Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • Rose Cottage - Peak District - 1067136 - photo 1
close

Rose Cottage

(Ref. 1067136)

Castleton, Peak District, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales Show on map

4.2

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (45)
  • no (28)
  • stay (28)
  • lovely (26)
  • location (20)
  • only (16)

49 Customer Reviews

  • "Great little cottage for a breakaway."

    Everything you need at one place. In a lovely area set back in the town but walking distance to all attractions. Great base for walkers in the heart of the Peak District. Would definitely recommend, very clean, great facilities. Will be back for sure!

    Reviewed by David4.1Apr 2024

  • "Lovely cottage, great location."

    Needs attention/Improvement Very cold - Unable to over ride temperature. Outdoor temperature 0 to -2. Cottage 16°. Cost us £14 per night to heat cottage. Only a few logs and kindling left for us, which only lasted an hour or so. Had to use oven and hob to heat downstairs in the morning. Log Burner - Had not been clean out on arrival. Parking Pass - Unavailable - Sent Message - Offered to drop off Pass for us. Luckily we got away without parking ticket. Hand Soap - Bathroom - Bar of soap left that was used, unhygienic. Hand Pump needs to be left. Bins - There was no room in the bin for our rubbish or recycling. Not as advertised. We had to push the rubbish in public bins. No recycling bin. Made the most of our stay. Will look forward to our summer stay. Hopefully the heating will be sorted for our November 2024 booking.

    I am so pleased that you found the cottage to be lovely and a great location. Thank you very much for your feedback. Glad that Chris, the local property manager, was able to drop off the pass for you. Unfortunately the guests before you accidentally took it with them. I am very lucky to have such a responsive property manager. I have forwarded all of your other concerns to the property manager and the cleaners. Wonderful that you are coming back to my 500-year old special postage-stamp sized cottage next November. With many thanks! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa4.4Nov 2023

  • "Perfect location, couldn’t fault the property at all."

    Exactly what we needed for a 2 night stay. Did some lovely walks and was even better to come after to a cosy cottage! A short walk from all of the pubs/ shops and the caves. Great to have a parking permit too. Thank you.

    Thank you for this wonderful response. Glad that you 'couldn't fault the property at all'. So nice that you found the cottage 'cosy' after your lovely walks. Nice that you appreciated the short walk to the pubs, shops and caves. Yes the parking permt is 'great'. Thank you so much! Please come back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jazmin5.0Oct 2023

  • "We have been to the Peak District and Castleton a few times with Sykes and are never disappointed!"

    Rose Cottage is no exception, we loved it! Just a couple of very small points that would have made our stay even better than it was… We love a log burner and we did utilise the one in Rose Cottage but it would be useful to have matches or a lighter there, as non smokers we had to go find/buy some matches before being able to light it. The other item I was surprised not to find was a hairdryer; please don’t misunderstand, I know it doesn’t state in the listing that there is one however I guess I just expected/assumed there would be one based on all other properties both in the uk and abroad we have visited. I did go and buy one and will read the listings more carefully in future! Other than those two tiny issues, Rosé Cottage is a beautiful and we would happily return as we love love love Castleton and the cottage - thank you!!! x

    Reviewed by Linda4.4Oct 2023

  • "We had another great stay at rose cottage the weather was lovely great cottage ..."

    We had another great stay at rose cottage the weather was lovely great cottage to stop in so close to everything do not hesitate to get it touch with Chris the caretaker if you have any problems he very helpful hopefully we be back next year

    Reviewed by Linda4.4Oct 2023

  • "Lovely quirky little cottage in a fantastic location"

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Jun 2023

  • "Excellent little cottage."

    Great base for exploring Castleton and the surrounding area.

    So please that you found Rose Cottage to be an 'excellent little cottage' and a 'great base' for 'exploring Castleton'. Thank you so much for choosing Rose Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hayley5.0May 2023

  • "It was a lovely cottage and really enjoyed my stay."

    Parking nearby. Liked fire. Overall 8/10 Improvement areas 1. Hard to get the right temp in the cottage it was either too cold or too hot.Fire helped when cold. Adjusting the thermostat upstairs didn't work. 2. Kitchen pots pans looking tired. Wooden Worktop looking tired with stains. Wierd no washing up bowl. 3. Shower had some mould in. 4. Table downstairs a bit unsteady. Minor points. Loved the area and my holiday thanks

    Glad you found the cottage to be 'lovely' and that you 'liked' the fire. Glad you 'loved the area' and your 'holiday'. Would be lovely, of course, to have you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matt4.1Mar 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at Rose Cottage our only criticism being that the radiators didn't ever really get beyond just warm, we had quite a lot of snow and icy weather but the log burner made up for that in the evening though."

    Also the kitchen could do with a few more utensils for preparing a hearty meal and an updated cutlery set and definitely wine glasses,we bought a couple as there were none there at all Overall though it was lovely!

    I am glad to hear that you had a lovely stay at Rose Cottage. The radiators have been checked and replacement wine glasses have been bought. Not sure where the last ones went! A toast to you from Rose Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dave4.4Mar 2023

  • "Absolutely beautiful cottage, perfect if you're a walker and want to visit the caves as right on your doorstep."

    My only qualms, and they may seem petty, no TV in the property, the worktop was covered in burn marks, no complimentary tea or coffee, and no kindling for the fire was left. The shower was also quite mouldy and black. Just standard things you expect when spending a lot of money to stay at a property. Parking was horrendous as there's no parking outside the property, no fault of the owner, but the free village car park was full so ended up having to pay for parking.

    Glad to hear that you found my 500 year-old little cottage to be 'absolutely perfect'. Yes the location of Rose Cottage is 'perfect' for walking and for visiting the caves is 'perfect'. There should always be coffee, tea and a limited amount of kindling. I have alerted the cottage management to this issue. The worktop burns are scheduled to be repaired. Thank you again for staying at Rose Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharron3.8Feb 2023

  • "We had an amazing stay at this beautiful little cottage."

    It was very cosy and everything we needed and made use of the lovely log burner. The cottage is in such a beautiful location so much to do on your step. Really nice pubs for drinks and food, little cafes for breakfast and lovely bakers. We bought a walking map from the visitors centre and done some really lovely walks and visited 2 of the local caves which are well worth a visit. Would definitely visit again.

    So pleased that you enjoyed the 'lovely log burner'--'the beautiful location'--and so much more. I agree the local caves are 'well worth a visit.' Wonderful that you 'would definitely visit again'. Thank you so much. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Feb 2023

  • "The cottage is beautiful."

    Very quaint and situated in an idyllic spot right next to Peak Carvern and all that Castleton has to offer. Would highly recommend.

    Thank you for the fine recommendation. It's true: Rose Cottage is 'very quaint and is situated in an idyllic spot'. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dean4.7Dec 2022

  • "Wow…where to start!"

    ! Stayed at Rose cottage over the Christmas week, gifts on arrival included champagne, mince pies, card & crackers, a lovely touch. The cottage is perfectly situated at the foot of peak cavern & a stones throw from shops,cafes & pubs, an ideal location to get away from the hussle & bustle or be in the thick of it if you prefer Beautiful walks in every direction even in Winter but don’t forget your gaiters, it gets muddy!! The cottage has such a homely, warming feeling about it & I couldn’t wait to get back & light the log burner after a long day of hiking, I particularly liked the fact that there was no tv but the Wi-Fi was good if you did want to check in on reality it was only a click away On the day of arrival I locked myself out (always used the key safe after that) & the housekeeper came straight over & let me back in, I couldn’t apologise enough but Sam was so friendly, nothing was to much trouble So to sum up I’d have to say this was a five star getaway, you won’t regret booking Rose Cottage, I’m already looking at booking again for 2023.

    I am glad to read that you found Rose Cottage to be a 'five star getaway' and that you are 'already looking at booking again for 2023. I am not surprised to learn that Sam (one of the caretakers of the cottage) was 'so friendly' and helped you what you accidentally locked yourself out She is wonderful! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Dec 2022

  • "We absolutely loved our stay at Rose Cottage."

    It was just what we wanted for a 2-person winter getaway. The cottage is perfectly located for all the Peak District walks you could want with the beautiful village of Castleton right on your doorstep. The cottage itself is lovely- a log-burning fire, well-appointed kitchen, comfy bed and spacious shower. We were only a few days into our trip and were already planning a return visit! We can’t wait to return and use this as a base for more exploring in the Peaks!

    Already planning a return visit! I am so happy to hear that. So nice to hear the you enjoyed the ' log-burning fire, well-appointed kitchen, comfy bed and spacious shower.' Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew5.0Dec 2022

  • "What a lovely little property!"

    We soon got used to the stairs and found everything very comfortable. The cottage is well equipped. It's position in Castleton is ideal for the village,Peak Cavern and a range of walks. The parking permit was very useful. We hope to return.

    Glad you found my 'lovely little property' to be well-equipped and that the parking permit was very useful. Please do come back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Nov 2022

  • "Lovely little cottage, perfect for 2 people and a fabulous location."

    Has everything needed for a stay in the peaks. Very proactive owner who has sorted a few issues almost immediately, so if there’s a problem don’t hesitate to contact the caretaker.

    Glad you had everything you needed in my 'lovely little cottage, perfect for 2 people and a fabulous location'. Pleased to know that you found me (the owner) to be very 'proactive' and that the fabulous 'caretakers' who help me out, were able to sort through few a few issues 'almost immediately'. Thank you so much for choosing Rose Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dorothy2.8Oct 2022

  • "What a delightful cottage it's got everything you need it was lovely be able to make a fire the only thing I think it could do with is a note with where you could if you needed to get some more wood for the fire there is plenty for a few days but if very cold you would need to buy more and it would help if you knew where to get it from."

    You got everything you need on the doorstep, lovely walks,great cafe,and pubs,what more could you want we will definitely be back and I would definitely recommend it Chris the caretaker was very nice and helpful

    This lovely review makes me very happy. I am so glad that you found everything you needed at your doorstep: walks, great cafe, and pubs. And, so good to hear how nice and helpful Chris the caretaker was to deal with. Rose Cottage is very fortunate to have Chris. If you would like to buy more firewood than what is provided, here are some recommendations: 1. “Spar” 6 Castleton Rd, Hope, Hope Valley S33 6RD 2. “William Eyre and Sons” Brough Corn Mills, Brough, Hope Valley S33 9NG 3. If you do not have a car, I have bought firewood before at “Peveril Stores” in the village. How Ln, Castleton, Hope Valley S33 8WJ Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Oct 2022

  • "Lovely cottage - it is small and stairs are very steep!"

    Great location for caves and village with lots of choice for eating out. Car park instructions unclear and road outside of property very steep and narrow!!

    I am very pleased to hear that you found the cottage to be 'lovely'. Wonderful to hear that you found Rose Cottage to be a great location for the caves with lots of choices for eating out in the village. We are now sending out notices to the guests to clear up parking instructions. Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Suezanne4.1Sep 2022

  • "The cottage was beautiful in a stunning area."

    It was close to everything and very good value for money. Bed was comfy and the cottage had pretty much everything that was needed. The WiFi was good so we used iPad and didn’t miss TV. One gripe- although generally clean, the mattress covers were very stained and didn’t see this until we stripped bed at the end of week so was a bit disappointed. We had some lovely walks and the pubs and tea shops were good. A great location.

    I am very pleased to hear that you found the cottage 'beautiful' and in a 'stunning area'. Great that the WiFI was good and that you had what you needed. I have attended to the mattress covers. Thank you for your feedback. I hope you come back to Rose Cottage again and enjoy more 'lovely walks'. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue3.4Aug 2022

  • "Superb cottage in a fabulous setting."

    We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed exploring locally as well as travelling further afield. Castleton is simply beautiful.

    I am thrilled to receive this 100% positive review. Thank you for your feedback. I hope you will come back to my 'superb cottage in a fabulous setting'. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Aug 2022

  • "No kitchen storage, glasses limited, stairs very difficult to negotiate."

    Had to hang bags between posts at the top of the stairs to stop any accidents falling down them! Good shower though. Just a very cute cottage, enjoyed the area.

    Glad you enjoyed my 'very cute cottage' and the area around it. Glasses have been replaced and there are more in number. Thank you for the feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vivienne2.2Aug 2022

  • "Beautiful charming cosy cottage in a stunning location."

    Situated next to the cave and very close to all the lovely walks, pubs and shops. Rose Cottage will always give us happy memories as we got engaged outside after a lovely dinner and walk. A truly special place.

    How wonderful that you had such a special time at my 'beautiful charming cosy cottage'. How lovely that you got engaged outside of Rose Cottage! I hope you will come back to celebrate an anniversary in the future. Thank you very much for your feedback: it put a smile on my face. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Aug 2022

  • "If you're after lots of space, new builds, modern designs and a home exactly like the one you've just left, don't choose this place to stay."

    However, if you're after a place where you can experience this beautiful village and it's surroundings in all its glory, 500 year old Rose cottage is the queen of abodes. It's a tiny cottage a stone's throw from the amazing Peak Cavern and is a place to rest your head, or chill out after a day of exploring. The cottage was exactly as described. There's no TV which is perfect, because the echoing sound of the birds is all you really need in a place like that, I took a portable radio but didn't feel inclined to use it once. There is, however, WiFi, and central heating and all the amenities you need to make your stay comfortable in this modern world. I can't even begin to explain the amazing energy in Rose Cottage. I stayed there alone and felt nothing but happiness and comfort. It has a very welcoming presence. As I said earlier, the cottage is tiny and consists of one room downstairs which is a kitchen/living area, and then stairs take you directly into the bedroom. The stairs are winding and quite small, so you need to be careful on those, but bearing in mind the age of the place, the stairs were just another piece of the cottage's charm. The bedroom is spacious enough and with 2 windows, is a bright and lovely room. There's a nice bathroom adjoined to the bedroom with modern shower. Whilst I was there, the Cavern had a live band playing and yes, the music echoes around the area, but honestly sounds amazing and if I hadn't have walked my legs off that day I would've seen if I could get tickets. The music doesn't go on too late though so it isn't a negative factor. All in all, Rose Cottage is a truly beautiful place to stay. If you're after a piece of Castleton history, and want to live the experience, then stay there. You'll get nothing but loving amazing energy and a cute little place to rest your head after a day of exploring and adventure.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review. I am so glad that that you experienced 'nothing but happiness and comfort'. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Jul 2022

  • "It’s a lovely stay in this antique cottage, unique experience!"

    Located in the gorgeous Hope Valley, accessible by foot or bus to explore other areas in Peak District. Our first hiking in Peak was memorable, relaxing and excited. Couldn’t complain about this private and charming cottage, except two little remarks: a more clearer instruction about heating system (had to struggle a bit to figure out after a cold soaked hike :). Handrail to upstairs is a bit of greasy :). We’d certainly recommend this accommodation and love to come back again. Greetings from Belgium Shun & Selina

    Reviewed by Shun-ying4.4Jul 2022

  • "The outside appearance of the cottage is scruffy and the windows look like a child has painted them."

    The downstairs windows can not be opened. The upstairs windows can be opened but the weights have gone in the sashes so they will not stay open. There is no television. The pictures on the walls are drab. There is no milk jug. The fridge has no freezer compartment. The front door is so badly draught proofed you can see daylight all round it. The wine glasses are a joke and there is only three of them.. it is difficult to get to for loading and unloading your car. The location is good but if there was a concert in Devils Arse the noise would be deafening. If the owner upgraded the points above then this little cottage would give you a hug .

    I am very pleased to tell you that all of the windows (upstairs and downstairs) are being replaced next week. They will be handsome and easy to operate. Thank you for your feedback. I hope you will return to Rose Cottage sometime in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter2.8Jul 2022

  • "Quaint, rustic, historic character cottage in a unique position near the foot of the Peak Cavern cliffs."

    Great sound effects - dinosaurs included - audible from the cavern theatre the first few nights! Cottage itself only deducted a star due to the VERY difficult staircase to the bedroom / shower room, although the latter is luxurious, modern and walk-in one you get there (be warned - no downstairs WC), some rather old cutlery and glasses, and 2 hanging baskets over the front door the contents of which had long died, and on which I kept banging my head. Superb week's walking from the door and great pubs. Oh, and on leaving at the end of your stay, do put the key back in the wall safe and scramble the code, rather than post it through the door like I did... sorry Sam! Would I stay again? Certainly, if they will have me.

    I am very happy to hear of your appreciation of the unique location of Rose Cottage. At 500 years old, historic it is! Glad to hear that you found the shower to be "luxurious." Wonderful that you had a "superb week of walking" from the door and that you took advantage of the "great pubs." The flower baskets at the front door will be fresh and beautiful by this Friday. Great news that you would "stay again." Of course we would have you! Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Iain3.8Jun 2022

  • "Everything was amazing with the cottage ."

    The location was fabulous. Only one thing could do with freezer shelf in fridge

    So pleased to hear that "everything was amazing" with Rose Cottage. We are in the process of getting a freezer shelf in the fridge. Please do come back and thank you for the feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Jun 2022

  • "Cosy cottage in fabulous location!"

    We had a lovely holiday at Rose Cottage and hope we can stay again in not too distant future.

    Terrific that you had a 'lovely holiday at Rose Cottage' and that you hope to 'stay again in the not too distant future'. Please do come back and thank you for the feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Apr 2022

  • "I really liked the property and the location was great for us as we didn’t use a car so walking wise it was perfect."

    I would say that I would perhaps put more instructions down about how to adjust (the thermostat, the hot water in the shower, shower pressure, etc) some of this may seem self explanatory but would be a good thing to add to the information pack you provide on the counter. But this is just me nitpicking as I really did enjoy this quaint cottage and would highly recommend it.

    Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed my 'quaint cottage and would highly recommend it.' Glad to know that you 'liked the property and the location was great.' Thank you for the feedback regarding further instruction about how to adjust that thermostat and the shower. Good idea. This has been taken care of. It would be lovely to have you back at Rose Cottage. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sunita4.4Apr 2022

  • "Excellent value for money, it was a perfect for our stay, ideal position for most of the walks in and around castleton."

    Small and cosy even managed to drive up to the door to unload and load no problem. We would definitely book again when we go back next time, lots to explore and see.

    So pleased to hear that you found Rose Cottage to be an 'excellent value' and that you would 'definitely book again.' I do hope you will come back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jahan4.7Apr 2022

  • "Lovely little cottage its in a fantastic little spot only thing that was wrong ..."

    Lovely little cottage its in a fantastic little spot only thing that was wrong is it had a leak from the pipe work so had to have a bucket

    I am so please that you enjoyed the little cottage 'in fantastic little spot.' Thank you for calling attention to the leak: it was fixed immediately. It would be wonderful to see you back in the future. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0Mar 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay."

    Bed a bit lumpy and could have used another blanket. Good shower room. Good location. Challenging staircase. Good job we like hills! Ok for the money.

    I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. A new mattress was purchased for the property in February. Thank you for mentioning the blanket, we have now purchased another blanket. I'm glad you enjoyed the location and the hills. We hope you return to Rose Cottage in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nick3.1Mar 2022

  • "Maybe a rug on the downstairs floor for warmth/ comfort."

    That's the only thing I can think of. It was really pretty, fantastic value; perfect stay.

    Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are so glad that you had a perfect stay at Rose Cottage. Since your visit we have now installed new carpeting downstairs for that extra comfort. Thanks for booking with us, we hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Edward4.7Mar 2022

  • "Absolutely fantastic little cottage, we have loved every minute of our stay and will most definitely be returning and recommending it to our family and friends, the location is spot on for any hikers wishing to climb the surrounding mountains (mam tor, winnats pass etc) the little village is so beautiful and shops with anything you might need are all in walking distance, thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the only things i would note and are in no way a complaint, the mattress could do with updating, its not too comfortable as with two people in the bed we were both slightly rolling into the middle, and the toilet handle does need seeing to as its very lose, it does still flush fine though."

    Other than that, big thumbs up from us :D Thank you!

    Thank you for your feedback for Rose Cottage, we have taken your comments on board and have bought a new mattress for the cottage. The toilet flush has also been mended. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kelly4.7Feb 2022

  • "Lovely little cottage which was perfect for our walking holiday!"

    So nice to be able to come back to a cosy spot and cook some nice meals between walks! The only issue we had was that no parking permit was provided and when I tried to call the emergency/out of hours number provided to sort this I was met with no reply on each occasion, other than that everything was perfect!

    We were sorry to hear of the issues with the parking permit. I have spoken to the out of hours numbers over this and it will not happen again. A replacement permit is now in place. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rebecca4.1Feb 2022

  • "Safety: Large saucepan has copper exposed inside where the tinning has been scoured away."

    Copper is poisonous! No openable windows upstairs. ( Fire risk ) No sign of the promised parking permit. No sign of promised matches No freezing compartment in the fridge should be made clear. The bottom oven didn't work. Only 9 logs for 6 nights ( fuel included in the rent?) 15° on arrival (promised 19°) ( we certainly didn't find it warm and cosy.) Without the fire the heating wasn't capable of reaching more than 17.5 degrees in better than average January temperatures. No vehicle access to the cottage to pack and unpack unless you have a very small car. Having said that the holiday was redeemed by the brilliant sunny weather and the excellent location for walking The shower facilities were excellent and the bed was very comfortable. A holiday in summer would be fine as long as you were OK unpacking from a distance.

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. We will ensure that the saucepan in question is replaced as soon as possible. With regard to the windows upstairs, these do open, but with the property being more than 500 years old the mechanism does need seeing to, and we will aim for this to be done at the earliest opportunity. Matches were not promised but they would have been provided to you if the property had run out. Upon investigation, we found that the parking permit had been accidentally taken by another guest, but this has now been replaced. Had you contacted the number provided in the Welcome Book, the housekeeping team would have been more than happy to assist you with this issue. The fridge does not feature a freezer as it is not a fridge-freezer, but we will ensure this is made clearer. We were not aware of any issues with the bottom oven, but will make sure that a handyman attends to this as soon as possible. The section in the description mentioning 'fuel and power inc. in rent' refers to heating and electricity - not logs. While a starter pack is provided to last the first couple of days, guests must purchase their own logs if they need extra, as part of their self-catering experience. We are sorry to hear that the property was not at an acceptable temperature for you. We have determined the cause of the issue and are in the process of replacing the thermostat. Regarding the road outside the property, it is evident from the pictures on the website that the road is very narrow. Aside from the issues mentioned, which we will endeavour to rectify as soon as possible, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in Castleton, and hope that we can accommodate you again in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bridget3.1Jan 2022

  • "We had a lovely time, this week at the cottage."

    It was an idyllic cosy cottage and a perfect getaway from the humdrum of a busy Christmas period. The cottage was warm throughout our stay, even with the woodburning fire not on. We had a lovely stay, and there are 7 local public Houses and restaurants, all within a 5 minute walk from the cottage. The Peak Hotel is highly recommended, especially new years eve. Absolute joy to stay at. The only critique I would add, is that please be aware the lane to the actual cottage is very narrow and when unloading / loading your belongings your best doing it at the base of the hill. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. Lovely scenery, lovely walks, all nearby. We came back fully refreshed from our stay and will definitely look at rebooting in the future. Regards chris & Melissa

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Dec 2021

  • "There was 0nly one match."

    there are two rose cottages close to each other the stairs would not be good for person with mobility difficulties

    We do apologize that there was only one match avalible and if you had contacted the house keeping team they would have been happy to deliver a box of match's for the week. We have also advertised that the property does have steep stair cases to try and avoid this issue arising with guests, we hope it did not cause to much inconvenience during your stay and we hope to see you in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet3.4Dec 2021

  • "We had a lovely time in Castleton, we have been going there for the last 13yrs."

    But it was the first time in Rose cottage it was clean and cosy and we had relaxing time. Would book again

    Reviewed by Mandy5.0Dec 2021

  • "Small but perfectly formed!"

    Had a wonderful stay in this charming cottage. It's exactly as described on the listing - the perfect place to unwind in total peace and beautiful surroundings. Very warm and cozy once you get the log fire going - we chose to eat in every day as a result. As others have noted, no TV and limited WiFi, for us this was a plus point. Delightful!

    Reviewed by Sophie4.7Nov 2021

  • "The cutest cottage - fantastic stay at Rose Cottage."

    Location couldn't be better. Parking permit was left for us to use in a car park 2 min walk from property. Owner and caretaker both contactable. Wood left for the log burner, milk in the fridge plenty of cooling implements to make a full English. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

    Reviewed by Cara5.0Nov 2021

  • "Good location in a lovely village with plenty of facilities However when we arrived at the cottage, we found there was no TV despite the listing referring to enjoying a 'movie night' with a bottle of wine."

    There were a few more issues to come, the blind to the bedroom was broken and laying on the window cill and the radiator on the ground floor was not working, making things downstairs cold and damp, however the blind was fixed and a temporary heater provided by the very helpful management the next day. We also tried to ventilate the property, due to condensation, however the ground floor windows would not open and the first floor windows would not stay open, unless we wedged them open with a handy can of baked beans ! To add to the problems on our last morning we awoke to a leaking boiler, we hope this was fixed together with the heating issues ready for the next occupants

    Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Rose Cottage, the property does not have a TV, Sykes have now changed the wording on the listing to make sure guests are well informed. I am sorry there were some issues during your stay, all issues have been reported to the maintenance team and I can confirm the blind in the bedroom has been repaired and the heating is working correctly. Thank you for bringing these to our attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Garry2.5Oct 2021

  • "Where to start, as we arrived at cottage, my husband said this can't be the place, it's derelict, sadly it was."

    It was cold and damp, the heating barely worked, the windows were so dirty we could not see out of them and ran in condensation, the blind in the bedroom came off the wall the first time I tried to pull them down and as there was a streetlight right outside, it was like sleeping in a lighthouse. It was advertised as having a TV but after paying deposit, I received an email to see this was not the case, upon checking other reviews, I see that this has happened before, surely a case of misrepresentation, surely you know if you have a TV. We were aware that the cottage was close to the Peak Caverns, but no mention was made that rock concerts were played in the caverns, so a quiet evening was not going to happen. Luckily it was only a short stay, any longer and it would have become depressing.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am sorry there were some issues during your stay, if you had contacted Sykes or the cleaning team they would have endeavored to offer assistance whilst you were on holiday. Since your departure, the blind in the bedroom has been repaired. The property was not advertised as having a TV, but the wording on the listing has been changed as this could have given the impression there was one at the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lilian1.6Oct 2021

  • "The cottage was very cute, but the heating was rather temperamental."

    The log burner was great for the evenings and the bathroom was very clean. Some other reviews have said that you may have issues cooking a full meal, but we had no issues cooking three full meals whilst we were there.

    Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Rose Cottage and hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Toby3.4Sep 2021

  • "Might be worth noting that I don’t think the property is suitable for tall people, especially given the spiral staircase."

    The cottage is good for a short stay, the shower was modern and the property was clean. Was a bit disappointed to receive an email shortly before visiting that there was no tv or microwave, would have been nice to know this from the outset. The kitchen facilities were quite limited, we weren’t sure if the fridge was working as it had no light and went up to 7 degrees but then starting freezing the food. The bottom oven in the range we couldn’t get to work. The pans and baking tray were quite rustic so I wouldn’t recommend expecting to cook there. As the previous guests mentioned there’s not really space to open out a map or play a board game. Nice addition of free tea and coffee. As I said good for a short stay, clean just lacking a bit in terms of kitchen facilities.

    Thank you for your review, a note has now been put on the listing so future guests are aware of the layout of Rose Cottage. The light on the refrigerator is working as intended and all your comments have been passed to the owner and cleaning team, we hope you had a lovely stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roberta3.1Aug 2021

  • "Please can you advise the owner/management cleaning company to use mattress protectors."

    I found this felt unhygienic and uncomfortable with the mattress buttons digging into me. I was able to use a bath sheet on the mattress that I had taken with me. Please be warned the staircase is very steep and awkward if you are not fully agile, perhaps needs to be emphasised in the property description in a better way. Other than that a very, very cosy clean cottage, lovely stay.

    Thank you for your feedback, a note has now been added to the listing to make guest more aware of the layout of the property, the comment about mattress protectors has been passed to our cleaning team and has since been added to the property for future visits. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison3.8Aug 2021

  • "We were not forewarned that there is a music venue next to the cottage which had live music playing until late at night on both the Friday and Saturday night when we stayed at the cottage."

    This meant that we could not enjoy the evening in the cottage.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am sorry that music coming from the nearby Peak Cavern Cave caused some disruption during your stay. I do hope you were able to enjoy your time at the cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vedita3.8Aug 2021

  • "Lovely traditional cottage with modern features and comfort."

    Perfect quiet location and free arranged parking. Our stay was very cozy in the rainy weather, thank you, will highly recommend!

    Reviewed by Marina3.8Aug 2021

  • "We loved the cottage and would highly recommend it."

    The location is wonderful and, with a couple of caveats below, is ideal for a couple. Castleton is an ideal location to explore the Peak District and has fine pubs and conveniences. That said, there are a few things to know before booking it. The cottage is small with a tiny staircase that may be difficult for some people. plan on checking out as in addition to the lack of WiFi, phone reception is limited—this was a positive for us, but may bother some. There is limited table space or flat surfaces on which to work, look at amps, etc. You will need to walk about 100 yards from where you can park—only really an issue if you have lots of luggage. As, I said, we loved it and would go back again.

    Thank you for your thorough review, it sounds like you had great time at the cottage. I am pleased to hear that you "loved it" and would be happy to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Malcolm4.1Jul 2021

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • One double bedroom with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Gas range cooker, fridge with freezer compartment, washing machine
  • WIFI
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Starter pack of logs provided for the first 1-2 nights
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Permit parking in public car park 0.1 miles away
  • Please use this car park, Limited access for Vehicles leading up to the cottage
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub 0.2 miles
  • Note: Steep internal staircase with restricted head head height is not suitable for people with mobility issues
  • Note: Any parking permits not returned at check-out will be charged a £30 replacement fee.

The property

Tucked away on a quiet side street at the mouth of the historic Peak Cavern rests this delightful pint-sized holiday home, Rose Cottage.

Offering a snug and intimate setting, Rose Cottage is the perfect choice for romantic retreat to the Peak District.

The property benefits from permit parking in the nearby Peak Cavern Car Park just moments away.

Stepping inside, you're welcomed into the 500-year-old cottage with open-plan living space, traditionally decorated with exposed wooden beams, rustic stone flooring and a warming woodburning stove, offering an intimate space to enjoy a cosy night in.

Kick off your walking boots and head through to the kitchen to prepare a heartwarming meal for two, nestling in around the dining table with your significant other to indulge in your culinary delights, before snuggling up on the sofa with bottle of wine.

When sleep calls, head upstairs and enter directly into the double bedroom, beautifully-appointed with a light and neutral décor, whilst the antique wood furnishings maintain the property's traditional character.

In the morning, rise as the natural light envelops the room through the period windows, and prepare for a new day with an invigorating rinse in the adjoining shower room.

Located at the top of the Hope Valley and steeped in an abundance of history is the picturesque village of Castleton, tucked away within the beautiful Peak District.

The idyllic town attracts many walkers and outdoor enthusiasts wanting to explore its scenic routes that provide expansive views over the Peak District, or challenge themselves to complete the National Trust site of Winnat’s Pass, but if climbing and walking aren’t what you are looking for there is also the option to take a drive through the lush green valleys.

Just a stone’s throw away is the landmark hill of Mam Tor, walkers delight with incomparable views from its summit.

If it’s adventure you’re seeking, explore the famous caves, where you can take a boat ride through the Speedwell Cavern, an 18 century mine, or Treak Cliff Cavern home to the enchanting semi-precious Blue John, which is only found and mined in Castleton.

If you can tear yourself away, the market towns of Ashbourne and Leek are within reach, home to a variety of activities all the family can enjoy.

For a memorable trip with the family to the Peak District, choose Rose Cottage.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

CASTLETON, PEAK DISTRICT

Hope 1.5 miles; Buxton 10 miles; Bakewell 13 miles.

The outstandingly beautiful Peak District village of Castleton is situated at the top of the Hope Valley, on the doorstep of some great walking country. Steeped in fascinating history, the village boasts the Norman Peverill Castle Keep which is in a commanding position keeping an eye on the village and the National Park. The village is a draw to walkers and all manner of outdoor enthusiasts wanting to follow the paths, conquer the Winnats Pass or have a go at caving. Castleton is world-famous for its visitor caves and the beautiful semi precious stone Blue John which is only found and mined here. Castleton has a fabulous array of interesting little gift shops, pubs, tea rooms and an excellent Visitor Centre with its small museum explaining life in the Hope Valley, plus the Christmas lights and festive activities are very popular with visitors during December. Nearby are the pretty villages of Edale, the start of the Pennine Way, Hope and Hathersage with its seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Enjoy a day out at Alton Towers or visit the impressive Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall. Also within easy reach are Buxton, Matlock Bath and Carsington Water, while further afield are the market towns of Ashbourne and Leek.

View more holiday cottages in Castleton, Peak District

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas