Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search


Battle near Brecon, South Wales & Pembrokeshire (Ref. 1056874)



Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Electric car charging
  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

26 Customer Reviews

  • "Super amazing stay."

    Exactly as described. Is even bigger in person than the pictures appear. Nice large living room with plenty of seating and a big table in the kitchen. Three toilets in the cottage altogether. Lovely big hot tub. There was plenty of room with 5 of us in there. Could easily fit 6 and still have space! Nice enclosed back garden for the dog to happily run around in, and to say hello to the horses on the field underneath! The views are absolutely incredible, you can see the rolling hills of the Beacons from all around. Short drive to Brecon town where we hired a canal boat and had pub lunches/drinks. Aldis and Morrisons there too. The cathedral is super lovely and has a garden cafe. The only down points (which weren't big at all!) Was there were only a few complimentary teabags, and only a few loo rolls. We had to go out and get more of these supplies, which I've never had to do when staying places before, but it was a minor inconvenience. And there was only a small recycling box underneath the sink and nowhere for us to empty it. So we started filling up boxes etc with our recycling, which was obviously a bit of a pain with the dog sniffing about. We didn't really have hot water all week, it was lukewarm at best, but we used the hot tub to warm up so wasn't too much of an issue. But honestly these were minor things. Everything else was super perfect and I would definitely come back again so thank you to the hosts! Perfect way to spend my birthday :)

    Reviewed by ChannelleJun 2022

  • "Lovely, comfortable house for six people in a magical setting."

    The views from the terrace (with hot tub) are stunning. Pretty, easy circular walk from the house to the river with friendly ponies to see en route. Short drive into Brecon. Very comfortable beds and sofas, excellent showers and well equipped kitchen. The only thing we would have liked to have seen was better reading light in the sitting room. Would definitely return.

    Reviewed by PeterMay 2022

  • "The place was very beautiful, the time which we spent was amazing."

    Anyone who wants to escape from the city and spend time in nature is definitely recommended.

    Reviewed by OlitaMay 2022

  • "We have just got back from a lovely 2 night stay, the host Dave was really friendly and welcoming."

    There was a group of 6 of us and not one of us had a bad thing to say about the property, the views were absolutely stunning. The only thing that we aren’t happy about is that we should of booked for a longer stay! Thank you so much we will definitely be back!

    Reviewed by PaulaMay 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in great location."

    Reviewed by SamanthaApr 2022

  • "We had a fantastic stay - thank you!"

    !. The owners (Dave and Rose) were so lovely and helpful (on hand if we needed anything or even just a passing chat). The cottage was so spacious, well equipped and clean it simply exceeded our expectations - the views from the hot tub were amazing!! Great base for exploring the Brecons. Will be booking up again very soon!

    Reviewed by PaulaFeb 2022

  • "Lovely stay."

    Wonderful property and very friendly hosts. Very comfortable. If I was being ultra-critical, the large sofa in the lounge is getting past its best and is lacking a little padding in the seat and the kitchen could use a couple of smaller oven dishes for use by couples or smaller parties....but don't let this detract from a superb property.

    Reviewed by SteveFeb 2022

  • "A beautiful house in every way, the views from the windows were amazing."

    The beds were very comfortable and the whole house was exceptionally clean. My only down points were that we couldn't get in the hot tub on arrival day as it had been cleaned and was cold , this was very disappointing as we were only staying for two nights. The other point was it was very cold in the house in the evenings, it was cold outside, but the heating was inadequate, we even had the log fire going but was still cold. I would go back but in warmer times of the year.

    Thank you for your comments Deborah. I am sorry that the hot tub was not ready for you on the evening of your arrival. We have high standards for the hygiene and water quality of our hot tub and we always want our guests to have the best possible experience. When we are not satisfied that those standards are met we have but a few hours between guests to empty, clean, refill and chemically balance it, and although we do these things as quickly as possible it still, unfortunately, takes 12-16 hours to heat. We have looked at the heating and we have spent a good amount of time balancing and servicing the radiators throughout, and we believe this has helped it along and now doing the job it is meant to. We wish you all the best, Rose and Dave Property Owner

    Reviewed by DeborahJan 2022

  • "Directions to cottage need improving."

