“The cottage itself was accurately described and conveniently located within the town however, the owners need to be aware that it was filthy and should not be being let in it's current state.”
On arrival, as it was fairly late in the evening, we did not notice immediately just how dusty the place was. It was not until the following morning, when both children staying with us had become ill, that the true extent of the issue was revealed. Thick dust embedded in the carpets and on just about every surface upstairs and a significant amount in the kitchen and sitting room downstairs. Both children concerned suffer with asthma so dust is an issue. A small amount of dust is expected and manageable but it was clear from the photos that we took and the thickness of the dust itself that this was a problem that had been overlooked for several months at the very least - we're talking about thick, old dust. Not something that had built up recently, this had obviously taken a while to get into the state that it was in (and yes, we took photos). We contacted the owners of the property on the first morning and we're reassured that they would be coming around that day to clean the house properly whilst we got on with our day. The owners arrived promptly and armed with cleaning equipment and, when shown the photos of the problem, looked genuinely horrified and assured us that the problem would be dealt with. Unfortunately, on our return to the cottage several hours later, it was very clear that the only parts that had been cleaned were those highlighted in the photos; there was still thick dust on the light fittings and rug in the sitting room and throughout the property (in radiators, on picture frames, the carpet upstairs, the bedsteads etc etc etc.) - the cleaning that was supposed to be taking place that day very obviously wasn't done, or at least only the minimum effort was made. We took it upon ourselves to clean throughout the house, not ideal when you have made plans to visit relatives and have paid a premium rate for the cottage over the festive period. Having cleaned the house ourselves we grimly decided to stay on and give it a fair chance (not that we had much choice). In the end, we had to cut short our stay and informed the owners that we would be departing 2 days ahead of schedule as we were not able to enjoy our stay. We received a simple message back to say "We're sorry to hear that, thanks for letting us know". Quite simply, the owners need a rocket put up them. By not bothering to keep the property up to a lettable standard they ruined the Christmas break for us and our family in the area. We aren't unreasonable people and don't expect to be able to eat off the floor but we do expect a certain standard of cleanliness in any property that we rent or stay in. We were incredibly disappointed by the lack of care taken by the owners, their poor efforts to address the problems that we reported to them and their general lack of concern for our welfare whilst staying in their property. I would like to be contacted to discuss possible compensation or refund processes as soon as possible. As I have already stated, we left the property 2 nights early because we were unable to relax, our sleep was severely affected and generally everyone staying there was stressed out and unable to enjoy themselves. As agents for the owners, I would suggest that you make contact with them as soon as possible and pass on our thoughts and comments - I would also suggest that a regular, professional cleaning service is implemented as soon as possible as it's clear that either the owners themselves have a very different idea of the word "clean" or they simply cannot see the issue for themselves (even when it is pointed out to them directly whilst in the property!). I would recommend that this happens before the next rental of the property to avoid further complaints from more disappointed customers. On a secondary note, the bathroom also needs to be re-sealed. Despite having both a shower screen and curtain installed, we had water dripping through into the kitchen through one of the spot lights (we have recorded a video of this happening) - it looks like the shower screen just needs to be re-sealed and possibly one or more of the floor tiles in the immediate area too.
Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we are very disappointed that one of our properties has seemingly let us down and not provided you with the experienced that we had hoped for. We have contacted the owner of this property regarding the points you have raised. - Sykes owner relations
This cosy terraced cottage is the perfect base for small groups or families to explore the Peak District.
With the great pubs, eateries and independent shops of Glossop all on your doorstep and the buzzing cities of Manchester and Sheffield within easy reach, there’s a lot in store for city lovers as well.
Kick off your boots in the porch and step into the contemporary sitting room with welcoming woodburning stove.
The kitchen/diner is a lovely space for a cosy dinner or hearty breakfast.
Upstairs, the three bedrooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated, and there’s a bath to soak away the days aches and pains.
The stable door from the kitchen/diner leads out to a nice size garden with lawn for tiring kids out, and a patio with furniture for alfresco dining.
There’s even somewhere to securely store bikes in-between adventures.
This is a wonderful holiday base in the Peak District, ideal for touring this fantastic area and one that all guests will remember for a long time to come.
- Open fire
- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Pub/shop < 1 mile
- Washing machine
- Broadband / WiFi
- Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x twin
- Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
- Kitchen with dining area
- Sitting room with woodburning stove.
- Gas central heating with woodburning stove
- Gas oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Smart TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books and games and DVDs
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Cot and highchair
- Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
- Roadside parking
- Rear lawned garden and small patio with furniture
- Sorry, no pets and no smoking
- Shop and pub 2 mins walk.
Calculate your drive time
About the location
Buxton 14 miles.
The bustling, former mill town of Glossop sits in the north west of Derbyshire, surrounded by magnificent scenery in the Peak District.
The town has plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants, as well as a golf course with a pay-per-play scheme.
Nearby, Manor Park was once the grounds of Glossop Hall, which belonged to the Dukes of Norfolk.
Today it provides a wonderful spot for a picnic in the summer, with bowling greens, a semi-natural woodland, a children’s play area and tennis courts.
The town of Glossop is also ideally situated for exploring the nearby Peak District National Park, with many attractions for walkers, cyclists and tourists.
These include the peaceful village of Hayfield, less than five miles away and popular with walkers due its close proximity to Kinder Scout.
A little further afield, Edale is the start of the Pennine Way and also caters well for tourists with its own collection of pubs, cafes and restaurants.
As well as its magnificent scenery, the Peak District has many other attractive places to visit, including Chatsworth House, the spa town of Buxton and its majestic gardens and architecture.
Visit the famous Blue John show caves at Castleton, the mining museum at Matlock and the Derwent Valley reservoirs, where The Dambusters practised low-level flying in World War II.
15 miles away, only half an hour by train, is Manchester with all its big city amenities and attractions.
Here, you will find the United and City football stadiums, an abundance of high street and boutique shops, theatres, restaurants, a concert hall and a vibrant night life.
With so much to see, do and visit in the surrounding area, you are sure of a fun-filled holiday! .
This property offers the following short breaks: