Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Scottish Lowlands 18 minutes ago

1 of 23 View Larger Image
  • Lilybank Apartment - Scottish Lowlands - 1066306 - photo 1

Lilybank Apartment

South Queensferry, Scottish Borders (Ref. 1066306)


(19 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

18 Customer Reviews

  • "Very comfortable and well equipped property."

    Good information received from owner and every care taken to ensure our stay went well. Although no parking at the property (as clearly stated in the property information), plenty of parking within a minute or two’s walk. Would highly recommend.

    Many thanks for your comments Mrs TGL. Best regards Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by TheresaJun 2022

  • "Comfortable, well equipped and perfectly placed for exploring the area or getting train to Edinburgh with some excellent restaurants near by."

    Thank you for your comments Mr RT. Best regards Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by RonaldJun 2022

  • "Booked for a ground floor apartment as listed only to find out if was a basement apartment."

    Booked ground floor because of mobility problems with stairs so disappointed. There was an issue with the shower which we coped with but looking at reviews feel this is an ongoing issue. On a positive it is ideally place to explore Queensferry and the surrounding area Easy access to Edinburgh on the train was fantastic.

    Hi - thanks for your feedback, Mrs JB. Reading the listing, I can see exactly how you would think that there were no stairs to the apartment. I have emailed Sykes to rectify this in the listing and state that there are stairs leading to the apartment. I hope that otherwise you enjoyed your stay in Queensferry. Many thanks for your booking and best regards. Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by JacquiMar 2022

  • "We had a lovely time visiting Lilybank Apartment."

    This was our second stay at the apartment and it was just as good as the first! The apartment is situated in the heart of South Queensferry with everything pretty much on your doorstep; from the lovely walks (admiring the bridges) to the great little pubs, cafes, independent shops and super restaurants. The apartment is very comfortable with absolutely everything necessary for a home-from-home holiday. The living area is cozy, warm and very sympathetic to the traditional style of the property. The bedrooms are a good size and the beds are super comfy. We always had a great sleep at the property. The large kitchen is well equipped with everything you need and the washing machine is super (with outside drying space which is lovely). Communication with Steve was, like the first time, excellent and always very responsive and accommodating. My best advice? Go discover South Queensferry for yourself - you can thank me later :-)

    Hi J. Many thanks for your repeat booking and very generous feedback . I'm really pleased you enjoyed the apartment so much. Best regards Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by JamieMar 2022

  • "Lovely comfortable apartment and beds."

    Found the front door security box a challenge but got used to it.Parking is easy on the front- either by the shops ( unlimited across from the shops ) or further along ( about 3 minutes walk) Ferry Tap is a wonderful and friendly ( dog friendly ) pub.Linda provided good healthy portions every evening ( and we are veggies) and we even joined a pub quiz group.Linlithgow,Dunfermline and Culross ( pronounced cuross for some reason) all very good,as was Leith/ Portobello.We took the car in as far as the Londis Filling Station then parked for Free on Craigleath Crescent ,then £1.80 and ten minutes in by Bus.Galleries not dog friendly unfortunately.Thanks for all the advice Steve and looking forward to coming back ( baring independence and passports!!)

    Hi Mr A sorry to be so late to respond to your feedback. I'm really glad you had such a great time in the apartment and the area. Best regards Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by JohnMar 2022

  • "Fantastic well appointed property with really comfy beds."

    South Queensferry is a hidden gem. Easy access to Edinburgh and local countryside in Fife. Friendly locals and good choice of places to eat out. Nearby cycle track was so handy for dog walking. Thanks so much for a great week away.

    Many thanks, I'm glad you had a lovely time. Best regards - Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by ClareMar 2022

  • "Wonderful ground floor flat (there are still stairs though) in the centre of S Queensferry with views of the bridges."

    Very comfortable and well equipped. Warm cosy, has a coffee machine wifi and games, little garden downstairs. The 12yr old loved the huge twin room. Ten min walk then ten min train ride into Edinburgh £12 for 3 return! Little pub Ferry Tap 5 mins walk away does super food, dog and child friendly. Great communication. We loved it.

    Hi Alex - We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed the flat, thank you for your comments. Best regards - Steve and Jo. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlexFeb 2022

  • "We arrived to find there is no parking at the property."