    On arrival the cottage was very cold - no heating on or fire lit. Had to ask owner to increase thermostat control. This is a cottage in Brecon in January and heating is required. Some items in the cottage were broken before we arrived and the main cooker broke whilst we were there. None of these jobs were sorted before we left. We have stayed in this cottage before under a different owner and there was more attention to detail then. Not sure if we will return.

    Thank you for your feedback Phillip, it is greatly appreciated. We are reviewing the directions to the Cottage based on your comments; Caecrwn Cottage is pinned on Google Maps and we encourage guests to use that, as the postcode will drop you off at another farm. We make sure the cottage is fully cleaned between guests, and as per Covid safety measures for both our cleaners and our guests this does mean fully airing the rooms which leads to a drop in temperature. We apologise that the Cottage had not got back up to full temperature by the time of your arrival. (Regretfully we cannot light unattended fires, although that would be a lovely welcoming sight!) It was incredibly unfortunate that the main oven broke during your stay, and that the new oven was only able to be delivered on the day of your departure, we are deeply sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. The other broken items - the patio light and a heated towel rail - have been booked in with an electrician for some time, which we only attend to when the Cottage is vacant, to avoid disturbing guests. Again we apologise for any inconvenience that their absence caused during your stay. All the best, Rose and Dave x Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhillipJan 2022

  • "Beautiful quiet retreat."

    Exactly what we were looking for.

    Reviewed by DavidJan 2022

  • "Dave was very helpful but respected our privacy."

    The owners cottage was only a few metres away. The cottage seemed to have been recently refurbished so kitchen and bathrooms are in great condition. The log fire in the cottage was nice addition. Hot tub has an amazing view..

    Reviewed by ArifDec 2021

  • "Great place to stay with stunning views."

    Host very pleasant and helpful. Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by PaulDec 2021

  • "We had a fabulous stay, Dave and Rose could not have been more lovely and welcoming."

    The cottage had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and for the week we were there nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely return.

    Reviewed by MichaellaNov 2021

  • "Really enjoyed our stay, owners very hospitable"

    Reviewed by DamianOct 2021

  • "Brilliant stay will definitely try to stay again thanks to Dave and Rose for all their help"

    Reviewed by GeoffreyOct 2021

  • "It was fantastic better than expected."

    The only feed back I can give is larger plastic plates for outside use and perhaps an ash tray. We loved our stay. Alastair &Lisa Mullins

    Reviewed by LisaAug 2021

  • "Great venue and setting."

    .Rose and Dave who own it are welcoming and helpful. A couple of improvenent suggestions: The mattresses in the non ensuite room were very soft which didn't work for us so well and the patio with hot tub on it is a lovely space but needs weeding to look at its best

    Reviewed by AnnAug 2021

  • "Beautiful tranquil location."

    Cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. A wonderful place to relax with easy access to outstanding walks as well as local towns. Highly recommended

    Reviewed by TraceyJul 2021

  • "Caecrwn is a lovely cottage with very good facilities for a comfortable stay."

    The view from the hot tub makes it very memorable.

    Reviewed by EvelynJul 2021

  • "Wonderful holiday in a lovely well equipped spacious cottage with amazing views and so peaceful."

    The owners Dave and Rose were helpful. We loved the hot tub and watching the horses, pony and donkey in the fields in front. For us the only thing missing was some comfortable garden furniture and/or a couple of sun loungers. We had great weather and felt these were really needed especially on such a lovely large patio area. Highly recommended otherwise.

    Reviewed by KimJul 2021

  • "Friendly and helpful owners, great views, lots of space and great base for exploring the Brecon Beacons"

    Reviewed by JoJul 2021

  • "It was so relaxing."

    Beautiful views and the cottage was clean and fully equipped for families. Would highly recommend. . The owners are very inviting and just leave you to do your own thing. Really enjoyed thanks to Sykes and rose and Dave.

    Reviewed by LJun 2021

  • "The location and views far exceeded any of the pictures and indeed the cottage itself,it’s different levels and interest."

    Reviewed by AndreaJun 2021

  • "Stunning views which were thoroughly enjoyed from the hot tub!"

