it was difficult to cross the road. We had no instructions for the use of the coffee maker so did without and did not use the back court which was covered in autumn leaves in May and got little light and sun. There was no wardrobe for hanging clothes and moths were a big problem. Like others we could not get the tv in the bathroom to work but that was of little concern to us. We were unsure which bin related to the property and recycling is not high on the agenda. A code for the wi fi was texted to us on the night of arrival which we spotted after spending a while searching for it at the property. On the plus side, the property had a working washing machine and dishwasher but the fridge had an unpleasant aroma. The area and surrounding area are very scenic.

    Thanks for getting in touch. Upon your departure you expressed to us how lovely your stay has been and how much you had enjoyed it. It appears that since we raised an issue of damage you caused to the property, you have then come on to leave a negative review. We note after we raised the issue of damage with you, you went onto review and pulled out comments from previous guests some of which were well over 12 months ago. The issues you mention have since been sorted and were sorted for your stay. For example the hob was working for your stay as we had it looked at by a qualified electrician & there is now a wardrobe in the property. There is also a full oven and microwave/grill at the property as well as a hob. Please note there is a full guide in the property on recycling, operation of appliances and Wi-Fi details etc & suggest you might perhaps read these in future or simply send us a message with queries for us to resolve. The Wi-Fi code was sent to you before your arrival - again we can do little about you not reading the information provided to you. You were advised that the property was on a main road well in advance of your stay when you messaged. The fridge has been checked and there is no ‘aroma’. We have checked the CCTV from the garden and it has been cleared and swept just hours before your arrival so again, I assume this has more to do with us raising the issue of the damage you caused rather than a reflection on the property itself. It is most unfortunate you felt the need to leave negative reviews in light of this and more unfortunate was the damage you caused to the property during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulineMay 2022

  • "Really really enjoyed our stay."

    Everything was exactly what we expected and wanted (it is actually much bigger than the photos make out aswell). Definitely recommend and wouldn't hesitate staying again in the future!

    Thank you so much Jake for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. We would definitely welcome you back in future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by JakeMay 2022

  • "The property was lovely but for any length of stay it really needs an extractor above the hob."

    The steam is damaging the above units. We couldn't get all the rings on the hob to work nor what I presume was a TV screen in the bathroom.

    Reviewed by EmmaApr 2022

  • "A beautifully decorated, cosy property."

    We thought it was gorgeous and only lacked some necessities (wardrobe, bin upstairs). We stayed with our dog... if a place accepts pets then you need to accept there may be indicators of doggies, which obviously wasn't an issue to us. Parking was fine. Location was really good. Great recommendations in the handy owners information pack. Just check bus times if you plan on using the bus (they stopped running at 2pm on the day we stood there waiting to head into Holmfirth, whoops!). Overall we had an amazing stay and look forward to returning...

    Thank you so much Emma for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. We would definitely welcome you back in future! We completely agree with your comments and have now put in a wardrobe, more storage areas, a bin and a tv in the bedroom so hopefully it will be more comfortable if you visit in future! And excellent point regarding buses, I’ll have a look at getting some timetables printed off. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EmmaApr 2022

  • "Thank you for a lovely, short stay."

    The cottage was comfortable and had all the basics needed for a short break. The bed was comfortable and parking easy despite no designated space.

    Thank you Amy for taking the time to provide feedback, it’s really appreciated. We’ve made some changes to the property so hopefully it will get top marks if you visit again in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by AmyApr 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Springwood Cottage."

    The property was clean, cosy and had everything we needed. The Log burner was a great addition! There was a visitors Guidebook which was extremely helpful - we visited two of the walks and the Sculpture Park, all of which were full of beautiful sceneries. We found a few lovely Pubs, The Huntsman’s Inn was great for food, the Fleece was lovely for drinks, and Jacob’s Well was also good for a bite to eat. We stayed for 3 days - this was plenty of time to do everything we wanted! Overall, this was a lovely stay and would recommend. The only recommendation would be to add a TV in the bedroom!

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback! We completely agree with you regarding the tv and have now added one into the bedroom along with a dressing area, wardrobe and more storage! So hopefully if you visit us in future your stay will be more comfortable Property Owner

    Reviewed by PrimroseApr 2022

  • "The cottage was gorgeous and we had a lovely stay."

    The bed was extremely comfortable. Unfortunately we didn’t have a welcome guide but the hosts emailed us a copy straight away (the original had gone missing) and we’re very helpful.

    Thank you so much Karen for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback. We apologise for the guide, and have ensured going forward we always have a spare at hand! Property Owner

    Reviewed by KarenMar 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, just way too noisy as on very busy main road."

    No information in the cottage to tell us about where to put rubbish, no wifi code to be seen, I had to message the owner regarding both of these, there are also no recycling options, so ALL rubbish goes to landfill.