    The house is approached by a narrow muddy lane. We had to unload and then take the car to the next street to find a space, a 6 or 7 minute walk depending on how far up the street there was a space. The apartment is accessed down a dingy staircase which is only lit in hours of darkness. The day we arrived just after 3pm it was dull and raining and the staircase very dark. First impression of the apartment was one of well equipped and generally very clean though somewhat dull. The information pack was well put together and there were good communications with the owner who does not live in Scotland. The following morning we tried the shower which proved to be an exercise in excessive water wastage while waiting for it to heat up. The water flowed hot immediately then went cold. It never did get warmer than tepid and we gave up. Not wishing to disturb the owner at the weekend we left contacting him until the Monday morning. He tried to talk us through the instructions…..which were laminated in the bathroom…..which we had already done but still no hot water. He agreed to ask the plumber to call that day which the plumber was unable to do due to work load. He called in next day, Tuesday, and said he needed to take the shower / bath plumbing apart with another tool which he hadn’t got but would send his colleague in next day. The colleague phoned late on the Tuesday to say he was a unable to call by, unless he came at 10.30 pm! Or he would call back next day early. Another day without use of shower or bath. He did return the next day and we received a text from the owner (which I have saved and forwarded to Sykes) to say the plumber needed to order a part. During this time the owner offered to send us down to a local hotel for a shower. With respect we are in our 70s and it was snowing and we certainly were not prepared to risk this in the current weather conditions. Another day without a shower or bath. We were by then on day 6, Wednesday of our holiday and having spent all day out walking and sight seeing we really could have done with a hot shower. We were so fed up we decided to cut our holiday short and return home a day early leaving on Thursday. We had not had a shower or bath since we left home the previous week. The apartment was well equipped and generally very clean but very dark requiring lights on all day in the lounge and bedroom. There was no welcome pack, not even a pint of milk to get started. . The uncarpeted floorboards in the lounge made the room draughty and cold. There were gaps in the floorboards. In the bathroom only 3 tail ends of toilet rolls and a half used one were left for us. A fresh toilet roll would have been expected rather than someone else’s left overs. We eventually found fresh toilet rolls high on a shelf in the hall cupboard. There was no hand wash or kitchen roll in the kitchen. The oven trays were dirty. The lounge and bathroom doors did not shut at all. The spare room door had the outside door knob missing making it impossible to get in should the door have inadvertently shut. The bathroom door didn’t shut or lock, the lock was broken. The bath was a traditional claw foot bath but set higher off the floor on a plinth, a stool was supplied to help us get in……..not the safest option. There were no logs for the log burner, good instructions as to how to light it but nothing to say where the logs were. In conclusion this apartment is well positioned for the surrounding areas served by an excellent bus and train service and plenty very good eateries. The lack of parking is a big downside. It’s just a shame that the apartment is let down by lack of attention to detail and upkeep. We do NOT recommend this property to anyone who has mobility issues and has issues with walking for several minutes to park the car. Nor would we be happy having children there with a missing door handle on one of the rooms in case it was inadvertently closed.

    I am disappointed to hear that you felt your stay at Lilybank Apartment was problematic. To address your points: Regarding the lack of toilet tissue, this must have been missed by our cleaners, I have asked them to make sure plenty is left in future. I acknowledge your comments about parking, Sykes have changed their description of the property to 'Offloading outside property is fine, however parking is 300m away', at our request. The oven trays have been replaced with new and a new door handle has been fitted to the bedroom. Regarding the shower and bathroom lock, both were functioning prior to your arrival, I was the last to use the facility prior to your visit. You informed me of the problem with the shower on the Tuesday after you arrived, four days into your seven day stay. I had a plumber there ASAP (within 24 hours), who needed a tool/part to tighten the shower up. There was also the option of bath with shower attachment, which was - and is - functioning perfectly well. I offered the use of nearly hotel facilities which was refused. When our cleaners arrived on the Friday they confirmed that not only were the bath taps working, the shower was as well, in fact we have had four parties of guests there since who have had no problem whatsoever with the shower and bath facilities. I wish I could explain why you were unable to get them to work. The bathroom lock has been replaced. Thanks for the positive comments you had for the apartment. I am disappointed that you had a poor experience, but I could not have done more to help, I wish you better luck in future Sykes bookings. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnnFeb 2022

  • "Lovely apartment comfortable and warm, well equipped and in a great position."

    Visitor information pack was very comprehensive and useful. We really enjoyed our stay!

    Hi - Many thanks for the feedback, much appreciated. Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by PatrickDec 2021

  • "Excellent Comms with owner,well appointed great location,will return, Auld ..."

    Excellent Comms with owner,well appointed great location,will return, Auld reekie& S Queensferry at Xmas, pure dead brilliant

    Many thanks - we are really glad you enjoyed your stay. Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by BernadetteDec 2021

  • "Excellent place to stay."

    Nicely done up and well equipped kitchen. Great location.

    Many thanks Dr Mccance for your feedback. Best regards - Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by EwanNov 2021

  • "The apartment had everything we needed and was spacious, warm and comfortable."

    As mentioned in previous reviews the bath/shower will be an issue for those who don't have long legs and are perhaps no longer as nimble as they used to be, however, there is a sturdy step and grab rail to help. The apartment was very quiet, with no noise from the neighbours and no traffic noise outside as it is situated down a no through road. It was easy walking down to the waters front and 5 mins to a nearby Scotmid supermarket. We caught the train to Edinburgh one day, off-peak the cost was about £5 return and took only 15 mins to get there. There are lots of small pathways and a disused railway line to explore. These provide short cuts between the property and a nearby road where we found it easy to park. A word of warning. The narrow road to the apartment is a dead end with a turning area. Whilst the road is wide enough for cars I would have found it difficult to turn around to get back out again as there were cars parked in the turning area and in the passing places. We arrived when it was getting dark so parked on Station Road and walked to the property to assess and decided to walk in with our suitcases on wheels (a 5 minute walk). There are several eateries for meals but we only visited one, The Hawes Inn, under the Forth Road Bridge. and it was excellent - we went back 3 times. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there.

    Dear Mrs Edmonds, Many thanks once more for your booking, and thank you for your generous feedback. Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by HazelOct 2021

  • "South Queensferry is in a fantastic location for a Scottish holiday."

    The town has a selection of shops, supermarkets, ice cream parlours, some fine pubs and restaurants.There are boat trips, castles, beach and countryside walks. There's a train station within walking distance at Dalmeny and in 15 minutes you can be in Edinburgh. In the opposite direction there's an award winning beach at Aberdour. Deep sea World is a short trip across the famous Forth Rail Bridge a UNESCO World Heritage Site. We stayed at Lilybank Apartment which sits in a quiet leafy part of the town, next to a bridle path. The apartment is warm, comfortable and inviting, it has a log burner that adds to the atmosphere, and a selection of books, CDs, and games for those lazy or wet days when you don't want to go out.

    Dear Mr Porter, Thanks again for your booking and your feedback. I'm really glad you had a lovely week. Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by DouglasOct 2021

  • "This apartment had everything we needed for a great getaway in Scotland."

    It was clean, tidy, warm and the owners instructions/handbook were ideal and well thought out, with information regarding the local area, the appliances and train/bus locations. The apartment is very well equipped with everything that you need, and more. Tastefully decorated too. We loved the log burner which we used every night, obtaining logs from the Scotmid (co-op) at the end of the road. The owners were great, they contacted us to wish us well with our stay, which was a lovely touch. Its location was perfect and close to all amenities, and the town of South Queensferry itself had lots to see and do, right on the doorstep. We ventured into most of the pubs, which were very friendly (pls note if eating out the pubs stop serving food about 6pm - except for the Hawes Inn which served all day/evening). We visited Inchcolm Island on the Maid of the Forth, this is definitely worth a visit. We also visited the Falkirk Wheel which was an amazing piece of engineering, def worth a visit too. We got the train into Edinburgh (amazingly £4.50 return), using the handbook for the station location, we used the train as much quicker than the bus and we had our dog with us. We will recommend this apartment to our friends that are looking to visit Scotland, and we would definitely come back to stay, although we would probably leave the dog with friends and fly up, as it is so convenient being the next train station along from the airport station/tram. Def a bonus and better than the 7.5hour drive 'up the road' from England. Thanks Steve & Jo for our wonderful stay. We will be back. R & A xx

    Dear Mrs Leeson, Many thanks for your kind comments, I'm really glad you had a lovely time at the apartment. Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndreaOct 2021

  • "Good location excellent transport links with buses and trainns"

    Dear Mrs Henderson, Many thanks for your feedback - Best regards Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by YvoneeSep 2021

  • "The apartment was in a great location and we were delighted at the number of first class restaurants within walking distance."

    Dear Mrs Ward - Many thanks for your feedback. Best regards Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by JohannaJul 2021

  • "Lovely flat in a lovely location."

    Easy access to Edinburgh on the train and Fife over the bridge. Great interaction with the owners and a short walk to Queensferry for good restaurants and ice creams.

    Dear Mr Shaw - Many thanks for your feedback. Best regards Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidJul 2021

  • "We were told the day before we travelled that the shower was broken but it would be mended while we were there, but that there was a shower attachment fitted to the taps."

    The shower was not mended and I have no way of knowing if the owner really intended to or not. The sides of the bath were tall which made climbing in and out really hazardous as there were no hand rails and the sink which we had to hang on to had a huge crack. The tap shower attachment only partially worked, the basin taps swivelled (they weren't supposed to) and the slightly rusty cupboard above the sink ensured people trying to shave banged their heads. The rest of the apartment was lovely but the presence of a coffee pod machine does not make up for an unsafe bathroom. I do have photos.

    Many thanks for your feedback, Mrs Bowden. I'm sorry for the problems you had with the bathroom. A previous guest had accidentally damaged the shower, and unfortunately the replacement part took time to arrive. It arrived on the Wednesday before your departure and I felt it would be less disruptive to you for us to fit the shower on the day of your departure. Regarding the other issues, we have fitted a rail to the wall and a bathroom step, this has made access to the bath much easier. We have also replaced the wall unit with a mirror. We are having a new sink unit installed this week. Thanks for your feedback, as the improvements you have mentioned will benefit our future guests. Thanks for the positive feedback on the rest of the apartment. I hope you were not too inconvenienced and it did not affect your holiday too much. Regards Steve Dallas Property Owner

    Reviewed by JaniceJun 2021

Show more


  • Lower-ground floor apartment
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating and woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Smart TV with Netflix, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Offloading outside property is fine, however parking is 300m away
  • Communal garden
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Friday and Monday changeovers only
  • Note: Due to the bathroom configurations it may not be suitable for those with limited mobility
  • The apartment is accessed via two small flights of stairs

The property

This delightful, lower-ground floor apartment sits in an attractive historic stone building in South Queensferry, to the west of Edinburgh.

Accessed via two small flights of stairs, the apartment is presented to a lovely standard and enjoying views of the Forth road Bridges, Lilybank Apartment is a lovey choice for those looking to explore this exciting region of Scotland.

The apartment is accessed via the main door and then the stairs to the basement level.

Discover the delightful living/dining room, complete with attractive wooden flooring and a cosy arrangement of seating, plus an alluring woodburning stove for those harsh winter nights.

There is also a lovely dining table set next to the bay window, providing a charming spot for family mealtimes or a home-brought board game.

Dust off those cooking books and relish in the contemporary kitchen, enhanced with stylish units and a white brick splashback, along with excellent appliances in the SMEG fridge/freezer, induction hob and Belfast sink.

The bedrooms are both wonderfully presented, offering a super-king-size with original fireplace and a twin, served by a lavish bathroom with claw-foot bath.

To the outside of Lilybank Apartment is a communal lawned garden where you can enjoy a drink amidst the idyllic surroundings.

South Queensferry is a lively town lined with attractive Scottish buildings; stroll through the town centre and stop off at one of the cafés or restaurants that overlook the Forth Bridges, a spectacular UNESCO site which attractors thousands of tourists to take in the views.

Learn more about the town and the beautiful bridges at the South Queensferry Museum, a popular tourist venue which also offers educational shows.

If you’re lucky enough to be visiting South Queensferry while the town is hosting “Your View” experiences, then you must add it to your list – this unique experience gives visitors the chance to see and uninterrupted 360-degree panorama view of the Edinburgh and Fife coastline, from a viewing platform which is raised 361 feet in the air.

On the outskirts of the town rests the stately homes of Dalmeny House and Hopetoun House, boasting beautiful grounds, classic architecture and historic artefacts.

Venture to the city of Edinburgh, where you can meander the cobbled streets and uncover some hidden gems, including an array of superb restaurants, along with great sightseeing opportunities at Edinburgh Castle, which dominates the skyline and has been voted as the top UK Heritage Attraction in the British Travel Awards.

Lilybank Apartment is a lovely retreat for couples and families to enjoy, whatever time of year.

View on map

About the location


Dunfermline 8.6 miles; Edinburgh 10.1 miles; Falkirk 16.6 miles

The lovely town of South Queensferry sits in between Falkirk and Edinburgh, and rests on the shore overlooking the Forth Bridges. The town boasts a wealth of bustling amenities, supermarkets, pubs, restaurants and bars on the main street, as well as the Queensferry Museum and access to the Forth Bridges over to Dunfermline and Fife. The capital city of Edinburgh offers incredible culture for tourists and history lovers throughout the Old Town and New Town, whilst the town of Linlithgow lies on the shores of Linlithgow Loch, with a fantastic choice of boat trips, watersports and local wildlife, making South Queensferry an exciting base to explore Scotland.

The apartment is accessed via two small flights of stairs