    The cottage is delightful and very well equipped, very clean and tidy, peaceful with only a short drive to the local town. We enjoyed meeting a couple of the resident horses and had a cheeky little visit from one of the very friendly dogs 'Freddie' who we loved giving a fuss too! Only small criticism would be there was quite a lot of weeds on the patio which slightly spoilt the overall look of the cottage as the rest was so well maintained but it didn't affect our wonderful experience in any way! Overall a fantastic few days away in luxury and comfort which well exceeded our expectations, we will definitely be visiting again!

    Reviewed by JennaMay 2021

  • "This was a family break, just to get away from it all for a couple of days and relax, which we were able to do without any problems."

    From the moment we stepped into the property, we felt like were at home. The cleanliness was amazing with not a single fault to be found anywhere. The beds were very comfortable and a great nights sleep was had by all. Great detail is given to make the rooms as warm and enticing as possible. The living area had enough seating so that the 5 of us were very comfortably sat around the log fire to chat or watch TV. The owners Dave and Rose met us on arrival and then left us to our privacy, but made sure we knew they were on hand should we need them. They were very helpful when we couldn't get the TV to work and even though it was 9.30pm, Dave came and sorted the problem out for us. We could not have asked for better service than that. The kitchen was a fabulous size and had everything you needed to dine as a family and every utensil you needed was provided. The most amazing thing about the weekend was the jacuzzi hot tub which was enjoyed thoroughly by us all. Sitting in there, relaxing with stunning views was just what we needed, and although the rain showers continued, they didn't put us off enjoying ourselves. I only wish we had booked for longer. The location is very secluded, although on a working farm. The closest shop was about 4 miles away, so not too far, but as we were only there for the weekend, we wanted to make the most of it so took all our food with us. I think if Dave & Rose had a couple of souvenirs, which could be bought it would be fantastic. This is not a negative, but just an idea. I love to take home a fridge magnet/ keyring/ mug, of every place I visit and because we just wanted to relax we didn't go out and about. We all enjoyed this place so much that we hope to book again as soon as we can and I would highly recommend the property and customer service of these hosts. Thank you Dave & Rose from Dal and family.

    Reviewed by DalvirMay 2021

  • "Fantastic hosts & fantastic property."

    Everything was perfect from the minute we got there until the minute we left. The hosts were always on hand to help whether that was with the hot tub or walking routes for the dogs. I would recommend the hosts & property to anybody in a heartbeat. Thanks for everything from the Crocker family

    Reviewed by SarahApr 2021

Show more


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size double with en-suite shower room, 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Oil central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, iPod dock, selection of books, games, DVDs and Wi-Fi
  • Fuel, power and fuel for woodburner inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels included in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Off-road parking for 4 cars
  • Bike storage
  • Enclosed rear patio with Jacuzzi hot tub, furniture and barbecue
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 4.5 miles
  • Note: Dogs to be kept on leads when outside due to livestock nearby
  • Note: Sloping ceilings and low beams in bedrooms
  • Note: Stabling and grazing available at additional cost, by prior arrangement with owners
  • Note: Free fishing available by prior arrangement with owners, restrictions apply and valid licence required
  • Note: The hot tub isn't suitable for young children, please contact the owner for further details
  • Note: This property accepts a maximum of 6 guests

The property

Brecon 4.5 miles.

A wonderful detached stone barn conversion on a working livestock farm, set down a short lane in superb countryside, near the village of Battle, close to Brecon.

With only the owner's own home nearby, this rural...

View on map

About the location


Hay-on-Wye 15 miles; Builth Wells 16 miles; Abergavenny 20 miles.

On the edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park lies the historic cathedral town of Brecon, boasting beautiful Georgian and Jacobean architecture, many museums, a theatre and cinema, individual shops, restaurants and inns serving real ales and local food. The Brecon Beacons National Park offers the avid walker and keen cyclist spectacular scenery at any time of the year, with rolling countryside and valleys and the wild beauty of waterfalls and caves. The park is home to traditional market towns, castles, ancient monuments and miles of canal where many pretty walks can be enjoyed. For the less energetic, pony trekking, canal cruising or the local Brecon Steam Railway are a must. Travel a little further to Hay-on-Wye with its numerous book shops, visit the craft and collectors’ fairs and the four day Royal Welsh Agricultural Show at Builth Wells, or explore the delightful medieval town of Abergavenny. A perfect base for an all-year-round family holiday.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it