    Hi Angie! Thank you for your feedback. The property is situated on a main road, this is made clear in the description. The information you requested was provided to you straight away when asked. We do not have recycling bins as what goes in them varies from different councils. With it being a holiday let and people coming from different areas, it was found people were putting items in that could not be recycled in Kirklees which caused numerous issues for the bin men. We did point you to the neatest recycling bins if you wished to recycle your items. You will also note there is no where to place multiple additional bins as the property is a terrace and people like to park directly outside. A guide is usually provided containing all the property information so I apologise this was not available for you. Thank you again for booking and I’m glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by AngieMar 2022

  • "Beautiful and well presented cottage, everything was as described thank you"

    Thank you so much Dawn for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback, it’s really appreciated. We would love to see you again in future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by DawnMar 2022

  • "This cottage was easy to find, in a lovely area, quiet and with quiet neighbours, it was spacious and warm, with plenty of space."

    Handy for both local shops and a few minutes drive from Holmfirth which had a well stocked pet shop, some lovely bakeries and a lovely greengrocers, also a good size co-op for a bigger shop. Great for a relaxing time.

    Thank you so much Karon for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback, it’s really appreciated. We would love to see you again in future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by KaronFeb 2022

  • "We had a lovely short break at Springwood Cottage."

    The cottage was immaculately clean, warm and comfortable and the wood burner with its supply of fuel was a real plus. Exploring the area was made easy by the range of local info available in the cottage and the eating out recommendations were spot on! Overall a fab weekend and we’ll definitely be back!

    Thank you so much Lindsay for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback, it’s really appreciated. We would love to see you again in future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by LindsayDec 2021

  • "Lovely cosy cottage, very well furnished, and well located for discovering the surrounding area."

    Thank you so much Karen for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback, it’s really appreciated. We would love to see you again in future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by KarenNov 2021

  • "It was a lovely cosy cottage."

    It had a contemporary feel in the kitchen and all rooms were a great size. It was nice to have a usable wood burner and we did make use of this every night. A lovely relaxing week in a beautiful cottage. Many thanks

    Thank you so much Paula for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback, it’s really appreciated. We would love to see you again in future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulaNov 2021

  • "We absolutely adored our stay here."

    The cottage is gorgeous and wait until you see all the modern amenities provided! We brought our little dog and she really enjoyed going on walks round the village. We found it warm and inviting and also very modern, not needing for anything! Come treat yourself to this place! You won't regret it!

    Thank you so much Therese for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback, it’s really appreciated. We would love to see you again in future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by ThereseOct 2021

  • "Springwood Cottage was just what I needed - really well appointed and finished, cosy and had everything you could think of to make your stay comfortable."

    Great location and a short walk to shops or pubs. We did lots of walking and visits to Wakefield, Yorkshire Sculpture Park and the Piece Hall in Halifax. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by VictoriaOct 2021

  • "Got to the cottage on the afternoon of the 5th October for a 3 night stay."

    It was much bigger than it looked in the pictures. The welcome pack had everything we needed to know about our surroundings. Brilliant. House was literally a home from home. Beautiful. Shower, amazing, bed, so so comfortable. We lit the log burner & it was super cosy. We did venture to the co-op to replace the wood. Felt the right thing to do for the next people to stay. Would highly recommend it. We did 3 stunning walks in different locations, all less then a ten minute drive. Just what you desire from a stay in our Peak District. We totally loved it & all that fresh air has revived us on our return to city life. Highly recommend this cottage & area. It offers everything possibly needed. Also town a stone throw away. Fantastic!!!!!!

    Thank you so much Lynne for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback, it’s really appreciated. We would love to see you again in future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by LynneOct 2021

  • "Great location to stay in for Yorkshire and the Peak District allows two doggies as well which is a bonus as most places only allow one dog."

    Nice decor throughout in the cottage as well .

    Thank you so much Daniel for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback, it’s really appreciated. We would love to see you again in future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by DanielSep 2021

  • "The cottage was gorgeous and had everything you could possibly want ."

    It was a short walk from pubs restaurants and shops . It’s stunning and a great base to explore area.

    Thank you so much Julie for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback, it’s really appreciated. We would love to see you again in future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by JulieSep 2021

  • "We had a second wonderful stay at this cottage and it was better than the first so we will be back - No Pressure!"

    Reviewed by RobertJun 2021

  • "We had a fantastic stay at Springfield Cottage."

    Everything you need for a comfortable stay is provided. We had no issues at all apart from needing to adjust the water temperature. There are instructions by the thermostat that were easy to understand. The cottage is in a good location to visit places of interest and fabulous walks. We took 2 dogs and never failed to find a different walk. The TV in the bathroom was a lovely surprise, maybe a small request would be a tv in the bedroom. We would definitely recommend this cottages(in fact my friend has requested your details already) and will certainly be visiting again soon. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

    Thank you so much Karen for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback, it’s really appreciated. We would love to see you again in future! We completely agree with you regarding the tv and have now popped one in the bedroom (along with a wardrobe and more storage space) so hopefully your next visit will be even better! Property Owner

    Reviewed by KarenMay 2021

  • "A delightful little cottage, with a modern kitchen and bathroom."

    A great base to explore Holmfirth and the Peak District If we visit West Yorkshire again we’d definitely stay here! A big thank you to our hosts Nikki & Mathew for giving us loads of relevant information regarding places to visit, some lovely walks and great pubs! Regards Sharon & Maurice

    Reviewed by SharonMay 2021

  • "A lovely place for a break."

    The cream tea kit waiting for us was very welcome. Only minor problems were the misdirection of the thermostat location in the pre arrival email and the lack of off road parking. The thermostat was found once we started moving things into the bedroom and the road was not very busy.

    Reviewed by AlanApr 2021

  • "We booked a 5 night break but only stayed 4 nights, 3 mornings out of the 4 we had no heating and no hot water, we contacted the owner on each morning and they did try each day to resolve the issue."

    We saw rats in the back yard on several occasions and also reported to the owner who again came out and cleared out behind a shed. The house next door kept chickens and was full of scrap/junk which probably encouraged rats. The cottage is also on a main road which was very busy and noisy. It was such a shame as the cottage inside was nicely decorated with plenty of space.

    Reviewed by CherylApr 2021

  • "Great location for exploring the area!"

    Felt very (Covid) safe in the house - very clean. Would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here. Scones on arrival were a lovely touch, as were dog biscuits for our furbaby :-)

    Reviewed by StephenSep 2020

  • "Spring wood cottage was a superb little cottage, very comfortable, excellent facilities including an excellent kitchen/diner and bathroom."

    Great location for a base to go walking or visit the peak district. Great value for money and couldn't fault it. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a cosy cottage.

    Reviewed by StevenJul 2020

Show more


  • One king-size bedroom (zip/link beds, can be made into twins on request)
  • Bathroom with shower over bath, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating and woodburning stove
  • Dishwasher, fridge, double oven, hob, coffee maker and TV
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Rear garden with seating area
  • Pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking allowed
  • Pub and shop within 0.5 miles

The property

Resting a short distance away from the diverse landscape of the wonderful Peak District National Park in the quaint village of New Mill is this contemporary abode, Springwood Cottage.

This romantic retreat is perfectly positioned for a couple seeking to explore the surrounding cities and market towns, as well as the magnitude of walks and cycle routes upon the National Park.

The interior oozes style and elegance, complete with carefully selected furnishings and charming touches to ensure a relaxing ambiance to return to each evening after exploring the countryside setting.

Curl up in front of the woodburning stove resting within the sitting room and flick on the TV, or get lost within a good book before heading into sleek kitchen and cooking up a tasty treat.

The contemporary dark units frame the space and house all the essentials that you will require during your self-catering trip with your partner.

As the evening draws to a close, look forward to resting and rejuvenating for the days head within the thoughtfully laid out bedroom, boasting a plush king-size bed awaiting to be sunk into.

To the outside of the property is a quaint terraced garden, where a deserved glass of wine can be enjoyed as you catch the final glimpses of the sunshine, or your morning coffee as your canine companions stretches his legs.

If you don’t feel like cooking one evening, a short distance away is a selection of eateries and a pub, in addition to a shop for picking up the next day’s picnic essentials.

Alternatively, head to Huddersfield where you will find a larger selection of eateries, and if you are visiting during August be sure to head to St George's Square and spend some time at the Food and Drink Festival.

Head to the National Park, where you will be delighted to find a magnitude of walking paths and thrilling mountain biking opportunities, or brush up on the history by visiting one of the limestone cavers.

Springwood Cottage is a superb base for exploring the delights of this part of the countryside.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Holmfirth 2.1 miles; Huddersfield 5.9 miles; Sheffield 21.3 miles

This semi-rural village rests in West Yorkshire and is found situated on the fringes of the diverse landscape of the Peak District National Park. New Mill is a quaint village where you will find a selection of eateries, a pub and a shop for picking up the essentials, in addition to the New Mill Dyke running through its centre. Within a short distance you will find the Pennine town of Holmfirth which was made famous by The Last of The Summer Wine TV series. Here, you will find a larger selection of amenities and the Picturedrome attracts many famous bands to its centre, or venture to Huddersfield which is a larger market town. For those feeling adventurous, head to the Peak District National Park where you will be spoilt for choice by the activities set amidst breath-taking scenery that awaits you, including walking and cycling, or head underground and discover the National Park’s caves which are composed of limestone and delicate cave formations. Other attractions within close reach of the village include Holme Styes Reservoir, the city of Sheffield and the vibrant city Leeds, each promising a wonderful day out. New Mill offers a wonderful base in which to explore the surrounding area of Yorkshire.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas